Skip to Search



A Guide to the Operation Breakthrough (HUD) Records

Finding aid created by Amanda Mosley

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
May 2016


Descriptive Summary

Creator: United States. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Title: Operation Breakthrough (HUD) Records
Dates: 1961-1986
Bulk dates: 1969-1976
Abstract: Operation Breakthrough was an effort to bring about change and improvement in the design and construction of affordable residential housing. HUD administered this program from 1969 to 1972. Though the project was considered a failure, it did encourage useful changes in the housing industry. Researchers interested in the development of the housing industry, trends in affordable housing, or the history of discriminatory practices related to housing will find this collection a valuable resource.
Extent: 134.75 Linear feet. 133 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0358
Language(s): English
Location: IMPORTANT: Please note that this collection is housed in the Auxiliary Library Facility off campus and will require advance notice for timely retrieval. Please contact the Special and Area Studies Collections department prior to your visit.

Biographical/Historical Note

During the decade from 1968 to 1978, the United States Congress mandated the construction or rehabilitation of twenty-six million housing units, six million of these were for low and moderate income families. This level of production had never been achieved by the housing industry. Operation Breakthrough was created by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) in an effort to bring about change and improvement in the whole process of housing and specifically the design and construction of residential housing. HUD administered this program from 1969 to 1972. When Operation Breakthrough was announced in May of 1969, its stated, primary objective was: "the establishment of self-sustaining mechanisms for rapid, volume production of marketable housing ... for people of all income levels, with particular emphasis on those groups and individuals which have had difficulty in obtaining satisfactory housing in the past."

Operation Breakthrough is a specific set of projects and not a continuing program. The program had been a stimulant and a catalyst for the housing industry. This project was completed in three phases. Phase I included the design and development of the housing units and proposals were taken for the areas of design and research and development. Prototype sites were selected in a national competition that was held in the summer of 1969. Twenty-two of the 236 entries were chosen to participate in Operation Breakthrough, though eventually only 9 sites were selected: Indianapolis, IN; Kalamazoo, MI; King County, WA; Jersey City, NJ; Macon, GA; Memphis, TN; Sacramento, CA; Seattle, WA; and St. Louis, MO. Phase II involved prototype construction, while Phase III was regarded as the breakthrough stage in which the new systems, materials, and methods would be adopted by the private sector for production and marketing.

In the end, Operation Breakthrough was considered a failure as it did not accomplish its objectives due to unexpected decreases occurring in the housing market; HUD subsidized mortgage housing programs being suspended; and some housing systems lacking a cost savings potential. While the program did not prove the marketability of most of its sponsored construction methods, it has supported some useful changes in the housing industry by exposing builders to new construction methods and materials, exploring new methods of evaluating housing construction, encouraging changes in building code requirements, and supporting statewide building codes.


Scope and Content

The Operation Breakthrough (HUD) Records house the business records of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). This collection, which dates from 1961 to 1986, consists of meeting minutes, site designs, site records, litigation, legislation, memoranda, administration records, contracts, agreements, proposals, resolutions, reports, codes and regulations, correspondence, court documents, financial records, press releases, marketing, construction diaries, and photographs evidencing the housing project, Operation Breakthrough, from the beginning to end of the project on innovations in the housing industry and the development of affordable housing.

This collection is unique in that it is focused on new innovations is the housing industry, both in terms of the design of the units and in the processes of construction. Additionally, issues of discrimination in affordable housing that existed during this time period are highlighted. This project attempted to surmount some of the discriminatory practices through equal opportunity housing. Many reports documenting equal opportunity housing, including demographics of the individuals and families living at the project's housing sites, can be found in the collection. Researchers interested in the development of the housing industry, trends in affordable housing, or the history of discriminatory practices related to housing will find this collection a valuable resource.

"Series I: Administrative records," which dates from 1961 to 1986, includes three sub-series. "Subseries Ia: General office files" dates from 1961 to 1986, with bulk dates from 1967 to 1978. It contains records that pertain to the project as a whole. This includes budgets, agreements, contracts, legislation, memoranda, correspondence, housing studies, code manuals, marketing, press information, proposals, and reports. Many of these files have records that are site or company specific individually, but are part of a collection of files covering a topic relevant to the whole project. This subseries also contains photographs and films.

"Subseries Ib: Descon-Concordia litigation," which dates from 1970 to 1980, includes correspondence, appeals, claims, court proceedings, and settlement agreements. These records focus on litigation between HUD and Descon-Concordia, a housing system producer. The dispute apparently resulted from changes in the Jersey City project that Descon and HUD could not reach an agreement on. Although disputes between HUD and other housing system producers had occurred, the dispute between HUD and Descon was the only one that resulted in legal action being taken.

"Subseries Ic: Desk files of Dave Moore" dates from 1969 to 1982 and includes proposals, meeting minutes, financial reports, court records, contracts, agreements, interviews, press releases, litigation records, reports, and photographs. These records appear to be the working files of Dave Moore, who was in charge of Operation Breakthrough when the project ended. The information contained in these files is summary in nature and relates mainly to the ending of the project.

"Series II: Site files," which dates from 1969 to 1977, includes reports, construction diaries, contracts, correspondence, legal correspondence, court documents, administration records, financial documents, and press information. These records contain information pertaining to each of the housing sites, including design of the sites, site planning and development, landscaping, construction, housing management, program management, marketing, land acquisition, labor relations, and operation and maintenance. Most of the files in this series are described through the folder title.

"Series III: Company files" dates from 1966 to 1978, with bulk dates from 1969 to 1975. These records relate to specific companies involved in Operation Breakthrough and include contract negotiations and modifications, correspondence, final reports, meeting minutes, and monthly and other reports. Some of these files require the HSP File Index or Appendix in order to obtain a fuller description of the contents. Those files are linked here. There is information on Phases I and II of the project, including all the tasks a company completed during Phase I.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into three series: "Series I: Administrative records," "Series II: Site files," and "Series III: Company files." Series I is further divided into three subseries: "Subseries Ia: General office files," "Subseries Ib: Descon-Concordia litigation," and "Subseries Ic: Desk files of Dave Moore." All series and subseries are arranged alphabetically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

"Operation Breakthrough: Lessons Learned about Demonstrating New Technology" (Government Accountability Office report)


Administrative Information

Custodial History

The records were first housed at National Archives and Records Administration, but after being loaned to a private researcher, it was no longer feasible for NARA to serve as this collection's repository. When this collection was acquired in 1990, the University of Florida offered eight centers that were focused on housing-related issues and majors related to the housing industry including building construction and architecture. In 1990, affordable housing was one of the top issues for the state of Florida and UF was home to the Center for Affordable Housing making this collection very relevant to the archives mission.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Operation Breakthrough (HUD) Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing Notes

This collection has been minimally processed. A folder level inventory was produced and is listed in this finding aid, but the majority of the documents were not examined or rehoused during the course of processing. Open access to these materials allows researchers to further delve into the contents as needed.


Contents List

Series I: Administrative records. 1961-1986 (bulk: 1969-1979)


Subseries Ia: General office files. 1961-1986 (bulk: 1967-1978)

