Skip to Search





A Guide to the Juan M. Ceballos Business Letters

Finding aid created by Katiana M. Bagué and Richard Phillips

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

May 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Ceballos, Juan M.
Title: Juan M. Ceballos Business Letters
Dates: 1855 August 22-1856 December 13
Abstract: Collection of business letters that deal with the affairs of Juan M. Ceballos's company.
Extent: .01 Linear Feet. 1 Folder.
Identification: MSS 0406
Language(s): Includes materials written in English and Spanish.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ceballos_es.pdf

Biographical/Historical Note

Juan M. Ceballos was born in Spain and later, as a young adult, immigrated to Cuba. In Cuba, he established a solid network and business contacts which then prompted him to move to New York. By October 1855, his name was appearing in New York newspapers as the co-owner of the New York and Mexican Steamship Line. The line sailed to Havana, Veracruz and Cadiz. In New York, Ceballos also laid the foundation for his other company "Ceballos y Cía." His son, Juan M. Ceballos Jr., would eventually take over the family business after the Spanish American War, when the company had financial interests in both Cuba and New York. In Cuba, the company focused on matters concerning construction, shipping, sugar, and landholdings. In New York, the company focused on the breweries and the refineries used for converting molasses into sugar.


Scope and Content

This collection consists of 28 autograph letters sent to Juan M. Ceballos dealing with the affairs of his company. A majority of the letters are written in Spanish, but some are in English. The earlier letters are dated during the initial stages of the company and show the networks it had with banks and other companies in Havana, Paris, London, and several cities in Spain. Moreover, the letters give important information on shipments and bank accounts.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Braga Brothers Collection

Letter from Juan M. Ceballos to S.C. Neale, September 19, 1906. Theodore Roosevelt Papers at the Library of Congress. Library of Congress. Theodore Roosevelt Digital Library. Dickinson State University.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ceballos_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Juan M. Ceballos Business Letters, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was purchased in 2017.


Contents List

Folder
1 Letter to Ceballos Hermanos y Rubira from Havana, pointing details of a small error in bookkeeping [2 leaves; 27 x 21 cm.]. 1855 August 22
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, forwarding 1500 pounds credit letters [signed Bustamante; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.]. 1855 September 3
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, adjusting an account balance [1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.]. 1855 September 23
1 Letter to Ceballos from Paris, introducing an acquaintance with language abilities offering services in hopes to find work[2 leaves; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1855 November 14
1 Letter to Ceballos from London, reporting on sugar market [1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.]. 1855 December 21
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, reporting on sugar market prices [2 leaves; 28 x 22 cm.]. 1856 January 21
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, reporting on delays [1 leaf; 28 x 21 cm.]. 1856 January 24
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, referring to affairs of Vásquez family [signed Julian del Casal; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.]. 1856 February 7
1 Note to Ceballos from Paris, stating favorable balance in accounts [signed M. Rodríguez; 1 leaf; 27 x 22 cm.]. 1856 February 14
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, asking for favor of buying a "California" style hat [1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.] . 1856 March 22
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, [signed J. A. Bustamante; 1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.] . 1856 March 23
1 2 letters in English to Ceballos from Havana, regarding sugar shipments from Cienfuegos, freight charges, and asking for insurance [signed Hamel; 2 leaves; 27 x 22 cm.] . 1856 March 22-29
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, citing prices in London [signed J. A. de Bustamante; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 March 29
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, from shipper hoping to sell sugar cargo that was acquired in Cienfuegos [1 folded leaf; 21 x 28 cm.] . 1856 April 10
1 1 letter with 2 brief notes in English to Ceballos from Havana, concerning shipping charges of $2000 and $450 on cargo to New York from Cárdenas [1 leaf; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 April 11-14
1 Letter of introduction to Ceballos from Havana, presenting Francisco Cía and Ignacio Olapaguirre who are travelling to Le Havre via New York [signed Gutiérrez y Casal; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 April 16
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, from shipper [1 leaf; 21 x 14 cm.] . 1856 April 18
1 Letter to Ceballos from Baga, requesting refinancing of moneys due [signed Juan Bajez; 1 mailer envelop; 29 x 22 cm.] . 1856 April 20
1 Letter of introduction to Ceballos from Havana, presenting Mrs. Agustina Reappi, (Gutiérrez y Casal) [1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 May 24
1 Letter of introduction to Ceballos from Havana, presenting Serapio Albuquerque who is travelling to Europe via New York [signed Gutiérrez y Casal; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 June 9
1 Letter in English to Ceballos from Havana, stating 45 hhds shipped on steamship Nacoochee; also declares freight "dull and scarce", obligating vessels to leave in ballast [1 leaf ; 27 x 21 cm.]. 1856 July 17
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, reporting 243 boxes of sugar shipped, and on storm damage to cane fields which will result in lower production [1 leaf; 28 x 21 cm.]. 1856 August 18
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, concerning London flour transactions [signed José Alejandro de Bustamante; 2 leaves; 27 x 21 cm.] . 1856 September 20
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, concerning wheat and grain imports [signed Bustamante; 1 mailer envelop; 27 x 21 cm.]. 1856 October 12
1 Letter to Ceballos from Havana, [signed S. R. de Bustamante; 1 leaf; 27 x 21cm.] . 1856 October 24
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, concerning flour contracts [signed José Alejandro de Bustamante; 1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.] . 1856 November 8
1 Letter to Ceballos from Santander, [signed J. A. Bustamante; 1 leaf; 28 x 22 cm.] . 1856 December 13
1 List by a sugar plantation for shipment to Ceballos in New York [undated; 1 leaf; 29 x 22 cm.] . undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Businessmen.
Ceballos, Juan M.
commercial correspondence
Cuba.
New York (State).
Sugar trade.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page