Skip to Search



A Guide to the Jean Cocteau Letters

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cocteau, Jean, 1889-1963
Title: Jean Cocteau Letters
Dates: 1912-1958
Bulk dates: 1912-1925
Abstract: Letters written by Jean Cocteau to Madeleine Le Chevrel, Henri Sarguet, and others. Also includes a poem.
Extent: 0.02 Linear feet. 32 folders.
Identification: MS Group 41b
Language(s): French

Biographical/Historical Note

Jean Cocteau (1889-1963) was a French poet, novelist, playwright, artist and filmmaker.


Scope and Content

The collection includes 32 letters, dated 1912-1958, from Jean Cocteau to various recipients including Madeleine Le Chevrel and Henri Sarguet. There is one undated poem: "Le Printemps a Fond de la Mer."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The Cocteau letters are part of the Miscellaneous Papers of French Authors collection at the University of Florida.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jean Cocteau Letters, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 2 Cocteau, Jean. Not dated
1 3 Cocteau, Jean. Not dated
1 4 Cocteau, Jean. 1912 May 14
1 5 Cocteau, Jean. 1912 May 25
1 6 Cocteau, Jean. 1912 March (?) 20
1 7 Cocteau, Jean. 1912
1 8 Cocteau, Jean. 1913 Aug. 2
1 9 Cocteau, Jean. 1913 Oct. 17, 1913
1 10 Cocteau, Jean. 1913 Sept. 9
1 11 Cocteau, Jean. 1913 Aug. 2
1 12 Cocteau, Jean. 1914 Aug. 27
1 13 Cocteau, Jean. 1915
1 14 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 (?) Aug. 14
1 15 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 Aug. 6
1 16 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 July 18
1 17 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 June 27
1 18 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 June 5
1 19 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 May 25
1 20 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 (?) March 11
1 21 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 Feb. 18
1 22 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 Jan. 29
1 23 Cocteau, Jean. 1916 Jan. 10
1 24 Cocteau, Jean. 1916
1 25 Cocteau, Jean. [1916?]
1 26 Cocteau, Jean. [1923?]
1 27 Cocteau, Jean. 1923 Aug. 22
1 28 Cocteau, Jean. 1925 March 23
1 29 Cocteau, Jean - Sarguet (?), Henri. 1950 May 23
1 30 Cocteau, Jean - Sarguet (?), Henri. 1952 Sept. 17
1 31 Cocteau, Jean. 1958 Nov. 4
1 32 Cocteau, Jean letter to Magre. 1939 April 15
1 33 Cocteau, Jean - Le Printemps au fond de la Mer (poem). Not dated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cocteau, Jean, -- 1889-1963 -- Correspondence



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page