Box
1 Administration (Admin): ACO [Admin. Contracting Officer] all sites. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Budget (2 folders). 1967-1974
1 Admin: Cooperation agreements. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Correspondence and fact sheet. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Cost analysis. 1967-1974
1 Admin: "Federal Project" memorandum. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Feedback. 1967-1974
1 Admin: FHA [Federal Housing Administration] waivers. 1967-1974
1 Admin: General. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Guide criteria. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Housing management. 1967-1974
1 Admin: Housing systems producers (3 folders). 1967-1974
1 Admin: Incidental. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Interim housing study. 1967-1974
2 Admin: List of housing producers. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Management (3 folders). 1967-1974
2 Admin: Market aggregation. 1967-1974
2 Admin: National Corporation for Housing Partnerships (NCHP). 1967-1974
2 Admin: Non-project sponsors. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Parkchester. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Personnel. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Project operating and expense forms. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Publications. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Regional Directors' Meeting (2 folders). 1967-1974
2 Admin: Rent supplement program. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Sites and units. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Status reports. 1967-1974
2 Admin: Utilities lease. 1967-1974
3 California sites (CA): American River Gardens. 1972-1973
3 CA: Baptist Gardens. 1972-1973
3 CA: Bell Hurley Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Christ Unity. 1972-1973
3 CA: College Gardens Number 2. 1972-1973
3 CA: Cosumnes River Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Cottonwood Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Fernwood Village. 1972-1973
3 CA: Foothill Plaza II. 1972-1973
3 CA: Garden Grove Towers. 1972-1973
3 CA: Greenbrier. 1972-1973
3 CA: Greenfair Towers II. 1972-1973
3 CA: Hargrave Fellowship Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Kenneth Arms. 1972-1973
3 CA: MacArthur Park Towers. 1972-1973
3 CA: Manzanita Arms. 1972-1973
3 CA: Pilgrim Tower North. 1972-1973
3 CA: Priory Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Rallston Tower. 1972-1973
3 CA: Rancho Arms. 1972-1973
3 CA: Rowland Heights Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: San Juan Apartments. 1972-1973
3 CA: Southgate North. 1972-1973
3 CA: Wycliffe Towers. 1972-1973
3 Certification: General (2 folders). 1969-1971
4 Certification: General. 1969-1971
4 Codes: Building codes files (6 folders). 1969-1973
4 Codes: Industrial housing codes. 1969-1973
4 Codes: Model codes groups. 1969-1973
4 Codes: NCSBCS [National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards] (2 folders). 1969-1973
5 Codes: NCSBCS (5 folders). 1969-1973
5 Codes: States building codes materials. 1969-1973
5 Codes: Zoning. 1969-1973
5 Community Relations: Community buildings. 1970
5 Community Relations: Community liaison (3 folders). 1970
5 Community Relations: Community meetings. 1970
5 Community Relations: General (2 folders). 1970
5 Community Relations: Press releases. 1970
5 Company reports: Aluminum Company of America (ALCOA) (2 folders). 1970-1972
6 Company reports: Boise Cascade (6 folders). 1970-1972
6 Company reports: BSI [Building Systems International]. 1970-1972
6 Company reports: Descon-Concordia (3 folders). 1970-1972
6 Company reports: FCE [Forest City Enterprises]-Dillon (2 folders). 1970-1972
7 Company reports: Hercules, Incorporated (4 folders). 1970-1972
7 Company reports: Home Building Corporation. 1970-1972
7 Company reports: General Electric [GE] (2 folders). 1970-1972
7 Company reports: National Homes Incorporated (3 folders). 1970-1972
7 Company reports: Pantek Corporation (2 folders). 1970-1972
8 Company reports: Pantek. 1970-1972
8 Company reports: Pemtom, Incorporated (2 folders). 1970-1972
8 Company reports: Perkins and Will. 1970-1972
8 Company reports: Shelley Systems, Incorporated (4 folders). 1970-1972
8 Company reports: Stirling Homex Corporation. 1970-1972
8 Contracts: BSDI-UDCC [Building Systems Development, Incorporated and Urban Design and Development Corporation]. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: CAMCI. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Computer Applications, Incorporated. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Decision Sciences Corporation. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Dow Chemical Company. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Full River Housing Authority. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Forest City Enterprises. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: George Washington University. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Goodfriend-Ostergaard Associated. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Government loans. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Institute for Personal Effectiveness in Children. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Linton, Mields, and Coston, Incorporated. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: National Corporation for Housing Partnerships (includes magnetic cards). 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Rouse-Wates. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Scholz Homes, Incorporated. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Self-Help Enterprises. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Set Aside Contract Authority. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: SMS Partnership - Architects. 1970-1973
9 Contracts: Wilsey and Ham. 1970-1973
9 Fair housing: Equal Opportunity (2 folders). 1970-1972
9 Fair housing: Fair housing guidelines (2 folders). 1970-1972
10 Fair housing: Fair housing guidelines (2 folders). 1970-1972
10 Fair housing: HOME contract H-1140. 1970-1972
10 Fair housing: Research contract H-961. 1970-1972
10 Final report: Christiana Western Structures, H-1240. 1968-1976
10 Final report: FCE-Dillon final report. 1968-1976
10 Final report: "Historical evaluation of industrialized housing and building systems" (National Academy of Sciences). 1968-1976
10 Final report: "The impact of Operation Breakthrough on the nation's housing industry". 1968-1976
10 Final report: LaClede Associates, H-1761. 1968-1976
10 Financing: Attachment B. 1970-1976
10 Financing: Closing requirements. 1970-1976
10 Financing: Cost certification. 1970-1976
10 Financing: Federal Home Loans Bank Board System (FHLBB). 1970-1976
10 Financing: FHA mortgage summary. 1970-1976
10 Financing: FHA processing. 1970-1976
10 Financing: FHA waivers (3 folders). 1970-1976
10 Financing: Funds reconciliation report. 1970-1976
10 Financing: General (3 folders). 1970-1976
11 Financing: Income limits. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Obtain financing. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Preliminary mortgage insurance forms. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Private mortgages. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Section 235. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Section 236. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Set asides. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Spin off mortgage release record. 1970-1976
11 Financing: Title X. 1970-1976
11 General: Advanced drawing change notices (4 folders). 1966-1986
11 General: Articles. 1966-1986
11 General: Assorted materials (including photographs) (5 folders). 1966-1986
11 General: Bibliography. 1966-1986
11 General: Building systems. 1966-1986
11 General: Carnegie-Mellon University, engineer design program. 1966-1986
11 General: Correspondence (includes photographs). 1966-1986
12 General: Correspondence (includes photographs) (10 folders). 1966-1986
12 General: Departmental codes policy. 1966-1986
12 General: Environmental statement. 1966-1986
12 General: Equal opportunity guidelines. 1966-1986
12 General: Experimental housing project reports and site design ideas (includes photographs) (3 folders). 1961-1962
12 General: Guidelines for housing systems producers and feedback reports. 1966-1986
13 General: Housing surveys, special report, and landlord-tenant code. 1966-1986
13 General: Housing systems proposals. 1966-1986
13 General: "HUD News," site proposals, and photographs. 1966-1986
13 General: Indianapolis site review and Macon activity schedule (includes photographs). 1966-1986
13 General: Introduction to Industrialization report. 1966-1986
13 General: Llewelyn-Davies Associates. 1966-1986
13 General: Macon construction and blueprints (2 folders). 1966-1986
13 General: Macon repair agreements (includes photographs) (3 folders). 1966-1986
13 General: Macon Section 233 vouchers. 1966-1986
13 General: National Bureau of Standards post-occupancy evaluations (feedback). 1974-1980
14 General: National Bureau of Standards post-occupancy evaluations (feedback). 1974-1980
14 General: Phase II summary report. 1966-1986
14 General: Program costs and 233 funding. 1966-1986
14 General: Program development plan (3 folders). 1966-1986
14 General: Program preliminary presentation. 1966-1986
14 General: Rouse-Wates brochures. 1966-1986
14 General: Site disposition. 1966-1986
14 General: Structural test report. 1966-1986
14 General: Symposium on the performance concept. 1966-1986
14 General: Taxation. 1966-1986
14 General: O.V.E. [Optimum Value Engineered] House. 1966-1986
14 General: Unfiled documents (includes photographs) (3 folders). 1966-1986
15 General: Unfiled documents (includes photographs) (7 folders). 1966-1986
15 General: Wyle Laboratories. 1966-1986
15 Guide criteria: "Guide criteria for the evaluation of housing systems, volume I - multi-family high-rise" (2 folders). 1970
15 Guide criteria: "Guide criteria for the evaluation of housing systems, volume II - multi-family low-rise" (2 folders). 1970
15 Guide criteria: "Guide criteria for the evaluation of housing systems, volume III - single family attached". 1970
16 Guide criteria: "Guide criteria for the evaluation of housing systems, volume III - single family attached". 1970
16 Guide criteria: "Guide criteria for the evaluation of housing systems, volume IV - single family detached" (2 folders). 1970
16 Labor: Community liaison. 1970-1972
16 Labor: Department of Labor, Rouse-Wates. 1970-1972
16 Labor: "HSP" labor agreements (2 folders). 1970-1972
16 Labor: Innerpak labor problem. 1970-1972
16 Labor: Labor and unions. 1970-1972
16 Labor: Labor problems. 1970-1972
16 Labor: NLRA [National Labor Relations Act]. 1970-1972
16 Laboratory results (Labs): Forest Products Laboratory. 1970-1975
