Skip to Search



A Guide to the Elmer G. Beamer Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Beamer, Elmer G.
Title: Elmer G. Beamer Papers
Dates: 1949-1972
Bulk dates: 1962-1972
Abstract: Records of service on committees of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, manuscripts of speeches, and other professional documents of Elmer G. Beamer.
Extent: 1.3 Linear feet. 3 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 110-6
Language(s): English

Scope and Content

Records of Elmer G. Beamer's service on committees of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the American Accounting Association, including the Committee on Common Body of Knowledge, the Committee on Continuing Education, the Committee on Courses and Curricula. The collection includes correspondence, notes, seminar reports, memos, speeches, and materials related to the Cleveland Chamber of Commerce Committee on Education. Also includes manuscripts of Beamer's speeches, 1951-1970, and other professional documents. A detailed index to the collection is available in Box 1.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Accounting Collection, which was established in 1971 through gifts made and solicited by Dr. Williard E. Stone, Professor of Accounting, and Chair of the Department of Accounting.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Elmer G. Beamer Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge. Correspondence, Jan. 1964 - August 1965.
1 2 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Correspondence, August 1962- November 1963.
1 3 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Notes.
1 4 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Correspondence, August 1969 - April 1972.
1 5 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Memoranda.
1 6 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Miscellaneous, 1970-1972.
1 7 AICPA. Committee on Continuing Education. Reports, 1970-1972.
1 8 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge. Beamer Speeches, 1971-1972.
2 9 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge. Beamer Speeches, 1968-1970.
2 10 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge. Beamer Speeches [n.d.]
2 11 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, Nov., Dec. 1967.
2 12 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, Nov. 1967.
2 13 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, Oct. - Nov.1967.
2 14 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, Oct. 1967.
2 15 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, May - Oct. 1967.
2 16 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar reports, Jan. - May 1968.
3 17 AICPA. Committee on Common Body of Knowledge and Committee on Horizons for a Profession. Seminar miscellaneous.
3 18 American Accounting Association. Committee on Standards of Education and Experience for CPA's. Miscellaneous.
3 19 American Accounting Association. Committee on Courses and Curricula. Report, 1961-1962.
3 20 Beamer, "Education for Public Accountancy Related to the Cooperative System," typed ms., 1960.
3 21 Public accounting, typed notes [ca. 1949?]
3 22-37 Speeches, 1951-1970.
3 38 Dedication of the Florida Accounting Archives, 1972.
3 39 Cleveland Chamber of Commerce. Committee on Education Minutes, 1963-1966.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Accounting
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page