Skip to Search



A Guide to the El Ciervo Herido Collection

Finding aid created by Antonio Cardentey Levin

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Creative Writing Workshop El Ciervo Herido
Title: El Ciervo Herido Collection
Dates: 1975-1976
Abstract: This collection includes 25 flyers with poems written by the members of the Creative Writing Workshop El Ciervo Herido. The workshop was founded in Mexico City by the poet Ricardo Yáñez.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 Folder.
Identification: MS Group 112 3/8
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ciervo_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Ricardo Yáñez (1948- ) is one of the most renowned poets in Mexico. A journalist and cultural promoter, he organized and coordinated countless creative writing workshop in different Mexican regions. In 1975, he founded the Center for the Study of Latin American Folklore (CEFOL) in Mexico City. The Center included a creative workshop. At first, most of its members were young Mexican poets, but later poets from other countries joined too. The participants decided to publish their poems in a series of flyers. They named the series El Ciervo Herido after a poem written by the Cuban revolutionary hero and poet José Martí (1853-1895).

The editors (Isabel Quiñónez, Enrique Balpa, Eduardo Langagne, and Ricardo Yáñez) published alongside Carlos Próspero, Elena Milán, Ricardo Castillo, José Joaquín Blanco, José Emilio Pacheco, Jorge Alejandro Boccanera, Agustín Hernández, Mario Santiago, Roberto Bolaño, José Manuel Rivera, Adolfo Castanón, Alejandro Aura, David Huerta, Aimé Césaire, and others.


Scope and Content

The poems of the collection constitute an example of the poetry produced by young Mexican writers and their efforts to overcome publishing barriers. This initiative gave way to others such as the establishment of the Fundación para las Letras Mexicanas (Foundation for Mexican Literature), coordinated by one of the most important participants of the workshop: Eduardo Langagne. It also made possible the establishment of a publishing house (CEFOL) and the publication of two books: Ricardo Castillo's El pobrecito señor X and José Joaquín Blanco's La ciudad tan personal. In this way, the workshop constituted an example of projects that provided a space for cultural production and outreach.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ciervo_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], El Ciervo Herido Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Professor Charles A. Perrone (1951- ) donated the collection to the University of Florida in 2011. Perrone attended several sessions of the workshop.


Contents List

Folder
1 German A. García H. - Poema. December 1975
1 Aimé Cesaire - S/T. December 1975
1 Roberto Sosa - Dibujo a pulso. December 1975
1 Jorge Luis Gaitán - Epitafio. January 1976
1 José Joaquín Blanco - La palabra tú. January 1976
1 Carlos Prospéro - Me pongo en tu costado. January 1976
1 José Emilio Pacheco - Traduttori, traditori. January 1976
1 Ricardo Castillo - El vecinito. January 1976
1 Sergio Ramírez C. - S/T. January 1976
1 Elena Milán - La increíble y dulce historia de mi Don Juan sin donjuanismo. February 1976
1 Ramón Gil Olivo - S/T. February 1976
1 Eduardo R. Langagne - Ayer me duró diez días. February 1976
1 G. V. - Poemínimos sin ninguna pretensión. February 1976
1 Ricardo Yáñez - Tres pretextos. February 1976
1 Alejandro Aura - El Mayr gritántico del mundo. March 1976
1 Francisco Torres - Fragmentos. March 1976
1 Jaime Moreno Villareal - Pasar los días. March 1976
1 Enrique Balp - Casi la lluvia…. March 1976
1 Jorge Luis Gaitán - Silencio I. March 1976
1 Ricardo Castillo - Papa Guille. April 1976
1 Víctor Monjarás - Han roto casas, cables…. April 1976
1 Benjamín Preciado Solís - A Ray Bradbury. April 1976
1 José Joaquín Blando - Maitines. April 1976
1 Eduardo R. Langagne - S/T. April 1976
1 Néstor Ugalde - S/T. April 1976
1 Santiago Ríos - Génesis. April 1976
1 Isabel Quiñones - S/T. May 1976
1 Luis Miguel Aguilar - Qué haces me preguntas. May 1976
1 Felipe Aguirre Alvarado - S/T. May 1976
1 David Huerta - Tres asteriscos. May 1976
1 José Vicente Anaya - Tres poemas. May 1976
1 Eligio Calderón - S/T. June 1976
1 Cuauhtémoc Méndez - Catuliana. June 1976
1 Santiago Ríos - Prólogo. June 1976
1 Juan Manuel Rivera Madrid - De Canta el Noctámbulo. June 1976
1 Ricardo Yáñez - S/T. June 1976
1 Reynaldo Ruiz - S/T. June 1976
1 Mario Santiago - Aparentemente solos o aparente acompañados identificando constelaciones / tonos de azul a la caída de la noche. July 1976
1 Roberto Bolaño - Enséñame a bailar. July 1976
1 Enrique Balp - Títere / Tono. July 1976
1 Alejandro Tejera - S/T. July 1976
1 Daniel López Acuña - La piel y el escorpión / Media noche. July 1976
1 Jaime Reyes - Y que el dios del vino nos acoja. August 1976
1 Agustín Hernández - Poster a Marx / A Rosa. August 1976
1 José Emilio Pacheco - Homenaje / A la orilla del agua. September 1976
1 José Manuel Pintado - Diario / Tlatelolco / Segunda relación de la toma de la plaza. September 1976
1 Carlos Isla - Acertijos / Trabalengua. September 1976
1 Carlos Próspero - S/T. September 1976
1 Isabel Quiñónez - Glaciaciones y deshielos. October 1976
1 Guillermo Fernández - Bajo llave. October 1976
1 Adolfo Castañón - Sueño del geronte I / Sueño del geronte II. October 1976
1 Enrique Balp - S/T. October 1976
1 José López Solano (poeta argentino) - Selim Kemal / Selim Kemal habla a su mujer sobre la vida. October 1976
1 Víctor Monjarás - S/T. October 1976
1 Jorge Alejandro Boccanera - Ella / Imágenes / S/T / S/T. November 1976
1 Edgar O'Hara González (poeta peruano) - Cafetería 15/5/74 1 p.m. / Letras/Plaza Francia/1972 / Datos / Canción. November 1976
1 Miguel Flores Ramírez - Poema sinfónico para violoncello. December 1976
1 Juan Andrés - (palabras a Picina) / (sobre orígenes y posibilidades). December 1976
1 Víctor Monjarás - No me olvides. December 1976
1 Juan José Ruiz - S/T. December 1976
1 Francisco Torres - S/T. December 1976

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Mexican poetry--20th century.
Yáñez, Ricardo, 1948-



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page