16 Labs: Material Systems Corporation (MSC). 1970-1975
16 Labs: Naval Civil Engineering Laboratory. 1970-1975
16 Legislation: American Bar Association. 1970-1973
16 Legislation: Cooperation resolutions. 1970-1973
16 Legislation: EMC [Electronic Modules Corporation] patent. 1970-1973
16 Legislation: Environmental memorandum. 1970-1973
16 Legislation: FHA handbook. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: "First user" tax ruling. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Housing allowance program. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: HUD Act. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: LHA [Local Housing Authorities] - filing of form 1099. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: National Institute of Building Science. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Model state and local. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Model state industrialized housing law. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Proposed federal, HUD, and others. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Research and technology. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Solid waste disposal grants. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Standards (codes) - model uniform laws. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: State laws pertaining to Operation Breakthrough. 1970-1973
17 Legislation: Tax legislation. 1970-1973
17 Litigation: ALCOA. 1970-1973
17 Litigation: Attachments to statements of reasons. 1970-1973
17 Litigation: Disposition of Paul Milstein. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Gross receipts - tax and lawsuits. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Jersey City sale (3 folders). 1970-1973
18 Litigation: LIHD [Low Income Housing Demonstration] memoranda. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Rouse-Wates - Columbia, Maryland. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Supreme (or other) court cases. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Volt - District Court and Court of Appeals. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Volt - GAO [General Accounting Office] protest. 1970-1973
18 Litigation: Volt - temporary restraining order hearing and preliminary injunction hearing. 1970-1973
18 Market aggregation (MA): Assorted materials. 1969-1973
18 MA: Boston regional meeting. 1969-1973
19 MA: Chronological correspondence file (44 folders). 1969-1973
18 MA: Conference, assorted materials (3 folders). 1969-1973
18 MA: Contact lists. 1969-1973
18 MA: General (3 folders). 1969-1973
18 MA: Harvard project. 1969-1973
20 MA: Program plan. 1969-1973
20 MA: Requisitions. 1969-1973
20 MA: Strategies. 1969-1973
20 MA: System establishment. 1969-1973
20 Marketing (Mar): General. 1969-1972
20 Mar: Plans for housing systems (3 folders). 1969-1972
20 Mar: Master file (status reports). 1969-1972
20 Mar: Promotional materials. 1969-1972
20 Mar: Reports. 1969-1972
20 Mar: Rouse-Wates Phase III marketing plan (2 folders). 1969-1972
20 Mar: Status reports. 1969-1972
132 Media: Assorted photographs (2 folders). 1969-1973
133 Media: Breakthrough slides, presentation documentation. 1969-1973
132 Media: Breakthrough slides, presentation documentation. 1969-1973
132 Media: Conceptual plan slides (2 folders). 1969-1973
133 Media: Film - "A Great Place to Live", housing report 6, 16 mm, color. circa 1972
133 Media: Film - "A Place to Live", McGraw-Hill Productions, 16 mm. circa 1972
133 Media: Film - "Breakthrough Report #2", Hearst (producer), 16 mm, color, run time 16:25. circa 1972
133 Media: Film - "Operation Breakthrough", MP 3588, issue 39, 16 mm, color, run time 12:14. 1972 July 10
132 Media: Harold B. Finger's Moscow speech slides ("duplicates"). 1969-1973
132 Media: Jersey City photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: King County photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Macon photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Memphis photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: "Philadelphia Picture File" slide guide. 1969-1973
132 Media: Press releases and reports (3 folders). 1969-1973
132 Media: Sacramento photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Seattle photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Signing photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Site photographs. 1969-1973
132 Media: Site plans. 1969-1973
132 Media: "Slide presentation" outline. 1969-1973
133 Media: Slides, assorted (3 slide boxes). 1969-1973
132 Media: Slides from 1979 visit to all sites with comments (3 folders). 1969-1973
132 Media: St. Louis photographs. 1969-1973
20 National Academy of Sciences (NAS): "A Report of Operation Breakthrough". 1969-1973
20 NAS: FH-722. 1969-1973
21 NAS: FH-1077. 1969-1973
21 National Bureau of Standards reports (NBS): Correspondence. 1970-1972
21 NBS: Evaluation work sheet. 1970-1972
21 NBS: Final plant quality assurance records (5 folders). 1970-1972
21 NBS: "Guide and Format for the Preparation of a Housing System Testing and Analysis Program" (2 folders). 1970-1972
21 NBS: Guide criteria. 1970-1972
21 NBS: H-1703. 1970-1972
21 NBS: H-1798. 1970-1972
21 NBS: IAA-H-2-69. 1970-1972
21 NBS: IAA-H-2-72. 1970-1972
21 NBS: IAA-H-9-70 and IAA-H-11-70. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-16-70 (2 folders). 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-23-69. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-25-69. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-25-72. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-29-72. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-30-70. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-30-72. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-31-70. 1970-1972
22 NBS: IAA-H-37-72 (3 folders). 1970-1972
22 NBS: "MPS" volume 1 with recommendations and comments (draft). 1970-1972
22 NBS: Procedures and scheduling reports (2 folders). 1970-1972
22 NBS: Quality control program, component bath system. 1970-1972
22 Noise exposure: Reports and agenda. 1971
22 Organization information (OI): Central office. 1969-1973
22 OI: City representatives. 1969-1973
22 OI: Complaint letter. 1969-1973
22 OI: General. 1969-1973
22 OI: HUD area offices. 1969-1973
22 OI: Lists. 1969-1973
22 OI: Regional administrators. 1969-1973
22 OI: Regional managers (2 folders). 1969-1973
23 OI: Regional office organization. 1969-1973
23 OI: Staff. 1969-1973
23 OI: State representatives. 1969-1973
23 OI: Travel (6 folders). 1969-1973
23 Phase III (P3): 99 South Apartments. 1971-1974
23 P3: ALCOA. 1971-1974
23 P3: Boise-Cascade. 1971-1974
23 P3: BSI. 1971-1974
23 P3: CAMCI. 1971-1974
23 P3: Christiana Western Structures. 1971-1974
23 P3: Country Club Apartments. 1971-1974
23 P3: Descon-Concordia (3 folders). 1971-1974
23 P3: FCE-Dillon. 1971-1974
23 P3: Ft. Vancouver Terrace. 1971-1974
24 P3: GE. 1971-1974
24 P3: Orchard Villa. 1971-1974
24 P3: Rainbow Village (2 folders). 1971-1974
24 P3: Salem Manor. 1971-1974
24 P3: Site developments (2 folders). 1971-1974
24 P3: Status reports. 1971-1974
24 Proposed regional development (PRD): Delta Park (2 folders). 1970-1973
24 PRD: Greely, Colorado. 1970-1973
24 PRD: Lancaster Court (2 folders). 1970-1973
24 PRD: Longmont. 1970-1973
24 PRD: Los Angeles area office. 1970-1973
24 PRD: Region 1. 1970-1973
24 PRD: Region 7. 1970-1973
24 PRD: Region 9 (2 folders). 1970-1973
24 PRD: Thornton Gardens. 1970-1973
25 Regulatory data and codes: Indianapolis. 1965-1970
25 Regulatory data and codes: Jersey City. 1965-1970
25 Regulatory data and codes: Kalamazoo. 1965-1970
25 Regulatory data and codes: Macon. 1965-1970
25 Regulatory data and codes: Sacramento. 1965-1970
26 Research reports: Real estate research reports (3 folders). 1969-1973
26 Research reports: Ross, Hardies report (3 folders). 1969-1973
26 Research reports: Security research. 1969-1973
26 Retired contracts (RC): Caudill, Rowlett, and Scott. 1970-1972
26 RC: Christiana Western Structures (3 folders). 1970-1972
26 RC: Eckbo, Dean, Austin, and Williams. 1970-1972
26 RC: Keene Corporation (2 folders). 1970-1972
27 RC: Keene Corporation. 1970-1972
27 RC: Levitt Technology Corporation. 1970-1972
27 RC: Reynolds, Smith, and Hills (2 folders). 1970-1972
27 RC: RTKL Incorporated. 1970-1972
27 RC: Site visitation reports. 1970-1972
27 Site commitments: Commitment summaries. 1970-1973
27 Site commitments: Indianapolis. 1970-1973
27 Site commitments: Jersey City (2 folders). 1970-1973
27 Site commitments: Kalamazoo. 1970-1973
27 Site commitments: King County. 1970-1973
27 Site commitments: Macon. 1970-1973
28 Site commitments: Memphis. 1970-1973
28 Site commitments: Sacramento. 1970-1973
28 Site commitments: Seattle. 1970-1973
28 Site commitments: St. Louis. 1970-1973
28 Site information: Developers. 1969-1978
28 Site information: Jersey City (2 folders). 1969-1978
28 Site information: Land acquisition. 1969-1978
28 Site information: Location summaries. 1969-1978
28 Site information: "Minimum Property Standards" (2 folders). 1969-1978
28 Site information: Not selected (2 folders). 1969-1978
29 Site information: Other programs and aids. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Planners [PSP/Prototype Site Planner]. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Prototype site proposal evaluations. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Prototype site selection. 1969-1978
29 Site information: PSD [Prototype Site Development/Developer] special financial reports. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Site appraisals. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Site development. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Site relations and negotiations. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Spreadsheets on each site. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Systems producers. 1969-1978
29 Site information: Tom Safran materials (2 folders). 1969-1978
29 Site Planner's reports (SP): "An Evaluation Framework for Site Planning". 1970, 1973
29 SP: Indianapolis. 1970, 1973
29 SP: Jersey City. 1970, 1973
29 SP: Kalamazoo. 1970, 1973
29 SP: King County. 1970, 1973
29 SP: Macon. 1970, 1973
29 SP: Memphis. 1970, 1973
30 SP: Sacramento (3 folders). 1970, 1973
30 SP: Seattle. 1970, 1973
30 SP: St. Louis. 1970, 1973
30 SP: Weekly site reports. 1970, 1973
25 Stenhouse, Douglas: Chronological correspondence files (3 folders). 1971-1972
30 Task 17 (T17): ALCOA, H-1255. 1970-1971
30 T17: Boise Cascade. 1970-1971
30 T17: General. 1970-1971
30 T17: Levitt Building Systems. 1970-1971
30 T17: Pantek. 1970-1971
30 T17: Republic Steel, H-1256. 1970-1971
30 T17: Rouse-Wates. 1970-1971
30 T17: Scholz Homes. 1970-1971
30 Transportation: Cases. 1969-1973
30 Transportation: General (2 folders). 1969-1973
30 Transportation: Mobile home shipping rate protest. 1969-1973
30 Transportation: Phase III. 1969-1973

