Skip to Search



A Guide to the William Crosbie Estate Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2007


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Crosbie, William, d. 1797
Title: William Crosbie Estate Papers
Dates: 1792-1816
Abstract: The William Crosbie Estate Papers include correspondence concerning his estate and also his agent/manager, John Otto Bayer's land in Antigua.
Extent: 0.4 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MS Group 228
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

William Crosbie was a major general in the British Army during the French Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. He died in 1797 and his heir was John Crosbie.


Scope and Content

The William Crosbie Estate Papers, dated 1792-1816, include correspondence concerning Crosbie's estate and the land of his agent/manager, John Otto Bayer, in Antigua. The letters document the activities and attitudes of plantation operators and slave owners in the English Caribbean colony of Antigua around the start of the 19th Century. The letters mostly concern financial and operational matters pertaining to the plantations, such as expenses, property values, debts, loans, securities, deeds, slaves, stock, crops, rum and sugar. Other correspondents and individuals referenced in the documents include Lord Moira, Admiral McDouall, Gilbert Jones (esquire), Colonel Handfield, John Crosbie (heir), Charles Crosbie, James Wood Bursar (St. Johns, Cambridge), Lady Amelia Carpenter, Colonel Knox, General Marsh, the Duke and Duchess of Newcastle, and Baron Deimar. The papers are filed chronologically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William Crosbie Estate Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 May 1792-Nov 1793
1 February 1794-1795
1 1796-1797
1 June-December 1798
1 January-September 1799
1 May-November 1800
1 March 1801-April 1802
1 January 1803-June 1804
1 June 1807- March 1808
1 February 1810, 1815, July 1816
1 Not dated, circa 1793-1816

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Antigua and Barbuda -- Economic conditions.
Antigua and Barbuda -- History.
Antigua and Barbuda -- Social conditions.
Great Britain -- Colonies -- West Indies.
Plantations -- Antigua and Barbuda.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page