Skip to Search





A Guide to the Ernesto Chávez Collection

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodriguez; updated by David C. Rinehart (March 2018)

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

July 2016



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Chávez Álvarez, Ernesto
Title: Ernesto Chávez Collection
Dates: 1908-2003
Bulk dates: 1955-1960
Abstract: Ernesto Chávez Álvarez (b. 1942) is a Cuban writer and scholar who worked as a rural teacher during the early years of revolutionary regime. This collection documents events and subversive movements in Cuba, Chávez's own experience as a voluntary and rural teacher, and research he conducted on the Cuban War of Independence. It also includes collections created by his friends which shed light on life in Cuba during the twentieth century. Significant items in this collection include a rare collection of zines and periodicals, and photographs depicting various social and political scenes.
Extent: 2.74 Linear feet. 5 Document boxes.
Identification: MSS 0360
Language(s): Includes materials written in Spanish and English.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/chavez-alvarez_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Ernesto Chávez Álvarez was born in Havana in 1942. In 1960, a young eighteen year old Chávez joined the first graduating class of Minas del Frío, a training school in Sierra Maestra for volunteer teachers. During the early years after the Cuban Revolution, these teachers were sent to teach literacy to adults and children living in remote rural areas of Sierra Maestra, la Sierra de los Órganos in Pinar del Río, and El Escambray. The enlisting of these teachers was part of the revolutionary government's mission to eliminate illiteracy among the peasant class. While teaching Chávez witnessed the peasant uprisings and was a victim of a slanderous campaign by communist Félix Torres, which sought to defame the teachers and literacy campaign workers as counterrevolutionaries. Chávez was discharged of his teaching duties in 1964.

Chávez completed a B.S. in geography at the Universidad de La Habana in 1972. In 1981, he worked at the Centro de Estudios Demográficos (CEDEM) of the School of Economy at the Universidad de La Habana. Chávez is also a respected scholar of Cuban anthropology with active participation in symposiums in Cuba and Spain. He has an extensive list of published books in topics such as children's literature, Cuban folklore, anthropology, and economics. He currently lives in the city of Matanzas, Cuba.


Scope and Content

As a young revolutionary, Chávez amassed an important collection of underground publications, propaganda materials, manifestoes, and documents relating to insurgent organizations such as Movimiento 26 de julio (26th of July Movement), Acción Cívica Cubana, and Movimiento de Resistencia Cívica. Following the promising ideas of Fidel Castro, these groups were organized to plot a coup d'état against President Fulgencio Batista's government and, as a result, launch the Cuban Revolution. The collection is organized in fifteen series. Materials within Series 1 through 6 are about events, people, and the insurgent organizations plotting the Cuban Revolution that culminated on January 1st, 1959. Documents and materials from these series are dated from 1951 to 1959. Havana, Cuba, New York City, NY, Miami, FL, and Caracas, Venezuela are the cities documented in these series.

Underground publications within Series 1 form a rare collection of zines and periodicals pre-dating the Cuban Revolution. The zines titled Revolución and Aldabonazo were published by Vicente Baez and Carlos Franqui. Dr. Lillian Guerra received this confirmation from Baez. The series also contain 28 issues of Carta Semanal, the semi-clandestine publication of the Cuban Communist Party or PSP, dating from 1951 to 1958. It was semi-clandestine because Batista tolerated it and allowed it to circulate even though the party was technically criminalized after 1953. The reason for Batista's tolerance is apparent in the publication's message: while it says much about Batista being a tyrant, it actually condemns the strategies of the Movimiento 26 de julio, its counterparts, and the Directorio Revolucionario in toppling the Batista regime.Series 2 to 6 include material related to Fidel Castro's revolutionary Movement 26 de julio

Ernesto Chávez's own experience as a maestro rural and the city of Matanzas's political and social life are documented in Series 7 through 11, which contain personal items, ephemera, official documents, ID cards, ration cards, correspondence, and photographs. Letters sent and received by Chávez dating from 1960 reflect his relationship with family members and friends. The correspondence also sheds light on the harsh living conditions endured by Chávez during his months of training as a maestro voluntario. Photographic material taken by Chávez with a Kodak Baby Brownie 127 camera document his experience as a rural teacher in the Cuban countryside. Some of these images are included in two of Chávez recent publications: Maestro rural and Maestro voluntario. The photographs series also includes a substantial amount of images depicting social and political scenes in Matanzas and military relations between Cuba and the US, all prior to the Cuban Revolution.

Series 12 includes Ernesto Chávez' own research on the Cuban War of Independence. He documented information about the Spanish citizens and military personal who migrated from Spain to Cuba, such as their names, residence in Spain and in Cuba, dates of birth and death. He also collected the names of citizens who had been executed by the Spanish Army. Series 13 includes the books that Ernesto Chávez used as a maestro voluntario and also as a civilian military instruction. Series 14 and 15 include collections created by Chávez's friends, such as the personal correspondence of Sahara Geraldo Paz, another Cuban voluntary teacher, and researcher Aída García Alonso's notecards and photographs regarding life in the Cuban slums or yaguas.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in 15 series based on subject matter and type of material. Within each series material is organized in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/chavez-alvarez_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ernesto Chávez Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

One part of this collection was purchased in 2012. The other was donated by Ernesto Chávez via Dr. Lillian Guerra and Rebeca Fundora in 2017.

Processing Notes

Additional accession added to the collection and finding aid updated in March 2018.


Contents List

1. Pre-Cuban Revolution Publications.



Zines.


Box Folder
11 Zines. 1953-1959
11 Respuestas del Partido Socialista Popular, La Habana, Cuba. 1957
11 Habla Fidel Castro, La Solución Revolucionaria: Boletín quincenal editado por el Movimiento 26 de julio en Miami. 1958
11 13 de marzo: Organo Oficial de la Delegación en el Exterior, Miami, FL. 1959
11 El Estudiante: Organo Oficial de la Asociación Estudiantil Cubano-Americana, Miami, FL. 1958
11 Alma Mater: Organo de la Federación Estudiantil Universitaria, Cuba. 1958
11 OTACE: Organo Oficial de la Organización de Tripulantes Aéreos en el Exilio. 1958
11 El Insurgente, Miami, FL. 1957
11 Mella, la voz de la juventud. undated
11 Alerta Cubanos: Organo de la Asociación Cubana Pro-Democracia, La Habana, Cuba. 1953
11 Vanguardia Obrera, con las manos del trabajador, unidos venceremos. undated
11 Aldabonazo: Organo del Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de julio, Cuba. 1956
11 Revolución: Organo Oficial del Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de julio. 1958


Periodicals.


