Skip to Search





A Guide to the William Bauer Collection of Architectural Drawings Relating to Jacksonville

Finding aid created by Danielle Fasig

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

February 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Bauer, William
Title: William Bauer Collection of Architectural Drawings Relating to Jacksonville
Dates: circa 1935-1950
Abstract: Contains 81 architectural drawings created by four prominent Florida architects for the development firm Telfair Stockton and Co., Inc. in the late 1930s and other miscellaneous architectural drawings.
Extent: .16 Linear feet. 1 box (81 drawings).
Identification: MSS 0377
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Telfair Stockton and Co. was a prominent real estate development firm in Jacksonville and Duval County, Florida. The firm developed many prominent suburbs, including New Springfield, Avondale, and San Marco. Telfair Stockton was born in Quincy, Florida in 1860 to Colonel William Tennet Stockton and Julia Elizabeth Stockton (née Telfair). His first venture was a news and book store in Jacksonville, Florida, which he opened when he was 16 years old. He later became interested in real estate, became a junior partner in a Jacksonville firm and in 1902 bought out his partners and established the firm Stockton and Prudd. In 1910 the company was renamed Telfair Stockston and Co. He was elected a state legislator and in 1923 led consolidation efforts. His work contributed significantly to the metropolitan development of Jacksonville.

Victor Earl Mark (1876-1948) began training as an architect in Jacksonville, Florida, in 1907 under Henry John Klutho before starting his own firm with fellow apprentice Leeroy Sheftail in 1911. Together they designed many buildings throughout Jacksonville in popular styles of the time, including Bungalows, Mediterranean and Tudor Revival, and the Prairie School. Prominent buildings designed by V. Earl Mark in Jacksonville include the Masonic Temple, the Delgado Building, Robert E. Lee High School, Oxford Hall Apartments, and the B.F. Lee Theological Seminary.

Ivan H. Smith (1907-2000) received his BS in Architecture from the University of Florida in 1929, maintained a private architectural practice in Jacksonville, Florida from 1929 to 1943, and went on to become a founding member of the firm Reynolds, Smith and Hill in 1941. Over his career he designed many hospitals, armories, public buildings, school houses, churches, theaters, and residences throughout Florida. Notable designs include the Duval County Courthouse, the Florida State Capitol complex, the Jacksonville City Hall, and the Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. Smith was a fellow of the American Institute of Architects, received the A.I.A. Gold Medal in 1981 and was named a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Florida in the same year.

Clyde Eugene Harris (1910-2010) received his BS in Architecture from the University of Florida in 1932 and apprenticed under Mellon C. Greeley before opening his own practice in 1938. Harris designed over 1,400 buildings during his career- primarily schools, churches, and residences throughout North Florida. Notable designs include the Timuquana Country Club, the Beau Rivage condominium complex, the River Shore Village in Jacksonville, the Grace Episcopal Church in Orange Park, and the original Florida welcome stations. In 2002 he received the Henry John Klutho lifetime achievement award from the Jacksonville chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Abner Crump Hopkins (1903-1963) and Prentiss Huddleston (1909-1987) partnered to form the firm of Hopkins and Huddleston Architects in 1936. Hopkins was educated at Texas A and M before moving to Florida in 1926. Huddleston studied architecture at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), graduating in 1930 and worked for several architectural firms in Jacksonville and Gainesville, Florida before establishing Hopkins and Huddleston Architects. Hopkins' most prominent designs are the jail and courthouse in Nassau County, Florida, but also include grocery stores and supermarkets throughout southeast Florida, cold storage plants, bakeries, and warehouses. Huddleston's designs include the Student Activities Building at Florida A and M University, the Leon County Courthouse, and many schools, hospitals, and theaters throughout South Georgia and North Florida.


Scope and Content

The collection contains 77 architectural drawings of Bungalow-style houses submitted to Telfair Stockton and Co., Inc., in the late 1930s by four architects: Victor Earl Mark, Ivan H. Smith, Clyde Eugene Harris, and the firm of Hopkins and Huddleston Architects. Telfair Stockton and Co .was developing the Avondale district of Jacksonville according to the specifications of the Federal Housing Administration. The buildings seen in these drawings were intended to be used as freestanding single family cottages which would be affordable to the middle class at the end of the Great Depression.

