Skip to Search





A Guide to the Records of the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee

Finding aid created by Hope Scheff and Grant Wise

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 2020



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Democratic Party (Fla.) State Executive Committee.
Title: Records of the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee
Dates: 1963-2019
Abstract: Annual reports, meeting agendas and minutes, announcement and newsletters, newspaper articles and clippings, and other records belonging to the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee (ACDEC).
Extent: 1.16 Linear Feet. 2 Document Boxes and 1 Oversize folder.
Identification: MSS 0520
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

The Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee (ACDEC) is the official representative body of registered Democrats in Alachua County and is governed by the State of Florida and the Florida Democratic Party. Each county in Florida has an Executive Committee responsible for discharging Florida Democratic Party affairs within the county. A committee structure carries out the administrative and programmatic activities of the Democratic Executive Committee (DEC). The ACDEC is composed of precinct committeemen and committeewomen from each of the voting precincts in Alachua County, as well as Democratic elected officials and at-large appointees.

The main purpose of the ACDEC is to elect Democrats to public office, educate and recruit voters, and engage in the political process. Other major ongoing duties include raising awareness on issues important to Democrats and promoting party activity and involvement in each precinct.

Source: Alachua County Democratic Party. "Our Party". http://www.alachuadems.org/our-party/. Accessed August 26, 2019.


Scope and Content

The Records of the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee (ACDEC) date from 1963 to 2019 and are divided into five series. Series 1 contains annual reports presented by the Chair of the ACDEC on the state of the Alachua County Democratic Party. Series 2 contains general meeting minutes and agendas (missing 2011-2013). Series 3 contains Chair Announcements and online newsletters. Series 4 contains newspaper articles and clippings from Gainesville newspapers about the ACDEC. Series 5 contains pamphlets, campaign literature, bumper stickers, campaign posters, and other materials produced by the ACDEC as well as the Alachua County Democratic Black Caucus and Women's Club. This collection also contains a large amount of electronic records including photographs that have yet to be processed and made available. Please contact the archives for more information.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Records of the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by the Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee in April 2018 and January 2020.

Processing Notes

NOTE: This is a preliminary finding aid. The electronic records from this collection are currently unprocessed. Please contact the archives for more information.


Contents List

Series 1: Annual reports. 2015-2019



Box Folder
11 Annual report. 2015
12 Annual report. 2016
13 Annual report. 2017
14 Annual report. 2018
15 Annual report. 2019



Series 2: Meeting agendas and minutes. 2005-2017



Box Folder
16 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2005-2009
17 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2009-2010
18 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2014-2015
19 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2016
110 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2017
111 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2018
112 Meeting agendas and minutes. 2019



Series 3: Chair announcements and online newsletters. 2014-2018



Box Folder
113 Chair announcements and online newsletters. 2014
114 Chair announcements and online newsletters. 2015
115 Chair announcements and online newsletters. 2016
116 Chair announcements and online newsletters. 2017-2018
117 Precinct News, "Voyage of Discovery". 2018 June-August, 2019 April



Series 4: Newspaper articles and clippings. 2014-2019



Box Folder
118 Gainesville Sun. 2014, 2016
119 Gainesville Guardian. 2015-2016, 2018-2019
120 Online articles. 2016-2017



Series 5: General files. 1963-2019



Box Folder
121 Alachua County Democratic Black Caucus - Third Annual Golden Democrats . 2008 February 10
21 Alachua County Democratic Black Caucus - Working Group (1 of 2). 2016
22 Alachua County Democratic Black Caucus - Working Group (2 of 2). 2016
23 Alachua County Democratic Committee - History Committee. 2018-2019
24 Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee "20th Annual Lawton Chiles Gala" program. 2018 October 21
25 Alachua County Democratic Executive Committee "Democrats in Action" envelope. undated
26 Alachua County Democratic Women's Club . 1963-1967
27 Alachua County Democratic Women's Club - Publicity. 1967-1968
OS21 Campaign Poster - Women for Hillary Clinton. 2016
28 Pamphlets--Democratic Executive Committee " New Leadership for a Changing World". undated
29 Pamphlets--Democratic Executive Committee "Obama". 2016
210 Pamphlets--Democratic Executive Committee "Unite". undated
211 Democratic Executive Committee Handbook. undated
212 Democratic Executive Committee Handbook (Version 1). 2004
213 Democratic Executive Committee Membership Application, 2017-2020 term. 2017
214 Democratic Executive Committee Volunteer Sign-up Slip. undated
215 Democratic Women's Club of Florida - General Materials. 1965-1969
216 Florida Democratic Party "Winning Ticket" flyer. undated
217 "Heartlessness: Pre-Existing Condition" bumper sticker. undated
218 Gainesville Area Women's Network. 1981-1983



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Democratic Party (Fla.) State Executive Committee.
Florida -- Alachua County.
Florida -- Gainesville.
Politics and government.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page