Skip to Search



A Guide to the Ronald Cohen Papers

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers and Dan Reboussin

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cohen, Ronald
Title: Ronald Cohen Papers
Dates: 1950-1996
Abstract: Includes field notes, published and unpublished writings, correspondence, and professional papers created by anthropologist, Ronald Cohen. The majority of the collection pertains to Nigerians in the state of Borno (Bornu), particularly the Kanuri and Bura-Pabir speaking peoples.
Extent: 10.25 Linear feet. 33 Boxes.
Identification: MS Group 142
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical Note

Ronald Cohen was born in Toronto, Canada, in 1930. In 1955, he married Diana B. Cohen. He received a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1960. He served as Lecturer in Anthropology at the University of Toronto from 1958 to 1961. In 1961, he accepted a position as Assistant Professor at McGill University. From 1963 to 1982 Cohen served as a professor of anthropology at Northwestern University, including periods as Chair of the Department of Anthropology in the early 1970s and as Co-Director of the Program in Ethnography and Public Policy in the early 1980s. During the 1970s, he also took leave from Northwestern to serve as Chair of the Department of Anthropology and Sociology at Ahmadu Bello University. Professor Cohen joined the faculty of the University of Florida's Department of Anthropology in 1982, where he served until his retirement in 1995.

Cohen's extensive field work includes four major research projects undertaken in Nigeria. In the mid-1950s, Cohen conducted ethnographic research examining social changes among the Kanuri of Borno in Northern Nigeria. In the late 1960s, he researched the high divorce frequency among the Kanuri. In the early 1970s, he conducted a large ethnographic study of the origins and structure of Babur-Bura society in Borno with a special emphasis on the spread of Islam and the split between the Babur (predominately Islamic) and the Bura groups in this region. In the mid-1980s, Cohen returned to Nigeria once again to examine the organization of food production in Nigerian agriculture, including farming scale and productivity.

At the time of his retirement from academics, Ronald Cohen had over 30 years of research experience in Nigeria and was widely known for his many publications on Nigerian culture, political anthropology, and development issues.

1930 Born in Toronto, Canada
1951 B.A. (Philosophy), University of Toronto
1954 M.Sc. (Anthropology), University of Wisconsin-Madison
1955 Weds Diana Barbara Williams
1955-1957 Foreign Area Fellowship, Field Work in Borno, Nigeria
1957-1958 John Evans Fellowship
1958-1961 Lecturer in Anthropology, University of Toronto
1960 Ph.D. (Anthropology), University of Wisconsin-Madison (Dissertation: "The Structure of Kanuri Society"
1960-1963 Grant: Department of Northern Affairs, Ottawa, Development of the Mackenzie River, Canada (Field Work: 1961)
1961-1963 Assistant Professor, McGill University
Chair, African Students Foundation of Canada
1962 Publication of book, A Survey of Communities of the McKenzie Valley
1962-1997 Editor (associate), Anthropologica (including as Guest Editor of special issue on "Power in Complex Societies in Africa" in 1962)
1962-1963 Founding Chairman, African Studies Association of Canada
1963-1968 Associate Professor, Northwestern University
1964-1965 Grant: NIMH, Pilot Study for Family Conflict in Borno
1966-1968 Grant: National Science Foundation, Family Conflict in Borno
1966-1970 Editor in charge of anthropology, African Abstracts
1967 Publication of book, The Kanuri of Bornu
Publication of book, Comparative Political Systems (edited with John Middleton)
1967-1971 Board member, Central States Anthropological Association
1968 Lecture tour of six African countries for Northwestern University
Herskovits Memorial Lecture, University of Edinburgh
1968-1972 Review Panel, NIMH (Behavioral Sciences)
1968-1973 Grant (with others): Ford Foundation, National Unity in Africa
1968-1982 Professor of Anthropology and Political Science, Northwestern University
1970-1972 Chair, Department of Anthropology, Northwestern University
Assistant Editor, American Anthropologist
1971 Publication of book, Dominance and Defiance: A Study of Marital Instability in an Islamic African Society
Publication of book, From Tribe to Nation in Africa (edited with John Middleton)
Publication of book, Handbook of Method in Cultural Anthropology (edited with R. Narroll)
1972-1974 Grant: NSF, NEH and Rockefeller, Origins of the State in Borno and Gongola, Nigeria (Field Work in the Biu Division while at the University of Maiduguri)
Chair, Department of Anthropology and Sociology, Ahmadu Bello University (on leave from Northwestern)
1972-1982 Co-Editor (with John Paden) of the series, Studies in Political Culture, Northwestern University Press
1973-1974 Consultant to Udoji Commission on Nigeria's Federal Public Services
1974-1975 Associate Editor, Political Anthropology
1975-1977 Consultant, National Academy of Sciences, evaluation of ETIP division of the Department of Commerce
1976-1977 Fellow, Center for Advanced Studies in Behavioral Sciences, Palo Alto (Stanford)
1977-1979 Consultant, IPA, for the Master Plan, New Federal Capital of Nigeria
1978 Publication of book: Origins of the State (edited with E.R. Service)
1979-1982 Grant (with others): Ford Foundation, Drought in East Africa
1980 Publication of book: Hierarchy and Society (edited with G. Britan)
1980-1981 Co-Director, Northwestern University Program in Ethnography and Public Policy
1980-1982 Review Panel, National Science Foundation
1980-1984 Grant (with others): NIMH, Training Program in Anthropology for Policy Analysis and Research
1981-1983 Executive Board, Central States Anthropological Association
1982-1995 Professor, Department of Anthropology, University of Florida
1983-1984 Grant: National Science Foundation, African Studies (UF), Production and Organization in Nigerian Agriculture (Field Work in Borno)
1983-1988 Board member, Association of Political and Legal Anthropology (APLA)
1984-1985 Fulbright-Hays Research Grant, Production and Organization in Nigerian Agriculture
1984-1986 Appointed to joint USA-USSR working group of scholars to develop cooperative research on ethnicity and state formation
1985-1988 Appointed by International Union of Ethnological and Anthropological Sciences to plan Symposia on peace at Zagreb meeting
1985-1990 Carter Lectures on Africa (Ronald Cohen, Chair): Ford Foundation, African Studies Center Grant, Ford Foundation for Human Rights
1987 Publication of book: The Kanuri of Borno (revised edition)
Distinguished Lecture: Annual Meeting, Society for Cross-Cultural Research
Keynote Address: Annual Meeting, Society for Economic Anthropology
1988 Publication of book: State Formation and Political Legitimacy (edited with J. Toland)
Publication of book: Satisfying Africa's Food Needs: Food Production and Commercialization in African Agriculture
Consultant to AID on Research Methods: USAID training and its effects on bureaucratic agency developmental results (Nepal and Kenya)
Symposium in Honor of Ronald Cohen, African Studies Association Meetings, Chicago
1988-1989 President elect, APLA
Appointed to the Staley Prize Committee to choose best book in Anthropology
1988-1990 Review Panel, IIE, Fulbright Grants for doctoral research in Africa
1989-1990 President, APLA
1990 Keynote Address: Conference on Rural Transformation in Africa, Ohio State University
Grant (with others): Ford Foundation, Human Rights and Governance in Africa
1991-1992 Board Member, APLA
1992-[1994] Co-Chair of the Board of Directors with Dele Olowu of "Transition to Democracy in Nigeria" Project, UF and Obafemi Awolowo University
1992-1995 Grant: USIA, Democratization in Nigeria
1993 Publication of book: Human Rights and Governance in Africa (with G. Hyden)
One of two North American scholars (from Yale and UF) invited to the second international symposium on evolutionary epistemology, Vienna
1995 Retirement from the University of Florida

