Skip to Search



A Guide to the Spanish Military Documents Regarding Colombia's War of Independence

Finding aid created by Katiana M. Bagué

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2016


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cartagena de Indias, En la Imprenta del Gobierno, por D. Ramon Leon del Pozo
Title: Spanish Military Documents Regarding Colombia's War of Independence
Dates: 1816 May 19-1816 June 5
Abstract: This collection contains military documents from Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, which give statements and updates of the current state of the Spanish Army fighting revolutionary forces in New Granada in 1816.
Extent: 1 Folder.
Identification: MSS 0365
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cartagena_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Cartagena de Indias is a city located in the northern part of Colombia, in the Caribbean coastal region. During the colonial period, Cartagena played a major role in the expansion of the Spanish Empire, serving as the center for the Viceroyalty's political and economic activities. On November 11, 1811, Cartagena was the first city to declare its independence. Consequently, Spanish forces in 1815 and 1816 fought to reclaim and take control of the region. Under the command of General Pablo Morillo, in 1815 the Spanish army besieged Cartagena. Its fall gave way to the capture of New Granada and the reinstatement of the Viceroyalty. Colombia finally became independent in 1824.


Scope and Content

This collection consists of four Spanish military dispatches from Cartagena de Indias, Colombia dated from 1816. The documents provide insight to the battles between the Spanish Army and the revolutionaries for the claim of New Granada. Specifically, these statements document the exchange between Spanish military, such as Lieutenant Coronel Donato Ruiz de Santa Cruz who claimed victory over several parts of Colombia, including Santa Fé (present day Bogotá) and Popayán. Moreover, the documentation gives the news and updates of the state of the Spanish military and brief descriptions of the treatment of revolutionary forces. The statements also mention important Spanish military figures, including General Pablo Morillo and certain rebel leaders.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cartagena_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Spanish Military Documents Regarding Colombia's War of Independence, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Folder
1 Dispatch from Lieutenant Coronel Donato Ruiz de Santa Cruz to the captain general. 1816 May 19
1 Dispatch to the captain general with news from Cartagena. 1816 May 20
1 Dispatch from General don Pablo Morillo to Captain General don Francisco de Montalvo. 1816 June 2
1 Dispatch from Lieutenant Coronel don Julian Bayer to the governor and captain general. 1816 June 5

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Colombia--Cartagena
Morillo, Pablo, conde de Cartagena, 1778-1837
Ruiz de Santa Cruz, Donato
War of Independence (Colombia : 1810-1822)



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page