Subseries Ib: Descon-Concordia Litigation. 1970-1980 (bulk: 1970-1978)

Box
31 Appeals: Correspondence (3 folders). 1972-1976
31 Appeals: Hearing transcripts. 1975 July 17
31 Appeals: "HUD BCA 74-1 and 74-2". 1971, undated
31 Appeals: Pleadings, motions, and decisions (2 folders). 1974-1976
31 Boeing cost estimates. 1973, 1980, undated
31 Claim and final determination (3 folders). 1973-1975
31 Claim; H-1244 (3 folders). 1970-1971
31 Claim; H-1380. 1972-1973
32 Claim; H-1382 (2 folders). 1974, undated
32 Claim; H-1382, "HSP" subcontract and correspondence (4 folders). 1971-1977
32 Claim; H-1399 (St. Louis) (5 folders). 1971-1975
32 Contract modifications, settlement agreement (3 folders). 1973-1973, 1978
32 Correspondence. 1971-1975
33 Correspondence regarding construction and pricing. 1973
33 Court proceedings. 1974 February 6
33 Court proceedings. 1974 February 11
33 Court proceedings. 1974 February 12
33 Debarment. 1973-1974
33 Discovery requests (6 folders). 1980
33 Eastern Schokbeton (2 folders). 1974, undated
33 "PSD" files 1 through 11, additional correspondence and contracts. 1973
33 Supporting documentation and subcontracts. 1978, undated

Subseries Ic: Desk files of Dave Moore. 1969-1982 (bulk: 1969-1979)

Box
34 Art Newburg: Proposals, minutes, memoranda, financial records (2 folders). 1969-1971
34 Criteria evaluation sheets- master set. 1969, undated
34 Descon-Concordia Board of Contract Appeals records. 1974-1975, 1980
34 Descon-Concordia ("Jones Copy"): Court records, memoranda, reports (3 folders). 1972-1974, undated
34 Descon-Concordia lawsuit (2 folders). 1973, 1976-1977
34 Descon-Concordia litigation, memoranda, and financials (3 folders). 1970-1974
34 Evaluation contract negotiations. 1969-1970
34 "Evaluation recapitulation" (regarding Corporations) (2 folders). circa 1970
34 Final report for Prototype Site Planner (RFP H-9-70)(2 folders). 1969-1970
35 "Financing Innovations in Operation Breakthrough Proposals". 1969
35 Housing systems proposal evaluation board report and notes. 1969
35 Indianapolis agreements, repairs, and section 233 vouchers (2 folders). 1973-1979
35 Indianapolis repairs and section 233 vouchers (2 folders). 1973-1979
35 Indianapolis repairs, sites, and agreements (3 folders). 1972-1979
35 Indianapolis section 233 vouchers (4 folders). 1975-1979
35 Indianapolis section 233 vouchers (3 folders). 1977-1980
36 Indianapolis units with drawings. 1979
36 Indices to records and drawings. undated
36 "JCTE" subject files (2 folders). 1973-1977
36 Kalamazoo correspondence and agreements. 1971-1975, undated
36 King County correspondence and agreements (2 folders). 1972-1978, 1982
36 King County section 233 vouchers. 1977-1981
36 Macon section 233 vouchers. 1973-1975
36 "Master" file: Interviews and site information (3 folders). 1970
36 Meeting minutes (2 folders). 1969-1970
37 Membership roster and correspondence. 1969-1970
37 Memphis correspondence and agreements (3 folders). 1971-1972, 1975-1984
37 Memphis section 233 vouchers. 1979
37 Miami Hills section 233 vouchers (4 folders). 1976-1978
37 Miami Hills section 233 vouchers. 1977-1979
37 "News Conference": Binder with photographs and press releases. 1970
37 "Operation Breakthrough speeches"[and press releases and reports]. 1970-1972
37 Pantek, Indianapolis, and Sacramento section 233 vouchers (2 folders). 1976-1977
37 Pantek repair studies (2 folders). 1972-1977
38 Photographs of housing sites (5 folders). 1973, undated
38 "R. C. Jones" "OB specials": Publications and reports. 1970-1975
38 Request for proposal H-5-69. 1969
38 Sacramento agreements and litigation correspondence (2 folders). 1971-1976
38 Sacramento agreements and litigation correspondence (2 folders). 1973-1975
38 Sacramento agreements, litigation, and repairs (3 folders). 1973-1980
38 Sacramento Breakthrough site. 1973
39 Sacramento repair agreements and section 233 vouchers (4 folders). 1971-1980
39 Sacramento sales, sites, and litigation (2 folders). 1972-1982
39 Sacramento section 233 vouchers. 1971, 1978-1979
39 Seattle PSD contracts (2 folders). 1970-1975, undated
39 Site systems innovations. 1969
39 St. Louis Breakthrough. 1974
39 St. Louis labor relations. 1970-1972
39 St. Louis LaClede Associates. 1972-1973
39 Type A participant lists and letters. 1969, undated
39 Type A proposal evaluations. 1969
39 Type A proposal evaluations, final report (2 folders). 1970
39 Type B (hardware) board report. 1970, undated
40 Type B "Hardware" proposal evaluation board. 1969-1970
40 Type B (hardware) reports. 1970
40 Type B proposal evaluation report. 1970
40 Unfiled materials: Aggregation system. 1981, undated
40 Unfiled materials: Assorted records, memoranda, reports, and requests (1970s, mostly photocopies) (5 folders). 1977, undated
40 Unfiled materials: Contracts and status reports (mostly 1972-1974 photocopies). 1981, undated
40 Unfiled materials: Cycle 3 preliminary technical report. 1979
40 Unfiled materials: Descon-Concordia (1971-1974, mostly photocopies) (2 folders). undated
40 Unfiled materials: General Briefing (from July 11, 1969, photocopy). 1981
40 Unfiled materials: Individual project logs (1979, photocopies). undated
40 Unfiled materials: Phase III reports (1971-1973, photocopies). undated
40 Unfiled materials: Proposals, financial reports, more (2 folders). 1972-1973
41 Unfiled materials: Request for funds (1971-1973, photocopies). undated
41 Unfiled materials: Request for proposals (1969, photocopy). undated
41 Wollaston Manor site. 1972


