Skip to Search



A Guide to the John Wilson Croker Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Croker, John Wilson, 1780-1857
Title: John Wilson Croker Papers
Dates: 1808-1888
Bulk dates: 1808-1857
Abstract: Correspondence, dated 1808-1888, by British statesman, author, and critic, John Wilson Croker. The letters pertain to government and political affairs and to Croker's editing of the works of Alexander Pope.
Extent: 1 Linear feet. 2 Boxes, 129 items.
Identification: MS Group 20
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Author, critic and politician, born in Galway, Ireland. Educated at Trinity College, he chose the profession of law. He was elected to Parliament in 1807 and appointed Secretary of the Admiralty in 1809. He gained literary distinction writing excellent satires. His most critical work is his edition of Boswell's Life of Johnson, 1831.


Scope and Content

The bulk of the collection is two discrete groups of letters, the first to William Casey, 1808-1828, and the second to J. Winter Jones, 1951-1857. There are a few additional letters and documents, including a diary fragment by Croker, and approximately a dozen letters by others, mostly to Croker.

William Casey of Dublin was a friend of Croker's for whom Croker sought government positions (cf. letters of 1815). The letters to Casey primarily pertain to government and political affairs as well as to personal exchanges. J. Winter Jones (1805-1881) was assistant keeper of printed books (later keeper and then principal librarian) at the time of most of the letters to him. Primarily they pertain to Croker's editing of the works of Alexander Pope and involve requests for information from the library.


Arrangement

Arranged in three groups: Letters to Thomas Casey, Letters to J. Winter Jones, and Miscellaneous (Letters and documents by Croker others).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John Wilson Croker Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The Croker Papers were purchased in 1964. The correspondence includes a letter from William John Courthope, who completed the editing of Croker's edition of Pope, to R. Garnett, superintendent of the British Museum reading room, asking that he send all of Croker's letters to J. Winter Jones that relate to Pope. No information is available as to how these letters were joined with the others.


Contents List

Letters to Thomas Casey (68 items)


