Skip to Search





A Guide to the Peggy Bulger Collection on Stetson Kennedy

Finding aid created by Samuel McLane and Marcus Follin

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

December 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Bulger, Peggy.
Title: Peggy Bulger Collection on Stetson Kennedy
Dates: 1940-2016
Bulk dates: 1991-2016
Abstract: Primarily Bulger's research and interviews supplying the information for her dissertation and published work on the activist, writer, and folklorist Stetson Kennedy.
Extent: 3.04 Linear Feet. 5 Boxes; 1 Unprocessed Box.
Identification: MSS 0497
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Margaret Anne "Peggy" Bulger was born in Albany, New York in 1949. She holds a B.A. in fine arts from the State University of New York at Albany, a M.A. in folk studies from Western Kentucky University, and a Ph.D., with honors, in folklore and folklife from the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Bulger was Folk Arts Coordinator and State Folklorist for the state of Florida, serving in the Bureau of Florida Folklife Program from 1976 to 1989. She served as the Senior Program Officer and Folk Arts Director for the Southern Arts Federation in Atlanta from 1989 to 1999. In addition to her public administration work, Dr. Bulger is the author of South Florida Folklife (1994) with Tina Bucuvalas and Stetson Kennedy and Stetson Kennedy: Applied Folklore and Cultural Advocacy 2017). She was the editor of Musical Roots of the South (1992). From July of 1999 until retiring in December of 2011, she served as the director of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. She is married to Douglas B. Leatherbury III, and they have two daughters.


