Skip to Search



A Guide to the Albinia Lucy Cust Wherry Correspondence

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Wherry, Albinia, 1857-1929
Title: Albinia Lucy Cust Wherry Correspondence
Dates: 1903-1908
Abstract: Letters from scholars regarding Wherry's research, especially relating to her article "The Dancing Tower Processions of Italy."
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 8 items.
Identification: MS Group 112 1/9
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Albinia Lucy Cust Wherry was the author of numerous books, including works on Daniel DeFoe, the artist Turner, Greek sculpture, and Tuscan artists, etc.


Scope and Content

Letters from prominent scholars regarding Wherry's research, especially relating to her article "The Dancing Tower Processions of Italy" (Folklore, 16:1905), and in two instances to an article by her daughter, Beatrix A. Wherry, "Wizardry on the Welsh Border" (Folklore, 15:1904). Correspondents include Sidney Hartland, Charlotte S. Burne, J.G. Frazer, A.B. Cook. A.C. Haddon, and E. Dart.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Albinia Lucy Cust Wherry Correspondence, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 Hartland, Sidney. ALS to Dear Madam [Mrs. Wherry?]. Highgarth, Gloucester. 1 leaf (2 sides). Concerning the ceri (dancing towers of Italy). 1903 September 19
1 Dart, E. ALS to Mrs. Wherry. [King's College, Cambridge]. 1 leaf (sides). Concerning one of the ceri, the "Rua at Vicenza." 1903 November 5
1 Haddon, Alfred C. ALS to Mrs. Wherry. Inisfail Hills Road. 1 leaf (1 side). Her paper on the "dancing towers" is very good. Suggests publication by the Folklore Society. He would like to send it to Sidney Hartland. 1904 January 11
1 Burne, Charlotte S. ALS to Dear Sir. Kensington. 1 s. (2 sides). Has received manuscript by Miss B.A. Wherey [sic] on Monmouthshire folklore and would be glad go publish it in Folklore. Would change title to "Wizardry on the Welsh Border." Understands that the stories were collected while the author was staying at a Monmouthshire farmhouse. 1904 February 3
1 Burne, Charlotte S. ALS to Dear madam [Mrs. Wherry]. Kensington. 2 s. (4 sides). The next issue of Folklore is due in March. She will be happy to include Miss Wherry's [her daughter] paper in it. Discusses possibility of reading it at a Society meeting beforehand. 1904 February 12
1 Cook, Arthur Bernard. ALS to Miss Burne. Cambridge. 1 sheet 2 sides. Concerning an insertion to be made into his article for Folklore. 1904 August 24
1 Frazer, J. G. Autograph postcard to Mrs. Wherry. Trinity College [Cambridge]. Gives bibliographical references for the account of the "procession of the giants" in the Golden Bough. 1907 October 25
1 Burne, Charlotte S. ALS to Mrs. Wherry. Kensington. Advice on publishing her articles. 1908 March 10

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Wherry, Albinia, 1857-1929 -- Correspondence.
Wherry, Beatrix A. -- Correspondence.
Women authors -- Correspondence.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page