The collection also contains additional architectural drawings of Bungalow- and Ranch-style homes in Gainesville and Trenton, Florida and a front elevation of an A and P supermarket. It is possible that some of these drawings were also created by Mark, Smith, Harris, or Hopkins and Huddleston (e.g., one includes the initials "E.M." which could stand for Earl Mark). A few of these miscellaneous drawings are from the 1940s and were designed by Gainesville architect, John E. Pierson.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William Bauer Collection of Architectural Drawings Relating to Jacksonville, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated to the University of Florida in December 2012 by William Bauer.


Contents List

Victor Earl Mark Drawings.



Box
1 No.5. 1100 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5. 1163 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5A. 1100 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5B. 1163 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5B. 1176 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5C. 1163 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.5C. 1100 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.7. 1057 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.7. 1238 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, "Clark Building.". circa 1930-1939
1 No.7A. 1250 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, "Clark Building.". circa 1930-1939
1 No.7A. 1057 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.8. 1029 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.8. 1165 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.8A. 1104 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, "Clark Building.". circa 1930-1939
1 No.8A. 1029 sq.feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.8B. 1029 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.8B. 1104 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan with garage. circa 1930-1939
1 No.12. 946 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.12. 997 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.12A. 997 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.12A. 946 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15. 957 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No. 15. 914 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15A. 957 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15A. 914 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15B. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15B. 957 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No. 15C. 930 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.15C. 914 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, "Clark Building.". circa 1930-1939



Ivan H. Smith Drawings.



Box
1 No.3. 1213 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.3. 1106 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.3A. 1213 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.3A. 1106 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Reivsed elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.3B. 1263 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.10A. 1086 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.10B. 998 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.11. 1162 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.11B. 1131 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939



Clyde Eugene Harris Drawings.



Box
1 No.1. 1190 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, brick veneer. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1. 1200 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1A. 1200 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1A. 1178 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1B. 1190 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, brick veneer. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1B. 1200 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1C. 1190 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.1C. 1200 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2. 1049 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined, perspective view. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2. 1344 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan, perspective view. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2A. 1344 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2A. 1049 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2B. 1344 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame, perspective view. circa 1930-1939
1 No.2B. 1049 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame, perspective view. circa 1930-1939
1 No. 9. 1050 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.9A. 1050 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame, perspective view. circa 1930-1939
1 No.9B. 1050 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939



Hopkins and Huddleston Architects Drawings.



Box
1 No.4. 1244 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, frame. 1938 June 30
1 No.4A. 1244 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Revised elevation and plan, combined. 1938 June 30
1 No.4B. 1244 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.4C. 1244 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.6. 1020 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.6A. 1020 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.6B. 1020 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. 1938 June 30
1 No.6C. 1020 sq. feet. 3 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.13. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.13A. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.13B. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, combined. circa 1930-1939
1 No.14. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, combined. 1938 June 30
1 No.14A. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.14B. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.14C. 982 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and plan, frame. circa 1930-1939
1 No.0. Garage details. Elevation and plan. circa 1930-1939



Other Drawings.



Box
1 Residence for Prof. and Mrs. T.N. Humble. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. John E. Pierson, Architect. Signed E.M. (Earl Mark?). 1948 January 8
1 Plan. Scale 1/8". 2 bdr/1 bath. Floor plan and perspectives. circa 1930-1939
1 Unnumbered. About 1260 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Floor plan and elevation. circa 1930-1939
1 Unnumbered. About 945 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath with porch. Floor plan and elevation. circa 1930-1939
1 Unnumbered. About 987 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Floor plan and elevation. circa 1930-1939
1 Unnumbered. About 1344 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Floor plan and elevation. circa 1930-1939
1 Proposed new residence for Dr. and Mrs. Adamds. 2bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. John E. Pierson, Architect. Trenton, Florida. 1937 June 21
1 Proposed new residence for Mr. and Mrs. H. Brackman. 2bdr/1bath. Elevation and floor plan. John E. Pierson, Architect. Gainesville, Florida. 1936 December 28
1 Solution #1 Ranch Type. Hampton Heights Homes. 803 sq. feet. 2 bdr/1 bath. Elevation and floor plan. Signed W.J.R. 1950 March 11
1 A and P Supermarket. Front elevation. undated



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architectural drawing
Architecture, Domestic
Florida--Jacksonville




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page