Series II: Site files. 1969-1977


Box
41 Indianapolis (Ind): 1.2 file application for HUD program assistance.
41 Ind: 1-A commitment closure papers.
41 Ind: 1-B mortgage financing.
41 Ind: 2.0 site development.
41 Ind: 2.1 acquire land title.
41 Ind: 2.2 permits.
41 Ind: 2.3 arrange for utility and street extensions.
41 Ind: 2.4 site plan development.
41 Ind: 2.5 site development construction.
41 Ind: 2.51 College Park Corporation contract.
41 Ind: 2.52 water service laterals.
41 Ind: 2.53 soil and foundation.
41 Ind: 2.54 curbs, gutters, concrete sidewalks.
41 Ind: 2.55 storm and sanitary sewers.
41 Ind: 2.56 electric and utilities.
41 Ind: 2.58 landscaping.
41 Ind: 2.61 swimming pool.
41 Ind: 2.8 construction of housing systems.
42 Ind: 2-C program control.
42 Ind: 2-D PSP contract (2 folders).
42 Ind: 2-E PSP reports and invoices.
42 Ind: 2-E.1 PSP contact.
42 Ind: 3.0 public and industrial relation and "EO".
42 Ind: 3.2 press information.
42 Ind: 3.3 equal opportunity activities.
42 Ind: 3.4 labor relations.
42 Ind: 3-A site plan.
42 Ind: 3-B construction.
42 Ind: 3-C construction diary (2 folders).
42 Ind: 3-D sewer systems.
42 Ind: 3-E clear and grub earth.
42 Ind: 3-F streets, parking, paving, and garages.
42 Ind: 3-F.1 streets, parking, paving, and garages.
42 Ind: 3-G graphics.
42 Ind: 3-G.1 graphics.
42 Ind: 3-K recreation area.
42 Ind: 3-L utilities.
42 Ind: 3-O Community Center.
42 Ind: 3-S fencing.
42 Ind: 3-T street furniture.
42 Ind: 3-T.1 construction.
42 Ind: 4.0 operations and maintenance.
42 Ind: 4.1 safety and security program.
42 Ind: 4-A community relations.
42 Ind: 4-B equal opportunity.
43 Ind: 4-C labor relations.
43 Ind: 4-D local governments.
43 Ind: 4-E housing management.
43 Ind: 4-F operation and maintenance.
43 Ind: 5.0 program management.
43 Ind: 5.2 data collection and reporting.
43 Ind: 5.3 marketing activities.
43 Ind: 5.6 program plan.
43 Ind: 10.1 PSD contract.
43 Ind: 10.2 PSD contract.
43 Ind: 10.5 general correspondence.
43 Ind: 12.0 ground breaking.
43 Ind: 13.0 market aggregation.
43 Ind: Assorted materials (2 folders).
43 Ind: Assorted unfiled materials (4 folders).
44 Ind: Assorted unfiled materials (13 folders).
45 Ind: Assorted unfiled materials (2 folders).
45 Ind: Community participation.
45 Ind: Contract (2 folders).
45 Ind: Correspondence.
45 Ind: General files (2 folders).
45 Ind: Labor.
45 Ind: Land acquisition.
45 Ind: Litigation.
45 Ind: Material systems.
46 Ind: Negotiator's report (3 folders).
46 Ind: Pantek modifications and repairs.
46 Ind: Park Lafayette Incorporated.
46 Ind: Park Lafayette Incorporated.
46 Ind: Press information (2 folders).
46 Ind: PSD monthly reports.
46 Ind: Roger Hale problem letters.
46 Ind: Sale of site.
46 Ind: Sales agreements.
46 Ind: Sato versus Alcoa.
46 Ind: Sewer inspection.
46 Ind: Site and press information.
47 Ind: Site development.
47 Ind: Site inspection reports.
47 Ind: Site plan.
47 Ind: Sites.
47 Ind: Sites and units.
47 Ind: sites, sales, and press information.
47 Ind: Special Purpose Organization and assignment of "HSP K's".
47 Ind: Weekly and quarterly reports (2 folders).
48 Jersey City (JC): 1-A commitment closure properties (3 folders).
48 JC: 1-B mortgage financing.
48 JC: 1-C marketing.
48 JC: 2-A contracts (6 folders).
49 JC: 2-A contracts.
49 JC: 2-A PSD contracts.
49 JC: 2-B PSD reports and invoices (11 folders).
50 JC: 2-B PSD reports and invoices (4 folders).
50 JC: 2-C program control (4 folders).
50 JC: 2-D prototype site plans contract.
50 JC: 3-A site plan (3 folders).
50 JC: 3-B construction (2 folders).
51 JC: 3-B construction (2 folders).
51 JC: 3-C construction diary (status reports) (2 folders).
51 JC: 3-E TE automatic control.
51 JC: 3-F engine generators.
51 JC: 3-G central equipment building (3 folders).
51 JC: 3-I pneumatic trash system.
51 JC: 3-J utilities distributors (Bellezza) (3 folders).
52 JC: 3-K school, commercial, pool, and "Dk" (4 folders).
52 JC: 3-L total energy system (3 folders).
52 JC: 3-M utilities demonstration (2 folders).
52 JC: 3-N landscaping.
52 JC: 3-Q.
53 JC: 4-A community relations.
53 JC: 4-B equal opportunity.
53 JC: 4-C labor relations.
53 JC: 4-D local governments.
53 JC: 4-E housing management.
53 JC: 4-F operations and maintenance.
53 JC: Assorted contracts and correspondence.
53 JC: Assorted contracts and design specifications.
53 JC: Assorted documents (phase III, status reports, PSD contract, more) (3 folders).
54 JC: Closing attorney's file.
54 JC: Closing working file.
54 JC: Condemnation.
54 JC: Construction (2 folders).
54 JC: Contract (3 folders).
54 JC: Court documents.
54 JC: Drafts of prospectus.
54 JC: Evaluation board.
55 JC: Executed legal documents.
55 JC: Final sales agreement.
55 JC: Financing and site acquisitions (2 folders).
55 JC: General.
55 JC: General administrative records (2 folders).
55 JC: Insurance documents, bound.
55 JC: Interrogatories.
55 JC: John Renna and Neil Piro correspondence.
55 JC: Justification for sale to Starrett (2 folders).
55 JC: Lease agreement.
55 JC: Legal correspondence.
55 JC: Management and marketing.
56 JC: Monthly narrative reports (20 spiral-bound folders).
57 JC: Narrative reports and correspondence ( 2 folders).
57 JC: Negotiations regarding site sale.
57 JC: Planner reports.
57 JC: Prospectus (2 folders).
57 JC: Prototype development description.
57 JC: Prototype site.
57 JC: Prototype site development (PSD).
57 JC: Reports and press.
57 JC: Responses (5 folders).
57 JC: Reuse appraisals (2 folders).
57 JC: Sales agreement.
58 JC: Sales agreement (2 folders).
58 JC: School lease.
58 JC: Selection of purchaser.
58 JC: Shelley model and contracts.
58 JC: Shelley system.
58 JC: Site Development (2 folders).
58 JC: Summit Plaza Association.