Box Folder
12 Sierra Maestra: Organo Oficial del Movimiento 26 de julio en el Exilio, Miami, FL. 1958
13 Horizontes, Miami, FL. undated
14 Carta Semanal: Boletín de Información y Orientación, La Habana, Cuba. 1951-1958



2. Movimiento 26 de julio.



Box Folder
15 Movimiento 26 de julio. 1958-1960
15 CPN Manuel Álvarez, Gobernador, Rivero Aguero, Presidente, propaganda card. 1958
15 Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de julio. Reglamento Orgánico de las Plenarias (Organic bylaws of the Plenary). 1960
15 Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de julio. Estatutos (Bylaws). 1960
15 Black and red monogrammed band that reads, "26, Dir. Prov. de Matanzas." Includes a statement by the PCC. undated
15 Movimiento 26 de julio metal pin. undated
15 "Oración por la paz cubana; In memoriam" card, written by Mons. Evelio Diaz, bishop of Pinar del Rio. undated
15 "Paz." Message written by José Ramón González Fernández, honorary consul of Mexico in Matanzas. 1958
15 "Decálogo Cívico de esta Navidad," signed by Acción Ciudadana. 1958
15 Letter to José A. Rodríguez Castillo sent by the Secretario de Cultura y Propaganda de la Casa del Telegrafista, Ramón C. Martínez. 1958 August 20
15 Letter to José Colombani, Presidente de la Federación de Telegrafistas de Venezuela, sent by José A. Rodríguez Castillo. 1958 December 4
15 Letter to José Rodríguez Castillo sent by Antonio (Tony) Hernández. 1958 August 14
15 Letter to José Rodríguez Castillo sent by Antonio (Tony) Hernández. 1958 September 18
15 Letter to José Rodríguez Castillo sent by Antonio (Tony) Hernández. 1958 December 3
15 Photograph of a group of Cuban exiles at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. 1957



3. Movimiento de Resistencia Cívica.



Box Folder
16 Six "Movimiento de Resistencia Cívica" one dollar stamps. undated
16 Six "Movimiento de Resistencia Cívica" one dollar stamps. undated
16 Propaganda O3C, "Cero Tres Ce, cero cine, cero compras, cero cabaret". undated



4. Fidel Castro's Manifestoes.



Box Folder
17 Fidel Castro's Manifestoes. 1958
17 Manifiesto "Gorila Yo," signed by Fidel Castro Ruz, Comandante Jefe de las Fuerzas Rebeldes (Commander in chief of the Insurgent Forces), and Dr. Faustino Pérez, Delegado de la Dirección Nacional (delegate of the national directory). undated
17 "Cubanos". 1958



5. Partido Socialista Popular. 1958



Box Folder
18 Partido Socialista Popular. 1958
18 "Puntos Fundamentales del Programa de la Solución Democrática de la Crisis," pamphlet. 1955
18 Comunicado del Comité Nacional del Partido Socialista Popular (press release of the National Committee of the Popular Socialist Party [PSP]). 1957
18 "Carta abierta del P.S.P. a las demas organizaciones oposicionistas sobre la lucha por las garantias" (open letter of the PSP regarding the fight for warranty). 1958
18 "¡Atras la ingerencia imperialista!, ¡Compatriotas!, ¡Hombres y mujeres del pueblo!, Comité Nacional del Partido Socialista Popular". 1958



6. Acción Cívica Cubana.



Box Folder
19 Acción Cívica Cubana, New York. 1953-1957
19 Photograph of Paco Pérez. 1957
19 Photograph of a meeting. L-R: Pablo Diaz, Juanita Castro Ruz, Emma Castro Ruz, Angel Pérez Vidal, and Alberto Arechavaleta. 1957
19 Acción Cívica Cubana bonds: 5 bonds of five dollars, 4 bonds of ten dollars, 3 bonds of twenty-five dollars, and 2 bonds of one dollar. 1957
19 Four receipts issued to Alberto Arechavaleta for his donations to the Comité Acción Cívica de New Jersey. 1957
19 "Declaración de Principios y Estatutos de la organización de Acción Cívica Cubana" (declaration of tenets and bylaws of the Acción Cívica Cubana organization). 1953
19 Notebook containing names, addresses, organizational chart, and fundraising activities of the Acción Cívica Cubana, New York and New Jersey committees. 1957
110 Acción Cívica Cubana, New Jersey. 1957
110 Planilla de inscripción de Gustavo Castillo (Gustavo Carrillo's application form). 1957
110 Acta de organización (organization act). 1957
110 Letter to Gino P. Negretti from Onelio F. Lastra. 1957
110 Blank rollbook. undated



7. Personal items, documents, and memorabilia. 1908-2003



Box Folder
111 Personal mementa. 1908-2003
111 Three baptism cards for Ursina Álvarez Sánchez, Ernesto Chávez's mother. 1908 April 19
111 Urine test for patient Alvarez (likely the mother because it was taken 16 days before Ernesto was born). 1942 May 15
111 Baby Book titled "Nuestro Bebé" with information filled out over many years about Ernesto Chávez from Birth to 5 years old. 1942 May 31
111 Cuban lottery bill for a drawing held on March 28, 1959. Issued by: Republica de Cuba, Instituto Nacional de Ahorro y Vivienda. 1959 March
111 Invitation to memorial mass of lieutenant Roberto Fuentes Bonilla. 1959
111 Medal and key gifted to Ernesto by his mother Ursina with letter explaining its significance. 1960 May 23
111 Liceo de Matanzas Baile de Las Flores program. 1980 May 15
111 Newsclipping on librarian Mirtha Martínez Hernández (Matanzas, 1941-2001). 2003 March 20
111 Two-small propaganda cards with the inscription "ALFABETICEMOS". undated
111 Small propaganda card with the inscription "¡VENCEREMOS!". undated
111 "Ex Libris Fernando Ortiz". undated
111 Card with information about "The Miraculous Medal". undated
111 Monopoly game $20 bill. The game was very popular before the revolution, and it was censored after it. undated
111 Packet made from a letter which contains three business cards two from Aída Garcia Alonso and one from Maida Donate Armada. undated
111 Program for an event called "Aprenda-a-Comer-en-Cubano" by Cadena Radio Agrícola Nacional. undated
112 Contents of Mother's Purse (Ursina Álvarez Sánchez). 1940-1984
112 Remembrance program for the funeral of Eusebio Hidalgo Fernandez. 1940 August 11
112 Carné del Cotizante. 1981
112 A booklet of coupons provided by the Ministery of Internal Commerce. 1984
112 An old torn up empty pack of cigarettes "Especiales Trinidad y Hno. Pruebe y Compare". undated
112 Comité de Defensa de la Revolucion Membership card. undated
112 Federacion de Mujeres Cubanas card - Ursina Alvarez - Carnet No. 3092583. undated
112 Federación de Mujeres Cubanas Membership card. undated
112 Flyer that says "Venceremos Patria o Muerte". undated
112 Newspaper clipping "Vocero Estudiantil" which mentions her son Ernesto Chávez. undated
112 Photograph of Young woman (no description of who or when taken). undated
112 Postcard to Ernesto Chávez from Luisa Hilde. undated
113 Distinctions and Medals. 1960-1993
113 Two cloth badges that read "1er Congreso Latinoamericano de Juventudes La Habana - Cuba 26 de Julio 1960 Delegado". 1960 July 26
113 Ministry of Education Book Mark with inscription "1961 año de la educación". 1961
113 Medal titled "LA MEDALLA DE LA ALFABETIZACION" to honor Ernesto Chávez. 1986 December 22
113 Certificate that goes with medal "LA MEDALLA DE LA ALFABETIZACION". 1986 December 22
113 Medal titled "LA DISTINCION 'RAUL GOMEZ GARCIA" to honor Ernesto Chávez. 1992 December 11
113 Certificate that goes with medal "LA DISTINCION 'RAUL GOMEZ GARCIA". 1992 December 11
113 Medal titled "SELLO DE LAUREADO" to honor Ernesto Chávez. 1993 November 22
113 Certificate that goes with medal "SELLO DE LAUREADO". 1993 November 22
113 Cloth badge that reads "Patria o Muerte". undated
113 Newspaper clipping "Vocero Estudiantil" which mentions her son Ernesto Chávez. undated
113 Photograph of Ursina as a young woman. undated
113 Postcard to Ernesto Chávez from Luisa Hilde. undated



