Skip to Search





A Guide to the Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Bo Diddley, 1928-2008.
Title: Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection
Dates: 1957-2009
Bulk dates: 1980-2007
Abstract: Publications, correspondence, contracts, concert posters, tour itineraries, lyrics, albums, photographs, awards, instruments, clothes, and artifacts belonging to American R&B singer, guitarist, songwriter and music producer, Bo Diddley (Ellas McDaniel), who played a key role in the transition from the blues to rock and roll.
Extent: 25 Linear Feet. 25 Boxes,13 Oversized items, Oversized folders.
Identification: MSS 0409
Language(s): English
Location: IMPORTANT: Please note that some of this collection is housed in the Auxiliary Library Facility off campus and will require advance notice for timely retrieval. Please contact the Special and Area Studies Collections department prior to your visit.University of Florida Smathers Library Building.
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Ellas McDaniel (Ellas Otha Bates) was born on December 30th, 1928 in McComb, Mississippi. He was adopted and raised by his mother's cousin, Gussie McDaniel, whose surname he assumed. In 1934, his family moved to the South Side of Chicago where he studied the trombone and violin as well as taking up the guitar. He played on street corners with friends throughout the 1940s. By 1951, he landed a regular spot at the 708 Club on Chicago's South Side with a repertoire influenced by Louis Jordan, John Lee Hooker, and Muddy Waters.

In late 1954, he teamed up with the harmonica player Billy Boy Arnold, the drummer Clifton James, and the bass player Roosevelt Jackson to record demos, at Chess Studios, of "I'm a Man" and "Bo Diddley." The record was released in March 1955 becoming a number one R&B hit. Diddley's hit singles continued in the 1950s and 1960s with "Pretty Thing" (1956), "Say Man" (1959), and "You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover" (1962). Between 1958 and 1963, Checker Records released eleven full-length Bo Diddley albums.Despite his stature, Diddley was bitter about how music company executives had allegedly cheated him of royalties during his prime. He said he had signed away the rights to many of his songs in the late 1950s.

After moving from Chicago to Washington, D.C., the basement of his home housed his first home recording studio. Diddley's home studio was frequented by several of Washington, D.C.'s musical luminaries including Marvin Gaye and the site where he recorded the album Bo Diddley Is a Gunslinger.

Diddley moved to Los Lunas, New Mexico in the 1970s. He continued his musical career while also spending two and half years as deputy sheriff in the Valencia County Citizens' Patrol. In the late 1970s he moved to Hawthorne, Florida. For the remainder of his life he divided his time between Albuquerque and Florida, living the last 13 years of his life in Archer, Florida.

In 1989, Diddley entered into a licensing agreement with the sportswear brand Nike. The advertisements, titled "Bo Knows" with football and baseball star Bo Jackson, resulted in one of the most iconic advertisements in advertising history. With Jackson attempting a guitar line, Diddley faced the camera and said "He don't know Diddley," a line that became a national catchphrase.

Bo Diddley played a key role in the transition from the blues to rock and roll, and influenced numerous artists including Elvis Presley, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, and the Clash with his signature "Bo Diddley Beat." He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Rhythm and Blues Foundation and a Grammy Award from the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. He is also recognized for his technical innovations, including his distinctive rectangular guitar. Diddley was also a pioneer in using women in his band including Norma-Jean Wofford (The Duchess), Gloria Jolivet, Peggy Jones (Lady Bo), Cornelia Redmond (Cookie V.), and Debby Hastings.

Bo Diddley died on June 2, 2008, of heart failure at his home in Archer, Florida.

Sources:

McArdle, Terence, and Adam Bernstein. "Music Pioneer Helped Build Rock-and-Roll's Blues Base." Washington Post, 3 June 2008, www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/06/02/ST2008060201991.html?sid=ST2008060201991&noredirect=on.

"Bo Diddley." Wikipedia, 16 Jan. 2019, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bo_Diddley.


Scope and Content

The Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection dates from 1957 to 2009 and largely represents the latter half of Bo Diddley's life and career from the 1980s to his death in 2008. The collection includes publications, correspondence, contracts, concert posters, tour itineraries, lyrics, albums, photographs, awards, instruments, clothes, and artifacts.