Scope and Content

The Ronald Cohen Papers date from 1950 to 1996. The papers are primarily related to his research and anthropological field work in Nigeria, focusing on the ethnography and social structures of the Nigerians living in Borno (Bornu), particularly the Kanuri and Bura-Pabir speaking peoples. The bulk of the collection consists of field notes, oral histories, grant proposals, and interviews created while conducting field research from the 1950s to the 1980s. A large number of these documents were created by Nigerians working in the field with Cohen. In particular, a majority of the oral history interviews were conducted by individuals belonging to the same clans and families as the interview informants. These interviews, along with observations about the informants and villages, were recorded in field notebooks, many of which include drawings of tools and ceremonial objects, hand-drawn maps of villages, and sketches of houses and other structures. Several of these field notebooks have been transcribed in typescript format. In addition to these important oral histories, several files in the collection contain photographs, notes, and research materials created or collected by Cohen while in Nigeria.

The collection also includes an excellent representation of Cohen's published and unpublished writings, including journal articles, book contributions, monographs, reports, and reviews. Of course, a large a number of the publications pertain to Nigerian culture and the research Cohen conducted there over 30 years. Many of these writings exist in multiple versions, from early manuscript drafts to final typescripts and copies of publications and reprints. In addition, there are professional papers related to lectures, symposia, professional associations, consultancy, the Carter Lectures on Africa, and various academic departments in which Cohen served as a faculty member. There is very little material concerning Cohen's activities as an instructor at these academic institutions, but there is a small amount of correspondence with colleagues and students. The collection does not include many personal papers or items pertaining to Cohen's family life.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in the Cohen collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ronald Cohen Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The Ronald Cohen Papers were donated by Ronald and Diana Cohen of Micanopy, Florida, in 1996. The collection was acquired through the assistance of Dan Reboussin. In 2012 Northwestern University transferred a small amount of materials that had been discovered in storage. These materials, which primarily relate to his field work in Nigeria, have been interfiled with existing materials in the collection.


Other Descriptive Data

Throughout the collection, Cohen uses African words, abbreviations, and words with variant spellings. For example, Borno is the current spelling of what was originally spelled Bornu. Cohen refers to the founder of the village or his descendant as the Village Head (VH) or the Lawan. There are wards or hamlets that are run by a Bulama, usually the head of the largest household in the area. There are several districts in Borno, each with a District Head (DH). The Shehu, or king, is a political/religious leader. A person who has studied the Koran is called a Malam. The Kanuri are a large ethnic group in Borno in northeastern Nigeria. Biu is in the southern portion of the Borno state. The peoples of Borno speak Bura-Pabir. Speakers of Bura are predominately non-Islamic, while speakers of Pabir (also known as Babur or Babir) are predominately Islamic.


Contents List

Series I - Field Notes and Data, 1950-1987

The Field Notes and Data series consists of material related to Cohen's research and anthropological field work in Nigeria, focusing on the ethnography and social structures of the Nigerians living in Borno. Documents include field notes, oral histories, grant proposals, and interviews created while conducting field research from the 1950s to the 1980s. The series is divided into five sub-series organized around major field research projects: Ethnography and Social Change in Borno, Family Conflict and Divorce Among the Kanuri, Origins of State in Borno, Organization of Food Production in Nigeria, and Marriage Customs/Family Conflict.


A. Ethnography and Social Change in Borno, Nigeria 1950-1957

Doctoral research examining the Kanuri conducted from 1955 to 1957 with a Foreign Area Fellowship. Field notes predominately are first-person accounts of Cohen's observations. The majority of the files in this sub-series consist of typescript notes from 1956 and 1957, but there are a few manuscript notes as well. In addition to the field notes, there are also questionnaires, general notes, and status reports. Files are arranged alphabetically, although the field notes files themselves are arranged chronologically.


Box
1 Field Notes XII, Nigeria. n.d. (ca. 1956)
1 Field Notes, February 6-28. 1956
1 Field Notes, February 6-28 and December. 1956
1 Field Notes, February 10-30 (sic). 1956
1 Field Notes, February 26 - May 12. 1956
1 Field Notes, April 5-28. 1956
1 Field Notes, May 2 - September 13. 1956
1 Field Notes, September 1 - October 20. 1956
1 Field Notes, November 1 - December 23. 1956
1 Field Report, Work Completed and In Progress (February 10). 1957
1 Field Notes, February 1 - March 25. 1957
1 Field Notes, April 12 - August 2. 1957
1 Field Report (April 29). 1957
1 Field Report #3, General Progress (August 24). 1957
1 Information for Field Workers and Travelers in Nigeria. 1950-1954
1 Kinship Questionnaire by Mallam Abdulla. n.d. (ca. 1957)
1 Notes Regarding Kinship and Household, Kanuri. n.d.
1 Questionnaire Material by Mallum Abdulla. n.d. (ca. 1957)
1 Research Notes, Miscellaneous. n.d.
1A Diary - Diana Cohen (accompanied R. Cohen to Nigeria). 1956
1A Miscellaneous Correspondence, Notes and Maps (e.g., "The Distribution of Native Peoples in Kenya"). 1954-1956
1A Notes - Filongo. 1957
1A Notes - Baba Buiama. 1956
1A Notes - Current Data. 1956-1957
1A Notes - Death and Funerals. 1956
1A Notes - Fertilizer Demonstration. 1956
1A Notes - Magumeri. 1956-1957
1A Notes - Magumeri Children (many notes by Diana Cohen). 1956-1957
1A Notes - Political Organization. 1956
1A Notes - Questionnaires. 1957

