Skip to Search



A Guide to the Robert Claxton Climatology Collection

Finding aid created by Steve Duckworth

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2016


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Claxton, Robert H., 1942- (Collector)
Title: Robert Claxton Climatology Collection
Dates: 1974-2000
Bulk dates: 1974-1986
Abstract: Bob Claxton was a professor at West Georgia College, with a teaching and research focus on Latin America and the Environment, as well as an author of numerous articles and books. This subject collection focuses on climatology in Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, with a particular focus on climate change, drought, and other extreme or disastrous weather events.
Extent: 1.58 Linear feet.
Identification: MSS 0364
Language(s): Includes materials written in English and Spanish.

Biographical/Historical Note

Robert Howard Claxton was born on July 18, 1942 in Buffalo, New York to Robert Ray and Bula Lenora (Adams) Claxton. He received a B.A. degree in History from Houghton College (New York) in 1962, an M.A. in History from the State University of New York at Buffalo in 1964, and a PhD in History from Tulane University in 1970. He was employed as an interim instructor at Houghton College from 1965 to 1966. In 1967 he became an assistant professor at West Georgia College, being subsequently promoted to associate professor in 1975 and professor in 1988. His teaching emphasis was on Latin America and the Environment. He has also authored numerous articles and books.


Scope and Content

The "Robert Claxton Climatology Collection" dates from 1974 to 2000, with the bulk of the material dating from 1974 to 1986. This subject collection focuses on climatology in Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean. The records primarily consist of journal articles, theses and dissertations, working papers, and conference or other presentation papers. The vast majority of the works in the collection were not authored by Claxton himself, though some of his articles, research notes, National Hazards Society communications, and general correspondence are included in the collection. It appears that most of the works here were gathered together during the course of Claxton's work on a bibliography. There is a particular focus on climate change, drought, and other extreme or disastrous weather events. This collection should be useful to those researching climate-related events in the covered areas, as well as those interested in an earlier look at the ideas surrounding climate change and human influence upon it.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged alphabetically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Robert H. Claxton papers, University of West Georgia


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Robert Claxton Climatology Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Claxton.

Processing Notes

This collection was culled during processing. Clippings from major U.S. papers were removed. Published journal articles were also removed, except when the published article would prove difficult to locate today. Additionally, significant runs of three journals/newsletters were transferred to the library's acquisitions department: "Drought Network News," "Network Newsletter," and "Natural Hazards Observer."


