Skip to Search





A Guide to the Bessie L. Cantrell Collection

Finding aid created by Katalin Franciska Rac.

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

May 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cantrell, Bessie L.
Title: Bessie L. Cantrell Collection
Dates: 1971-1987
Abstract: Collection of letters Bessie Cantrell had received from Israeli Prime Ministers Golda Meir and Menachem Begin and Minister of Defence Moshe Dayan.
Extent: .21 Linear Feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0430
Language(s): English

Scope and Content

Bessie L. Cantrell, mother of William D. Myers, corresponded with Israeli prime ministers Golda Meir and Menachem Begin and Minister of Defense Moshe Dayan. The letters she received were saved along with newspaper clippings about Golda Meir.

Her son, William D. Myers, donated the letters after watching the Ilene Silverman show on Gainesville local television. Having received the letters from Myers, Ilene Silverman-Budd, forwarded them to the University of Florida's Smathers Libraries. The collection is donated to honor the memory of Bessie L. Cantrell.

The donor, Ilene Silverman-Budd's accompanying letter is also enclosed.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged chronologically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Bessie L. Cantrell Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by William D. Myers and Ilene Silverman-Budd.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Letters from Golda Meir. 1971-1974
12 Letters from Moshe Dayan. 1972
13 Newspaper clippings. 1974, 1978, undated
14 Letters from Menachem Begin. 1982, 1983, 1985, 1987
15 Cantrell's address and Letter from Ilene Silverman-Budd. undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Begin, Menachem, 1913-1992
Dayan, Moshe, 1915-1981
Florida--Gainesville
Israel
Jews
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page