8. Documents related to Ernesto Chávez employment as maestro voluntario. 1960-1964



Box Folder
114 Documents related to Ernesto Chávez employment as maestro voluntario. 1960-1964
114 Letter from Roberto Rodriguez Gonzalez office of "El Jefe de Despacho del Ministro de Educacion". 1960 March 24
114 Job description, instructions and application package for aspiring "maestros voluntarios" (volunteer teachers), pages 455-487. 1960 April 23
114 Letter from Silvia N. Jiménez Fernández, director of Escuela de Maestros Primarios de Matanzas, to Ernesto Chávez. 1960 June 2
114 Letter from Silvia N. Jiménez Fernández, director of Escuela de Maestros Primarios de Matanzas, to Ernesto Chávez. 1960 August 15
114 Invitation sent to Ernesto Chávez by Fidel Castro Ruz to celebrate the "Año de la Educación". 1960 December 31
114 Medidas que deben conocer los maestros de las F.A.R. en caso de ataque o movilización, published by Ministerio de las Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias, República de Cuba. circa 1960
114 Poem entitled, "A Ernesto Chávez," by Justo Pastor García. circa 1960
114 Tenets of the soldados de la libertad, of the Frente Revolucionario Demócratico. circa 1960
114 Letter to Sr. Alfredo Valdés communicating Ernesto Chávez's deployment in Pinar del Rio. 1961 August 28
114 Flyer: ¿Qué son los Pioneros rebeldes?. 1961
114 Memorandum communicating Ernesto Chávez's appointment as "Resp. de Enseñanza," "Año de la Planificación.". 1962 September 4
114 Letter from Ernesto to Elena Despaigne (MinFAR) requesting his discharge from the FAR to go to graduate school. 1962 October 1
114 Memorandum about the acceptance of Ernesto Chávez's resignation from his teaching position under the Ministerio de las Fuerzas Armadas, Departamento de Educación. 1963 September 7
114 Document certifying Ernesto Chávez's employment as a teacher, from September 1962 through September 1963. 1963 September 12
114 Document certifying Ernesto Chávez's employment as technical consultant and teacher at unit #221 (original and copy). 1963 November 15
114 Letter from Ana Julia Garcia Dally "Directora Regional Educacion" to Ernesto. 1964 May 25
114 Document signed by Cesar Rodriguez Diaz for Ernesto - Ministerio de las Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias - Ejercito de Occidente on Ernesto Chávez's discharge from his job as civilian teacher of the army (original and copy). 1964 May 30
114 Letter from the MinFar (Ministerio de las Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias) Regarding Employment at the FAR as civilian teacher - Signed Pedro Martinez Machado. 1964 August 13



9. Identification, Membership, and Ration Cards. 1942-2015



Identification and Membership Cards. 1942-1998


Box Folder
115 Identification and Membership Cards. 1942-1998
115 Instituto Cubano del Libro. circa 1942 May 5
115 Ernesto Chávez's ID (carnet de identidad) from the Province of Matanzas. 1954 June 5
115 Ernesto Chávez's ID card (tarjeta de identidad), Republica de Cuba, Instituto Nacional de Reforma Agraria. 1960
115 Ministerio de Hacienda Biblioteca. 1963 January 21
115 Ministerio de las Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias - Dpto. de Inst. Rev.. 1964 September 3
115 Comision Nacional de Bibliotecas. 1965 April 25
115 Instituto Nacional de Reforma Agraria Biblioteca General. 1966 October 27
115 Sociedad de Amistad Cubano Espanola. 1967 February 20
115 Instituto Nacional de Deportes, Educación Física, y Recreación. 1968 January 30
115 Direccion Nacional de Biblotecas. 1970 July 30
115 Casa de las Americas Biblioteca Jose Antonio Echeverria. 1971 October 22
115 Ministerio de Marina Mercante y de Puertos - Dpto. de Servicios Administrativos. 1972 March 18
115 Biblioteca Pública de la Habana. 1972 June 15
115 Comprobante Laboral. 1973 June 22
115 Instituto Cubano del Libro. 1973 June 22
115 Central de Trabajadores de Cuba. 1974 October 8
115 Universidad de la Habana. 1976 May 3
115 Ministerio de Salud Publica. 1978 November 20
115 Ministerio de Educacion Superior - Carne del Estudiante Cursos Dirigidos. 1979-1980
115 Certificado Militar. 1980 October 17
115 Organ donation card. 1982 July 6
115 Empresa Editorial de Cultura y Ciencia. 1982 October 21
115 Central de Trabajadores de Cuba. 1988 May 17
115 Poder Popular Municipal [Municipal is crossed out with pen and says Prov. Which stands for provincial]. 1988 August 24
115 Sociedad de Beneficencia de Naturales de Cataluña. 1991 February 1
115 Sociedad de Beneficencia de Naturales de Cataluña - Directivo - Cargo: Vocal. 1991 February 1
115 Centro Cultural de España. 1998
115 Sociedad de Beneficiencia de Naturales de Cataluña - Business Card. undated
115 Casa Asturiana - Nativos y Descendientes Matanzas. undated
115 Comité de Defensa de la Revolucion. undated
115 Comites de Defensa de la Revolucion. undated
115 Instituto de Economia. undated
115 MinCin Central de Trabajadores de Cuba. undated
115 Ministerio de Salud Publica - Hospital CMDTE Fajardo. undated


Ration Cards "Control de ventas para productos alimenticios" by Comercio Interior. 1961-2015


Box Folder
116 Other Ration Cards. 1961-1963
116 Other Ration Cards-Tarjeta de Distribución, Provincia de Matanzas (distribution card, Matanzas Province). 1963
116 Other Ration Cards-Tarjeta - Recibo de Grasas (Fat or cooking oil supply card). 1961-1963
116 Other Ration Cards-Tarjeta para el abastecimiento de la carne (meat distribution card). undated
117 Ration Cards issued to Dolores Fernández and Ursina Álvarez Sánchez. 1980-2002
117 Dolores Fernández. 1986
117 Ursina Álvarez Sánchez. 1980-2002
118 Ration Cards issued to Ernesto Chávez Álvarez. 2003-2015



