Skip to Search



A Guide to the Fulgencio Batista Inauguration Collection

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Title: Fulgencio Batista Inauguration Collection
Dates: circa 1955
Abstract: A collection of engraved and printed invitations, a program, and associated items relating to Batista's inauguration for a third term as President of Cuba in 1955.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder (9 items).
Identification: MS Group 127
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

President of Cuba, 1940-1944 and 1952-1959. As an officer in the Cuban military, Fulgencio Batista y Zaldivar (1901-1973) took part in the overthrow of Gerardo Machado in 1933 and subsequently headed the military and student junta that ousted Carlos Manuel de Ceepedes and installed Ramon Grau San Martin. Made chief of staff of the army, he increased its size and power and soon became de facto ruler, launching a three-year plan of economic and social rehabilitation. In 1940, with centrist support, he was elected president and sponsored several reforms that spurred economic growth. After being defeated in 1944, however, he left for the United States.

He returned to Cuba in 1949, and in 1952 he seized power through a coup. His second term as president was marked by brutal repression, which led to several uprisings, notably that of Fidel Castro. Pressed by the rebels and after a mock election had failed to calm the populace, Batista fled Cuba in 1959 for the Dominican Republic and thence to Portugal and Madeira. He died in Spain. Source: The Columbia Encyclopedia.


Scope and Content

Programs, invitations, tickets, parking stub, newspaper clipping. A collection of engraved and printed invitations, a program, and associated items relating to Batista's inauguration for a third term as President of Cuba, February 23-26, 1955 during the height of Cuban prosperity. All items are in a Japanese red silk folder with three rag-paper flaps and the materials are addressed to Alberto J. Parreno y Sra.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Fulgencio Batista Inauguration Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Maury Bromsen, Boston, MA.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Batista y Zaldivar, Fulgencio, 1901-1973.
Cuba -- History -- 1933-1959 -- Sources.
Cuba. President (1953-1958 : Batista)
Parreno, Alberto J.
Presidents -- Cuba -- Inauguration -- Sources.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page