Box Folder
1 1 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Thanks for his assistance in preventing a serious robbery at Ely Place. January 19, 1808
1 2 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. An abridgment of his speech in parliament will appear in the morning Post (Mar. 22) and Dublin Journal (Mar. 21). Reports that it was well received. Canning is a wonderful man. Thanks for preparing Ely Place for Mr. And Mrs. Pennell. March 23, 1808
1 3 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Reports that higher military frowns on Moore's failure to attack at Saldanha, Nov. 24. Col. Ferr's(?) wound is dangerous, but Baird is doing well. A transport of some officers and seventy men of the 47th are lost. January 25, 1809
1 4 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Acknowledges kind letter. Discusses correspondence of the Duke of York. February 16, 1809
1 5 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Regarding a letter of the former mistress (Mary Anne Clarke) of the Duke of York. The Duke believes it is a forgery. February 17, 1809
1 6 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Asks advice on which administrative position he could request from the government. April 25, 1809
1 7 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Advises Casey to sell or rent his house in Dublin, because he will not be using it in the next twelve months. May 2, 1809
1 8 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Instructions concerning care of his belongings in Ely Place when Colonel Cummin arrives. Encloses copy of his speech. May 4, 1809
1 9 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Has resolved to put aside Maddoch's proposition. Quinton Dick is the informer against the Duke of York. Hard fighting in Austria. August 10, 1809
1 10 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Collon, 4p. Asks news of struggle for premiership in parliament. Favorable review of "Palaver" in Freeman's Journal. Mentions possibility of second edition. September 23, 1809
1 11 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Collon, 23p. Detailed letter analyzing present political situation and expressing his sentiments as to why Perceval is interested in him and as to what he should do if offered an administrative office. September 27, 1809
1 12 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Newry, 8p. Reports that he is "flying from the scene of intrigue" and will remain in Downe a few days. He will thus have a longer time to make a decision. September 28, 1809
1 13 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Downe, 4p. Postpones his arrival in London so that he will have time to reflect on the advisability of accepting Perceval's offer. October 1, 1809
1 14 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Acknowledges letter. Does not believe reports of Lord Wellesley's opinion of administration. Advises him not to tarry fruitlessly in Berks. October 21, 1809
1 15 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 4p. Thanks for his amusing letter. Jokes about "shafts" which have been hailed at him by the opposition (after his appointment to the Admiralty). November 23, 1809
1 16 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Encloses report. Asks him to deliver it to Mr. Harvery, editor of Freeman's Journal, who has been very civil to him. Information was sent by Mr. Purvis on Nov. 16. November 28, 1809
1 17 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 7p. [William] Norcott has promised to return letters. Discusses case of Mr. Jackson. December 17, 1809
1 18 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 15p. Asks him to find out information on sender of a recent letter. Discusses defalcation found in accounts of Mr. Villiers, paymaster of the Marines, and the action he took concerning it. January 18, 1810
1 19 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Requests that he undertake an anonymous critique in the Quarterly Review. Asks him to buy all that is published of Sir Jonah's book. January 27, 1810
1 20 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Part of a private letter sent to Croker from Lisbon. Lord Wellington's retreat, a most able maneuver. February 22, 1810
1 21 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 7p. Recommends him not to mount those "fashionable vehicles. " Requests letter on state of Ireland. Lt. Bargh will be appointed to first frigate vacancy. Ninth edition of Talavera soon to appear in London. Asks him to write of men and measures. Remembers him to Mrs. Casey, her sisters, and Master Edmund for whom he has a wife. July 31, 1810
1 22 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Lt. Bargh's situation slightly difficult. He shall have a trial period, not on frigate, but in a line of battleship under Sir Edmund Pellur. He was lucky to get confirmed. August 1, 1810
1 23 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 3p. Was dispatched from Lisbon. October 20, 1810
1 24 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 13p. Has spoken to Norcott about his debts. He does not seem to be completely ruined. Offers his assistance. November 20, 1810
1 25 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 8p. Concerning the debts of [William] Norcott. Lord Grenville is overruled in parliament on the debate of King's health. November 28, 1810
1 26 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 11p. Thanks for kind letter. Discusses political ambitions and necessity to wait patiently. Has been very ill. Asks for letter concerning rebellion now raging in Ireland. August 12, 1811
1 27 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Peel is new Chief Secretary of Ireland. Discusses military dispatches he received from Coruna, Spain. August 4, 1812
1 28 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 1p. Has recommended him highly to Peel. August 20, 1812
1 29 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 6p. Pleased to hear that Peel received him kindly. Confident that Peel will give him special consideration for a position. Cannot obtain discharge for John Minahan because his ship has set sail for North America. Asks that he write frankly on public opinion toward his two friends. September 21, 1812
1 30 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Assures him that pension will be provided for Capt. Plin. Best wishes for his success with Peel. December 18, 1814
1 31 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 1p. Thanks for his friendship. Cannot leave his government during this crisis to offer himself for Downe office. Febuary 7, 1815
1 32 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. [?] Park, 3p. Has tried to see Casey everyday since he arrived in town. Confident that Peel will do everything possible to help Casey. October 23, 1815
1 33 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Dublin, 4p. Asks what type post he should request for Casey if Peel approaches him with a proposition. October 27, 1815
1 34 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Received a letter from Peel a month ago informing him that arrangements have been made for Casey. Today received letter from Lord Witeworth expressing satisfaction of being able to appoint Casey to office and to promote Rebpatrick to another. Congratulations. January 9, 1816