Series 1: "Publications, 1966-2007" contains newspaper and magazine articles written about Bo Diddley. Most of the articles were written about specific Bo Diddley concerts, but many also include interviews with Bo Diddley and document his life and career. This series is arranged chronologically.

Series 2: "Correspondence, 1963-2006" contains fan letters, personal correspondence, and business correspondence.

Series 3: "Contracts, 1966-2006" contains Bo Diddley's copies of contracts primarily for performance appearances, some of which are signed by Bo Diddley. Most of the contracts were through Talent Consultants International (TCI). The series is arranged alphabetically by contract agency with TCI contracts arranged chronologically.

Series 4: "Concert posters, handbills, and programs, 1957-2007" primarily contains posters, handbills, and programs for Bo Diddley's concerts, tours, and appearances. Many of these items are for international concerts including those in the United Kingdom, Ireland, Greece, France, Japan, Switzerland, Germany, Canada, Australia, Jamaica, and other countries. This series is arranged chronologically. Many of the posters are oversized and housed separately.

Series 5: "Itineraries, 1963-2005" primarily contains itineraries for Bo Diddely's international tours during the 1980s. Also included are monthly itineraries for the mid 1960s and 2000s. The series is arranged chronologically.

Series 6: "Music, lyrics, and albums, 1970-1999" contains handwritten lyrics and music written by Bo Diddley and other authors. Most of these are undated and some are unidentified. They may date back earlier or later than the listed dates for this series. Also, included are Bo Diddley's albums and chart information. The series is arranged by subject and chronologically.

Series 7: "Photographs, 1960s-2007" primarily contains photographs of Bo Diddley. Also, included are photographs of the women he performed with including Norma-Jean Wofford (The Duchess), Peggy Jones (Lady Bo), and Debbie Hastings. A framed painting is also included in the series. The series is arranged by subject and chronologically.

Series 8: "Awards, 1960-2009" contains plaques and awards presented to Bo Diddley. Most notable is his National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences - Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award. The series is arranged chronologically.

Series 9: "Instruments and equipment" contains instruments belonging to Bo Diddley including custom built guitars, a Kalimba, and a tambourine. Also included is musical equipment including amps, pedals, and other electronic equipment. Most of these items are oversized and stored off-site, please speak with an archivist before requesting access.

Series 10: "Clothes, undated" contains clothing belonging to Bo Diddley, some of which was worn during his performances. These items are stored off-site, please speak with an archivist before requesting access.

Series 11: "Artifacts and miscellany, 1975-2000s" contains a variety of items including hats, sketches by Bo Diddley, concert passes, and other miscellany.


Arrangement

The Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection is divided into 11 records series:


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ellas B. McDaniel (Bo Diddley) Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Ellas B. McDaniel Trust in 2017-2018.


Contents List

Series 1. Publications. 1966-2007



Box Folder
11 "Bo Diddley: King of the Beat" - Soul Magazine (cover and pg. 4). 1966 February
12 The "New" Camel Rock and Roll-Walker-er Magazine - Publication of the Friend's of Ronnie Hawkins Club (pg. 3, 15). 1978
13 "At Home with Bo Diddley," by Bob Gruen - Rock Scene. 1981 March
14 "Bo Diddley," by Rick Coleman - Wavelength New Orleans Music Magazine. 1982 June
15 "Diddley Daddy," by Bruno Blum - Best Magazine (French) (pg. 60-63). 1984 July
16 Chapter 1: Bad Dad from unkown publication describing a performance by Bo Diddley in Maine - Copyright Ellas B. McDaniel and Denis Lane. 1988
17 "Highway 49: A Story of the Blues" by Keri Leig and the Oklahoma Blues Society. 1989
18 "Hey! Bo Diddley," by Val Wilmer - The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated History of Popular Music Volume 5. 1990
19 Phoenix Blues Society article by Steve Gilbert - Interview at the Mason Jar Nightclub. 1991 March
110 "Jon Knows Diddley," by Jon Waterhouse - Tuesday Magazine in Stone Mountain, GA (includes letter from author). 1991 May 28
111 "Bo Diddley," by Nils Hanson - Showtime Magazine (Swedish) (cover, pg. 12-17). 1993
81 "Camellia City on Parade" by Karen Freeman in the Enterprise-Journal - McComb, Mississippi - Newspaper clipping. undated
112 Press releases and articles on Bo Diddley. 1966-1996
113 Newspaper clippings. 1967-1969
114 Newspaper clippings. 1970-1979
115 Newspaper clippings. 1980-1989
116 Newspaper clippings. 1990-1999
117 Newspaper clippings. 2000-2007
118 Newspaper clippings. undated