B. Family Conflict and Divorce Among the Kanuri, 1966-1969

Research examining the high divorce frequency among the Kanuri of the Borno Emirate in Northern Nigeria. This series primarily consists of data collected from male and female participants in the study. A large portion of the files pertain to TAT testing and analysis. In addition to the data itself, the series also includes codebooks, questionnaires, notes, test forms, and computer printouts (many of which are not dated). Of particular interest are the hand-drawn images used during the TAT testing (see also the photographic prints of these drawings in the Photographs). Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
2 "Female Data" Binder I (Folder 1). n.d.
2 "Female Data" Binder I (Folder 2). n.d.
2 "Female Data" Binder II (Folder 1). n.d.
2 "Female Data" Binder II (Folder 2). n.d.
2 Kanuri Divorce Codebook and Questionnaire. n.d. (ca. 1967)
2 Kanuri Divorce Project Notes. n.d. (ca. 1966)
2 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Delori Males (Folder 1). 1966
2 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Delori Males (Folder 2). 1966
2 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Lamisola Males. 1966
2 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Mafani Females. 1966
3 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Mafani Males. 1966
3 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Shehuri North Females. 1966
3 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Shehuri North Males. 1966
3 Kanuri Divorce Project: TAT's Summer 1966, Talbari Ward Males. 1966
3 Kanuri Households Analysis Cards. 1968
3 Kin-Involvement Coding and Notes. n.d. (ca. 1967)
3 "Male Data" Binder I (Folder 1). n.d.
3 "Male Data" Binder I (Folder 2). n.d.
3 "Male Data" Binder II (Folder 1). n.d.
3 "Male Data" Binder II (Folder 2). n.d.
3 "Male Data" Binder II (Folder 3). n.d.
3 Marriage Questionnaire - EIDISC and BMDOZR Runs. n.d. (ca. 1968)
4 Marriage Specific: Rough Frequency Distributions. n.d. (ca. 1966)
4 TAT Binder I: "My Future Life" and "Reasons for Divorce" Essays - Includes preface, notes, table of contents. n.d. (ca. 1966)
4 TAT Binder I: Appendix I and II (content analysis). n.d. (ca. 1966)
4 TAT Binder I: Appendix III, IV and X (content analysis and miscellaneous material). n.d. (ca. 1966)
4 TAT Female Notebook (Divorce). 1966
4 TAT Male Notebook. 1966
4 TAT Male Notebook and Field Notes, July - August. 1966
4 TAT Notes. n.d.
4 TAT Protocols, Coding Instructions, Dictionary, Questions, Codebook, etc. n.d. (ca. 1966)
4 TAT Questionnaire Drafts. 1965
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: Drawing Used for TAT (Hand-drawn). n.d.
5 Oversize: NUCROS - Marriage and Divorce Data Analysis Computer Printouts. 1968
6 Oversize: NUCROS - TAT Protocols Profiles Computer Printouts. 1969