Scope and Content

This collection includes research materials collected by Dr. Peggy Bulger to support her dissertation (which was published as Stetson Kennedy: Applied Folklore and Cultural Advocacy, Florida Historical Society Press, 2017). Major sections of the papers are Bulger's dissertation research, correspondence, subject files, and interviews. The collection also contains copies of Kennedy's unpublished autobiography with subjects ranging from his life infiltrating the Klu Klux Klan to his travels in Europe. Dr. Bulger also collected articles written by and about Kennedy. Audiovisual material-mostly audio tapes-has not yet been processed.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Special Collections also holds the Stetson Kennedy Papers.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Peggy Bulger Collection on Stetson Kennedy, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Peggy Bulger.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Dissertation - Bibliography.
12 Dissertation - Correspondence: Bulger/Kennedy. 1989-1991
13 Dissertation - Correspondence (1): Bulger/Kennedy. 1992
14 Dissertation - Correspondence (2): Bulger/Kennedy. 1992
15 Dissertation - Correspondence: General. 1985-1992
16 Dissertation - Miscellaneous Notes.
17 Dissertation - Notes (1).
18 Dissertation - Notes (2).
19 Dissertation - Prospectus.
110 Dissertation - Rights.
111 Correspondence General - Bucuvalas/Puryear. 2001 September
112 Correspondence General - Bulger/Archie. 1991 November
113 Correspondence General - Bulger/Arem. 2013 October
114 Correspondence General - Bulger/Brandenburg/Kalin. 2005 May
115 Correspondence General - Bulger/Call. 1992-1993
116 Correspondence General - Bulger/Ceryak@Alltel.net. 2006 January
117 Correspondence General - Bulger/Cherel. 1992
118 Correspondence General - Bulger/Chohen.
119 Correspondence General - Bulger/Cusick. 2013
120 Correspondence General - Bulger/Feintuch. 1991 January
121 Correspondence General - Bulger/Fill. 2001
122 Correspondence General - Bulger/Jenkins. 2013 September
123 Correspondence General - Bulger/Kahn. 1992-1993
124 Correspondence General - Bulger/Kalin. 2012 December
125 Correspondence General - Bulger/Kennedy, Loren. 2011 December
126 Correspondence General - Bulger/Long. 2008 June
127 Correspondence General - Bulger/McNally. 2004 June
128 Correspondence General - Bulger/Michael. 2012 January
129 Correspondence General - Bulger/Ortiz. 2011 September
130 Correspondence General - Bulger/Pardue. 2003 June
131 Correspondence General - Bulger/Pope. 2016 August
132 Correspondence General - Bulger/Popwell. 2011 July
133 Correspondence General - Bulger/Robeson. 2012 January
134 Correspondence General - Bulger/Seeqer. 2011 March
135 Correspondence General - Bulger/Stein. 2005 August
136 Correspondence General - Bulger/Stetson.
137 Correspondence General - Bulger/Stewart. 2006 January
138 Correspondence General - Bulger/Taylor/Kata. 2004 July
139 Correspondence General - Bulger/Young.
21 Correspondence General - Washington D.C. Visit. 2005-2006
22 Correspondence General - Miami Book Fair. 2005 November 10
23 Correspondence General - Stetson/Grieser. 1946-1948
24 Correspondence General - Stetson/LIBSERV.PSCD. 2001 October
25 Correspondence General - Stetson/Rawlings. 1940 May 15
26 Correspondence General - Stetson/Robins.
27 Correspondence General - Yochelson/Simanoff. 2001 April 29
28 Correspondence General - Dubner/Freakonomics (1).
29 Correspondence General - Dubner/Freakonomics (2).
210 Florida Folklife Archives.
211 Kennedy - Autobiography: White Boy (1). 1948
212 Kennedy - Autobiography: White Boy (2). 1948
213 Kennedy - Autobiography (1). 1957-1958
214 Kennedy - Autobiography (2). 1957-1958
215 Kennedy - Autobiography - Europe: France, Austria, East and West Germany.
216 Kennedy - Autobiography - Europe: USSR, Hungary, East Germany.
217 Kennedy - Autobiography - Europe: Germany and Hungary.
31 Kennedy - Chronology.
32 Kennedy - Eastside Neighborhood Center.
33 Kennedy - Election. 1950
34 Kennedy - Europe. 1950-1960
35 Kennedy - Family History.
36 Kennedy - Infiltrates KKK.
37 Kennedy - Interviewed by Ann Henderson.
38 Kennedy - Interviewed by Ralph Peters.
39 Kennedy - Miscellaneous. 1965
310 Kennedy - Miscellaneous. 2010
311 Kennedy - New York. 1940-1950
312 Kennedy - Obituaries (1).
313 Kennedy - Obituaries (2).
314 Kennedy - Paris. 1956-1960
315 Kennedy - Superman Broadcast.
316 Kennedy - University of North Florida - Evening with Stetson Kennedy. 2006
317 Kennedy - Works that Influenced Thinking.
318 Kennedy - World War II.
319 Kennedy - Writings: Articles.
320 Kennedy - Writings: Jim Crow Guide.
321 Kennedy - Writings: Palmetto Country (1).
322 Kennedy - Writings: Palmetto Country (2).
323 Kennedy - Writings: Southern Exposure.
41 Reference File by Bulger on Alan Lomax.
42 Reference File by Bulger on Ben Botkin.
43 Reference File by Bulger on Mario Sanchez.
44 Reference File by Bulger on Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.
45 Reference File by Bulger on Woody Guthrie (1).
46 Reference File by Bulger on Woody Guthrie (2).
47 Reference File by Bulger on Zora Neale Hurston.
48 Stetson Kennedy Foundation.
49 Works about Stetson Kennedy (1).
410 Works about Stetson Kennedy (2).
411 Works Progress Administration.
412 Works Progress Administration - Bulger Manuscript: "Folklore and the Federal Writers' Project in Florida" .
413 Works Progress Administration - Correspondence.
414 Works Progress Administration - Folklore.
415 Works Progress Administration - Symposium "In the Nick of Time". 1989
416 Interview of Stetson Kennedy (Spark Media). 2010 January
417 Interview of Stetson Kennedy (Spark Media) (1). 2004 July 6
418 Interview of Stetson Kennedy (Spark Media) (2). 2004 July 6
419 Interview "Physicians for Responsible Medicine" (Spark Media).
420 Photos.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Florida.
Folklore
Kennedy, Stetson




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page