Series 2. Correspondence. 1963-2006



Box Folder
118 Fan Letters (1 of 2). 1963-2005
119 Fan Letters (2 of 2). 1963-2005
120 Correspondence from Bo Diddley. 1995, undated
121 Business correspondence. 1991, 2003-2005
122 Personal Correspondence. 1966-2006
123 Personal correspondence - Children. 1997, 2001, undated
124 Personal correspondence - Lyons, Marilyn - New Mexico. 2005



Series 3. Contracts. 1966-2006



Box Folder
21 American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada Local No. 6. 1967 October 20
22 Banner Talent Associates, Inc.. 1983 July 21
23 Bennie Woods Bar Theatrical Agency. 1967 May 20
24 The Bigland Agency. 1966 December 30
25 Blues Stew Productions. 1990 January 19
26 Chicago Coalition for the Homeless. 1990 June 8
27 Department of Employment Overseas Labour Section - Work Permit for Bo Diddley's tour with Ron Wood in the UK. 1988 June 27
28 DiCesare Engler Attractions. 1983 July 28
29 Doheny Blues Festival - recording rights for performance. 2002 May 16
210 Emusic.com, Inc. - Digital download rights for the albums "This Should Note Be" and "Breakin' Through The B.S.". 2000 November 22
211 Hallelujah Films - "Bo Diddley's Back in Town". 1972 November 24
212 Handwritten notice concerning permissions to access Bo Diddley's property in Bronson, Florida. circa 1994
213 JP Productions of Ronkonkoma, NY - Artists Rights Petition. undated
214 Karen Medrano - Producer agreement for biographical film. 2004 December 15
215 Museum of Florida History in Tallahassee, FL - Loan agreement for exhibition. 2000-2001
216 Ontario Place Corporation - Statement of performer's account. 1983 June 1
217 Quantum Arts Group/Peppermint Lounge, NYC, NY.. 1983 August 4
218 Sharon McConnell - Plaster portrait contract. 2004 January 30
219 Shaw Artists Corporation. 1966-1967
220 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1985
221 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1986
222 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1987
223 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1988
224 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1989
225 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1990
226 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1991
227 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 1992
228 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 2002-2004
229 Talent Consultants International (TCI). 2005-2006
230 Talent Consultants International (TCI) - contract riders. undated
231 Talent Consultants International - copies of the EMI Publishing Royalty Statements for Bo Diddley's song "Money to Ronnie". 1988 April-September
232 Toronto Musicians' Association Local No. 149. 1967-1968



