Skip to Search





A Guide to the William P. Angrick II Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Stereographs

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodriguez and Richard Phillips. Updated in November 2017 by Katiana Bagué.

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2015



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Angrick II, William P. (Collector)
Title: William P. Angrick II Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Stereographs
Dates: 1860, circa 1890-1940s
Abstract: Collection of 25 stereograph images and three view master reels showcasing scenes and views from South American countries, Cuba, Jamaica, and Florida.
Extent: 25 Stereographs and three view master reels.
Identification: MSS 0342
Language(s): English
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/angrick_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

William P. Angrick II (1945- ) was born in the Panama Canal Zone, where his father, William P. Angrick, served as part of the Army Corps of Engineers for the duration of the Second World War and his mother, Barbara G. Angrick, worked as a civilian secretary with the U.S. Navy. Angrick has been a collector of history and mementos of the Panama Canal since his youth. His keen interest in Latin America stems from his connection to the Panama Canal Zone. Angrick and his sister Barbara Genualdi decided his parents' papers, photographs, and memorabilia relating to the Panama Canal, and his own private collection should be gifted to the George A. Smathers Library for research and education.

Stereographs, two almost identical photographs paired to create a three-dimensional experience, were first made in the 1850s. People viewed stereographs as a form of entertainment until the 1920s. Stereographs also had an educational purpose: they provided images of significant events and of diverse places and people.


Scope and Content

The William P. Angrick II Collection is comprised of 25 stereograph images and three view master reels showcasing scenes and views of a group of South American countries, Cuba, Jamaica, and Florida. Taken in 1860, the five stereograph views of Cuba show scenes of slaves in a plantation. The rest of the stereographs date approximately from 1890-1919. Three publishing companies are featured in this collection: Keystone View Co., E. Anthony, and the Universal Photo Art Company. The group of South American countries included in this collection are: Colombia, Ecuador, Chile, and Bolivia. The collection also includes Jamaica, and Florida's Seminole Indians.

Of special interest in this collection are the stereographs that portray Cuban slaves' lives on the plantations. Slavery in Cuba was not abolished until 1886, long after the invention of photography. For this reason, stereographs like the ones listed below provide a rare glimpse of life under slavery.


Arrangement

Items in this collection are arranged alphabetically by country or region.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Paul A. Hughes Collection of Caribbean Stereographs at the University of Florida

Panama Canal Stereographs at the University of Florida Digital Collections

Tom Pohrt Collection at the University of Miami


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/angrick_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William P. Angrick II Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Stereographs, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by William P. Angrick II.


Contents List

1. Stereographs.



Box
1 Bolivia: Plowing on the Plateau. circa 1890-1910
1 Chile: Antofagasta, the nitrate port. circa 1890-1910
1 Chile: Evaporating tanks at a nitrate plant in northern Chile. circa 1890-1910
1 Chile: View of farm products in Viña del Mar. circa 1890-1910
1 Chile: Nitrate for agriculture and for war being sacked for shipment. circa 1910-1919
1 Colombia: View of a dock in Buenaventura, Colombia. circa 1890s
1 Colombia: View of Santa Marta, the banana center in Colombia. circa 1890s
1 Costa Rica: Gathering bananas. circa 1890-1910
1 Costa Rica: Shipping station on a great banana plantation. circa 1890-1910
1 Cuba: Group of slaves standing in front of a cattle pen. 1860
1 Cuba: Oxen cart transporting water. 1860
1 Cuba: Plantation slaves around a barracoon. 1860
1 Cuba: Plantation slaves in front of a barracoon's kitchen. 1860
1 Cuba: View of the fire hole at a sugar mill. 1860
1 Ecuador: Gathering cacao on a plantation. circa 1890-1910
1 Ecuador: View of the waterfront in Guayaquil. circa 1890-1910
1 Florida: Seminole Indians whose forefathers inhabited the Everglades, Miami. circa 1890-1910
1 Guatemala: City of Escuintla and its two twin volcanoes, Fuego and Acatenago. circa 1900
1 Guatemala: Guatemala City, Central America. circa 1890-1910
1 Jamaica: Coconut palm tree. circa 1890-1910
1 Mexico: View of the town of Acambaro. 1900
1 Nicaragua: Escorts, Saratoga, showing Mombacho Volcano. circa 1890-1910
1 Nicaragua: Lake Nicaragua on Nicaraguan canal route. circa 1890-1910
1 South America: View of a village. circa 1890-1910
1 Uruguay: Dredging in the harbor of Montevideo. circa 1890-1910



2. View master reels.



Box
1 Ecuador: Rural life in Ecuador. circa 1940s
1 Guatemala: Town of Chichicastenango. circa 1940s
1 Panama: Panama City. circa 1940s



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Agriculture
Bananas
Buildings
Central America
Chile--Antofagasta
Colombia--Buenaventura
Costa Rica
Cuba
Ecuador--Guayaquil
Mexico--Acámbaro (Guanajuato)
Plantation life
Seminole Indians
Slavery
South America
Stereographs




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page