10. Correspondence. 1911-2002 (bulk: 1960-1980)



Box Folder
21 Documents Regarding Academic History and Retention of Title. 1967-1984
21 Letter to the Refugee Section of the US Embassy in Cuba regarding Case CU-86361. circa 1980
21 Copy of Ernesto Chávez's certificate "Bachiller en Ciencias y Letras" (high school). 1967 October 12
21 Grade Report Card for Ernesto Chávez. 1967-1968
21 Grade Report Card for Ernesto Chávez. 1969-1970
21 Grade Report Card for Ernesto Chávez. 1970-1971
21 Grade Report Card for Ernesto Chávez. 1971-1972
21 Resolucion Rectoral No. 3 de 1970. 1970
21 Document "Plan de Inserción" written by Ledo. Jose Glez. Cobas for Leda. Santa Ochoa in the Department of Geography. 1972 June 14
21 Letter from Ernesto Chávez to Leda. Santa Ochoa. 1972 July 10
21 Act of inconformity written by Ernesto Chávez to the Evaluation Committee of the School of Geography for the Department of Geography's decision to retain his certificate because of a decline in his revolutionariness (2 copies). 1972 October 10
21 Letter from Ernesto to the Dean of the College of Science about his probation. 1972 November 10
21 Two copies of Document Resolucion Rectoral No 58/72. 1972 December 4
21 Letter from Ernesto to Mariela Columbie member of the University Committee UJC about his probation and decline in revolutionary character. 1972 December 18
21 Letter from Ernesto to the University President about his dismay at their decision to sanction him. 1973 January 31
21 Letter from Ernesto Chávez to the Minister of Education about his dismay with the sanction of retaining his certificate. 1973 February 21
21 Memorandum from the Department of Geography at the University of Havana regarding Resolución Rectoral No. 58/72. 1973 March 9
21 Letter from Ernesto to Dr. Osvaldo Dorticos Torrado, President of the Republic of Habana. 1973 March 26
21 Letter from the office of the President written by Alejandro Arrechea Lago to Ernesto. 1973 March 27
21 Letter from Ernesto to the President of the University. 1973 April 7
21 Letter of response to Alejandro Arrechea Lago with the Office of the President of the Republic of Habana from Ernesto. 1973 April 11
21 Letter to Alejandro Arrechea Lago with the Office of the President of the Republic of Habana from Ernesto. 1973 May 5
21 Letter of response from the office of the President of the Republic of Habana written by Alejandro Arrechea Lago to Ernesto. 1973 May 8
21 Letter to Reinaldo Calviad Editor-in-Chief Social Sciences Editorial from Humberto González Chief of Labor Force. 1973 May 24
21 Resolución Rectoral No. 36/73. 1973 May 30
21 Letter from Ernesto Chávez to the Director of "Escuela de Geografía" at the University of Havana. 1973 June 1
21 Letter from Secretario General U.H. Dr. Reinaldo Casin regarding the sanction of retaining B.A. certificate for two years. 1973 June 9
21 Letter from Humberto Gonzalez B. Chief of Labor Force to Jorge Laguardia of Social Sciences Editorial about Ernesto's suspended Title. 1973 July 20
21 Letter from Humberto Gonzalez Borduy to Ernesto Chávez Chief of Labor Force. 1974 May 5
21 Letter from the Instituto Cubano del Libro (where Ernesto worked) to the Dean of the College of Sciences expressing their satisfaction of his work (2 certified copies). 1974 May 31
21 Letter "Resp. Personal y Servicios Internos" from Ernesto to Hugo Capote Manzo with Social Sciences Editorial. 1974 June 3
21 Letter from Hugo Capote Manzo Chief of Staff Social Sciences Editorial to Dr. Reynaldo Casín González Secretary of the University of Habana. 1974 July 15
21 Letter from Ernesto Chávez to Hugo Capote Manzo Chief of Staff Social Sciences Editorial. 1974 September 7
21 Letter from Ernesto Chávez to Reinaldo Casin Gonzalez Secretary General of the University of Habana. 1975 February 4
21 Copy of Letter from Hugo Capote Manzo Ernesto's boss at Instituto Cubano del Libro to Reinaldo Casin Gonzalez Secretary General of U.H.. 1975 May 2
21 Letter from Ernesto to Frank Perez Alvarez Editorial Director. 1975 September 11
21 Letter from Lic. Gelasio Rosales Rivero College of Geography Director to Inocente Gutierrez Vila Chief of Staff Social Sciences Editorial. 1975 October 22
21 Letter from Ernesto to Dr. Reynaldo Casín Gonazález Secretary General of the University of Habana. 1975 November 15
21 Letter from Secretario General U.H. Dr. Reinaldo Casin regarding expedition of B.A. certificate. 1975 November 27
21 Letter from Ernesto's supervisor Inocente Gutierrez to the Director of the College of Geography Gelasio Rosales Rivero. 1976 March 19
21 Letter from Ernesto to Inocente Gutierrez Vila. 1976 March 23
21 Letter from the Secretary General of UJC Susana Muñiz Centeno to the Director of the College of Geography Gelasio Roales Rivero. 1976 April 2
21 B.A. Certificate on Geography to Ernesto Chávez. 1976 May 3
21 Letter from University of Havana regarding B.A. certificate. 1976 June 8
21 Letter from Ernesto to Inocente Gutierrez asking for a copy of correspondence. 1976 July 6
21 Letter from Ernesto to Natacha Fajardo Alvarez the Social Sciences Editorial Secretary General of the Secretaria General of the Union Office. 1977 February 3
21 Letter from Ernesto to Chief of Staff and Pictures for Social Sciences Editorial Teresa García. 1977 May 23
21 Grade Report for "Economia Politica del Capitalismo I". 1978 January 26
21 Grade Report for "Economia Politica del Capitalismo II". 1978 December 25
21 Ernesto Chávez Transcript on Graduate Studies at the CEDEM in the University of Havana. 1981 November 23
21 Letter to Ernesto Chávez from Director of the Centro de Estudios Demograficos confirming the date of his defense. 1981 December 2
21 Act confirming Ernesto Chávez's successful defense of thesis for the Masters in Demography. 1981 December 29
21 Grade Report for "I Estudio de Posgrado en Demografía". 1984 April 30
22 Ernesto Chávez Student Finance Documents. 1967-1991
22 Loan Plan Form. 1967 May 13
22 Letter from Ernesto to the Director of the College of Geography. 1967 November 20
22 Letter of confirmation of courses taken from Humberto Yanez Feito to the Loan Office. 1968 January 9
22 Letter from the Secretary of the College of Geography to the Director of the Institute of Languages "Abraham Lincoln". 1968 August 22
22 Form and Statement "Revisión de Prestamo". 1968 November 5
22 Letter from Dr. Arnaldo Aguiar Castro the Associate Dean of Education. 1973 February 7
22 Letter from the Financial Chief of the University Lic. Antero Alonso Cárdenas to the Instituto Cubano del Libro (Ernesto's place of employment) (original and copy). 1973 July 4
22 Instituto Cubano del Libro-Receipt of Documents sent. 1973 August 13
22 Copy of Letter from Chief of Staff at the Social Sciences Editorial Jorge Laguardia to Finance Chief at the University Lic. Antero Alonso Cárdenas. 1973 August 17
22 Letter from the Financial Chief of the University Lic. Antero Alonso Cárdenas to the Instituto Cubano del Libro (Ernesto's place of employment). 1973 August 20
22 Letter from Chief of Staff at the Social Sciences Editorial Jorge Laguardia to Finance Chief at the University Lic. Antero Alonso Cárdenas. 1973 September 8
22 Letter from Finance Chief at the University Lic. Antero Alonso Cárdenas to the Chief of Staff and Pictures at the Social Sciences Editorial. 1973 September 11
22 Memorandum signed by the Chief of the Labor Force Humberto González Borduy to Hilario de Armas in the Department of Finances. 1973 September 26
22 Letter from the Chief of Finances at the Social Sciences Editorial at the Instituto Cubano del Libro regarding Ernesto Chávez's salary. 1975 September 8
22 Letter from Financial Chief at Social Sciences Editorial to the Student Loan Office. 1991 September 17
22 Student Loan Contract - 1967 - 1968 (original and copy). 1967 - 1968