Series 4. Concert posters, handbills, and programs. 1957-2007



Box Folder
233 Fantabulous Rock'N'Roll Show of '57 at the Birdland Club in New York City - Program. 1957
234 The Theme in Pittsburgh, PA - Newspaper advertisement. 1966 November 25
235 Bo Diddley and the Duchess - Handbill with handwritten lyrics on the back. circa 1960s
236 Rock'N'Roll Revival at the Wembley Football Stadium in London, England - Official program in the Evening Standard. 1972 August
81 University of New Mexico - Advertisement and article in The Tribal Messenger (photocopies). 1972 September 25
237 Rock'N'Roll Revival at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas - Handbill. 1972
238 50's Rock'N'Roll Festival - Program/Yearbook. 1980 December
239 The Blue Note in Derby, United Kingdom - Handbills. 1983
240 Bo Diddley in Homer with Gary Sloan's Alaska Rhythm Revue - Alice's Champagne Palace - Handbill. 1983 May 18
241 Cornwall Coliseum in Cornwall, England - Handbill. 1984 March 15
MC215.18 Bozo's in Austin, TX - Poster. 1985 March 22-23
242 The Line Camp - Sante Fe, NM - Handbill. 1985 March 28
243 Long Beach Blues Festival - Program. 1985
244 An Evening with Bo Diddley (Pink) - Willson Auditorium in Bozeman, MT - Handbill. 1986 February 21
81 Woodlake Resort & Convention Hotel in Sacramento, CA - Oversized handbill. 1986 May 1
245 Cathedral High School Rockin' Round the Clock 86' - Program. 1986
246 Code 3 50's Show and Dance featuring Bo Diddley, the Shirelles, and Tommy Roe in Fort Lauderdale, FL - Program. 1986
247 The Mighty Bo Diddley World Tour '86-'87 - Handbill. 1986-1987
MC215.18 Hypo Club in Austria - Poster. 1987 May 22
248 Gunslingers Tour with Ron Wood and Bo Diddley - Sala Universal in Madrid, Spain - Postcards and flyer. 1988 July 15
MC115.2 The Gunslingers Ron Wood and Bo Diddley concert in Madrid, Spain - Poster. 1988 July 15
MC215.18 Domino in Schaffhausen, Switzerland - Poster. 1988 November 27
249 Glashaus Magazine (German) - Advertisement for concert. 1988 November
MC115.2 David Zard Presents the Giants of Rock'N'Roll concert Italian tour poster. 1988
250 Slim's - San Francisco, CA - Bo Diddley and his Band featuring Lady Bo plus the Alley Boys - Handbill. 1989 May 3
251 Third Eye Presents Bluesberry Jam - Hawthorn, FL - Handbill. 1989 August 7-9
252 Interbike Presents Bo Diddley and the Coasters at the Atlantic City Convention Center - Announcement card. 1989 October 22
253 Oxford Alley in Mississippi - Newspaper advertisement. 1989 November
254 Bo Diddley with the Jim Satten Band flyer and card. circa 1980s
255 Oakdale Musical Theatre featuring Fats Domino with co-star Bo Diddley in Wallingford, CT - Handbill. circa 1980s
256 3WS Roots of Rock and Roll Volume XV at the Benedum Center in Pittsburgh, PA - Program. 1990 March 10
84 Martin Brothers Winery Amphitheater in Missouri - Poster. 1990 April 22
83 Ragin Roar Extravaganza in Lafayette, LA - poster. 1990 August 30
257 Hope Fest benefit concert for the Chicago Coalition for the Homeless at Park West - Handbill, press release, and letters. 1990 October 8
258 C101/City Limits Niteclub Ticket - Corpus Christi, TX. 1991 January 12
259 Music City Blues Fest Starring Bo Diddley and Special Guest Star Johnny Taylor at the Park West Outdoor Arena in Nashville, TN - Handbill, press release, proclamation by mayor, and newspaper advertisements. 1991 June 8
MC215.18 Järvenpää concert in Finland poster. 1991 June 26-30
260 The Mason Jar in Phoenix, AZ - Newspaper advertisement in the New Times. 1991 September 28
81 1st Annual Breckenridge Blues Festival - Poster. 1991 August 10
81 Vinylmania in Finland - Poster. 1992 February 21-23
MC215.18 Japan Blues Carnival - Poster. 1992 May
MC115.2 28th Annual Fourth of Jul-Ivars in Seattle, WA - Poster. 1992 July 4
261 Rock and Folk Magazine (Belgian) containing a program for the Winston Legend Festival. 1992 July 27
