Skip to Search





A Guide to the Ernest Matthew Mickler Papers

Finding aid created by Frank Orser

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

September 2011 (July 2019)



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Mickler, Ernest Matthew.
Title: Ernest Matthew Mickler Papers
Dates: 1917-1991
Bulk dates: 1944-1980
Abstract: Ernest Matthew Mickler's published and unpublished writings, correspondence, biographical materials, and photographs.
Extent: 5.56 Linear feet. 12 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 095
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Writer, photographer, artist. Born August 23, 1940, in Jacksonville, Florida, and raised in nearby Palm Valley in St. Johns County. His parents were William Alfred Mickler and Edna Ral Mills Mickler. Mickler received his bachelor's degree from Jacksonville University and a master's from Mills College in San Francisco. As a young man, Mickler was a recorded country music singer. He was mentored in art by Memphis Wood, a Jacksonville artist and teacher. After leaving North Florida, Mickler lived in San Francisco, New Orleans, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, and Key West. He later returned to St. Johns County, first to St. Augustine and later to his final home in nearby Elkton. He worked as an artist, teacher, and cook, before his first book, White Trash Cooking, was published by the Jargon Society. His other published book, Sinkin Spell, Hot Flashes, Fits and Cravins, was published by Ten Speed Press, almost simultaneously with his death on November 15, 1988.

Sources of information include obituaries in the New York Times, November 18, 1988.


Scope and Content

The collection includes manuscripts of Mickler's two published books and of several shorter, unpublished writings. Many photographs, mostly taken by Mickler, for possible inclusion in his books, and of friends, family, and places which he visited. Correspondence and documents relating to his publications and to his personal life. The papers include some published biographical information about Mickler and his books. The principal biographical source is a tape interview conducted by Cal Yeomans. Also included in the papers are works of some of Mickler's friends, notably Yeomans and Andrew Holleran. Other individuals heavily represented in the collection are Mickler's companion Gary Dale Jolley, and poet and Jargon Society publisher Jonathan Williams. Many published and unpublished recipes are included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Additional information may be found in Frank Orser, "University of Florida Received Gift of Papers of Cookbook Author Ernest Matthew Mickler," Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Journal of Florida Literature, IV:1992, 59-63.

An audio interview with Cal Yeomans and Ernest Mickler can be found in the Cal Yeomans Collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ernest Matthew Mickler Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Writings: Manuscripts, Published Writings, and Works of Art.



White Trash Cooking (WTC) and Miscellaneous.


Box Folder
11 A Guide to the Art of White Trash Cooking [early typed ms. of WTC]; San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. 1938. 1938
12 A Guide to the Art of White Trash Cooking [handwritten edited drafts and fragments].
13 A Guide to the Art of White Trash Cooking [photocopy of edited typed ms.].
14 A Guide to the Art of White Trash Cooking ["Ernie's Copy" of edited typed ms.].
15 Typed recipes from WTC with autograph annotations. 20 p.
16 Envelope labelled Keep Your Hats On; typed ms. (8 p.) and autograph ms. (7 p.).
17 A Titch O' the Monkey; typed ms. with printed covers. St. Augustine.
18 North Florida Cracker Cookin; A.Ms. [list of recipes]; 6 p.
19 A.Ms. of menus [served by E.M. Mickler] with printed leaflets; Key West.
110 Fish Camp; typed ms. with autograph notations.
111 A.Ms. notebook, labelled as "A. White Trash Cooking, B. More White Trash Cooking." Some loose pages.
112 St. Brenda Gordon and fragments; A.Ms.
113 A.Ms. fragments with envelope from Mattes to E.M. Mickler.
114 A.Ms., poems.
115 A.Ms., miscellaneous writings, mostly poetry, with envelope from Bill Larson to E.M. Mickler.
116 "Color Collage"; art.
117 "Holiday Dinner by Ernest Michler" [sic],Southern Exposure Guide, Key West Edition?. 2 copies. 1984
118 Long Piece; clippings and announcement re: artistic performance by E.M. Mickler. Includes photographs.
119 Drawing of flower pot [by E.M. Mickler?].


Sinkin Spells, Hot Flashes, Fits and Cravins (SS).


Box Folder
21 A.Ms. recipes and typed recipes with autograph notations for SS.
22 Prospectus and introductory material regarding SS; typed ms.
23 Computer print out draft of recipes from SS.
24 Computer printed drafts of SS with autograph corrections.
25 Foot Washins and Eatin on the Ground; proofs later published as SS. 1988
26 A.Ms. written on airline discomfort bag; concept for Edna Rae's funeral in SS.
27 Typed title page, White Trash Cooking: Foot Washings to Dinner on the Ground and computer printed pages. A.Ms. Legal pad of notes.
28 Print out of Foot Washings, Prayer Meetins, etc. including recipes. With folder marked for Jonathan Williams.
29 Covers and miscellaneous material for Foot Washin, and Eatin on the Ground.
210 Ibid.? Unbound copy in loose signatures.
211 Computer print out of SS; 1 loosleaf notebook. Negative and positive photographs in pocket.


Box
12 Box of 3.5" floppy disks; programs disks and SS manuscript.


Recipe Files.


Box Folder
31 Miscellaneous recipes.
32 Bound writing book of handwritten poems and recipes.
33 Miscellaneous printed recipes.
34 Recipes not used.
35 Recipes-unsolicited and solicited.
36 Recipes-"Sewing, Quilting", etc.
37 Recipe Book. 1917


Box
12 File Box of recipes.



