Skip to Search





A Guide to the Ray and Cary Cooper Science Collection

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

November 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cooper, Raymond D.
Creator: Cooper, Cary.
Title: Ray and Cary Cooper Science Collection
Dates: 1860-2005
Abstract: The Ray and Cary Cooper Science Collection consists of books, journals, clippings, photographs, correspondence, and signatures from prominent figures in the history of science (aeronautics, chemistry, physics, technology), and the development of the atomic bomb. Materials in the collection cover the latter half of the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Extent: .41 Linear Feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0490
Language(s): English

Scope and Content

The Ray and Cary Cooper Science Collection consists of books, journals, clippings, photographs, correspondence, and signatures from prominent figures in the history of science (aeronautics, chemistry, physics, technology), and the development of the atomic bomb. Materials in the collection cover the latter half of the 19th and early 20th centuries. Many of the books and journals have been cataloged individually and can be found in the University of Florida's library catalog. Included in this finding aid are a variety of manuscript materials including signatures, photographs, clippings, and letters.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ray and Cary Cooper Science Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Dr. Raymond D. Cooper.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Alvarez, Luis Walter - Signed photograph. undated
12 Atlantic Cable - Letter signed by Cyrus W. Field, Peter Cooper, Geo. Folsom, and three others and signed engravings of Cyrus W. Field and Peter Cooper. 1860 May 28
13 Atlantic Cable - Newspaper clipping. undated
14 Atom Bomb - Typed page written by Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist John Hersey about Hiroshima (signed by John Hersey). undated
15 Bridgman, Percy Williams (P. W.) - Photograph. 1947
16 Cowan, Clyde L., Frederick Reines, ET AL - Abstracts on liquid scintillators for neutrino detection. circa 1953
17 Crick, Francis H. C. - Signature and photograph on small card listing Nobel Prize in Medicine. 1962
18 Curie, Pierre - Newspaper clippings (3) on Pierre Curie. 1904, 1906
19 Curie, Pierre and Marie - Reproduction of a caricature that first appeared in the 19th Century. undated
110 Einstein, Albert - "Einstein on the Atomic Bomb" - The Atlantic Monthly. 1945 November
111 Einstein, Albert - Legacy celebration material (postcards, articles, photocopied photographs). 1994-2005
112 Einstein, Albert - signed photograph inscribed "To Mrs. Be()kust." Photo shows Elsa and Albert Einstein with Samuel Untermeyer (million dollar lawyer) taken at El Mirador Hotel in Palm Springs, California. 1933
113 Helmholtz, Hermann Ludwig Ferdinand - Engraved portrait. undated
114 Henry, Joseph - Two letters signed by Henry as Chairman of the Lighthouse Board and four other letters including one concerning his funeral. 1874-1878
115 Lasers - "Amazing Light," by Joan Lisa Bromberg - Wonders of Modern Technology. undated
116 Libby, Willard F. - Signature on an envelope with the Doctor's of America commemorative stamp. 1954 April 6
117 Lodge, Oliver - Two paragraph signed letter. 1929 November 12
118 Michelson, Albert A. - "The Velocity of Light," by Albert A. Michelson - Reproduction of Michelson's handwritten report on his experiments of 1878. undated
119 Michelson, Albert A. - Obituary clippings from The New York Times. 1931 March
120 Millikan, Robert A. - Photograph and signature. undated
121 Mossbauer, Rudolf - Signed photograph. 2002-2003
122 National Academy of Sciences - Letters between Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue (Architect) and Grancis G. Pease (Mount Wilson Observatory) regarding the National Academy of Sciences spectrograph. 1923
123 Pauling, Linus - Signature. undated
124 Penzias, Arno A. - Signed card with picture and Nobel Prize statement for 1978 and photograph. 2001 November
125 Photographs of various scientists taken from newspapers and magazines including William Henry Bragg, William Conrad Röntgen, Max Planck, James Dewar, William Crookes, John William Strutt, and others. undated
126 Photography (early) - Article/Excerpt. undated
127 Physics and Physiology or Medicine - Single sheet chronologies for nobel prizes. undated
128 Prigogine, Ilya - Signed photograph. undated
129 Przibram, Karl - Typed manuscript in German titled "Physiker-Traume" with "Mit besten grü├čen - K Przibram" handwritten on the title page (7 pages). undated
130 Raman, Chandrasekhara Venkata (C. V.) - Portrait. 1963 December 1
131 Ramsay, William - Color lithograph portrait of Sir William Ramsay, titled "Chemistry" - Vanity Fair. undated
132 Seaborg, Glen T. - Autograph. undated
133 Strutt, John William (Lord Rayleigh) - Color lithograph portrait of Lord Rayleigh standing at a lecture desk, titled "Argon" - Vanity Fair. 1899 December 21
134 Superconducting Super Collider (SSC) - Brochures and press releases from the U.S. Department of Energy. 1987, 1995
135 Szilard, Leo - One page typed letter to Dr. Raymond D. Cooper concerning Leo Szilard from Edward Teller. 1996 April 8
136 Townes, Charles H. - Signed card with picture and Nobel Prize statement for 1964. 1964
137 Tyndall, John - Engraved portrait. undated
138 Wiener, Norbert - Newspaper clipping photograph of Norbert Wiener at MIT. undated
139 Wigner, Eugene - Photograph and signed note. undated
140 Wright Brothers - "The Flight That Tamed The Skies," by Seth Shulman - Technology Review. 2002 September
141 Wright Brothers - "The Quivocal Success of the Wright Brothers," by Daniel C. Schlenoff - Scientific American. 2003 December
142 Wright Brothers - "The Wright Brothers: How They Conquered the Air (and why their triumph couldn't last)," by Richard P. Hallion - Invention & Technology. 2003
143 Wright Brothers - Timelines (website printout). undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955.
History.
photographs
Science.
Technology.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page