1 35 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Concerning attack made on circuit courts by Mr. Smith. Thanks for kindness toward Colthurst. May 28, 1816
1 36 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Clonmell, 3p. Thanks for books. Must return to London by Sept. 9 to meet with Lord Melville. August 31, 1817
1 37 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Word has come that he (Croker) will be presented as candidate for the College at the next election. Will decline at present time, because of the opposition afforded by the venerable Mr. Plunkett. April 30, 1818
1 38 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 3p. Recommends to his attention Mrs. Davidson, actress from London who is going to Dublin. He is on hunting trip with Peel and Lord Yarmouth. December 30, 1818
1 39 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Concerning Plunkett and his hesitancy to oppose him. The king is better following a profuse bleeding. February 4, 1820
1 40 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Has written to Boyd and Linger that if he hopes to advance his friends in the College (Dublin University), he cannot commit them against the government. The provost has acted as a friend. Hopes to prevent North's standing. February 7, 1820
1 41 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Castlereagh has just announced that parliament will probably be dissolved about Mar. 1. This date is important in Irish elections because of the registries. February 18, 1820
1 42 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Lymington, 4p. Thank Edmund for flowers(?) and letter. Has resigned thoughts of writing article on cathedrals for this month's review. Points out mistake in a history of St. Patrick's Cathedral written by Mr. Wm. Munch Mason in Ireland. No answer yet from grant. Orange party in College. July 19, 1820
1 43 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Lymington, 4p. Has heard from Grant. Thing not likely to succeed. Matter still in the air. Requests information on biography of Edgeworth, written by his daughter. July 20, 1820
1 44 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 12p. Is taking Mrs. Croker to France. Writes about conversation with Grant concerning possible reform in courts and recommendation for position in courts for Casey. Discusses Edgeworth. July 24, 1820
1 45 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Thanks for kind letters. Has written to the Dean at Clample(?) House. Expresses interest in a little boy. August 24, 1820
1 46 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Drayton Manor, 4p. Ireland seems on brink of civil war. If the Cormtus(?) is called out, he will apply. Leading lazy life with Peel. January 13, 1821
1 47 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 1p. Asks to know the feeling among the Catholic clergy in Dublin on his proposition for a provision for them. March 24, 1821
1 48 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Regrets that official business will probably prevent him from accepting the king's invitation to accompany him to Dublin. July 2, 1821
1 49 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Refuses invitation to stay at his house while in Dublin because he feels he should be with Boyd. July 24, 1821
1 50 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 2p. Wife is ill. Cannot accompany the king to Dublin. July 30, 1821
1 51 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Asks him to identify the sender of the enclosed letter. Asks if a pamphlet written on the rebellion toward the end of 1803 dedicated to Judge Fox can be found in bookshops of Dublin. Relieved that royal visit is over. September 4, 1821
1 52 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 8p. New edition of the State of Ireland will be published consecutively in London and Dublin. Asks Casey to write article on Ireland for Quarterly Review. December 31, 1821
1 53 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Encloses a ridiculous piracy of the "sketch" which was recently sent to him. January 2, 1822
1 54 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Thanks for entertaining letter. Admires his picture of the two Lord Lieutenants raging about the city with drawn swords like roaring lions, sucking when they could be devouring. Hopes he will accept to write for review. January 20, 1822
2 55 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 3p. Asks if it is possible to buy a set of the Irish Parliamentary debates at a reasonable price. July 9, 1827
2 56 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. Thanks for Irish Parliamentary debates from 1780-90, 1793. Would like to complete set when possible. July 14, 1827
2 57 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Thanks for volumes of debates. Rice is pleased with letter of congratulations he received from Casey. Personally, he wishes that he could have seen him appointed to an office other than proprietor of the Imperial Home so that he would be free from prejudices. July 21, 1827
2 58 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Always happy to have Edmund visit in their home. The small office in the castle he had hoped for is out of the question. Lord Limerick has given him instead some chambers in the College. July 26, 1827
2 59 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 3p. If Rice is in Dublin, ask him to recommend Major as candidate for barrister's pace at Kilkenny. August 5, 1827
2 60 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Thanks to lady who wrote Casey's letter. Rice's friend will be Assistant Barrister. Things are in doubtful state. Hopes for return of some of the late seceders. August 10, 1827
2 61 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Requests unbound copies of several pamphlets. Wants to make collection of his published works. August 26, 1827
2 62 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. Wimpole, 5p. Disappointed he could not make the voyage to Molesey Grave. Fears that Ellen will find it dull this time of the year. Hopes Edmund will visit also. Reports that Peel is in high spirits and good health. September 19, 1827
2 63 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Perplexed with state of affairs and personal relations in which he has been placed. Now, 18 years since Casey accompanied him to London to accept position in the Admiralty. Begins to feel tired. January 3, 1828
2 64 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Unfortunate that vacancy for Edmund did not occur before dissolution of last government. When Lady Caroline is buried, he will renew application to Lamb. February 1, 1828
2 65 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. London, 4p. Has been sworn into the Privy Council, an honorable reward of public service by the King and Duke of Wellington. June 16, 1828
2 66 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 3p. Asks Casey to recommend him to two Limerick scholars of the college, Bold Hill and Thomas Graydon. Not dated
2 67 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 4p. Gives vote tally. Not dated
2 68 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Thomas Casey. n. p., 1p. Requests him to give instructions to Mr. Hodges. No year, November 14