262 American Pit Masters Bar-B-Q Round-Up featuring Bo Diddley and Sandy Martin at Kennedy Plaza in Providence, RI - Program. 1993 June 21
263 Homecoming VI/Everly Brothers Concert in Central City, Kentucky - Program. 1993 September
84 Newberry Elementary's Frontier Days Festival in Newberry, FL - Poster. 1993 October 23
81 Inter-Media Art Center in New York - Concert mailer. 1994 May 6
264 Fraternal Order of Police 2nd Annual Fabulous 50's Music Show featuring Bo Diddley, the Shirelles, and Tommy Roe in Fort Myers, FL - Program. 1994
51 Mom's Place St. Patrick's Day Concert in Waco, TX - Poster. 1995 March 17
84 Iron Horse Festival in Mcomb, MS - Poster. 1995 May 5-6
83 Magic Moondog Coronation Ball '96 - Roots of Rock and Roll at the Cleveland State University Convocation Center - Poster. 1996 May 4
265 Bottom Line in Brooklyn, NY - Time Out New York publicity photocopy. 1996 May 29
266 Horseshoe Casino and Hotel in Mississippi - Advertisement in The Hitching Post Casino Monthly Newsletter. 1996 December
MC215.18 "A Man Amongst Men" album poster. 1996
267 The Majic Moondog Coronation Ball '96 in Cleveland, OH - Program. 1996
MC215.18 The Bottom Line concert poster Nagoya, Japan. 1997 January
MC215.18 Kirin Lager Club in Japan - Poster. 1997 January
31 Delta Blues '97 in Rovigo, Italy concert programs (in Italian). 1997 June 28
83 Delta Blues '97 in Rovigo, Italy concert programs (in Italian) (Oversized). 1997 June 28
MC215.18 Puyallup Fair PRCA Rodeo in Puyallup, WA - Poster. 1997 September 5-21
81 Riverside Blues, Brews, & BBQ's Festival in Massachusetts - Poster. 1997 October 4-5
32 Earlham College Presents Bo Diddley with the Debby Hastings Band at the Trueblood Fieldhouse in Richmond, IN. 1998 October 24
81 Earlham College Presents Bo Diddley with the Debby Hastings Band at the Trueblood Fieldhouse in Richmond, IN - Poster. 1998 October 24
33 Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea in Hawaii - correspondence ad photocopies of handbill and articles. 1998 October
83 Doheny Blues Festival in Dana Point, CA - Poster. 1999 May 22
81 14th Annual Jam on the River in Philadelphia, PA - Poster. 1999 May
84 10th Anniversary of Hopefest in Chicago, IL - Poster. 2000 January 25
84 20th Anniversary Concert at the Metro Foundation Blues Festival in San Jose, CA - Poster. 2000 May 13
MC215.18 Sioux Falls Jazz & Blues Festival in Sioux Falls - SD. circa 2000
34 Harveys Convention Center in Omaha, Nebraska - Postcard. 2001 February 9
81 Ridgelea Theater in Fort Worth, TX - Poster. 2001 October 14
35 Bo Diddley Benefit concert at Trinity United Methodist Church in Gainesville, FL - Newspaper article in Gainesville Sun. 2002 January 18
36 Chasco Fiesta Music in the Park in New Port Richey, FL - Brochure. 2002 March 14
84 Commerce Bank Ballpark in Bridgewater, NJ - Poster. 2002 July 27
81 Piazza Blues in Bellinzona, Switzerland - Poster. 2002
37 Letterkenny Rock and Roll Weekend featuring Chubby Checker and Bo Diddley in Letterkenny, Ireland - Concert schedule. 2003 May 25
MC115.2 Letterkenny Rock'N'Roll Weekend with Bo Diddley and Chubby Checker in Donegal, Ireland. 2003 May 25
38 Columbia Riverfest in Oregon - Newspaper advertisement. 2003 July
39 Bo Diddley featuring The Debby Hastings Band at Kadena NCO Rocker Club at the US Air Force Base in Okinawa, Japan - Magazine advertisement. 2004 April 17
310 Crossroads Guitar Festival at the Fair Park and Cotton Bowl Stadium in Dallas, TX - Program. 2004 June 4-6
83 Crystal Ballroom in Portland, OR printout for July 2nd show - signed by numerous people wishing Bo Diddley a "Happy Birthday". 2004 December 30
84 The Buffalo Run Casino in Miami, OK - Poster. 2005 January 29
84 Belly Up in Solana Beach, CA - Poster. 2005 June 23
83 California State University in Bakersfield, CA - Poster. 2005 August 19
311 Eighteenth Annual Bull Durham Blues Festival in Durham, NC - Two handbills. 2005 September 9-10
81 Air Jamaica Jazz & Blues Festival in Montego Bay, Jamaica - Poster. 2006 January 26-28
