Skip to Search





A Guide to the American Association of University Women (AAUW) Gainesville, Florida Branch Records

Finding aid prepared by Gerald Loyola

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

August 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: American Association of University Women. Gainesville, Florida Branch.
Title: American Association of University Women (AAUW) Gainesville, Florida Branch Records
Dates: 1927-2016
Abstract: Branch histories/scrapbooks, directories, newsletters, meeting minutes, and other records from the American Association of University Women (AAUW), Gainesville, Florida Branch.
Extent: 3.72 Linear Feet. 7 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0367
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is an organization created to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Originally founded in Boston by Marion Talbot and Ellen Richards in November 1881, the AAUW is open to all graduates who hold an associate or equivalent, baccalaureate or higher degree from a qualified educational institution, a degree from a foreign institution recognized by the International Federation of University Women (IFUW), or a foreign degree acceptable as a basis for admission to graduate schools at regionally accredited universities in the United States as well as students enrolled at qualified educational institutions.

The Florida Division of the AAUW was founded in 1929. In 1916, a group of Tampa women organized as a branch of the Southern Association of College Women. It was the only branch in the state until 1923 when a Tallahassee group organized a second branch. The two groups were followed by St. Petersburg in 1924, and then followed by Jacksonville, Miami, Gainesville, Pensacola, and Sarasota in 1926, Hollywood in 1927, and Central Florida (now Orlando-Winter Park) in 1928. These branches were the founding branches of the AAUW in Florida.

Source: AAUW. "About". https://aauw-fl.aauw.net/about/. Accessed August 26, 2019.


Scope and Content

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) Gainesville, Florida Branch Records date from 1927 to 2016. Series 1 comprises the bulk of the records, containing bound copies of Gainesville branch histories/scrapbooks that include photographs, news clippings, newsletters, reports from the branch president, convention programs, and other materials. Series 2 contains directories for the Gainesville Branch as well as the Florida State Division of the AAUW. Series 3 contains newsletters including branch updates and the Florida Vision newsletter. Series 4 includes early branch meeting minutes. Series 5 includes a tribute to Grace Knight, AAUW Annual Convention programs, and a division history of all the Florida Branches of AAUW. Most of the collection is arranged chronologically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Records for the Florida Division of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) are housed at Florida State University in Tallahassee.

FSU also houses the Tallahassee Chapter of the AAUW.

Archives for other branches can be found here.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], American Association of University Women (AAUW) Gainesville, Florida Branch Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Patricia O. Spencer, President of the Gainesville Branch of AAUW (2013-2017).


Contents List

Series 1. Branch Histories/Scrapbooks. 1933-2016



Box Folder
11 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1933-1950
12 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1947-1948
13 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1949 July-1961 June
71 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1961 July-1970 June
72 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1970-1979
73 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1970-1979
14 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1978 July-1980 June
15 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1980-1981
16 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1980 July-1983 June
17 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1980 July-1983 June
18 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1983 July-1986 June
21 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1983 July-1986 June
22 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1986 July-1987 June
23 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1987 July-1989 June
24 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1987 July-1989 June
25 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1989 July-1990 June
26 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1989 July-1990 June
27 Branch History/Scrapbook. 1990 July-1991 June
31 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1991 July-1993 June
32 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1991 July-1993 June
33 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1993 July-1995 June
34 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1993 July-1995 June
35 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1995 July-1999 June
36 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1995 July-1999 June
37 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 1999 July-2004 June
38 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 1999 July-2004 June
39 Branch History/Scrapbook. 2004 July-2008 June
41 Branch History/Scrapbook (1 of 2). 2008 July-2016 June
42 Branch History/Scrapbook (2 of 2). 2008 July-2016 June



Series 2. Directories. 1939-2014



Gainesville Branch Directories/Yearbooks.


Box Folder
43 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1939-1950
44 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1950-1960
45 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1960-1970
46 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1971-1980
47 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1984-1990
51 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 1990-2000
52 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 2000-2010
53 Gainesville Branch Directory/Yearbook. 2010-2014


Florida State Division Directories.


Box Folder
54 Florida State Division Directory. 1975-1980
55 Florida State Division Directory. 1981-1982, 1988-1989
56 Florida State Division Directory. 1992-1993, 1998-1999
57 Florida State Division Directory. 2004-2005



Series 3. Newsletters. 1940-2013



Box Folder
58 Newsletters. 1940-1991
59 Newsletter - Branch Update. 1994-1998
61 Newsletter - Florida Vision. 1989-1990
62 Newsletter - Florida Vision. 1992-1999
63 Newsletter - Florida Vision. 2000-2013



Series 4. Meeting Minutes. 1927-1945



Box Folder
64 Meeting Minutes Book. 1927-1933
65 Meeting Minutes Book. 1933-1945



Series 5. Miscellaneous. 1987-2009



Box Folder
66 A Tribute to Grace Knight in Recognition of Her Service to Humanity Presented to the People of Alachua County by the Gainesville Branch of the American Association of University Women. 1987 April 26
67 American Association of University Women (AAUW) Annual Convention Programs. 1994, 2008-2009
68 Florida AAUW: A Retrospective. 1929-2004



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

American Association of University Women.
American Association of University Women. Gainesville, Florida Branch.
Florida -- Gainesville.
Universities and colleges.
University of Florida.
Women in public life.
Women's rights.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page