58 JC: Telephone calls re: sale of site.
58 JC: Total energy system.
58 JC: Wall Street Journal and Commerce Business Daily advertisements.
58 Kalamazoo (Kal): 1-A "commit-clos." papers (3 folders).
59 Kal: 1-B mortgage financing (3 folders).
59 Kal: 1-C marketing (5 folders).
60 Kal: 1-C marketing (4 folders).
60 Kal: 2-A PSD contract (2 folders).
60 Kal: 2-B PSD reports and invoices (8 folders).
61 Kal: 2-B PSD reports and invoices (3 folders).
61 Kal: 2-C program control (2 folders).
61 Kal: 2-D PSP contract (3 folders).
61 Kal: 2-E PSP reports and invoices (4 folders).
61 Kal: 3-A site plan (2 folders).
62 Kal: 3-B construction (2 folders).
62 Kal: 3-C construction diary (2 folders).
62 Kal: 3-D sewer systems.
62 Kal: 3-E clear and grub earth.
62 Kal: 3-F streets, parking lots, and paving.
62 Kal: 3-G site graphics.
62 Kal: 3-H solid waste.
62 Kal: 3-I swimming pool.
62 Kal: 3-J sidewalks and patios.
62 Kal: 3-K landscaping.
62 Kal: 3-L recreation areas.
62 Kal: 3-M utilities distributors.
62 Kal: 3-N finish grading.
62 Kal: 3-O Community Center.
62 Kal: 3-P site lighting.
62 Kal: 3-Q gas and electric supply.
62 Kal: 3-R surveying.
62 Kal: 3-S fencing.
62 Kal: 3-T street and site furniture.
62 Kal: 4-A community relations.
62 Kal: 4-B equal opportunity (2 folders).
63 Kal: 4-B equal opportunity (2 folders).
63 Kal: 4-C labor relations.
63 Kal: 4-D local governments.
63 Kal: 4-E housing management (3 folders).
63 Kal: 4-F operation and maintenance.
63 Kal: Analysis of housing system producers (3 folders).
63 Kal: Background.
63 Kal: Closing papers (includes IBM magnetic cards).
63 Kal: Executed legal documents.
63 Kal: Land acquisition.
64 Kal: Land acquisition.
64 Kal: Marketing.
64 Kal: Regional Breakthrough Director's meeting materials.
64 Kal: Sales report and Final Report.
64 Kal: Topographical and area survey.
64 King County (King): 1-A "commit-clos." papers.
64 King: Mortgage financing (3 folders).
64 King: 1-C marketing (4 folders).
64 King: 2-A PSD contract.
64 King: 2-B PSD reports - invoices.
64 King: 2-C program control (3 folders).
65 King: 2-C program control (2 folders).
65 King: 2-D PSP contract.
65 King: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (2 folders).
65 King: 3-A site plan.
65 King: 3-B construction (3 folders).
65 King: 3-C construction diary (2 folders).
66 King: 3-C construction diary (3 folders).
66 King: 3-D trailer - temporary utilities.
66 King: 3-E clearing.
66 King: 3-F surveying.
66 King: 3-G clearing - housing.
66 King: 3-H clearing - Alcoa.
66 King: 3-I foundations - soils.
66 King: 3-J grade - drains.
66 King: 3-K sanitary sewers I.
66 King: 3-L grade - sewers.
66 King: 3-M water distribution.
66 King: 3-N roads - sidewalks.
66 King: 3-O open work.
66 King: 3-P Community Center.
66 King: 3-Q walks - patios - walls.
66 King: 3-R paving - curbs.
66 King: 3-S carports - Alcoa.
66 King: 3-T landscape - Levitt.
66 King: 3-U carports - Christiana Western Structures.
67 King: 3-V landscape - site.
67 King: 3-W swimming pool.
67 King: 3-X street furniture - Tots Lots.
67 King: 3-Y fencing.
67 King: 3-Z Community Center furniture.
67 King: 4-A community relations (2 folders).
67 King: 4-B equal opportunity (2 folders).
67 King: 4-C labor relations.
67 King: 4-D local governments.
67 King: 4-E housing management.
67 King: 4-F operation and maintenance.
67 King: Contracts (2 folders).
67 King: General (marketing, sales).
67 King: General (sales, utilities).
68 King: Guide criteria comments (4 folders).
68 King: "Guide criteria for the Design and Evaluation of Housing Systems" report.
68 King: Labor department.
68 King: Land acquisition.
68 King: Sales agreement.
68 King: Water and sewer.
68 Macon: 1-A "commit-clos." papers (2 folders).
68 Macon: 1-B mortgage financing (2 folders).
68 Macon: 1-C marketing (2 folders).
69 Macon: 1-C marketing (5 folders).
69 Macon: 2-A PSD contract (3 folders).
69 Macon: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
70 Macon: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
70 Macon: 2-C program control (5 folders).
71 Macon: 2-D PSP contract (3 folders).
71 Macon: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (4 folders).
71 Macon: 3-A site plan (3 folders).
71 Macon: 3-B construction (2 folders).
71 Macon: 3-C construction diary.
72 Macon: 3-C construction diary (13 folders).
72 Macon: 3-D clear and grub.
73 Macon: 3-E site work construction (3 folders).
73 Macon: 3-F Community Center and pool (3 folders).
73 Macon: 3-G landscaping.
73 Macon: 3-H maintenance building and area.
73 Macon: 3-I walkways.
73 Macon: 3-J graphics.
73 Macon: 3-K recreation areas.
73 Macon: 3-L FCH Services, Inc. (3 folders).
73 Macon: 4-A community relations (2 folders).
73 Macon: 4-B equal opportunity.
73 Macon: 4-C labor relations.
74 Macon: 4-D local governments.
74 Macon: 4-E housing management.
74 Macon: 4-F operation and maintenance (5 folders).
74 Macon: General.
74 Macon: Land acquisition.
74 Macon: Maintenance manual.
74 Macon: Marketing, prototype site planner's report, general.
74 Macon: Marketing, status reports.
75 Memphis (Mem): 1-A "commit-clos." papers (2 folders).
75 Mem: 1-B mortgage financing (2 folders).
75 Mem: 1-C marketing (2 folders).
75 Mem: 2-A PSD contract (2 folders).
75 Mem: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
75 Mem: 2-C program control.
76 Mem: 2-C program control (3 folders).
76 Mem: 2-D PSP contract (2 folders).
76 Mem: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (5 folders).
76 Mem: 3-A site plan (3 folders).
76 Mem: 3-B construction (2 folders).
77 Mem: 3-C construction diary (2 folders).
77 Mem: 3-D grade - utilities - roads - parking (3 folders).
77 Mem: 3-E fencing.
77 Mem: 3-F decks - walls.
77 Mem: 3-G piling - beams.
