Skip to Search



A Guide to the Birley and Company Records

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Birley and Company
Title: Birley and Company Records
Dates: 1810-1877
Abstract: Ledgers of textile manufacturers Birley and Co., Charlton Mills, Chas. Macintosh and Co., a personal ledger of Henry Birley, and a Birley and Co., letterbook (1841-1846).
Extent: 0.8 Linear feet. 2 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 110-8
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Birley and Co. operated the Charlton Mill, and perhaps other textile concerns in Manchester, England. Charles A. MacIntosh was a pioneer in the British production of rubber. Charles MacIntosh and Company was founded in Manchester 1824 by MacIntosh, Hugh and Joseph Birley, and R.W. Barton to carry on the business of producing waterproof fabrics. (William Woodruff, The Rise of the British Rubber Industry during the Nineteenth Century. Liverpool University Press, 1958, p. 5n.)


Scope and Content

Ledgers of Birley and Co., Charlton Mills, Chas. Macintosh and Co., a personal ledger of Henry Birley, and a Birley and Co., letterbook (1841-1846).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Accounting Collection, which was established in 1971 through gifts made and solicited by Dr. Williard E. Stone, Professor of Accounting, and Chair of the Department of Accounting.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Birley and Company Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The Birley Records were given to the Libraries in 1973 by Dr. William Woodruff, Research Professor of Economic History professor, University of Florida. Woodruff received the papers from members of the Birley family.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1 Birley and Co. ledger, Charlton Mill, inventory of stocks 1810-1820
1 2 Birley and Co. Mill ledger: stocks, expenses, and evaluation of buildings, land, steam engines and other machines. 1821-1844
1 3 Birley and Co. ledger - Account Adjustments: warehouse stocks, cottage and land account, education fund for Birley family members, and various interest accounts and trust funds 1834-1889
2 4 Birley and Co./Charles MacIntosh and Co. Annual Financial Statements. Includes other companies and individuals. 1827-1858
2 5 Henry Birley ledger. Includes business correspondence, statements, etc. 1842-1877
2 6 Account book (Book of Costs). 1849-1870
2 7 Correspondence. Birley and Co., letter-copy book. Includes various Birleys, McIntosh, Brockedon, Hancock, Parr, etc 1841-1846
2 8 Information about McIntosh and Co.
2 9 Miscellaneous documents.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Birley, Henry
Charlton Mills
Chas. Macintosh and Co
Rubber industry and trade -- Great Britain
Textile industry -- Great Britain



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page