Contents List

Box Folder
11 "Archeological Studies of Disaster: Their Range and Value" by Payson D. Sheets. 1980 September
12 Argentina: Correspondence, clipping, and papers (many by Maria del Rosario Prieto). 1984-1989, 1995
13 "Astronomical Factors": Correspondence with Richard Currie, article and bibliography by D. J. Schove, article on atmospheric electricity by Ralph Markson. 1979-1982
14 Baron, William R. "Bob": Correspondence and article. 1991-1992
15 Bibliographies, assorted; conference programs. 1979, undated
16 Brazil: Papers on drought and other ecological problems (not authored by Claxton). undated
17 "Breve Historia de la Sequia en Mexico" by Enrique Florescano and Susan Swan (draft, photocopy). undated
18 Cabildo (municipality) acts from the Archivo Histórico de la Ciudad de México (typewritten, acts from 1668 to 1675). 1979
19 "Catalog of Tsunamis on the Western Coast of Mexico" by Antonio J. Sanchez Devora and Salvador F. Farreras Sanz. 1993 January
110 Chile: Articles, notes. undated
111 "Climatic and Human History in Europe and Latin America: An Opportunity for Comparative Study" by Claxton and Alan Hecht (reprint and manuscripts). undated
112 Climate: Correspondence, conference brochures, survey of climate studies. 1979-1987, 1996
113 "Climatic Variability and its Economic and Political Impact in Venezuela, 1600-present" research proposal. 1978
114 Conference, briefing, and working papers; testimonies; reports. 1975-1982
115 Conference papers and reports, related correspondence. 1977-1986
21 Conference papers, theses, grant proposal. 1978-1984, 1990
22 Course outline and materials. 1978
23 "Drought and Drought Relief in Guatemala, 1563-1925" (manuscript) by Claxton. 1978
24 "Drought, Chichimecs and Social Evolution in Pre-Columbian Mesoamerica" by Steven K. Wyman, with letters. 1985
25 "Drought During California's Mission Period, 1769-1834" (revised manuscript) by Lester B. Rowntree (includes correspondence). 1981-1985
26 "Drought in Nineteenth Century Venezuela" by Claxton, paper and correspondence. 1980
27 "Effect and Mitigation of Weather-Based Hazards in Colonial Guatemala" by Claxton, with letter. 1985
28 El Niño: Encyclopedia entry, working paper, correspondence. 1983-1985, 1994
29 "El Salvador: The Natural Disasters of 1982 and their Effects on Economic and Social Development" (United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America). 1983 February
210 "Forests and Climate Change in America: Some Early Views" (author unknown). 1980
211 General correspondence. 1975-1986
212 Guatemalan disasters: Notes, correspondence, newsletter. 1978-1985, 2000
213 "Heat Budget of the Central American Seas" by Stefan Hastenrath. 1976
214 Hecht, Alan: Correspondence, itineraries. 1985-1986
215 "The Impact of Climate Variations on the Social and Economic Development of Guatemala, 1600-present" comments, proposal, and report. 1975-1978
216 "Información" (volume 2): Journal of the Universidad Autónoma del Sudeste, Centro de Estudios Históricos y Sociales. 1982
217 "Informe Sobre los Daños y Repercusiones del Huracan Fifi en la Economica Hondureña" (United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America). 1974 October
218 "The Instituto Fisico-Guegrafico Nacional and the Development of Science in Costa Rica: 1887-1904" (dissertation) by Marshall C. Eakin. 1975 May
219 "Investigating Natural Hazards in Latin American History" edited by Claxton (reprint). undated
220 Latin America - climate: Correspondence and articles regarding weather and agriculture. 1975-1976, 1985
221 Latin America - climate: Newsletters, bulletins. 1979, 1983, undated
222 Latin America - disasters: Newsletters, reports, correspondence. 1979, 1983, 1986, 1990, undated
223 Markgraf, Vera: Articles on paleoclimatology. 1985, undated
224 Mexico: Correspondence, notes, data, articles, papers by Elinor Melville. 1977, 1985-1986, 1993, 1998, undated
31 National Hazards Society: Constitution and bylaws, symposium packets, newsletters. 1988-1998
32 Natural disasters and human reactions: Articles, bibliographies, correspondence. 1988-1990, undated
33 "Next Hazards Proposal" (includes writings, correspondence, guidelines regarding articles on natural and human-influenced hazards in Latin America). 1990, 1998-1999, 2003
34 "Nicaragua: The Floods of May 1982 and their Effects on the Social and Economic Development" (United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America). 1982 September
35 "Notable Late-Season Guatemalan Rain Storms in Historic Perspective" by Claxton. undated
36 "The Pastoral Economy and Environmental Degradation in highland Central Mexico, 1530-1600" (dissertation) by Elinor Gordon Ker Melville. 1983
37 Peru: Articles. 1985, undated
38 "Project Plan for an Information System Approach to Food Development in Venezuela", with correspondence. 1978-1979
39 Research centers; Reports, brochures, correspondence. 1979-1985
310 Schubert, Carlos: Articles regarding Venezuela. 1972-1978
311 Shifferd, Kent: Correspondence and manuscript for Environmental Review (by Claxton). 1979
312 "Survey of Chorti Manuscript Resources in Central America" by Lawrence H. Feldman, with letter. 1982 January
313 Tree rings and forestry: Articles, correspondence, bibliography. 1979, undated
314 Venezuela: Correspondence, notes, trip report. 1978-1980
315 Venezuela: National Science Foundation grant correspondence and report. 1979-1980

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Caribbean Area
Central America
Climatology
Droughts
South America
Weather



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page