312 MTV Networks "The Lodge" oversize tickets. 2006 February 2
83 River Rock Casino and Theater in Richmond, Canada. 2006 April 23
313 Elsinore Theatre Bo Diddley and Friends with Alvin Youngblood Hart and Ruthie Foster in Salem, OR - Handbill and program. 2006 September 29
81 Elsinore Theatre Bo Diddley and Friends with Alvin Youngblood Hart and Ruthie Foster in Salem, OR - Poster (Oversized). 2006 September 29
314 Bo Diddley and Friends - Lied Center for Performing Arts Lincoln, NE - Performing Arts Center program. 2006 October 14
84 Photographs of Bo Diddley singing by Mariane Todd. 2006
315 West Coast Blues and Roots Festival in Fremantle, Australia - VIP ticket, pass, map, schedule, and performing artist menu. 2007 March 31
316 Camellia City Festival in McComb, MS - Card. 2007 November 2-3
81 Camellia City Festival in McComb, MS - Poster (Oversized). 2007 November 2-3
84 75th Birthday Tour "Little Hercules featuring Bo Diddley - Poster. undated
83 76th Birthday Celebration at Berbati's Pan in Portland, OR - Poster. undated
84 Blue Loon concert handbill. undated
317 Blues Restaurant and Bar in Destin, FL - Handbill. undated
318 Blues, Soul, and Rock-N-Roll featuring Bo Diddley and "Wicked" Wilson Pickett at the Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort in Mt. Pleasant, MI - Handbill. undated
MC215.18 Bo Diddley Bo Gumbos Japan concert - Poster. undated
MC115.2 Bo Diddley Poster - black and white with square guitar. undated
319 Bo Diddley with the Radiators at the Diamond Ballroom in Oklahoma City, OK - Handbill. undated
84 Bohager's 1st Annual Rhythm and Blues Festival starring Bo Diddley in Baltimore, MD - Sign. undated
320 Bullfarber's march concert calendar - Mountain View, California. undated
81 Castle Creek in Colorado - Poster. undated
84 Color poster of Bo Diddley playing his box guitar. undated
MC215.19 Comb and Cutter Hotel in Blacktown, Australia. undated
83 Concert of Colors in Detroit, MI - Poster. undated
MC115.2 Concert poster written in Greek. undated
MC215.18 Concert poster written in Greek. undated
321 Country Road South Present Bo Diddley and Lady Bo in San Mateo County - Handbill. undated
81 Crystal Ballroom in Portland, OR - Handbill. undated
84 Earthquake at the Big Brother and the Holding Co. Avalon Ballroom in San Francisco, CA - Poster. undated
83 The East Coast Blues and Roots Music Festival in Australia - Poster. undated
81 Elmo's in Lake George, NY - Oversized handbill. undated
322 Frankie's Kitchen at Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park in Live Oak, FL - Handbill. undated
323 Gemini Promotions Present a Blast From the Past at the Carlton in Birmingham, UK. undated
324 The London Victory Club Presents Bo Diddley Live in Concert - Tampa, Florida - Handbill. undated
83 NEBA Kickoff Party in Boston, MA - Poster. undated
MC115.2 Netherlands concert poster. undated
83 Nite Site concert poster. undated
325 Nocturn in San Antonio, TX - Handbill. undated
326 The Original Rock'N'Roll Show featuring Carl Perkins, Bo Diddley, and Matchbox (United Kingdom Tour) - Program hand signed by Bo Diddley and others for his wife Kay. undated
83 Pink's Garage in Honolulu, HI - Poster. undated
MC115.2 Prague International BlueNight, 33 in Prague, Czech Republic - Poster. undated
83 Ridgefield Playhouse in Ridgefield, CT - Poster. undated
327 Rock'N'Roll Revival official program. undated
328 Rock'N'Roll Spectacular official program (book damaged). undated
MC215.18 Sant'Anna Arresi concert in Sardinia, Italy - Poster. undated
329 Showboat 40th Anniversary Carnival Room in Las Vegas - Newspaper advertisement. undated
81 The Showbox celebrating Bo Diddley's 76th Birthday in Seattle, WA - Poster. undated
MC115.2 Showtime's Classic Rock and Roll Reunion - Poster. undated
83 Teatro Nuovo in Naples, Italy - Poster. undated
81 Top Hat Bo Diddley concert poster/handbill. undated
83 University of Chicago concert - Poster. undated