77 Mem: 3-H sidewalks.
77 Mem: 3-I landscaping.
77 Mem: 3-J site electrical.
77 Mem: 3-K solid waste (4 folders).
78 Mem: 3-L overpasses.
78 Mem: 3-M adult student housing (2 folders).
78 Mem: 3-N Memphis Cascade.
78 Mem: 3-O Community Center.
78 Mem: 3-P deck - site furniture.
78 Mem: 3-Q recreation areas.
78 Mem: 3-R sprinkler system.
78 Mem: 3-S graphics.
78 Mem: 3-T acoustics.
78 Mem: 4-A community relations.
78 Mem: 4-B equal opportunity (2 folders).
78 Mem: 4-C labor relations.
78 Mem: 4-D local governments (2 folders).
78 Mem: 4-E housing management.
78 Mem: 4-F operation and maintenance (3 folders).
79 Mem: General (4 folders).
79 Mem: Land acquisition (3 folders).
79 New Haven (Bella Vista): Correspondence, memoranda, and similar (4 folders).
79 Sacramento (Sac): 1-B mortgage financing (2 folders).
79 Sac: 1-C marketing.
80 Sac: 1-C marketing (5 folders).
80 Sac: 1-D.
80 Sac: 2-A PSD contract (2 folders).
80 Sac: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
81 Sac: 2-B PSD reports - invoices.
81 Sac: 2-C program control (4 folders).
81 Sac: 2-D PSP contract (3 folders).
81 Sac: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (3 folders).
81 Sac: 3-A site plan (3 folders).
82 Sac: 3-B construction (4 folders).
82 Sac: 3-C construction diary (4 folders).
82 Sac: 3-D demolition.
82 Sac: 3-E sanitary sewers.
82 Sac: 3-F storm drainage.
82 Sac: 3-G earth - streets - parking - water.
82 Sac: 3-H maintenance building.
82 Sac: 3-I Community Center and pool (3 folders).
83 Sac: 3-J site lighting.
83 Sac: 3-K landscape - sprinkler.
83 Sac: 3-L carports.
83 Sac: 3-M fences.
83 Sac: 3-N fine grading.
83 Sac: 3-O MATV-FM distribution.
83 Sac: 3-Q graphics.
83 Sac: 3-R walks - drives - patios.
83 Sac: 3-S recreation areas.
83 Sac: 3-U appliances - drapes.
83 Sac: 3-V maintenance area.
83 Sac: 4-A community relations (2 folders).
83 Sac: 4-B equal opportunity.
83 Sac: 4-C labor relations.
83 Sac: 4-D local governments (2 folders).
83 Sac: 4-E housing management (2 folders).
83 Sac: 4-F operation and maintenance (2 folders).
84 Sac: General (2 folders).
84 Sac: Land acquisition.
84 Sac: Multifamily sale.
84 Sac: TRW Systems Group - Novation agreement.
84 Seattle (Sea): 1-A "commit-clos." papers.
84 Sea: 1-B mortgage financing (2 folders).
84 Sea: 1-C marketing (2 folders).
84 Sea: 1-D.
84 Sea: 2-A PSD contract (3 folders).
84 Sea: 2-B PSD reports - invoices.
85 Sea: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (9 folders).
85 Sea: 2-C program control (2 folders).
86 Sea: 2-C program control (7 folders).
86 Sea: 2-D PSP contract (2 folders).
86 Sea: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (3 folders).
86 Sea: 3-A site plan (2 folders).
87 Sea: 3-B construction (4 folders).
87 Sea: 3-C construction diary (2 folders).
87 Sea: 3-D site preparation.
87 Sea: 3-E metal components.
87 Sea: 3-I metal fencing.
87 Sea: 3-J trailer installation and maintenance.
87 Sea: 3-K fencing and signage.
87 Sea: 3-O landscaping.
87 Sea: 3-Q Community Center furniture.
87 Sea: 3-R Tots Lots, site furniture.
87 Sea: 3-S graphics.
87 Sea: 4-A community relations (2 folders).
87 Sea: 4-B equal opportunity.
87 Sea: 4-C labor relations.
88 Sea: 4-D local governments.
88 Sea: 4-E housing management.
88 Sea: 4-F operation and maintenance.
88 Sea: Agreements, contracts, and land acquisitions (2 folders).
88 Sea: EEO [Equal Employment Opportunity] violations.
88 Sea: Parcel number 2 (condemnation) (2 folders).
88 Sea: Sites.
88 Sea: Sites and correspondence.
88 Sea: Site sales and ordinances (2 folders).
88 St Louis (StL): 1-A "commit-clos." papers (2 folders).
88 StL: 1-B mortgage financing.
89 StL: 1-C marketing (3 folders).
89 StL: 1-D.
89 StL: 2-A PSD contract (3 folders).
89 StL: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
90 StL: 2-B PSD reports - invoices (5 folders).
90 StL: 2-C program control (3 folders).
90 StL: 2-D PSP contract (2 folders).
90 StL: 2-E PSP reports - invoices (3 folders).
91 StL: 3-A site plan (2 folders).
91 StL: 3-B construction.
91 StL: 3-C construction diary (3 folders).
91 StL: 3-D grading - east.
91 StL: 3-E grading - west.
91 StL: 3-F sewer - east.
91 StL: 3-G sewer - west.
91 StL: 3-H electricity tunnel.
91 StL: 3-I Western Union conduit number 16.
91 StL: 3-J water system.
91 StL: 3-K electricity - telephone - lighting (2 folders).
91 StL: 3-L paving.
91 StL: 3-M concrete - east.
91 StL: 3-N concrete - west.
92 StL: 3-O landscaping.
92 StL: 3-P site furniture - east.
92 StL: 3-Q site furniture - west.
92 StL: 3-R pool, garage - east.
92 StL: 3-S pool, garage - west.
92 StL: 3-T trash compactors.
92 StL: 3-U photographs.
92 StL: 3-V graphics.
92 StL: 3-W survey services.
92 StL: 3-X LaClede Associates (2 folders).
92 StL: 3-Y.
92 StL: 3-Z miscellaneous replacement.
92 StL: 4-A community relations.
92 StL: 4-B equal opportunity.
92 StL: 4-D local governments (2 folders).
92 StL: 4-E housing management.
92 StL: 4-F operation and maintenance.
92 StL: A. J. Creati Associates, specifications for east site.
93 StL: Assorted material (2 folders).
93 StL: Closing documents.
93 StL: Green Associates, Inc. structural computations (2 folders).
93 StL: Green Associates, Inc. submission of reinforcement schedules (2 folders).
93 StL: Green Associates, Inc. submission of structural computations.
93 StL: Green Associates, Inc. supplement to structural computations (2 folders).
93 StL: LaClede contract and status reports.
93 StL: Land acquisition.
93 StL: Management manual.
93 StL: Multi-family housing systems - east side.
93 StL: Press, sites, and correspondence.
94 StL: Region VIII seminar.
94 StL: Sale agreement.
94 Worcester (Lincoln Village): Assorted material (2 folders).
94 Worcester: Site information.
94 Worcester: Site selection.