C. Origins of State in Borno, Nigeria (Biu Division, Bura and Babur), 1972-1974

An ethnographic study of the Babur-Bura society with a special emphasis on spread of Islam and the split between the Babur (predominately Islamic) and the Bura groups in this region. The field notes consist of observations, oral histories, interviews, and discussions with participating informants, especially older informants with longer memories and greater historical perspectives. This large project was funded primarily by the National Science Foundation. The majority of the files in this series are identified and grouped according to the towns, villages, and clans that were included in the research. In most cases, typescript transcriptions of the original field notebooks are also present. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
7 Balbaya, Wuyo, Telli by Abdul Kadin Bwala - Field Notebook. 1974
7 Balbaya, Wuyo, Telli by Abdul Kadin Bwala - Typescript. 1974
7 Biography of Banu, C.K., and M.M. Tanga (Garkida area) by Bitrus Ndahi. 1973
7 Biography of Biu, Manja, by Ibrahim Mastafa (Mastapha). 1973
7 Biography of Gambo, Hajiya, by Ladi Maina. 1973
7 Biography of Kogi, Yagagi Mamman. n.d. (ca. 1973)
7 Biography of Malgwi, Bukar Nkirta (Marama) by Wankata Malgwe (Malgwi). 1973
7 Biography of Thlama, M., and K. Mwada by Mwajim Malgwi. 1973
7 Biography of Wai (Wari), Ya, and Saje Bulama by Ibrahim Usman. 1973
7 Biography of Wapasana, Heman, and Kilba Garkida by Tam Mshelia - Field Notebook. 1973
7 Biography of Wapasana, Heman (Wapansa), and Kilba Garkida by Tam Mshelia - Typescript. 1973
7 Biography Research by Mshelbwala, Jiri (incl. Chakda Siga Nggada, Balwar Siga Mshelia). 1973
7 Biography Research by Mshelia, Ngilanca B. (incl. Madawi Yampeliya). 1973
7 Biography Research by Mshelia, T. (incl. Yerima Tapchi). 1973
7 Biography Research by Wakawa, Simfa (incl. Lawan Dlawal Wakaw, Yankwar Angili Wakawa). 1973
8 Biu Emirate History - Notes by Thloma Dawa (Interviews with Emir). 1974
8 Biu-Kithla by Jibrim Usman. 1973
8 Biu Town by M.I. Biu. 1973
8 Bura Field Project, John Chiwi Balami - Field Notebook. 1973
8 Bura Field Project, John Chiwi Balami - Typescript. 1973
8 Bura Folktale, Thlama. n.d.
8 Bura-Pabir Relations (especially around Tiraku) by Simfa Wakawa. 1973
8 Buratai by Jiri Mshelbwala. 1974
8 Buratai and Kamumya by W. Malgwi. 1974
8 Buratai and Kamumya by Wahhata Malgwi. 1974
9 Chibok by Allabeh A. Ddirmbula - Field Notebook. 1974
9 Chibok by Allabeh A. Ddirmbula - Typescript. 1974
9 Clan History, Bwala Clan (Bilatum) by I.D. Mshelbwala - Field Notebook. 1973
9 Clan History, Bwala Clan (Bilatum) by I.D. Mshelbwala - Typescript. 1973
9 Clan History, Dibal and Bwala by D.B. Bwala. n.d.
9 Durkwa by Hyempa Nggada - Field Notebook. 1973
9 Durkwa by Hyempa Nggada - Typescript. 1973
9 Field Notebook (Biu Division, Borno, Nigeria). 1973
9 Field Notes, Bura, pp. 1-300. 1972-1973
10 Field Notes, Bura, pp. 301-629. 1973
10 Field Notes, Bura, pp. 630-662. 1973
10 Field Notes, Bura, pp. 663-806. 1974
10 Garkida Biographies by T. Mshelia (incl. Birma Ali). 1973
10 Garkida by Bitrus B. Ndahi. 1973
10 Garkida by Bitrus B. Ndahi. 1973
10 Garkida by Sunday Sawa. 1973
10 Garkida by Sunday Sawa - Field Notebook. 1973
11 Garkida by Sunday Sawa - Typescript. 1973
11 Garkida by Tami Mshelia (with detailed genealogy) - Field Notebook. 1973
11 Garkida by Tami Mshelia (with detailed genealogy) - Typescript. 1973
11 Garkida, Garnwa/Garnuwa Clan - Field Notebook. 1973
11 Garkida - Interview with Birma, Village History (R. Cohen Interviewer, includes Tami Mshelia). 1973
11 Garkida - Interview with Birma, Village History, T. Mshelia, Bura, Pabir. 1973
11 Gulani by Abdullahi A. Gunda. 1974
11 Gulani by Mohammed Shuaibu Gulani - Field Notebook. 1974
11 Gulani by Mohammed Shuaibu Gulani - Typescript. 1974
12 Gunda and Madlau by Samuel H. Mshelia - Field Notebook. 1974
12 Gunda and Madlau by Samuel H. Mshelia - Typescript. 1974
12 Gur and Pelathlabu by Julius Pindar Mshelia - Field Notebook. 1974
12 Gur and Pelathlabu by Julius Pindar Mshelia. 1974
12 Gur, Pelathlabu, Mirnga, Kwajaffa by Mordekai Mshelia - Field Notebook. 1974
12 Gur, Pelathlabu, Mirnga, Kwajaffa by Mordekai Mshelia - Typescript. 1974
12 Hamza-Garga Clash on Bura Separatism at Kwayatera. 1973-1974
12 Heman Wapasana, Kilba Garkida by Tami Mshelia. 1973
12 Hena Clan by M. Birma Hena - Field Notebook. 1972
12 Hena Clan by M. Birma Hena - Typescript. 1972
12 Hena Clan by Stephen L. Hena. 1973
12 Kamunya by Jiri Mshelbwala. 1974
12 Kamunya, Buratai by Jiri Mshelbwala. n.d. (ca. 1974)
12 Kogu Maigira (Kwagu Magiru). 1974
13 Kwajaffa by Ibrahim B. Gwary. 1973
13 Kwaya Tera and Wandali Minta by A.Y. Nganjwa. 1974
13 Mandaragirau by Musa Ibrahim Sakwa. 1974
13 Mandaragirau by Musa Ibrahim Sakwa. 1974
13 Mandaragirau, Viu Kithla by Hyempa Nggada - Field Notebook. 1974
13 Mandaragirau, Viu Kithla by Hyempa Nggada - Typescript. 1974
13 Marama by Bukar Mbaya. 1973
13 Meram (near Marama, but different) by Anjili A. Mshelbwala. 1974
13 Milala and Huma by Abdul Msheliza. 1974
14 Miringa by Ibrahim Mustapha. 1974
14 Miringa by Ibrahim Mustapha. 1974
14 Miringa-Pabir (Babur) by Yusuf B. Mirnga. 1974
14 Mshel-Bwala, Bala - "Biu: A Colonial Artifact" (Thesis footnotes). 1972
14 Mshelia Kunar, Yawalari by P.C. Mshelia - Field Notebook. 1974
14 Mshelia Kunar, Yawalari by P.C. Mshelia - Typescript. 1974
14 Notebook: "Research Notes July 1974" (Biu Division, Borno, Nigeria). 1974
14 Pabir-Biu, Ladi Maina. n.d. (ca. 1973)
14 Pabir Cultural History by Jibrim Usman. n.d.
14 Pabir Cultural History (Biu Division) by M.I. Biu. 1973
15 Sakwa by Musa Ibrahim Sakwa. 1974
15 Sakwa by Musa Ibrahim Sakwa. 1974
15 Shafa, Viu Kithla by Simfa L. Wakawa. 1974
15 Shaffa, Angiramta, Fire Incident in Shafa by Thomas Dawa and Mwajim Maidugu. 1973-1974
15 Shaffa, Angiramta and Fires by Thomas Dawa. 1974
15 Subwang by Joshua Mshelia. 1973-1974
15 Tiraku (Wakawa Clan) by Simfa Wakawa - Field Notebook. 1973
15 Tiraku (Wakawa Clan) by Simfa Wakawa - Typescript. 1973
16 Tsahuyam by Salmanza B. Mshelia. 1974
16 Walls Around Towns (Bura) by Stephen Luka Hena, Wandali. 1973
16 Wandali by Stephen L. Hena. 1974
16 Wuyo by Mwajim M. Maidugu (incl. Mohammed Magaji) - Field Notebook. 1974
16 Wuyo by Mwajim M. Maidugu (incl. Mohammed Magaji) - Typescript. 1974

D. Organization of Food Production in Nigeria, 1983-1987

Research examining the relationship between farming scale and productivity and between centralization and productivity in Nigerian agriculture. This series includes interviews, reports, notes, data, correspondence, codebooks, and data analysis computer printouts. In addition to agriculture and food production, other topics include BOADAP (Borno State Accelerated Development Area Programme), ethnography, the Study Group on Food Production, and Tiga Dam. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
17 BOADAP (Borno State Accelerated Development Area Programme) Notes. 1984
17 Code Book, African Food Production Systems, Borno-Nigeria. 1985
17 Ethnographic Reports on Kanuri Farming, Abba Shettima. n.d.
17 Large Scale Farming, Food Production. 1985 and n.d.
17 Large Scale Farming, Nigeria - Interviews with farmers, bankers, etc. 1984
17 Large Scale Farming, Nigeria - Notes, correspondence, data. 1984
17 Notes, Tiga Dam. n.d.
17 Study Group on Food Production. 1983-1984
18 Nigeria Agriculture/Farm Labor Data Analysis Computer Printouts. 1986-1987

