Skip to Search





A Guide to the Architectural Photographs Collection

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

February 2019



Descriptive Summary

Title: Architectural Photographs Collection
Dates: 1960s-1970s
Abstract: Architectural photographs collected as part of the Historic American Building Survey (HABS) in the 1960s and 1970s including photographs of sites in Georgia, South Carolina, and Puerto Rico. Non-HABS photographs of European sites in Italy, France, and Greece are also present.
Extent: 8 Linear Feet. 8 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0418
Language(s): English
Location: IMPORTANT: Please note that this collection is housed in the Auxiliary Library Facility off campus and will require advance notice for timely retrieval. Please contact the Special and Area Studies Collections department prior to your visit.

Scope and Content

This collection of architectural photographs was assembled in the Architecture and Fine Arts Library at the University of Florida to support education and research needs at UF. Most of the photographs were created or collected as part of the Historic American Building Survey (HABS) in the 1960s and 1970s. Photographs are divided into four series covering different geographic regions including Georgia, South Carolina, Puerto Rico, and Europe (Italy, France, and Greece). Most of the photographs are numbered according to their Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) number. Some numbers are missing from the collection. The European photographs did not originate from the HABS survey. Detailed master catalog lists of the HABS photographs, compiled by the Architecture and Fine Arts Library at the University of Florida, are included at the beginning of each series.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Official photographs collected and created by the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) can be found at the Library of Congress. Designs and plans created or collected as part of the Historical American Buildings Survey (HABS) can be found in the Architecture Educational Collection. Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) photographs related to Florida are stored with the Florida Photograph Collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Architectural Photographs Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Transferred from the Architecture and Fine Arts Library to the Architecture Archives in Special Collections at the University of Florida.

Processing Notes

This collection has been minimally processed. A folder level inventory was produced and is listed in this finding aid, but the majority of the documents were not examined or rehoused during the course of processing. Open access to these materials allows researchers to further delve into the contents as needed.


Contents List

Georgia.



Box
1 Georgia Master Catalog List.
1 GA 26-___-1 - Wild Heron Plantation.
1 GA 26-Ilho-1A - Wormsloe.
1 GA 26-Sav-2 - Christ Church.
1 GA 26-Sav-3 - Independent Pres. Ch..
1 GA 26-Sav-6 - Davenport House.
1 GA 26-Sav-7 - Richardson-Maxwell Owens-Thomas House.
1 GA 26-Sav-8 - MacIntosh House.
1 GA 26-Sav-9 - Minis House.
1 GA 26-Sav-10 - Row House.
1 GA 26-Sav-11 - Fort Wayne.
1 GA 26-Sav-12 - Houses at 118-124 E. Harris St..
1 GA 26-Sav-13 - Hiram Roberts House.
1 GA 26-Sav-14 - Low House.
1 GA 26-Sav-15 - Wayne-Gordon House.
1 GA 26-Sav-16 - Trinity Church.
1 GA 26-Sav-17 - Georgia Central RR House.
1 GA 26-Sav-18 - Georgia Central RR House.
1 GA 26-Sav-19 - William Clark House.
1 GA 26-Sav-20 - The Custom House.
1 GA 26-Sav-21 - Art Gallery.
1 GA 26-Sav-22 - Chas, Greene House.
1 GA 26-Sav-23 - Old Harbor Beacon.
1 GA 26-Sav-24 - Habersham Mansion.
1 GA 26-Sav-25 - Res. At 312 & 314 E. Broughton St..
1 GA 26-Sav-26 - Houston Johnston Screven House.
1 GA 26-Sav-27 - House at 115 W Oglethorpe Ave..
1 GA 26-Sav-28 - Battersby-Anderson House.
1 GA 26-Sav-29 - Tobias House.
1 GA 26-Sav-30 - Cunningham House.
1 GA 26-Sav-31 - Smets House.
1 GA 26-Sav-32 - Le Page House.
1 GA 26-Sav-33 - First African Baptist Ch..
1 GA 26-Sav-34 - Dr. Charlton House.
1 GA 26-Sav-35 - 203 E. York St..
1 GA 26-Sav-36 - McAlpin House.
1 GA 26-Sav-37 - Arnold House.
1 GA 26-Sav-38 - US Bank Branch (old).
1 GA 26-Sav-39 - Scarborough House.
1 GA 26-Sav-40 - Gibbons House Block.
1 GA 26-Sav-41 - Bank & Newspaper Offices.
1 GA 26-Sav-42 - Spencer-Woodbridge House.
1 GA 26-Sav-43 - Tenement House.
1 GA 26-Sav-44 - Wetter House.
1 GA 26-Sav-45A - Reid's Servants House.
1 GA 26-Sav-46 - Mackay House.
1 GA 26-Sav-47 - Ravenel House.
1 GA 26-Sav-48 - Sorrel Weed House.
2 GA 26-Sav-49 - The Waring House.
2 GA 26-Sav-50 - The Denis House.
2 GA 26-Sav-51 - Factor's Warehouse.
2 GA 26-Sav V.-1 - The Hermitage.
2 GA 26-Sav V.-2 - Fort Pulaski.