Series III. Company files. 1966-1978 (bulk: 1969-1975)


Box
94 ALCOA: A (2 folders).
94 ALCOA: B-1 (5 folders).
95 ALCOA: B-1.
95 ALCOA: B-2.
95 ALCOA: B-3 (4 folders).
95 ALCOA: C.
95 ALCOA: C-1.
95 ALCOA: C-2.
95 ALCOA: C-3 (5 folders).
96 ALCOA: C-3 (10 folders).
97 ALCOA: C-4 (2 folders).
97 ALCOA: C-5.
97 ALCOA: C-6.
97 ALCOA: C-7.
97 ALCOA: C-11.
97 ALCOA: C-12.
97 ALCOA: C-13.
97 ALCOA: C-14 (2 folders).
97 ALCOA: C-15.
97 ALCOA: C-16 (2 folders).
97 ALCOA: C-17.
97 ALCOA: C-18.
97 ALCOA: C-20.
97 ALCOA: D-1 (2 folders).
97 ALCOA: D-2.
97 ALCOA: D-3.
98 ALCOA: D-3.
98 ALCOA: D-4 (2 folders).
98 ALCOA: D-5 (2 folders).
98 ALCOA: D-6.
98 ALCOA: D-7.
98 ALCOA: D-8.
98 ALCOA: E-1.
98 ALCOA: E-2.
98 Boise Cascade (BC): Construction specifications (Sacramento).
98 BC: Evaluation work sheet (6 folders).
99 BC: Evaluation work sheet (3 folders).
99 BC: Structural analysis and details (3 folders).
99 BC: Type A proposal.
99 CAMCI: A (2 folders).
99 CAMCI: B-1.
99 CAMCI: B-2.
99 CAMCI: B-3.
99 CAMCI: C.
99 CAMCI: C-1.
99 CAMCI: C-2.
99 CAMCI: C-3 (3 folders).
100 CAMCI: C-3 (11 folders).
101 CAMCI: C-3 (2 folders).
101 CAMCI: C-4.
101 CAMCI: C-5.
101 CAMCI: C-6.
101 CAMCI: C-7.
101 CAMCI: C-11.
101 CAMCI: C-12.
101 CAMCI: C-13 (2 folders).
101 CAMCI: C-14 (2 folders).
101 CAMCI: C-15.
101 CAMCI: C-16.
101 CAMCI: C-17.
101 CAMCI: C-18.
101 CAMCI: C-20.
101 CAMCI: D-1 (3 folders).
101 CAMCI: D-2.
101 CAMCI: D-3.
102 CAMCI: D-3 (2 folders.
102 CAMCI: D-4.
102 CAMCI: E-1.
102 CAMCI: E-3.
102 Christiana Western Structures, Incorporated: A (3 folders).
102 Christiana: B-1 (2 folders).
102 Christiana: B-2.
102 Christiana: B-3 (3 folders).
102 Christiana: C.
102 Christiana: C-1 (2 folders).
103 Christiana: C-1.
103 Christiana: C-2 (3 folders).
103 Christiana: C-3 (6 folders).
103 Christiana: C-4 (4 folders).
104 Christiana: C-4.
104 Christiana: C-5.
104 Christiana: C-6.
104 Christiana: C-7.
104 Christiana: C-8.
104 Christiana: C-11.
104 Christiana: C-12.
104 Christiana: C-13 (3 folders).
104 Christiana: C-14 (2 folders).
104 Christiana: C-15.
104 Christiana: C-16.
104 Christiana: C-17.
104 Christiana: C-18.
104 Christiana: C-20.
104 Christiana: D-1.
104 Christiana: D-2.
104 Christiana: D-3.
105 Christiana: D-3.
105 Christiana: D-4 (2 folders).
105 Christiana: D-5 (2 folders).
105 Christiana: D-6.
105 Christiana: D-7.
105 Christiana: D-8.
105 Christiana: E-1.
105 Descon-Concordia Systems, Limited: A (3 folders).
105 Descon: B-1.
105 Descon: B-2.
105 Descon: B-3 (3 folders).
105 Descon: C.
105 Descon: C-1 (2 folders).
106 Descon: C-1 (2 folders).
106 Descon: C-2 (2 folders).
106 Descon: C-3 (7 folders).
107 Descon: C-3 (11 folders).
108 Descon: C-3.
108 Descon: C-4.
108 Descon: C-5.
108 Descon: C-6.
108 Descon: C-7.
108 Descon: C-11.
108 Descon: C-12.
108 Descon: C-13 (3 folders).
108 Descon: C-14 (2 folders).
108 Descon: C-15.
108 Descon: C-16.
108 Descon: C-17.
108 Descon: C-18.
108 Descon: C-20.
108 Descon: C-31 (2 folders).
108 Descon: D-1 (3 folders).
109 Descon: D-2.
109 Descon: D-3 (6 folders).
109 Descon: D-4.
110 Descon: D-4 (3 folder).
110 Descon: D-5.
110 Descon: D-6.
110 Descon: E-1.
110 Descon: E-2.
110 Descon: Urban Technology and Research budget material.
110 FCE-Dillon, Incorporated: A (2 folders).
110 FCE-Dillon: B-2.
110 FCE-Dillon: B-3 (2 folders).
110 FCE-Dillon: C.
110 FCE-Dillon: C-1 (2 folders).
111 FCE-Dillon: C-2.
111 FCE-Dillon: C-3 (10 folders).
112 FCE-Dillon: C-3 (4 folders).
112 FCE-Dillon: C-4.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-5.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-6.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-7.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-8.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-11.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-12.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-13 (2 folders).
112 FCE-Dillon: C-14 (3 folders).
112 FCE-Dillon: C-15.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-16.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-17.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-18.
112 FCE-Dillon: C-20.
112 FCE-Dillon: D-1.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-2.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-3.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-4.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-5.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-6 (2 folders).
113 FCE-Dillon: D-7.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-8.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-9.
113 FCE-Dillon: D-10.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-1.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-2.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-3.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-4.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-6.
113 FCE-Dillon: E-7.
113 Material Systems Corporation (MSC): A (3 folders).
114 MSC: A (2 folders).
114 MSC: B-1 (5 folders).
114 MSC: B-2.
114 MSC: B-3 (3 folders).
114 MSC: C.
114 MSC: C-1 (2 folders).
114 MSC: C-2.
114 MSC: C-3.
115 MSC: C-3 (4 folders).
115 MSC: C-4.
115 MSC: C-5.
115 MSC: C-6.
115 MSC: C-7.
115 MSC: C-8 (2 folders).
115 MSC: C-11.
115 MSC: C-12.
115 MSC: C-13 (3 folders).
116 MSC: C-14 (3 folders).
116 MSC: C-15.
116 MSC: C-16.
116 MSC: C-17.
116 MSC: C-18.
116 MSC: C-20 (2 folders).
116 MSC: D-1 (4 folders).
116 MSC: D-2.
117 MSC: D-2.
117 MSC: D-3.
117 MSC: D-4 (2 folders).
117 MSC: D-5.
117 MSC: D-6 (2 folders).
117 MSC: D-7.
117 MSC: D-8.
117 MSC: D-9.
117 MSC: D-10.
118 MSC: D-11.
118 MSC: D-12.
118 MSC: D-13.
118 MSC: D-14.
118 MSC: E-1.
118 MSC: E-2.
118 MSC: E-3.
118 MSC: E-4.
118 MSC: Documentation package for settlement agreement.
118 MSC: Section 233.
118 National Homes: Brochures, press releases, photographs.
118 Pantek Corporation: A.
118 Pantek: B-1.
118 Pantek: B-2.
118 Pantek: B-3 (3 folders).
118 Pantek: C.
119 Pantek: C-1 (2 folders).
119 Pantek: C-2.
119 Pantek: C-3 (2 folders).
119 Pantek: C-4 (4 folders).
120 Pantek: C-4 (3 folders).
120 Pantek: C-5.
120 Pantek: C-6.
120 Pantek: C-11.
120 Pantek: C-12.
120 Pantek: C-13 (3 folders).
121 Pantek: C-14.
121 Pantek: C-15.
121 Pantek: C-16.
121 Pantek: C-20.
121 Pantek: C-31.
121 Pantek: D-1 (2 folders).
121 Pantek: D-2.
121 Pantek: D-3.
121 Pantek: D-4 (2 folders).
121 Pantek: D-5.
121 Pantek: D-6.
121 Pantek: E-1.
121 Pantek: Repair reports.
122 Pantek: Repair reports.
122 Rouse-Wates, Incorporated (R-W): Building files (4 folders).
122 R-W: Cedar Lanes.
122 R-W: Final plant quality assurance records (2 folders).
122 R-W: Fire.
122 R-W: General (2 folders).
122 R-W: Key layout.
122 R-W: Notice of receipt of data.
122 R-W: Phase I.
122 R-W: Resubmission of structural computations (2 folders).
123 R-W: Resubmission of structural computations (2 folders).
123 R-W: Revised stair drawings.
123 R-W: Stage 1 review.
123 R-W: Stage 2 review.
123 R-W: Task 1.
123 R-W: Task 3 (12 folders).
123 R-W: Task 6.
123 R-W: Task 7.
123 R-W: Task 11.
123 R-W: Task 12.
123 R-W: Task 13.
124 R-W: Task 13.
124 R-W: Task 14.
124 R-W: Testing and analysis documentation (9 folders).
124 R-W: Total program costs.
125 R-W: Weekly reports.
125 Shelley Systems, Incorporated: A (4 folders).
125 Shelley: B-1.
125 Shelley: B-2.
125 Shelley: B-3 (4 folders).
125 Shelley: C.
125 Shelley: C-1 (2 folders).
125 Shelley: C-2 (2 folders).
125 Shelley: C-3 (2 folders).
126 Shelley: C-3 (7 folders).
126 Shelley: C-4.
126 Shelley: C-5.
126 Shelley: C-6.
126 Shelley: C-7.
126 Shelley: C-11.
126 Shelley: C-12.
126 Shelley: C-13 (2 folders).
126 Shelley: C-14.
126 Shelley: C-15.
126 Shelley: C-16.
126 Shelley: C-17.
126 Shelley: C-18.
127 Shelley: C-20.
127 Shelley: D-1 (5 folders).
127 Shelley: D-2 (2 folders).
127 Shelley: D-3 (3 folders).
128 Shelley: D-3 (6 folders).
128 Shelley: D-4 (2 folders).
128 Shelley: D-5.
128 Shelley: D-6.
128 Shelley: E-1.
129 Shelley: E-2.
129 Shelley: E-3.
129 TRW Systems Group: A (2 folders).
129 TRW: B-1.
129 TRW: B-2.
129 TRW: B-3.
129 TRW: C.
129 TRW: C-1 (2 folders).
129 TRW: C-2.
129 TRW: C-3 (4 folders).
130 TRW: C-3 (3 folders).
130 TRW: C-4.
130 TRW: C-5.
130 TRW: C-6.
130 TRW: C-7.
130 TRW: C-8.
130 TRW: C-11.
130 TRW: C-12.
130 TRW: C-13 (5 folders).
131 TRW: C-13 (2 folders).
131 TRW: C-14 (2 folders).
131 TRW: C-15.
131 TRW: C-16.
131 TRW: C-17.
131 TRW: C-18.
131 TRW: C-20.
131 TRW: D-1 (2 folders).
131 TRW: D-2.
131 TRW: D-3 (2 folders).
131 TRW: D-4.
131 TRW: E-1.
131 TRW: E-2.
131 TRW: E-3.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Building
California--Sacramento
Discrimination in housing
Georgia--Macon
House construction--Technological innovations
Housing
Indiana--Indianapolis
Michigan--Kalamazoo
Missouri--Saint Louis
New Jersey--Jersey City
Operation Breakthrough (Housing program : U.S. )
Tennessee--Memphis
United States. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Washington (State)--King County
Washington (State)--Seattle



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page