E. Marriage Customs and Family Conflict in Borno 1964-1965

Box
18A Interview Notes. Circa 1964-1965
18A Interview Notes. Circa 1964-1965
18A Interview Notes. Circa 1964-1965


Series II - Publications and Writings, 1961-1994

This series consists of journal articles, conference papers, monograph chapters, reviews, and other publications and writings created by Cohen. The subjects covered within these publications represent Cohen's research interests, specifically pertaining to Borno and Nigeria. Topics include human rights, food production, warfare, social evolution, state development, the status of women, and methods of anthropological research. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
19 "Advances in the Evolution of Society by Richard N. Adams: A Reply" (Re: Origins of the State). n.d. (ca. 1978)
19 "The African Background" - Revised lecture, Ontario Woodsworth Memorial Foundation. 1961
19 "Afro-Asian Studies in Canada". 1963
19 "Age and Culture as Theory". n.d. (ca. 1984)
19 "Agricultural Transformation in Northern Nigeria: A Macro-Micro Analysis". n.d. (ca. 1985)
19 "Altruism and the Evolution of Civil Society". n.d. (ca. 1992)
19 "Altruism, Genes, and Behavior". 1977
19 "Altruism: Human, Cultural, or What?". 1972
19 "The Analysis of Conflict in Hierarchical Systems" - Summary of article for French translation in Anthropologica. 1961
19 "Anthropology and Diplomacy: New Wine, or New Bottles?". 1983
19 "Anthropology and Political Science: Courtship or Marriage?". 1967
19 "Approaches to Applied Anthropology". 1984
19 "Approaches to Applied Anthropology". n.d. (ca. 1984)
19 "Bornu: An Historical Summary". n.d. (ca. 1962)
19 "Borno in the Nineteenth Century" with Louis Brenner. n.d. (ca. 1987)
19 "The Bornu King Lists". n.d. (ca. 1966)
19 "Chapter 1: The Sphinx at the Gate" (Corruption). n.d.
19 "Community Patterning in Two Northern Trading Posts" (with Asen Balikci). 1963
19 "Conflict and Change in a Northern Nigerian Emirate" - Revised article for Zollschan, Purdue. n.d. (ca. 1976)
19 "Corruption in Nigeria: A Comparative Perspective" (mss. draft). n.d.
19 "Dependency and Self-Sufficiency in Chipewan Stories" (Folklore Paper) with James W. VanStone. 1961
19 "The Dynamics of Feudalism in Bornu". n.d. (ca. 1966)
19 "Dynastic Traditions and the State" - University of Maiduguri, Annual Review, Annals of Borno. 1983
19 "Egalitarian Society and Myths of Women's Status: A Reply to Sanday". n.d. (ca. 1982)
19 "Elite Theory and the Formation of Elites Among Bura Intellectuals of Nigeria". 1983
20 Encyclopedia of Sub-Saharan Africa, "Indigenous Principles of Government" (mss.). 1993-1994
20 "End of the Early State" (Decline). 1984
20 "Endless Teardrops: Polegomena to the Study of Human Rights in Africa". n.d. (ca. 1991)
20 "Ethnicity and the State in Contemporary Perspective" for IREX Conference on Ethnic Processes in the USA and USSR. 1983-1984
20 "Ethnicity: Problem and Focus in Anthropology" - Reprint, Annual Review of Anthropology. 1978
20 "Ethnicity, The State, and Moral Order". 1992
20 "Everyday Life in Africa". n.d. (ca. 1961)
20 "Evolution, Fission and the Early State". 1980-1981
20 "The Evolution of Hierarchical Institutions: A Case Study from Biu, Nigeria". 1974
20 "Evolutionary Epistemology and Human Values" - Current Anthropology. 1981
20 "Family Life in Bornu". 1967
20 "The Food Crop Problem" (mss. draft). n.d.
20 "Force or Religion in a Sudanese Emirate" (Reprint from "Problems in Rural Development"). 1975
20 "From Empire to Colony: Bornu in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries" in "Impact of Colonialism". 1970
20 "Gender and Politics in Traditional Africa" (Canadian Africanist Meetings). 1975
20 "Good Hope Tales by Paul Voudrach" (with Helgi Osterreich)". 1965
20 "Growth is Development: Distribution is Politics". n.d. (ca. 1944)
20 "A Handbook of Method in Cultural Anthropology" with Raoul Naroll (Review). 1973
20 "Hierarchy and Society" (Toward and Anthropology of Formal Organizations). 1980
20 "History, Legend and Myth in Pabir Origin Traditions" - Essays in Honor of Professor Addullahi Smith. 1980
20A "Housing, Neighborhood and Central Layout in Nigerian Urban Cultures: Background to Design Options for New Federal Capital" (with Paden). Folder 1 of 3. 1978
20A "Housing, Neighborhood and Central Layout in Nigerian Urban Cultures: Background to Design Options for New Federal Capital" (with Paden). Folder 2 of 3. 1978
20A "Housing, Neighborhood and Central Layout in Nigerian Urban Cultures: Background to Design Options for New Federal Capital" (with Paden). Folder 3 of 3. 1978
20A "Individualism and Collectivism in Africanist Anthropology: A Revisionist Perspective". n.d. (ca. 1994)
20A "Is Small Really Beautiful: Ideology and Discontent in African Food Production". 1983
20A "The Just-So So? A Spurious Tribal Grouping in Western Sudanic History". n.d. (ca. 1962-1963)
20A Legitimacy. n.d. (ca. 1988)
20A "Legitimacy and Illegitimacy in State Formation". 1983
20A "Marriage Instability Among the Kanuri of Northern Nigeria". 1961
20A "Modernism and the Hinterland: The Canadian Example". 1966
20A "Modernization in Africa: A Social and Psychological Model of Analysis" (Lecture). 1968
20A "A Multimethod Approach to the Study of Marriage and Divorce". n.d. (ca. 1970)
20A "The Natural History of Hierarchy: A Case Study". 1976
20A "Nigeria's New Capital City: A Cost-Benefit Analysis of the Public Good" with John N. Paden. 1980-1981
20A "Oedipus Rex and Regina: The Queen Mother in Africa". 1977
20A Paper on Households Presented at AAA (Outline/Notes). 1982
20A "Paradise Regained: Myth and Reality in the Political Economy of the Early State" in "Early State Economics". 1991
20A "The Peasant Connection: A Case Study of the Bureaucracy of Agri-Industry" with Peter O. Agbonifo (Reprint, Northwestern). 1976
20A "A Pilot Study of Divorce Theory". n.d. (ca. 1964-1966)
20A "Planning Nigeria's New Capital City: Implementation and the Public Good" with John Paden. n.d. (ca. 1978)
20A "Policy and Social Theory in Anthropology" - Eddy and Partridge book. n.d. (ca. 1987)
21 "Political Anthropology". 1974
21 "Political Anthropology". n.d. (ca. 1994)
21 "Position Paper: Prolegomena for the Understanding of Human Rights Issues in Africa". n.d. (ca. 1989)
21 "Power, Authority and Personal Success in Islam and Bornu". 1966
21 "Power Authority and Sociobiology: The Social Contract Reconsidered". n.d. (ca. 1976)
21 "The Pull of Opposites: Incorporation and Autonomy in Nigeria," Reprint. 1975
21 "Research Directions in Political Anthropology". 1969
21 Review - "Asiatic Mode of Production" by Krader. n.d.
21 Review - CA Comment "On Sociocultural Discontinuity: Nationalism and Cultural Objectification in Quebec" by Handler. 1983
21 Review - "Ethnic Minority Problems in Nigerian Politics, 1960-1965" by Okpu. 1977
21 Review - "The Fon of Dahomey" by Argyle. 1971
21 Review - "Myths of Male Dominance" by Leacock. 1981
21 Review - "National and Ethnic Movements" by Dofny and Akiwowo. 1980
21 Review - "Order and Rebellion in Tribal Africa" by Gluckman. n.d.
21 Review - "West African Kingdoms in the 19th Century" by Forde and Kaberry. 1967
21 Reviews of Cohen Publications. 1994
21 "Servility in Social Evolution". 1970
21 "Social Theory and Critical Analysis in Applied Anthropology". 1985
21 "Some Aspects of Institutionalized Exchange: A Kanuri Example" and "The Future of a Pioneer". 1965
21 "State Foundations: A Controlled Comparison" (Origins of the State). 1978
21 "State Foundations: Some Inductive Insights". 1975
21 "The State: A Lenticular Perspective". n.d. (ca. 1994)
21 "The State and Multiethnicity". 1994
21 "State Origins: A Reappraisal". n.d. (ca. 1978)
21 "The Strategy of Social Evolution". n.d. (ca. 1963)
21 "Studies for Bureaucrats: A Critical Look at Consultancy Research". n.d.
21 "A Study of Improvement in the Quality and Quantity of Work in Nigeria's Public Services" with J.I. Tseayo for Udoji Commission. 1974
21 "The Success that Failed: An Experiment in Culture Change in Africa". 1961
21 "Sustainable Agriculture in Africa: Social-Cultural, Political and Economic Considerations" - Center for African Studies, Ohio State University. 1990
21 "Teleonomic Processes and Social Evolution: A Lenticular Perspective" - Symposium, Konrad Lorenz Institut, Vienna. 1993
21 "Three Approaches to the Socio-Cultural Analysis of Aging". n.d.
21 Typescript Draft - Education in Nigeria. n.d. (ca. 1991)
22 "Traditional Society in Africa". n.d.
22 "Values and Food Production in the African Contect" (Paper Summary). 1985
22 "Values of Modernization" (with Alan Peshkin). 1967
22 "War and War Machines in Pre and Post Industrialized States" (mss. draft). n.d.
22 "War and War Proneness in Pre- and Post-Industrial States". n.d.
22 "Warfare and State Formation: Wars Makes States and States Make Wars". 1982
22 "Where Do We Come From, Where Do We Go: Political Anthropology Looks Ahead" (Reviews). 1985
22 "Women, Status and High Office in African Politics". 1985
22A Comparative Political Systems (political anthropology book with J. Middleton). 1966
22A Comparative Political Systems - Authors. 1966
22A Comparative Political Systems - Permissions. 1966
22A Thesis - Social Stratification in Bornu.
22A Thesis - Social Stratification in Bornu.
22A Thesis - Social Stratification in Bornu.
22A "Three Arctic Towns".


