Skip to Search





A Guide to the Don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera Papers

Finding aid created by Ivanna Moreno

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: De Acuña y Cabrera, Antonio.
Title: Don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera Papers
Dates: 1522-1647
Abstract: This collection consists of twelve manuscript documents bound in a single volume detailing the military career of don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera, a Spanish infantry captain. All twelve documents are written in Spanish and reference events from 1522 to 1647.
Extent: .01 Linear Feet. 1 Folder.
Identification: MSS 0458
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cabrera_es.pdf

Biographical/Historical Note

Reaching the height of its power in the 16th and 17th centuries, the Spanish Empire extended from the middle of the North American continent to the southernmost region of Argentina, excluding territory held by Portugal in South America. Several events of great significance had occurred prior, such as the union of Isabel of Castile and Ferdinand of Aragon, who together propelled the empire to new heights and established the Holy Office of the Inquisition in the late 1400s.

As a decorated Spanish military captain during the peak of the Spanish Empire, don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera was responsible for managing and maintaining several political relationships for the Spanish Crown in Latin America in the early 1600s. Throughout his military career, Acuña y Cabrera was bestowed with several honors for his exploits, most notably both the Order of St. Augustin and the Order of Santiago by the king himself.


Scope and Content

This collection consists of twelve manuscript documents bound in a single volume detailing the military career of don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera, a Spanish infantry captain. All twelve documents are written in Spanish and reference events from 1522 to 1647, beginning with a brief history of the Crown's activities in previous centuries before, then concerning the assignments given and honors awarded to Acuña y Cabrera. The documents reference the relationships between Madrid and several cities in Latin America, most notably Lima, La Plata, Buenos Aires, and Sao Paulo.


Arrangement

This collection is a single bound volume and the documents are not chronologically ordered.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cabrera_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Don Antonio de Acuña y Cabrera Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was purchased in 2018.


Contents List

Folder
1 EN LA NOBLE VILLAO VILLAD VALLADOLID A VIENTE E SIETE DIAS...Manuscript recounting of political conditions in Spain relevant to the early years of the reign of Ferdinand and Isabella. (Embellished with two elaborate vignettes highlighted in gilt). 1522 April 27
1 EN LA FORTALEZA A DE VILLA DE SIMANCAS A NUEVE DIAS DEL MES DE ABRIL DE MILL Y SEIS CIENTOS Y TRIENTA Y UN AÑOS...Manuscript of a long discourse on the history of the Inquisition, specifically concerning certain relations present in the Crown's official archives. 1631 April 9
1 VEINTE Y QUATRO REALES. SELLO PRIMERO Official document offering an appraisal of conditions in Lima and La Plata. 1647 March 25
1 [NOTICE OF PARTICIPATION OF DON ANTONIO DE ACUÑA Y CABRERA IN A ROYAL TRIBUNAL]...Simple notice testifying to ACUÑA y Cabrera's participation. 14 April 1647
1 UN REAL. SELLO TERCERO, UN REAL, AÑOS DE MIL Y SEIS CIENTOS Y QUARENTA Y QUATRO...Memorial on behalf of ACUÑA y Cabrera for reimbursement for personal monies spent in official service. 1647 March 27
1 JUAN DE AYÇAGA CONTADOR PUAL DEL MILAN...List of artillery and infantry companies as recorded by Juan de Aycaga, a royal accountant. 1619 December 18
1 DON GOMEZ SUAREZ DE FIGUEROA Y CORDONA, DUQUE DE FERRA DEL ESTADO DE MILAN...Memorial relating to the participation of ACUÑA y Cabrera in the administration of Milan (under Spanish control from 1535 to 1714). 1619 August 26
1 ANTONIO DE PORRAS CONTADOR PRINCIPAL DESTE ESTADO DE MILAN...List of military companies serving in Milan and environs, composed by another official accountant. 1632 [September] 15
1 INSTRUCCION QUE A DE GRANADA MAESTRO DE CAMPO DON ANTONIO DE ACUÑA Y CABRERA QUE VA POR GOVERNADOR DE BUENOS AYRES Y PROVINCIA DEL RIO DE LA PLATA...List of instructions for ACUÑA y Cabrera, with orders to survey Lima, preserve relations with Brazil, keep up correspondence with Paraguay and other regions, fortify Buenos Aires, and make an inquiry into recent events in San Pablo in Brazil. 1641 June
1 SON QUANTO DEL CAPITAN DON ANTONIO DE ACUÑA Y CABEREA CAU. DE LA ORDER DE SANTT ADMINSTRACION...Official document, signed by the King, conferring the Order of St. Augustin on ACUÑA y Cabrera. Signed in manuscript: "Yo El Rey". 1637 March 26
1 POR QUANTO POR PARTE DEL CAPITAN DON ANTONIO DE ACUÑA Y CABRERA...Document bestowing upon ACUÑA y Cabrera the Order of Santiago. Signed in manuscript: "Yo El Rey". 1634 November 19
1 POR QUANTO POR PARTE DEL DON ANTONIO DE ACUÑA Y CABRERA...Another confirmation of honors, specifically noting ACUÑA y Cabrera's service in Lima. Signed in manuscript: "Yo El Rey". 1634 November 19

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Argentina -- La Plata.
Military history.
Military participation -- Spanish.
Peru -- Lima.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page