Letters to J. Winter Jones (41 items)


Box Folder
2 69 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Surrey, England, 3p. Wants to know how the various editions of the Heroic Epistle differ on line 95. June 6, 1851
2 70 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 4p. Questions the British Museum as to whether their edition of Pope's Rape of the Lock is the first edition or not, and how it compares with his own edition which he is sending. April 13, 1853
2 71 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 5p. Is curious to know the exact origin of the first publication of Pope's Daphne and Delia; thinks the way to find out is through Jonson's Miscellanies. P. S. : Has discovered the possibility of Delia being written by Walsh and borrowed by Pope for Delia. April 28, 1853
2 72 Croker, John Wilson ALS to [J. Winter Jones] West Molesey, Surrey, 1p. Feels the extravagant, pastoral Delia transcends the senseless verse of Walsh and even of Pope during that period. April 29, 1853
2 73 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport. Inquiring about an original little pamphlet of Swift's. June 12, 1853
2 74 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport, 4p. Asking where to find the poem, William King's "Toast," and if the prophecy of Wiston on the destruction of the world by a comet was published by him in any separate shape. June 17, 1853
2 75 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport Southhampton, England, 4p. Wants to check in Warter his theory of a fabricated insertion in the registery. Discusses the number of children of the Bonaparte family. November 15, 1853
2 76 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport, 4p. Thanks him for his ideas. A long discussion about Bonapartes. Thinks the Bonapartes destroyed the original registry and devised a new one. November 19, 1853
2 77 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 1p. Wants his French volume sent back to him. Will try to find the cause of the difference of dates about Joseph Bonaparte in Mr. Jones's Warter and his. December 7, 1853?
2 78 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 4p. Discussion about a cancelled leaf in one edition of Pope. Accusing Warburton of inventing a new title for one of the Epistles to Arbuthnot of the Prologue to the satires. February 2, 1854? 1855?
2 79 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 3p. Wants to compare the first edition of Pope's Dunciad to his own editions. Difference in two words. May 13, 1854
2 80 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport Southhampton, England, 4p. Discussion about one edition of Pope published by Ruffhead(?) and its relations to Warburton's. November 21, 1854
2 81 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport Southhampton, England, 4p. Eager to find the meaning of the initial "B" in Book 18, 511 of Pope's Dunciad. Long discussion about the possibility of it being James III, Earl of Berkeley. November 29, 1854
2 82 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 3p. Discovers some conflicting data on Pope in material sent to him. December 19, 1854
2 83 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 4p. Long discussion of the Pope's edition between years 1735 and 1743--octavo or twelve mo? December 29, 1854
2 84 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 3p. Wants to see what variations the British Museum copies of Pope's Epistle to Arbuthnot have. January 3, 1855
2 85 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 3p. Suggests idea of answering his questions on separate blanks rather than write letter to avoid the trouble. January 21, 1855
2 86 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, England, 4p. Wants Museum to look into journals and logs between 1720-23 to find clues which satisfy observation he has made on Pope. February 20, 1855
2 87 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 2p. Asking for the search of Procedure contre les auteurs du 20 Juin 1792, revolutionary publication. October 11, 1855
2 88 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport, 4p. Wants museum to look into its revolutionary papers of 19-30 June 1792 to see if they mention De plantar un mai. October 17, 1855
2 89 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport, 3p. Wants to know if the museum's copy of the 4th volume of Pisces contains the precis verbal of the name of Mouchet on Boucher--St. Lauveur. December 6, 1855
2 90 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Alverbank, Gosport, 3p. He will be at the museum to see the precis of 20 June made available for him. December 10, 1855
2 91 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 1p. Wants to know where Dante has made Satan say a special phrase and how it was translated. January 17, 1856
2 92 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 2p. Wants to know date and place of birth of the son of Major Montalambert. Ask to look into newspapers of the 15 April 1810. Answer included. March 3, 1856
2 93 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 4p. Wants to be helped in tracing a certain quotation. Thinks it may be Homer. April 5, 1856
2 94 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 4p. Wants to know the date of the first and last numbers of his Pellum(?), and the whereabouts of a poem of Boswell's. January 7, 1857
2 95 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones Kensington Palace, 2p. Wants to compare IV edition of South's Sermons to other editions to find origin of error. Use of the word mutual instead of mutable. February 6, 1857
2 96 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 4p. (one inserted) Wants to know the origin of Birch's allusion to the letters of Throckmorton. (Answer of Mr. Jones enclosed). March 23, 1857
2 97 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 3p. Wants the museum to roughly copy the title page for the Sparrow's Rationale, which is taken from his copy. March 24, 1857
2 98 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 4p. Wants him to see the F200 is paid to Coutts Bank. Is anxious to be out of bed and up to visit to the museum. Suggest museum begin considering buying the frontages in several places in London. April 14, 1857
2 99 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 5p. Wants to know if Bentley's Milton is not a rare book: What criticism it brought, etc. May 21, 1857
2 100 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey, 4p. Wants to know if the name of W. Martin is in the third edition of Horace's Epistles. June 4, 1857
2 101 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 2p. Wants to find an account of Eton Montem in the newspapers of June-July 1790 to see if Royal family was there. Answer included. June 15, 1857
2 102 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 3p. Wants to know if any volumes of Pope in the Royal Library have the date of 1743. June 30, 1857
2 103 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 1p. Wants to know title of work by Warburton on the copyright question under the act of Queen Anne. July 3, 1857
2 104 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 2p. Wants to know why Bishop Warburton reprinted the Royal Privilege at the head of his edition of Pope, 1770. July 6, 1857
2 105 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 8p. M. de Tocqueville has underestimated the collection of French Revolutionary pamphlets that Croker deposited in the museum. Mentions the fact they are not catalogued and are more than 30,000. July 9, 1857
2 106 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 2p. Wants to know when the stanzas written by Gay to Pope congratulating him on his return from Greece first appeared in print. July 26, 1857
2 107 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington Palace, 3p. Inquires when Gay's Illiad was first published. Has mislaid 2nd volume of Gay's general work. July 29, 1857
2 108 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. Kensington, 2p. Wants to know the exact date of the editorial reply to a letter of Robespierre. Not dated
2 109 Croker, John Wilson ALS to J. Winter Jones. West Molesey, Surrey. 3p. Thanks him for the 112 pieces of glaced cards and would like to have more. Gives direction to his residence. Inquires about Pope's manuscripts in the museum. Not dated