Series 5. Itineraries. 1963-2005



Box Folder
330 Monthly itineraries (photocopies). 1963-1965
331 Australian Tour. 1981
332 European Tour. 1983
333 England Tour. 1983
334 Australia and New Zealand Tour. 1989 September
335 Japan Tour. 1989 September
336 Monthly itineraries. 2003-2005



Series 6. Music, lyrics, and albums. 1970-1999



Box Folder
61 Album - "Where It All Began" (no record). 1972
62 Album - "Bo Diddley - Ain't It Good To Be Free". 1984
63 Album - "Bo Diddley - Ain't It Good To Be Free" - Australian album (signed). 1984
64 Album - "Bo Diddley & Co." - Live fan club album. 1985
65 Album - "Tapeheads Presents Swanky Modes: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack". 1988
66 Album - "Breakin Through The B.S.". 1989
67 Album - "Bo Diddley - Living Legend". 1989
68 Album - "The Chess Box" (includes 26 pg. booklet with interview). 1990
337 Album covers - Bo Diddley (photocopies). undated
338 Album and singles charts. undated
339 Lyrics and music - Bo Diddley. undated
340 Lyrics and music - Sylvia (wife), Terri (daughter) and Tammi (daughter) McDaniel. 1970, 1999
341 Lyrics and music - Thomas A. Matthews. undated
342 Lyrics and music - Robert J. Varrick. 1971
343 Lyrics and music - Lee Johnson. undated
344 Lyrics and music - Other artists and unidentified. undated



Series 7. Photographs. 1960-2007



Box Folder
ILF-Cage1 Acrylic music-themed collage signed by Dano and titled "Legends". undated
345 Bo Diddley. circa 1990s or 2000s
346 Bo Diddley - Birthday souvenir photographs. 2000s
MC115.2 Bo Diddley - Painting of Bo Diddley by Pat Leg. undated
MC215.20 Bo Diddley - Performing (signed on back). 1995 December 15
347 Bo Diddley - Performing on stage and with fans. 1980-2007
41 Bo Diddley - Performing on stage (from photograph album). circa 1990s or 2000s
42 Bo Diddley - Publicity photographs from Talent Consultants International. 1980s, 2000s
43 Bo Diddley - Stage Door Music Productions, Inc. photographs of Bo Diddley with fans from a show in Utica, NY (letter included). 1987 November 20
44 The Duchess (Norma-Jean Wofford) - Promotional photo collage at the Apollo Theater by Doc Anderson. circa 1960s
45 The Duchess (Norma-Jean Wofford) - Chess Records publicity (10 copies). circa 1960s
46 Peggy Jones (Lady Bo) with The Jewels. circa 1960s
47 Debbie Hastings. undated
48 The Teenagers - Signed photograph for Bo Diddley. undated



Series 8. Awards. 1960-2009



Box Folder
49 The National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences - Best Rhythm and Blues Performance, "Walkin and Talkin" (plaque). 1960


Box
7 Key to the City of Providence, Rhode Island. circa 1984-1991


Box Folder
91 La Bamba movie soundtrack framed album sales award presented to Bo Diddley to commemorate the sale of more than 1,000,000 copies. circa 1987
67 National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Albuquerque Branch and African American Festival award in recognition of outstanding contributions made to the community as an entertainer and humanitarian (painted cow skull on a plaque). 1991
84 Now Dig This Magazine Rock and Roll Hall of Fame award. 1996 April


Box
7 National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences - Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award. 1998


Box Folder
91 Blues Brothers 2000 Movie Soundtrack framed album sales award presented to Bo Diddley to commemorate the sale of more than 500,000 copies. circa 1998
84 10th Anniversary Pioneer Awards from the Rhythm and Blues Foundation in Culvery City, CA - Poster. 1999 February 25
410 Rhythm and Blues Foundation - Informational brochure. 2000
ILF-Cage1 NABOB Pioneer in Entertainment Award presented to Bo Diddley from the National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters, Inc. (plaque). 2002 March 8


Box
7 BMI Icon Award in recognition of Bo Diddley's unique and indelible influence on generations of music makers (silver cup). 2002 May