22 Student Loan Contract - 1968 - 1969 (original and copy). 1968 -1969
22 Loan Plan Form 1972-1973 (original and copy). 1972 - 1973
22 Letter "Revisión de Prestamos Economicos" by Adelgisa Chen Rodríguez to the College of Geography regarding Ernesto Chávez application for a student loan. undated
23 Postcards and cards. 1911-2002 (bulk: 1960-2002)
23 Happy New Year handcrafted card - From Panchita to Juanita. 1911
23 Christmas and New Year card - From Rosario Rodríguez to Ernesto Chávez. 1960 December 22
23 Christmas Card - from Aleida Rodriguez Rodriguez, resident of Escambray, to Ernesto Chávez. 1960 December 23
23 Christmas and New Year card - from husband and wife Bernardo [Fteites] and Onelia Rodríguez, residents of Escambray, to Ernesto Chávez and Family. 1960 December 23
23 Christmas and New Year card - From the teacher Carmen Luisa Gómez Sánchez (Carmita) to Emma Chávez. 1960
23 Christmas card with views of Havana sent by Sergio Jiménez. 1960 December 26
23 Habana Hilton postcard sent to Rafael Cobost. 1960 July 29
23 Two Soviet rocket ships heading into space with the moon in the background - From Juvencio Portuondo (instructor político de la Unidad Militar 1232 de Cojúmar) to Ernesto Chávez. Cuban soldiers used to send this postcard to their relatives during the Missil Crisis (October 1962). 1963 October 18
23 Christmas card sent by Dora. 1963 December 22
23 "Las FAR saludan el 6to aniversario de nuestra revolución socialista" card. circa 1966
23 "Trabajadores de mi Patria Chile El Manana Sera del Pueblo" - Encuentro de cineastas Latinoamericanos solidaridad con el pueblo y los cineastas de chile - Caracas, Venezuela, engravings by Antonio Canet Hernández (1943-2009). 1974 September
23 Christmas card hand written by Aída García Alonso. 1982 December
23 Congratulations Card - From Carmen Luisa Gómez Sánchez (Carmita) to Chavito. 1983 December 21
23 Postcard with pink rose - From Carmen Luisa Gómez Sánchez (Carmita) to Ursina. 1984 May 13
23 Congratulations card - From Calita (Carmen Luisa Gómez Sánchez) to Ernesto and Ursina. 1984 December 24
23 Postcard from Celia Michelena Domenech (profesora de enseñanza media en Matanzas) to Ernesto Chávez. 1985 April 30
23 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year postcard to Ursina Álvarez from her cousin. 1987
23 Happy New Year postcard to Ernesto Chávez, engravings by Antonio Canet Hernández (1943-2009). 1990
23 Christmas card- From Sahara Geraldo Paz, resident of Escambray, to Ernesto Chávez. 1996 December
23 Postcard of Rio Caminar, Matanzas, Cuba from From Sahara Geraldo Paz, resident of Escambray, to Ernesto Chávez. 2002 May 31
23 "Mil Felicidades" inscribed postcard. undated
23 Blank Postcard "Sociedad Geografica de Cuba". undated
23 Blank postcard "Una Victoria mas del Pueblo Cubano - Territorio Libre de Analfabetismo - Por la Paz y el Socialismo". undated
23 Christmas card - From Adelaida Jimenez Bombino, resident of Escambray, to Ernesto Chávez Family. undated
23 Christmas Card - From Carmen Luisa Gómez Sánchez (Carmita) to Ernesto Chávez (Chavito). undated
23 Christmas Card - To Emma from Victoria Rodríguez Pérez (Vicky), resident of Escambray. undated
23 Christmas Card- To Ursina and family from Victoria Rodríguez Pérez (Vicky), resident of Escambray. undated
23 Christmas card from Aída García Alonso. undated
23 Christmas pop-up card sent by Rosa. undated
23 Fidel Castro black & white "Felicidades" card. undated
23 Fidel Castro color album stamp. undated
23 Fidel Castro color postcard. undated
23 Cover of baptism card with two roses. undated
23 Cover of baptism card with with purple flowers. undated
23 New Year card - From Vicky to Ursina and Family. undated
23 Postcard "Brigadas Alfabetizadoras Conrado Benitez". undated
24 Letters to Ursina Alvarez from Ernesto Chávez (Quico). 1960-1962
24 Letter sent from Minas del Frío. 1960
24 Note with Ernesto Chávez's postal address at Minas del Frío. 1960
24 Letter sent from Minas del Frío. 1960 July 5
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 9
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 9
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 16
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 21
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 28
24 Letter sent from Caney. 1960 August 24
24 Postcard sent from Cienfuegos, Cuba. 1960 September 13
24 Letter sent from Cienfuegos, Cuba. 1960 September 16
24 Letter sent from Jicaya. 1960 September 30
24 Letter sent from Jicaya. 1960 October 10
24 Letter sent from Jicaya. 1960 October 15
24 Letter. 1960 November 19
24 Letter. 1960 November 23
24 Letter. 1960 December 2
24 Christmas card. 1960 December 19
24 Letter. 1961 January 6
24 Letter. 1961 January 14
24 Note. 1961 April 14
24 Letter sent from Lagunitas. 1961 July 8
24 Letter sent from Pinar del Rio. 1961 August 30
24 Letter sent from La Magdalena (Año de la Educación). 1962 January 20
24 Postcard sent from Santiago de Cuba. 1962 January 17
24 Letter sent from Santiago de Cuba (Año de la Planificación). 1962 January 23
24 Letter sent from El Oro (Año de la Planificación). 1962 February 2
24 Letter sent from El Oro (Año de la Planificación). 1962 February 23
24 Letter sent from El Destino, (Año de la Planificación). 1962 March 13
24 Letter sent from El Destino, (Año de la Planificación). 1962 March 29
24 Letter sent from La Emilia (Año de la Planificación). 1962 March 30
24 Letter sent from El Destino, (Año de la Planificación). 1962 April 23
24 Letter sent from Santiago de Cuba. 1962 May 9
25 Letters sent by Victoria Rodríguez. 1962-1968
25 Letter sent from Cabaiguan. 1962 March 28
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 April 7
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 April 18
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 April 28
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 May 4
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 May 7
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 May 15
25 Letter sent (Año de la Planificación). 1962 May 16
25 Letter. 1968 March 29
26 Miscellaneous correspondence (various senders). 1960-2000 (bulk: 1960)
26 Letter from Angélica Alonso. undated
26 Letter from Guillermo (Minas del Frio). 1960 June 29
26 Letter from Ursina Alvarez (Matanzas). 1960 July 7
26 Letter from Juan Benitez Diaz (Matanzas). 1960 July 8
26 Letter from Arnaldo Campos Ramos (Matanzas). 1960 July 8
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 July 9
26 Letter from Félix Almeida Vidal (Matanzas). 1960 July 12
26 Letter from Luis Cabrera Caballero (Matanzas). 1960 July 13
26 Letter from Alberti (Matanzas). 1960 July 13
26 Letter from Eddy Aguirre (Matanzas). 1960 July 13
26 Letter from Ursina Alvarez and aunt Fernanda (Matanzas). 1960 July 15
26 Letter from René Castellano (Matanzas). 1960 July 16
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 July 18
26 Letter from Magaly Alfonso (Matanzas). 1960 July 18
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 July 22
26 Letter from Mirta Belmonte (Perico). 1960 July 23
26 Letter from Dulce María Abreu (Perico). 1960 July 24
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 July 28
26 Letter from Carmen "MNR". 1960 August
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 August 1
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 August 3
26 Letter from Andrés Montedrano (Matanzas). 1960 August 4
26 Letter from Clara Emma Chávez (Matanzas). 1960 August 6
26 Letter from an aunt (Havana). 1960 August 8
26 Letter from Reynol Delgado Alonso (Matanzas). 1960 August 8
26 Letter from Roberto (Matanzas). 1960 August 9
26 Letter from Bárbaro Emilio Sánchez (Matanzas). 1960 August 11
26 Letter from Aída García Alonso. 2000 January 11