South Carolina.



Box
2 South Carolina Master Catalog List.
2 SC-Char-4 - St. Andrew's Church.
2 SC-Char-13-1 - Dr. Ramsay's House.
2 SC-Char-13-2 - County Records Building.
2 SC-Char-13-7 - Bennett's Rice Mill.
2 SC-Char-13-10 - Old Marine Hospital.
2 SC-Char-13-13 - Old State Powder Magazine.
2 SC-Char-13-15 - Old Jewish Orphanage.
2 SC-Char-14 - Gadsden House.
2 SC-Char-39 - US Customs House.
2 SC-Char-41 - Jonathan Lucas House.
2 SC-Char-42 - Jerkinhead Roof House.
2 SC-Char-43 - Fickin House.
2 SC-Char-44 - Servant's Quarters.
2 SC-Char-45 - Old Exchange.
2 SC-Char-46 - Paine Studio.
2 SC-Char-47 - Edwards-Smythe House.
2 SC-Char-48 - St. Mary's R.C. Church.
2 SC-Char-50 - Parish House.
2 SC-Char-51A - Middleton-Pickney House.
2 SC-Char-51B - Elliot House.
2 SC-Char-52 - 86 Hassel Street House.
2 SC-Char-53 - Judge King Mansion.
2 SC-Char-54A - Charles Edmonton House.
2 SC-Char-54B - Middleton-Smith House.
2 SC-Char-62 - St. Michael's Church.
2 SC-Char-64 - Heyward-Washington House.
2 SC-Char-65 - Izard House.
2 SC-Char-66 - 46 Tradd Street.
2 SC-Char-67 - Joseph Manigault House.
2 SC-Char-68 - Commodore Payne House.
2 SC-Char-70 - Wm. Drayton House.
2 SC-Char-71 - 36 Chalmers Street.
2 SC-Char-75 - St. Phillip's Church.
2 SC-Char-76 - City Hall.
3 SC-Char-77 - Charleston Hotel.
3 SC-Char-78 - Miles Brewton House.
3 SC-Char-80 - First Presby. Church.
3 SC-Char-81 - Beth Elohim Synagogue.
3 SC-Char-84 - 59 Smith Street.
3 SC-Char-85 - 10 Charlotte Street.
3 SC-Char-86 - Steele Housoe.
3 SC-Char-88 - Old City Powder Magazine.
3 SC-Char-90 - 92 Church Street.
3 SC-Char-91 - Joseph Aiken House.
3 SC-Char-92 - Second Presby. Church.
3 SC-Char-93 - 43 Charlotte Street.
3 SC-Char-94 - Chancellor De Saussure House.
3 SC-Char-95 - 8 Meeting Street.
3 SC-Char-96 - 32 Charlotte Street.
3 SC-Char-98 - #1 East Battery.
3 SC-Char-99 - Moses C. Levy House.
3 SC-Char-100 - Izard-Pickney House.
3 SC-Char-101 - Gov. Thomas Bennett House.
3 SC-Char-103 - House on Magazine St..
3 SC-Char-104 - Pelzer Home.
3 SC-Char-105 - Hugenot Church.
3 SC-Char-106 - Harvey-Lining House.
3 SC-Char-107 - Primerose House.
3 SC-Char-108 - 96 Ashley Ave..
3 SC-Char-109 - William Blacklock House.
3 SC-Char-109 - William Blacklock House (Carriage House).
3 SC-Char-115 - Wm. Washington House.
3 SC-Char-116 - Chamber of Commerce.
3 SC-Char-121 - First Baptist Church.
3 SC-Char-122 - 72 Tradd Church.
3 SC-Char-127 - Pink House.
3 SC-Char-128 - Daniel Blake Tenement.
3 SC-Char-131 - County Court House.
3 SC-Char-133 - Daniel Ravenel House.
3 SC-Char-134 - 56 Beaufain Street.
3 SC-Char-135 - Old Market.
3 SC-Char-136 - Hibernian Hall.
3 SC-Char-145 - Nathaniel Russel House.
3 SC-Char-146 - Orphan's Home Chapel.
3 SC-Char-147 - Charles Frazer House.
3 SC-Char-148 - Petigru Law Office.
3 SC-Char-149 - Willa Mason Smith House.
3 SC-Char-150 - Robert Martin House.
3 SC-Char-153 - Bethel Methodist Church.
3 SC-Char-155 - Gov. Bull House.
3 SC-Char-156 - John Stuart House.
3 SC-Char-159 - 33 Charlotte Street.
3 SC-Char-160 - 18 Meeting.
3 SC-Char-161 - Wm. Rayenel House, 13 East Bay.
3 SC-Char-162 - 43 Legare (No. of Tradd).
3 SC-Char-163 - 14 Vanderhorst Street.
3 SC-Char-164 - Pirate House.
3 SC-Char-165 - Philip Porcher House.
3 SC-Char-166 - Judge Robert Pringle's House.
3 SC-Char-168 - St. John's Luth. Church.
3 SC-Char-171 - Col. William Rhett House.
3 SC-Char-173 - William Roper House.
3 SC-Char-174 - Villa Margherita.
3 SC-Char-175 - Charleston College.
3 SC-Char-178 - Lowndes House.
3 SC-Char-181 - 67 Vanderhorst Street.
3 SC-Char-184 - Old Citadel.
3 SC-Char-191 - Century House.
3 SC-Char-194 - Fort Sumter.
4 SC-Char-195 - Castle Pickney.
4 SC-Char-196 - Fort Moultrie.
4 SC-Char-202 - House--W. Side of Drake Street.
4 SC-Char-203 - Christopher Belser House.
4 SC-Char-204 - Ward Mansion.
4 SC-Char-205 - House SW Bay E..
4 SC-Char-208 - House (Charleston City).
4 SC-Char-209 - Moultrie House.
4 SC-Char-210 - House Rutledge & Wentworth St..
4 SC-Char-212 - 10 Legare St..
4 SC-Char-214 - West Point Rice Mill.
4 SC-Char-215 - Jacob Motte House.
4 SC-Char-216 - 95 Rutledge Ave..
4 SC-Char-217 - 271 Meeting Avenue.
4 SC-Char-225 - Glover House.
4 SC-Char-226 - E. Bay St. Fr Tradd St..
4 SC-Char-264 - Maj. Peter Bocquet House.
4 SC-Char-265 - Building.
4 SC-Char-266 - Glebe St. Presby. Ch..
4 SC-Char-267 - Thomas Bennett House.
4 SC-Char-272 - Wm. Blacklock Carriage Hse..
4 SC-Char-273 - Wm. Blacklock Gazebo.
4 SC-Char-274 - Aiken Cow House.
4 SC-Char-275 - Aiken Service Building.
4 SC-Char-276 - Aiken Slave Building.
4 SC-Char-277 - Aiken Necessary Building.
4 SC-Char-278 - "Islington Manor".
4 SC-Char-286 - House at 54 Queen Street.
4 SC-Char-292 - Westminster Presby. Church.
4 SC-Char-293 - US Post Office Building.
4 SC-Char-294 - US Arsenal Building (Main).
4 SC-Char-295 - US Arsenal Building, Porter Acad. Office Building.
4 SC-Char-296 - US Arsenal Building (Artillery Shed).
4 SC-Char-297 - US Arsenal Foundry Building.
4 SC-Char-298 - US Arsenal Powder Maga..
4 SC-Char-299 - US Arsenal Building, Porter Pres. Res..
4 SC-Char-300 - William Pickney Shing. House.
4 SC-Char-320 - Dr. Joseph Glover House.
4 SC-Char-321 - Col. John Asher House.