Miscellaneous (20 items)


Box Folder
2 110 Admiralty (Secretary) AL to Thomas Casey. London. 1 p. A note from the Admiralty office announcing that Mr. and Mrs. Croker will depart in the evening for Dublin. July 31, 1821
2 111 Broughan, Lord Henry ALS to John Wilson Croker 2p. Thanks for support on the "beer" bill. Not dated
2 112 [Croker, John Wilson?] MsL. to Lord Liverpool n. p., 3p. September 1, 1813
2 113 Croker, John Wilson. Diary. Pages from his diary discussing battle of Waterloo. November 30 [1815]
2 114 Croker, John Wilson ALS to Harding [Siffard]. n. p., 3p. Regarding displeasure of Protestants on his speech at the College. Asks help in explanations of his line of conduct. June 15, 1819
2 115 Croker, John Wilson Ms. 3p. Agreement with John Murray and Charles Knight concerning The Guardian. March 2, 1821
2 116 Croker, John Wilson ALS to George Barrow and Nony West. Molesey, 1p. Relates his itinerary for the next few days at the palace. July 25, 1838
2 117 Croker, John Wilson ALS to A. Panizzi. Alverbank, Gosport, 4p. Discussions about Sempronius suggests he buy The Theatrical Observer and Daily Bills of the Play for 1822 to 28. Good information for the British Museum to have. August 6, 1855
2 118 Exmouth, Lord ALS to John Wilson Croker, n. p. Concerning gazettes which are to be sent to him. Not dated, September 12
2 119 Garnett, R. ALS to Mr. Courthope British Museum, 2p. Sends all of Croker's letters to Mr. J. Winter Jones. January 5, 1888
2 120 Kemble, Mr. AN to John Wilson Croker. London, 1p. Assures him that a box is reserved for him at the theater to see Julius Caesar. Promises to reserve a box for Coriolanus when it is shown on a Wednesday or Saturday. March 31, 1812
2 121 Liverpool, Lord ALS to John Wilson Croker. 1p. Of the opinion that news should be sent to Morning Post and other newspapers. November 3, 1810?
2 122 Lyndhurst, Lord ALS to John Wilson Croker. n. p., 1p. Wishes to have conversation with Croker sometime during the day. August 30, 1836
2 123 Military dispatch; AMs. [1810?]
2 124 Moore, Thomas ALS to John Wilson Croker. n. p., 1p. Asks for his recommendations on candidates for the treasury. The evil day that he has long predicted is coming faster than expected. November 7, 1830
2 125 Pell, Robert ALS to Rosamond (Nancy) Croker. n. p. Sends her a chain as a token of his friendship. February 19, 1829
2 126 [Robinson Frederick ALS to Rosamond (Nancy) Croker. Arlington West, 1p. Discusses experience during visit to Brighton. September 2, 1820
2 127 Russell, Lord John ALS to John Wilson Croker. n. p., 1p. Compliments to Croker. Sends explanation of several boroughs. n. d. January 25
2 128 Sutton, Charles Manners ALS to John Wilson Croker. Addington Dash, 1p. After illegible first paragraph, he discusses health of queen and the impossibility of meeting with him August 4. July 30, 1808
2 129 Wellesley, Arthur ALS to John Wilson Croker. Hurlingham, 1p. Arranges meeting for the next day. April 22, 1837


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Casey, Thomas.
Great Britain -- Politics and government -- 19th century.
Jones, John Winter, 1805-1881.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page