11. Photographs. 1950-1969



Box Folder
27 Ernesto Chávez - Volunteer and rural teacher. 1960-1969
27 Ernesto Chávez on horseback. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez on horseback. 1960
27 Ada Martínez Martín, student of Ernesto Chávez. 1960
27 Blasa Cintras Marín, student of Ernesto Chávez. 1960
27 Ale and Rosa. 1960
27 Group of five peasant men. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (standing). 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (at right) with another man at the arroyo Los Prados. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (at right) with another man posing in front of a rustic wood fence. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (at right) with another man posing in a kneeling position. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez in uniform (standing at right) with a group of students from the Escuela de Maestros Primarios de Matanzas, at Parque de la Libertad, Matanzas. 1960 September 1
27 Ernesto Chávez in uniform (at left) with Benito Delgado Alonso (at right), and another student from the Escuela de Maestros Primarios de Matanzas, at Parque de la Libertad, Matanzas. 1960 September 1
27 Ernesto Chávez (at right) fellow classmates Gladys Moliner Melgares and Benito Delgado Alonso, at Parque de la Libertad, Matanzas. 1960 September 1
27 Group of students from the Escuela de Maestros Primarios de Matanzas. 1960 April 8
27 Equipo #3 de práctica de onservación, (Team #3, observation practicum), from l-r: front row, Zenaida Barroso, Dr. María Luisa Falcón and El Bregio. Second row: Ernesto Chávez, benito Delgado and Roberto Gómez. 1960 April 8
27 Ernesto Chávez in uniform. 1960 September 4
27 Ernesto Chávez in the countryside with two thatched-roof houses in background. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (second from left) with three students and a young woman in uniform. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (at left) seated on the ground with two students. 1960
27 Young woman in uniform. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez with a young female student. 1960
27 Young female student. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez with three young women, possibly teachers. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez in Santiago de Cuba. 1962 January 23
27 Young students from the Escuela Rural (rural school) in Escambray. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez with a group of thirteen students from the Escuela Rural (rural school) in Escambray. 1960
27 Young students from the Escuela Rural (rural school) in Escambray. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez (at right) posing along another man and holding a rifle. 1960
27 Young man on horseback. 1960
27 Family of Ramón Jímenez. 1960
27 Ernesto Chávez with a group of young students from the Escuela Rural (rural school) in Escambray. Two of the students are holding the Cuban flag. 1960
28 Group climbing La Vela hill, Minas del Frío, Sierra Maestra. 1960 May 26
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena attending Professor Clara Varona's class. 1960 July
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena attending Professor Raúl Sánchez's class. 1960 July
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena attending Professor Anibal Ramos' class. 1960 July
28 Female student from Campamento La Magdalena during a military training. 1960 July
28 Students from the Campamento El Roble at a river, Sierra Maestra. 1960 June
28 Two female students from the Campamento El Roble, Minas del Frío, Sierra Maestra. 1960 June
28 View of Sierra Maestra landscape. 1960
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena in front of a bust of José Martí, Pico Real del Turquino. 1960 July 12
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena in front of a bust of José Martí, Pico Real del Turquino. 1960 July 12
28 Students from the Campamento La Magdalena in front of a bust of José Martí, Pico Real del Turquino. 1960 July 12
28 Professors Clara Varona and Manuel Camps in front of the bust of José Martí, Pico Real del Turquino. Photo taken by Eddie Matos. 1960 August 9
28 From l-r: Rosalía Peña, Eddie Matos, and Rita Fernández in front of a Virgen de la Caridad monument at the Pico Real del Turquino. 1960 August 9
28 Female students from Camp La Magdalena at Hotel Nacional, Havana. 1960
28 Photograph of Julio del Llano Bencomo (instructor político), Ernesto Chávez Álvarez (maestro militar), Juan Bajo (soldado), standing behind the instructor Honorio Quiñones. 1963
28 Photograph with envelope captioned "Recogida de café en Finca Cinco Pesos including Lázaro Hernández, Ernesto Chávez Álvarez, José Mateo. 1969 October 8
28 4 original negatives of rural scenes labeled as "Atómica Izquierda". undated
28 Envelope with photograph and information notecard regarding Sergio Jiménez Bambino, farmworker from El Escambray. undated
29 Sociedad y Economía. 1951-1958
29 Meeting of women members of the Matanzas Tennis Club. From l-r: Venerada Sánchez Jiménez, president Matanzas Tennis Club; Mary Sims del Beato, secretary of Escuela de Comercio de Matanzas and Matanzas Tennis Club; Eva Forest Quintero; Mireya Alonso Tió, teacher of the Escuela del Hogar; Carmen Olga Taquechel; Elvira Fernández; Graciela "Chela alonso Véliz de Sarabia; Hilda Valdés Faroy; Cutica González Chávez, and Mariíta Rodríguez de Urréchaga. undated
29 Blessing act of the Planta Electrica José Martí. From l-r: Sergio Mejías Pérez, mayor of Matanzas; Monsignor Manuel Trabadelo Muiño (background), secretary of the archbishopric; Monsignor Alberto Martín Villaverde, bishop of Matanzas; Angel Cofiño, secretary general of the Sindicato de Trabajadores Eléctricos, and his wife. 1951 January
29 Dr. Consuelo Miranda Miravet speaking at a meeting held at the Colegio de Maestros, in Matanzas. Dr. Carlos Martínez, president of the Junta de Educación (at left), and Dr. Aguirre (at right), secretary general of the Colegio de Maestros de Matanzas. 1958 April 11
29 Meeting of the Colegio de Maestros de Matanzas. From l-r: Carilda Oliver Labra, poet from Matanzas; Dr. Rigoberto Fernández, and Dr. Aguirre, secreatary general of the Colegio de Maestros de Matanzas. 1958 April 11
29 Carmen Olga Taquechel Matos, mayor of Matanzas (first from left), along with Lieutenant Corona and other women, giving clothes to low-income families. undated
29 Bachelorette luncheon of Laura Palomera Pérez (fourth from left), at the Liceo of Matanzas. Also attending, from l-r: Milagros Carballo Carbó (3rd standing), Edelmira Sainz de Alcebo (5th standing), and María Luisa Carballo (7th, standing). 1957 November 23
29 Luncheon at Central Dos Rosas, Matanzas. Identified by numbers: 1. Esther Pura García Polanco; 2. Diaz, worker form Arechavala; 3. Carmen Olga Taquechel Matos; 4. Leopoldo Pérez Coujil; 5. Venerada Sánchez Jiménez; and 6. Teresita García Polanco. circa 1954-1958
29 Food distribution to low-income families in front of the police station, Plaza de la Vigía, Matanzas. From l-r: Commander Olegario Rodríguez Hernández (standing), and Colonel Leopoldo Pérez Coujil (standing in front of Olegario), chief of Regimiento No. 4; Carmen Olga Taquechel Matos (seated), wife of Pérez Coujil. circa 1952-1954
