Skip to Search



A Guide to the Photos of the Mexican Revolution by Agustín V. Casasola

Finding aid created by Margarita Vargas-Betancourt

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
May 2012


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Casasola, Agustín Víctor, 1874-1938
Title: Photos of the Mexican Revolution by Agustín V. Casasola
Dates: Circa 1914
Abstract: Two photos embossed with the seal of the renowned photographic studio of Agustín Víctor Casasola. Through his photos, Agustín V. Casasola documented visually the Mexican Revolution.
Extent: 0.5 Linear feet. 2 items.
Identification: MS Group 313
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/casasola_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

After working as a journalist in the most important Mexican nineteenth-century newspapers, Agustín Víctor Casasola (1874-1938) became a photographer. During 1913 and 1914, he took photos of events related to the Mexican Revolution. To some, he produced the most important visual testimonies of the revolutionary period. In 1976, Mexico's federal government acquired the Casasola Archive. The Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH) now holds the exclusive rights to the photos that constitute the Casasola Archive. (See Enciclopedia de México. Mexico City: Enciclopedia de México, 2000 y Pablo Ortiz Monasterio, ed., Mexico The Revolution and Beyond. Photographs by Agustín Víctor Casasola 1900-1940. New York: Aperture, CONACULTA-INAH, 2003.)


Scope and Content

The photos included in this collection were acquired at the studio Fotografía Casasola before its holdings were transferred to the Mexican government. They are embossed with the original seal of the studio. One of the photos shows a woman that peers out of a train; it is a section of a larger photo. This photograph has been used to represent the adelitas, the women who accompanied revolutionary soldiers, and it has become one of the most emblematic images of the Mexican Revolution. The other photo shows a military group known as Los Rurales as they got ready to go to Aguascalientes on May 18, 1914. (Ortiz Monasterio, Pablo, ed. Mirada y Memoria. Archivo fotográfico Casasola. México: 1900-1940. Mexico City and Madrid: Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes, Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia, Turner, 2002.)


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/casasola_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Photos of the Mexican Revolution by Agustín V. Casasola, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Prof. Efraín Barradas' gift in honor of Sylvia Rivera Viera. The photos included in this collection were acquired at the studio Fotografía Casasola before its holdings were transferred to the Mexican government.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Mexico -- History -- 20th century -- Pictorial works



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page