Series III - Research Proposals, 1955-1996

This series consists of proposals made to various grant funding agencies including: National Science Foundation, Ford Foundation, Carnegie Corporation, Fulbright-Hays, and the U.S. Information Agency (USIA). The majority of the project proposals pertain to Borno and Nigeria with topics such as human rights, food production, social evolution, state development, marriage and divorce theory, and the Carter Lectures on Africa. Cohen is the principal investigator for the majority of the proposals, but other persons and groups are represented as well, including the University of Florida Center for African Studies, the Makerere Institute of Social Research, Ajuji Ahmed, Larry Koinyan, O. Famure, and Obafemi Awolowo University. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
23 Carnegie Corporation of New York - Ajuji Ahmed. 1989-1994
23 Carnegie Corporation of New York - Larry Koinyan. 1994-1995
23 Carter Lectures on Africa - Ford Foundation. 1987-1994
23 Center for African Studies, University of Florida, Title VI Application. 1993
23 "Enhancement of Human Rights and Democracy in Uganda," University Development Linkage Program, UF and Makerere University. n.d. (ca. 1992)
23 Ford Foundation Foreign Study and Research Fellowship - Changing Economic Patterns in Northern Nigeria. 1955
23 Fulbright-Hays Training Grant Proposal, "Organization of Food Production in Borno". 1983-1984
23 Grant Proposal: Cross-Cultural Study of Marriage Customs. 1964
23 Makerere Institute of Social Research (MISR), Human Rights in Uganda - Proposal, Reports, Correspondence. 1992-1996
23 National Science Foundation - "Organization of Food Crop Production in Nigeria". 1983
23 National Science Foundation - "Organization of Food Crop Production in Nigeria". 1983
23 National Science Foundation - "Organization of Food Crop Production...". 1983
23 National Science Foundation Proposal, "The Origins of the State". 1971
23 National Science Foundation Proposal Evaluations. 1983
23 National Science Foundation Proposal, "Scale and Productivity in Nigerian Agriculture". 1984
23 National Science Foundation Proposal (denied): "Production Systems in Nigerian Agriculture". 1984
23 National Science Foundation Proposals: Divorce Theory Among the Kanuri; Kanuri Marriage and Divorce Data. 1965-1967
23 Proposal - "The Organization of Food Production in Borno" by Cohen and Dr. O. Famure. 1984
23 "Third World Development Policy and The Experimenting Society: A Proposal". 1982
23 U.S. Information Agency (USIA), Governance and Democratization in Nigeria, UF and Obafemi Awolowo University proposal/budget. 1991-1994


Series IV - Research Files, 1970-1977 and n.d.