210 Politica. 1950-1958
210 Manuel Alvarez Díaz, governor of Matanzas, electoral campaign. 1954-1958
210 Arrival of Cuban military at Varadero Airport. From r-l: Colonel Alberto Triana Calvet, chief of national police; Bathuel Posada Delgado, mayor of Cárdenas (white blazer, backwards); Colonel Leopoldo Pérez Coujil (in front of Posada), and Nicolás "Colacho" Pérez Hernández, defense minister (at right of Pérez Coujil). 1952-1954
210 Colonel Leopoldo Pérez Coujil (at center, wearing civilian clothes), and Lieutenant Morat. circa 1950-1952
210 Group of women climbing the stairs of the Palacio de Gobierno Provincial. Carmen Olga Taquechel, mayor of Matanzas (center); Julia Elisa Consuegra Rodríguez (at her left). 1954
210 Manuel Alvarez Díaz, governor of Matanzas, speaking during elctoral campaign. Seen at right: Ramón Suárez Calderín, Monsignor Jenaro Suárez Muñiz, and Isidro Valdés Astolfi. circa 1952-1958
210 Political event at the Palacio de Gobierno. From l-r: Roberto Rodríguez Aragón (background), Franciscan priest, and Carmen Olga Taquechel Matos, mayor of Matanzas. 1954 March 2
210 Meeting in Cárdenas. Identified by numbers: 1. Modesto García Tuñón, journalist; 2. Bathuel Posada Delgado, mayor of Cárdenas; 3. Colonel José M. Salas Cañizares, División de la Policía Nacional de Matanzas; 4. Clemente Abascal; 5. Carlos M. Cantillo González; 6. Not identified; 7. Father Domingo Lorenzo; 8. Eduardo Ruiz del Villar; 9. Humberto Rivero Espinosa. circa 1954-1958
210 Meeting in Cárdenas. circa 1954-1958
210 Vehicle with electoral campaign propaganda for Raimundo Camacho Santiago and Andrés Rivero Aguero, candidates from the Partido Unión Radical. circa 1958
210 Marta Fernández Miranda, first lady of Cuba (seated with hat), during a break from a disaster relief assistance event held for those affected by June 1953 storm. Also present, Carmen Olga Taquechel (seated with dark blouse). 1953
210 Mayoral campaign rally of Mena, candidate of the Partido Acción Progresista (PAP), at the intersection of Plácido and San Blás Streets, city of Versailles, Province of Matanzas. circa 1952-1954
210 Visit around suburbs of the province of Matanzas. Dr. Ramón Hermida Antorcha (wearing suit), minister of Gobernación, Manuel Alvarez Díaz (at his right). circa 1952-1958
210 Visit around suburbs of the province of Matanzas. Manuel Alvarez Díaz (wearing suit). circa 1952-1958
210 Rosendo Forte, council candidate for the Partido Liberal, at Radio Matanzas. Identified by numbers: 1. Ramón Martell; 2. nephew of Manuel Alvarez Díaz; 5. Cotico Castillo. circa 1954-1958
210 Political event broadcast by Radio Matanzas. Radio announcer Elio Montenegro Falcón (with eyeglasses). undated
210 Elio Montenegro Falcón, Radio Matanzas announcer and council candidate for the Partido Demócrata. circa 1954-1958
210 Manuel Alvarez Díaz, governor of Matanzas, speaking with Carmen Olga Taquechel, mayor of the city of Matanzas. circa 1954-1958
210 Meeting of council candidates at the Palacio de Gobierno, Matanzas. At center, Carmen Olga Taquechel, mayor of the city of Matanzas, Manuel Alvarez Díaz, governor of Matanzas (at right). circa 1954-1958
210 Dinner with various Cuban politicians. From l-r: Manuel Alvarez Díaz, Santiago Alvarez Rodríguez, Fulgencio Batista, Fernando del Villar y de los Ríos. Also present, Ricardo Guerrero (with dark glasses, on profile), and José Elías Olivella (at right of Guerrero). circa 1952-1954
210 Gathering of Cuban politicians. From l-r: José Rodríguez Suárez (3rd), mayor of Sabanilla; manuel Alvarez Díaz (8th), governor of the province of Matanzas, and Dr. Fernando del Villar (9th), mayor of the city of Matanzas. circa 1952-1954
210 A picture of a young Fidel Castro. undated
211 Cuban military scenes. 1952-1958
211 U.S. Army men visit to Cuartel Domingo Goicuría in Matanzas. Colonel Pilar García García (second from left), chief of Regimiento No. 4 Plácido, greets one of the visitors. Arquímedes Viera Nodal, assistant of García Garcia, appears smiling behind him. circa 1954-1956
211 U.S. Army men visit to Cuartel Domingo Goicuría in Matanzas. Colonel Pilar García García (at right), giving a tour around the dormitories. Armando Averoff Herrera (with mustache) appears in the background. circa 1954-1956
211 Visit and tour around the site of Regimiento No. 4, Gelpi, Ciudad Militar. Lieutenant Colonel Armando Suárez Suquet (at center, without hat); Also in the picture: Armando Averoff Herrera and Humberto Rivero Espinosa. 1958
211 Reception in honor of visit of U.S. Army men visiting Matanzas, at the bar of Balneario Club de Oficiales. From l-r: Commander Rafael A. Sanz Rodríguez; Captain Víctor Bermúdez Nerey; Serafín Díaz Fuentes (dark uniform); Captain Armando Averoff Herrera (with mustache); and Colonel Pilar García García (center). circa 1955-1957
211 Arrival of undisclosed officials at Varadero Airport. From l-r: Colonel Albert Triana Calvet (wearing military hat); Bethuel Posada (white suit), mayor of Cárdenas; Nicolás "Colacho" Pérez; two unidentified men; Col, Leopoldo Coujil. circa 1952-1954
211 Luncheon of Regimiento No.4 officials at the Cuartel Domingo Goicuria, Matanzas. 1955 May
211 Looking at a map at Cuban military base of Regimiento No. 4, Gelpi, Ciudad Militar. L-r; Colonel Armando Suárez Suquet (backwards); two U.S. Army officials; Carlos m. Cantillo González, chief of Regimiento No. 4. 1958
211 Touring the dormitories at Cuban military base of Regimiento No. 4. 1958
211 U.S. Army and Cuban military men sharing a toast during an official reception. 1958
211 U.S. Army and Cuban military men talking. L-r: Commander Humberto Rivero Espinosa, Lieutenant Colonel Armando Suárez Suquet; U.S. Army official, and Cuban official. 1958
211 Lieutenant Colonel Armando Suárez Suquet pointing at the distance while showing the Regimiento No. 4 military base to U.S. Army officials. 1958
211 U.S. Army and Cuban military men enjoying a cup of Cuban coffee. 1958
211 Dinner reception in honor of U.S. Army men visit to Regimiento No. 4 military base. 1958
211 Brigadier Carlos Cantillo González greeting an U.S. Army official. 1958
211 Brigadier Carlos Cantillo González talking with U.S. Army official. 1958
211 Cuban musicians playing at the Dinner reception in honor of U.S. Army men visit to Regimiento No. 4 military base. 1958
211 U.S. Army official (5th from left) posing with Brigadier Carlos M. Cantillo and a group of Cuban officials. 1958
211 Visiting the cafeteria of Regimiento No. 4 military base. 1958
211 Visiting the kitchen pantry of Regimiento No. 4 military base. 1958
211 Cuban army official speaking from a podium. undated
211 Group of Cuban military men gathered during a drill. undated
211 Three Cuban army officials explaining a drill with different granades. undated
211 Cuban army men listening to officials. undated
211 Military drill with rocket launchers (bazookas). undated
211 Cuban army men standing in formation. undated
211 Military drill with machine guns. undated
211 Military drill with rocket launchers (bazookas) and machine guns. undated