Box Folder
ILF-Cage1 Award in recognition of Bo Diddley's worldwide humanitarian efforts on behalf of the homeless (includes handwritten signatures and drawings on the back). 2005
411 Board of County Comissioners of Alachua County - "Bo Diddley Day" (plaque). 2006 February 22
412 Proclamation commending the achivements of Bo Diddley and the unveiling of a Bo Diddley Blues Marker in Mcomb, Mississippi. 2007 November 2
413 Mississippi Governor's Awards Program for Excellence in the Arts. 2007
84 Mississippi Governor's Awards Program for Excellence in the Arts - Poster. 2007
414 "Yulee Diddley Day" in Archer, FL. 2009 June 6
84 Historical Society proclamation that June 7, 2008 would be declared "Yulee Diddley Day" in honor of Bo Diddley - Archer, Florida. 2009 June
91 Award presented by Chess/Janus Records to Bo Diddley for his contributions to Rock and Roll and impact on contemporary music. undated


Box
7 Key to the City of Gainesville, Florida. undated



Series 9. Instruments and equipment.



Box
10 Guitar - Bo Diddley custom designed guitar shaped instrument (Digitech Vocalist box). undated
11 Guitar - Custom built wooden "Just Me" guitar with built in cd walkman. undated
12 Guitar - Custom built Hondo II guitar with built in electronics. undated
13 Guitar - Custom-built guitar from fan (cavities carved) - 5/31/91. undated
14 Guitar - Black UFO Guitar. undated
15 Guitar - Bottlecap guitar made by fan (AFA library on exhibit). undated
16 Guitar - "Suck 'n Gas" Guitar. undated
OS8 Guitar - Gretsch Model G6138 cherry red square guitar (JT05096028) - Bo Diddley's signature eteched (AFA library on exhibit) ). 2006
OS9 Guitar - Gretsch Model G6138 cherry red square guitar (JT05096030) - Bo Diddley's signature eteched. 2006
OS10 Guitar - Gretsch cherry red Cadillac guitar. 2006
OS11 Guitar - Gretsch Model 6199B cherry red Cadillac bass guitar (JT06106077). 2006
OS13 Guitar - Black guitar road case with multiple stickers and Bo Diddley Signature. undated
17 Kalimba instrument (Bo artwork). undated
7 Tambourine (wooden). undated
4 Electronic equipment - Boss OC-2 Octave Pedal (with Bo Diddley's name on it). undated
4 Electronic equipment - Event EMP-1 Microphone Preamplifier (with Bo Diddley's name on it). undated
4 Electronic equipment - A/DA Flanger Effect Pedal (with Bo Diddley's name on it). 1996
4 Electronic equipment - Art MR-1 Personal Reverb Effects Processor (with Bo Diddley's name on it). undated



Series 10. Clothes.



Box
18 Clothing.
19 Clothing.
20 Clothing.
21 Clothing.
22 Clothing.
23 Clothing.
24 Clothing.
25 Clothing.



Series 11. Artifacts and miscellany. 1975-2000s



Box Folder
415 Australian cattle dog papers - Berrigun. 1975
416 "American Music: Through the Back Door" - Feature film proposal. 1984
51 Sketches by and for Bo Diddley. 1985-2000
52 New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival stage pass. 1990 May 4
53 American Bandstand Bo Diddley trading cards. 1993
54 Backstage (4) and VIP passes (1). 1999, undated
55 Blues and Legends Hall of Fame Museum birthday celebration for Bo Diddley in Memphis, TN - Invitation. 2000s
56 Bo Diddley Nameplate "Levendas De La Guitarra". undated
57 Bo Diddley printed star logo. undated
85 Drawing of Bo Diddley on a motorcycle titled "The Mighty Bo Diddley" - Transparency. undated
7 Decorative belt given to one of Bo Diddley's wives. undated


Box
7 East German Army visor. undated


Box Folder
MC115.2 Nike "You Don't Know Diddley" - Poster. undated


Box
7 "The Originator" baseball hat. undated


Box Folder
58 Promotional material for Bo Diddley Jr. (son) and Tammi Diddley (daughter). undated
55 Sketch of Bo Diddley by Michael Musgrave. undated
86 Sketches by Bo Diddley (Oversize). undated
59 Valencia County New Mexico, Sheriff's Department badge. undated



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African American musicians.
Bo Diddley, 1928-2008.
Concerts.
Florida -- Archer.
Mississippi -- McComb.
Music.
Musicians.
New Mexico -- Los Lunas.
Rock concerts.
Rock music.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page