Puerto Rico.



Box
4 Puerto Rico Master Catalog List.
4 PR-SaJu-41 (7-SaJu-1) - San Jose Church.
4 PR-SaJu-42 (7-SaJu-2) - Cristo Chapel.
4 PR-SaJu-43 (7-SaJu-3) - Puerto de San Juan.
4 PR-Viequi-44 (8-Vieques-1) - Fuerte Vieques.
5 PR-Sang-45 (5-Sang-1) - Puerta Coeli.
5 PR-SaJu-46 (7-SaJu-4) - El Polvorin.
5 PR-SaJu-48 (7-SaJu-6) - Castillo San Felipe del Morro.
5 PR-SaJu-49 (7-SaJu-8) - Fort San Geronimo.
5 PR-SaJu-50 (7-SaJu-9) - Fort Escambron.
5 PR-SaJu-51 (7-SaJu-10) - Ravelin-2 Line of Defense.
5 PR-SaJu-52 (7-SaJu-11) - Fort El Canuelo.
5 PR-SaJu-53 (7-SaJu-12) - Fragments-3 Line of Defense.
5 PR-SaJu-54 - La Fortaleza.
5 PR-61 #1-10 - Calle del Sol.
5 PR 61,64 #11-25 - Calle de la Cruz, Folder 1.
5 PR 61,64 #26-40 - Calle de la Cruz, Folder 2.
5 PR-61 #41-46 - Calle de la Luna.
6 PR-61,62 #47-64 - Calle San Jose, Folder 1.
6 PR-61,62 #65-83 - Calle San Jose, Folder 2.
6 PR-61,62 #65-83 - Calle San Jose, Folder 3.
6 PR-SaJu-65 - Eduardo Giorgetti House.
6 PR-SaJu-66 - Iglesia San Mateo de Cangrejos.
6 PR-SaJu-67 - William Korber Residence.
6 PR-SaJu-68 - Railroad Terminal.
6 PR-SaJu-69 - Casa Margarita Bestard.
6 PR-SaJu-88 - El Arsenal.
6 PR-SaJu-91 - Calle Fortaleza 101.
6 PR-SaJu-95 - Casa Blanca.



Europe - Italy, France, and Greece.



Box
7 Photographs of sites in Italy, France, and Greece.
8 Photographs of sites in Italy, France, and Greece.



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architecture.
Georgia.
photographs
Puerto Rico.
South Carolina




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page