12. Ernesto Chávez's on the Cuban Independence War. 1974, undated



Box Folder
212 Database "Avecindados Catalanes ciudad Matanzas"-notebook 1. 1792 - 1899.
213 Database "Avecindados Catalanes ciudad Matanzas"-notebook 2. 1792 - 1899.
214 Database of civilian deaths from the Registro Civil de Ceiba Mocha, Matanzas Provincial Archive "Libro Defunciones, tomo 7" 1892 January 1-1895 March 3.
215 Documents and spreadsheets regarding people executed during the Spanish-American War (1895-1897), data found in the San Carlos Cemetary registry and Archivo Provincial de Matanzas 1895-1897, 2004 October 28.
216 Database of civilian deaths from the Archivo Provincial de Matanzas 1897 July-October.
31 Database of executions by Spain in the San Carlos Cemetary Registry including card from the San Carlos Cemetary on Eloy González García 1895-1897.
32 Card from the San Carlos Cemetary on Eloy González García and Research Notes on the Cuban Independence War. 1974 May
32 Library catalog of newspapers in the Matanzas region at the Library "Gener y del Monte" - 4 pages long. 1974 May
32 Card from the San Carlos Cemetary on Eloy González García. undated
32 Research notecards on the Cuban Indepencence War. undated



13. Visual and Textual Resources. 1959-2012



Box Folder
55 Books Ernesto Chávez Tried to Use During Literacy Campaign that Got Him in Trouble. 1959
55 Biblioteca Popular Martiana: No. 3 Versos de Martí (Selección). 1959
55 Biblioteca Popular Martiana: No. 4 La Cuestión Racial. 1959
55 Biblioteca Popular Martiana: No. 5 La Cuestión Agraria y la Educacion del Campesino. 1959
41 Cuba : Z. D. A. (Zona de Desarrollo Agrario). 1960
42 Cuba : anatomía de una revolución; inscribed by Ernesto Chávez. 1961
43 Los fundamentos del socialismo en Cuba. 1961
44 Odas Mambisas (Ernesto Used for Literacy Campaign). 1961
45 ¡Patria o muerte! Antonio Núñez Jiménez. 1961
51 Declaraciones de La Habana y Santiago. 1965
52 ¿Revolución en la revolución?. 1967
53 Seis leyes de la revolución. 1973
54 El caballo de Mayaguara. 1987
33 Map of Cuba displaying zones of agrarian development by municipalities. circa 1960
34 DVD of Lillian Guerra's interview with Ernesto Chávez. 2012 October



14. Personal Correspondence including some prints of Sahara Geraldo Paz, Voluntary Teacher. 1960-1962



Box Folder
35 Telegrams for and from Sahara Geraldo Paz, rural teacher stationed at Finca El Rayo, barrio Santa Catalina, municipio Sagua de Tánamo, provincia de Oriente. 1961
35 Telegram to Ana Rosa Paz from Sagua Tánamo with Envelope. 1961 January 15
35 Telegram from M. Galvez. 1961 January 16
35 Telegram to Ana Rosa Paz from Sagua Tánamo with Envelope. 1961 February 19
35 Telegram from El Viejo with Envelope. 1961 August 23
35 Telegram from Ana Rosa Paz with Envelope. 1961 November 8
36 Letters from Sahara Geraldo Paz to Ana Rosa Paz (mother) and Daniel Geraldo (brother). 1960-1961
36 Letter sent from Caney. 1960 May 25
36 Letter sent from Minas del Frío. 1960 May 26
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Minas del Frío. 1960 June 24
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sierra Maestra. 1960 June 27
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sierra Maestra. 1960 June 28
36 Letter sent from La Magdalena. 1960 June 30
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 5
36 Letter with Envelope Addressed to Daniel Geraldo Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 9
36 Letter to Daniel Geraldo (her brother) from La Magdalena. 1960 July 9
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 16
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 20
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 July 29
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 August 11
36 Letter Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 August 17
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from La Magdalena. 1960 August 19
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1960 November 16
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1960 November 24
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1960 December 1
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1960 December 4
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sagua de Tánamo. 1960 December 11
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo (Año de la Educación). 1961 January 5
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sagua de Tánamo (Año de la Educación). 1961 January 11
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sagua de Tánamo (Año de la Educación). 1961 January 16
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1961 March 3
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo. 1961 March 8
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from Sagua de Tánamo. 1961 June 14
36 Letter with Envelope Sent from El Rayo (Año de la Educación). 1961 July 9
37 Letters to Sahara Geraldo Paz when she was in Sierra Maestra. 1960
37 Letter from Ana Rosa Paz from Matanzas with Envelope. 1960 July 11 and 26
37 Letter from Bertha Rivero with Envelope from Matanzas to Sierra Maestra. 1960 July 13
37 Letter from Ana Rosa Paz and Sister from Matanzas. 1960 July 18
37 Letter from Ana Rosa Paz from Matanzas. 1960 August 8
38 Prints belonging to Sahara Geraldo Paz. 1962
38 Book "Maestra Voluntaria" belonging to Sahara Geraldo Paz. 1962
38 Book "Himnos y Canciones" belonging to Sahara Geraldo Paz. undated



15. Aída García Alonso Notecards and Photographs Regarding Life in the Yaguas. 1960-1968



Box Folder
39 Notecards by Aida Garcia Alonso. circa 1960
310 Life in the Yaguas, Photographs by Aída García Alonso. 1968



Bibliography

Alonso, G. and E. Chávez Álvarez, eds. Memorias inéditas del censo de 1931. La Habana: Editorial de Ciencias Sociales, 1978. (HB3549 .M45)

Chávez Álvarez, Ernesto. El crimen de la niña Cecilia: la brujería en Cuba como fenómeno social (1902-1925). La Habana: Editorial de Ciencias Sociales, 1991. (BF1584.C9 C331 1991)

Chávez Álvarez, E., ed. La población de Cuba: Centro de Estudios Demográficos. La Habana: Universidad de La Habana, Editorial de Ciencias Sociales, 1976. (HB3549 .H38 1976a)

Chávez Álvarez, Ernesto. Maestro rural. Gainesville, Florida: MilianBooks, 2014. (LA2353.C92 C429 2014)

Chávez Álvarez, Ernesto. Maestro voluntario. Gainesville, Florida: MilianBooks, 2014. (LA2353.C9 C43 2014)


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Batista y Zaldi?var, Fulgencio, 1901-1973
Castro, Fidel, 1926-
Chávez Álvarez, Ernesto
Cuba
Cuba--Matanzas
Education, Rural
Movimiento Revolucionario 26 de Julio
Revolution (Cuba : 1959)
Revolutionaries
Teachers




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page