This series consists of notes and photocopies of materials from African archives, historical writings, research aids, and other secondary materials used by Cohen to conduct research in Nigeria. The majority of the files contain archival records, primarily pre-colonial material from the Nigerian National Archives and various other archival institutions. Although most of the photocopies and notes in this series are not dated, it seems that the bulk of the material was created in the 1970s in conjunction with the "Origins of State in Borno" research project. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
24 Archives: Administrative History for the Gujba, Pagan, Biu Divisions (Photocopies). n.d.
24 Archives: Bornu Expedition 1902 (Photocopies). n.d. (ca. 1972)
24 Archives: Bura, Pabir, Babur Ethnography. 1973
24 Archives: Bura Patrols 1908-1917. n.d.
24 Archives: Emir's (Traditional) Council - Photocopies. 1974
24 Archives: Gumsu District (Dikwa Emirate), Bornu. n.d.
24 Archives: Lower Bornu Expedition 1902. n.d.
24 Archives: Meek and Whiteley on Babur, Pabir, Bura. n.d.
24 Archives: Missions. n.d.
24 Archives: Notebooks I and II. n.d.
24 Archives: Notebooks III and IV. n.d.
24 Archives: Notes on Bura-Babur, Pabir Royals, 1934-1937. n.d.
24 Biu Administrative History: Balami, "Politics of Protest". n.d.
24 Borno - Ngala, Marte Materials from Kyari Tijani (Bornu pre-Islamic organization). 1977
24 Borno Title Holders, Shehu's Place. 1973
24 Bornu Expedition (1898, 1902, etc.) - Notes, correspondence, etc. n.d.
24 Bura Field Work Guides. 1972-1973
24 Bura - Nigerian National Archives Notes. 1972-1974
24 Bura Village Headship Notes. n.d.
25 Chronology of Rulers: Bornu, Gombe, Bauchi, Sokoto. n.d.
25 Court Cases, Archives (1920s) - "BiuDist" notes. n.d.
25 "The Development of Native Administration in Biu Division 1902-1959" by Simfa Wakawa (thesis). 1975
25 Field Notes and Historical Materials: Biu, Ndama Wakawa, Pabir, etc. 1970-1972
25 History, Sudan - notes, photocopies. n.d.
25 "Inter-Marriage as a Mechanism for National Integration: A Study of the Bura in Gardina" by T.T. Itahari. 1972
25 Kanakuru Browne Resident Adamawa Archives, 1920s (Photocopies). 1974
25 Kilba (by Meek), National Archives (Photocopies). n.d.
25 Kinship Terms - Bura. n.d. (ca. 1973)
25 Map, "Bachma and Their Neighbors" by Ainsley L. Dalli and Rose R. Teneke. n.d.
25 Mbursa Pela Mshelmbwala on Bura Medicines. 1973
25 Original Bura Seminar. n.d.
25 "Outline of Mandara History" by Bawuro Barkinda Mubi (Photocopy). 1973
25 Pabir Royal Genealogy. n.d.
25 "The Politics of Protest" by Balami (Biu 1900-1972). 1972
25 Table of Contents for Some of the Bura Data. n.d. (ca. 1974)
25 "Yunusa Idi Kida Sociology: The Social Structure of My Own Ethnic Group" (Paper for C. Frantz). 1972


Series V - Professional Material, 1960-1994

This series includes conference papers, seminar and symposium notes, committee files, memorandum, workshop papers, reports, curriculum vitae, and professional materials pertaining to the Carter Lectures on Africa and various academic departments. Topics include the American Anthropological Association, the USAID project on the Himalayan Studies Centre in Nepal, a folklore manuscript related to the Arctic, Nigeria, and the University of Maiduguri. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
26 American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting. 1985
26 American Anthropological Association, Notes for Meeting. 1985
26 American Association for the Advancement of Science Annual Meeting. 1985
26 Brochure, "Political and Social Practice in Post-Colonial Countries" (Seminar, Yale). 1983
26 Carter Lectures on Africa Committee. 1985-1994
26 Curriculum Vitae, Ronald Cohen (incl. Diana Cohen). 1976-1994
26 Folklore Manuscript, Arctic: Paul Voudrach, National Museum of Canada. 1960-1964
26 Lilly Endowment Funds, Course: "Corrosion of Ideals: A Comparative Analysis of Corruption". 1977
26 Nairobi Meetings, Governance - Memorandum. n.d. (ca. 1993)
26 Notes on Women in Africa (NEH Seminar). n.d.
26 Symposium Notes on Speakers: Earl Count, Sade, etc. n.d.
26 University of Maiduguri Seminars/Lectures. 1983
26 University of Maiduguri Sociology Department. 1983
26 USAID Reports: Himalayan Studies Centre, Nepal. 1987
26 USAID Project: Himalayan Studies Centre, Nepal. 1987
26 Workshop on Governance and Democratization in Nigeria. 1993-1994


Series VI - Correspondence, 1956-1994

This small series includes correspondence pertaining to publications, research projects, symposiums, academics, and personal matters. Correspondents and topics include: Peter Agbonifo, Borno, Nigeria, Brian Ferguson, "Warfare and State Formation," IREX, A.L. Mabogunje, and the UF Anthropology Department. Files are arranged alphabetically.


Box
27 Agbonifo, Peter O. 1981
27 Agbonifo, Peter O. (incl. Social and Economic Effects of State Farming). 1980-1982
27 Annals of Borno. 1984-1985
27 Borno Project, Nigeria Trip. 1982-1984
27 Claessen, Henri, regarding "Warfare and State Formation". 1983
27 Ferguson, Brian, regarding "Warfare and State Formation" (incl. notes and drafts). 1980-1983
27 General. 1956-1958
27 IREX (International Research and Exchanges Board). 1984
27 Mabogunje, A.L. 1983-1985
27 Re: Paper Presentations. n.d. (ca. 1994)
27 Re: Publications. 1994
27 Symposium on Evolutionary Epistemology, Konrad Lorenz Institut, Vienna. 1992-1993
27 Tijani, Kyari. 1983
27 University of Florida, African Studies, Anthropology Department. 1993-1994


Series VII - Photographs, 1957-1965 and n.d.

This series contains three sub-series: Prints, Slides, and Negatives, which primarily are of images taken in Nigeria. The majority of the prints are not dated and in black and white. Several of the prints have hand-written captions on the verso of the print, and in these cases the folder title reflects the caption. The majority of the slides are in color and are dated. The negatives, for the most part, are not identified but grouped under categories such as "Daily Life" or "Women's Activities." Names and subjects occurring frequently in this series include Suli, Mallam, Shehu, Mianaram/Mianarami, Kanuri, Magumeri, Maiduguri, mosques, monkey, Berni, a dig, Rosemans, children, the district head, and the Cohen family. Of particular interest are the images of drawings used during the Kanuri Divorce project TAT testing (see also the original drawings in the series entitled Field Notes and Data: Family Conflict and Divorce Among the Kanuri). Files are arranged alphabetically within each sub-series.


Box
28 Aji Kolo, his little brother and Affa Lumarbe... making clay ammunition for their sling shots. n.d.
28 Ajia Magumeri. n.d.
28 The Arabic Mallam. n.d.
28 A Brassmaker breaking the clay mold in "cire perdue" casting. n.d.
28 Caretaker, Suli and Stranger in front of European roadside rest house. n.d.
28 A chief's wife in the women's section of the compound. 1957
28 Children in doorway, 2 items. 1957
28 Cohen family members (in snow and some include young male, possibly Suli), 7 items. 1961
28 D.H. Biu Umar portrait, unidentified man. n.d.
28 Famure. n.d.
28 Friday prayers on the town plaza. n.d.
28 A friend of Suli's spins a shell in his hand, Suli peers on. n.d.
28 Greeting a big man. n.d.
28 Ground nut pyramid (purimid). n.d.
28 Hajiyas Henchmen, 2 items. n.d.
28 Inside of Class III, unfortunately out of focus. n.d.
28 Inside the Shehu's palace in front of the throne room. n.d.
28 Junior master taking games. n.d.
28 Lawan's daughter grinds guinea corm in Mianaram's house. n.d.
28 Local blue blood, 2 items. n.d.
28 Kanuri women at the well. 1957
28 Magumeri's chief scribe at work in his office. n.d.
28 Maiduguri street scene, 2 items. n.d.
28 Mainaramis grandson and another child of the house playing horse. n.d.
28 Mallams visit Cohen. n.d.
28 Man and woman, seated. 1957
28 Man and woman, seated. 1959
28 Man seated on crate. 1959
28 Market scenes (selling goods), 4 items. n.d.
28 Modu Mbusube Balma (agriculture), 8 items. n.d.
28 Monkey and Deer. n.d.
28 Monkey and Dog. n.d.
28 Monkey and the Kitten, 2 items. n.d.
28 Mosque in the capital (Maiduguri). 1965
28 Part of wall uncovered by me at Berni. n.d.
28 Players greeting the horseman in front of the district head's compound. n.d.
28 Pots at Berni, 2 items. n.d.
28 Receiving a turban from the Shehu. n.d.
28 Ronald Cohen, 3 items. 1959
28 Rosemans at Berni (?). n.d.
28 Rosemans monkey. n.d.
28 Saluting a big man. n.d.
28 Saluting the district head (used on cover of book), man with sword (includes negative). n.d.
28 Scram! Says the monkey. n.d.
28 Sifting the grain for the wedding while the women dance (drummers in background). n.d.
28 Site of the Cohen's old house. n.d.
28 Suli at Berni. n.d.
28 Suli in his new suit on the feast day which follows the great feast. n.d.
28 Suli looking a little serious - portraits of a boy, 3 items. 1959
28 Suli with his pet bird, 2 items. n.d.
28 Suli's country, Biu very lovely - almost Scottish. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #1, p. 189" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #2, p. 190" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #3, p. 191" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #4, p. 192" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #5, p. 193" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #6, p. 194" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #7, p. 195" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #8, p. 196" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #9, p. 197" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #10, p. 198" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #11, p. 199" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Card #12, p. 200" (includes negative), 4 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, "Alternate" (includes negative), 2 items. n.d.
28 TAT images used during Kanuri Divorce Project, 5 negatives. n.d.
28 Three people around a wash tub. 1959
28 Tree and school buildings. n.d.
28 Turbaning ceremony, getting a title from the Shehu. n.d.
28 Unearthed pots at dig. 1957
28 Unidentified group, seated. n.d.
28 Unidentified groups of men, 2 items. 1959
28 Unidentified male, smiling. n.d.
28 Unidentified male, smoking. n.d.
28 Unidentified man, ironing. 1959
28 Unidentified man, smiling. n.d.
28 Unidentified man with mustache. 1957
28 Vetenary Mallam, 2 items. n.d.
28 Young lady sits by the wall. n.d.
28 Negatives - The Anthropologist, 20 items. n.d.
28 Negatives - Children, 23 items. n.d.
28 Negatives - Daily Life, 2 items. n.d.
28 Negatives - The Dig, 18 items. n.d.
28 Negatives - Entertainers, 12 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - General, 34 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Groups, 4 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Horse Shows, 7 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Houses, 3 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Kanuri Ceremonies, 8 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Men's Activities, 12 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Other Tribes, 13 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Peasants, 5 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - People in Authority, 5 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Public Life, 7 items. n.d.
29 Negatives - Women's Activities, 13 items. n.d.
29 Slides - Nigeria Trip, 200 items. 1956-1957
29 Slides - Nigeria Trip, 194 items. 1956-1957
29 Slides - Unidentified (Probably Nigeria Trip), 9 items. n.d. (ca. 1956-1957)
29 Slides - Nigeria Trip, General (Maiduguri, Bornu, etc.), 23 items. "1963, 1965"
29 Slides - Nigeria Trip, General, 20 items. 1966
29 Slides - Field Trip: Lake Chad, Borno, Nigeria, Gombe, Magumeri (famrs, irrigation, livestock, etc.), 100 items. 1983


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Africa--Social conditions
Agriculture--Africa
Borno State (Nigeria)
Bornu--History
Divorce--Nigeria
Ethnology--Africa, Sub-Saharan
Food crops--Africa
Kanuri (African people)
Nigeria



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page