Publications about Ernest M. Mickler and His Works.



Box Folder
38 "The Art of Graduation," San Franciso Chronicle; May 31, 1972 [Article and photo concerning graduation of E.M. Mickler from Mills College]. 1972
39 Andrew Holleran, "Ernie's Funeral," Christopher Street, no. 130 (v. 11, no. 10), p. 7-11, with copy of typed Ms.
310 Anderson, Susan Heller, "Ernest Matthews Mickler, 48, Dies; Author of Best-selling Cookbook," New York Times, Nov. 18, 1986, and Advertisement "In memorial E.M. Mickler.. Ten Speed Press.. Jargon Society," New York Times, Dec. 12, 1988. 1986-1988
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): "Home-style cookin' from Southern Byways and Hollows," Family Circle, v. 99, no.4 (Oct. 21, 1986), p. 116-117, 154-158. 1986
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Adams, Terry. "White Trash Cooking and Fine Triad Dining Tables, Golden Triad, v. 9, no. 6 (Oct/Dec. 1984), 49-51, 62-63. Cover photo of E.M. Mickler. 1984
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Life, Janaury, 1987, p. 112. 1987
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Metropolitan Home, Sept. 1991, p. 114-115. 1991
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Thornton, Debra, "Cuisine de Trash," Minnesota Monthly, September, 1986, p. 61. 1986
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): McGuigan, Cathleen," Heavy on the Mayo", Newsweek, August 4, 1986, p. 59. 1986
311 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Newsweek on Health, Winter, 1986, p. 24. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): People Weekly, April 28, 1986, p. 14. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Neill, Michael, "Cookbook Author Ernest Mickler Shows True Grits in Extolling Hee-haute Cuisine of the South"; People Weekly, Nov. 24, 1986, p. 74-77. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): "From Cooter to Corn Pone, It's White-trash Delicacies", Picture Week, August 25, 1986, p. 60-62. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Publisher Weekly, August 8, 1986. Back cover photo of WTC. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Southern Magazine, Nov., 1986, p. 39. 1986
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Hudgins, Sharon, "A Flash of Trash; Greasing down the South," Stripes Magazine, January 29, 1987, p. 4-5. 1987
312 Articles, reviews, references to WTC. (Arranged by title of magazine): Vogue, May, 1986, p. 199. 1986
313 Authors in the Park Program; Maitland, Fl. Art Center, Oct. 10, 1987. E.M. Mickler/WTC included in program.] In envelope with two T.L.S. from Gwen Thomas to E.M. Mickler; Orlando, Oct. 17 [1987] and photocopies from Orlando Sentinel?, Oct. 11 and Oct 22, 1987. 1987
314 Jargon Society Catalog. WTC on cover.
315 Announcement of Exhibition of Photographs from WTC; North Dakota Museum of Art, Grand Forks, March 17-April 13, 1986. 2 copies. 1986
316 Holiday Program and County Dress Revue, Nov. 21, 1987; Florida Extension Homemaker's Council. E.M. Mickler among speakers on program. 1987
41 Miscellaneous materials relating to E.M. Mickler and WTC: newspaper clippings, tear sheets from magazines, magazine covers, publisher's flyer.
42 Miscellaneous materials relating to E.M. Mickler and WTC: newspaper clippings, tear sheets from magazines, magazine covers, publisher's flyer.
43 Bound writing book of handwritten poems and recipes.



Correspondence.



Box Folder
44 [Allen?] Katherine Belle. ALS "Katherine Belle"; [Tampa] Sept. 1, 1987.-Includes recipe for Tomato Soup Cake. Surname partially obliterated by postmark on envelope. 1987
45 Andrese, Joe. ALS to E.M. Mickler; San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, Dec. 8, 1986. 1p.-Asks for payment of money due. ALS to E.M. Mickler; San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, Dec. 8, 1986. 1p.-Asks for payment of money due. 1986
46 Bailey, Joe. TLS; London, Feb. 10, 1987. 2 p.-Describes events since the death of his companion, Kit Wolcott. TLS; London, Feb. 10, 1987. 2 p.-Describes events since the death of his companion, Kit Wolcott. 1987
55 Beam, Jefferey: AL (fragment); Golgonooza Farm at Frog Level, Hillsborough, NC., August 27, 1986. 2 p. Concerns E.M. Mickler visit to Rowland Fullilove's in North Carolina and contains a recipe. 1986
47 Breitman, Patti. TLS (copy) to Robert N. Jones; Berkeley, Cal., May 15, 1987. 1 p.-Acknowledges writer's criticism of WTC. Jones' letter is listed below. TLS (copy) to Robert N. Jones; Berkeley, Cal., May 15, 1987. 1 p.-Acknowledges writer's criticism of WTC. Jones' letter is listed below. 1987
48 Bridges, Bill. TLS to E.M. Mickler; Ventura, CA., July 14, 1986. 1 p. with envelope and business card.-Typed on verso of flyer for the writer's Great American Chili Book?. TLS to E.M. Mickler; Ventura, CA., July 14, 1986. 1 p. with envelope and business card.-Typed on verso of flyer for the writer's Great American Chili Book?. 1986
49 Briscoe, Newell ALS; Atlanta, GA., August 22, 1986. 1 p. with envelope.-Concerning autographing which E.M. Mickler had at writer's store. ALS; Atlanta, GA., August 22, 1986. 1 p. with envelope.-Concerning autographing which E.M. Mickler had at writer's store. 1986
410 Chesley, Robert. ANS "Bob" written in greeting card; [San Francisco, July 15, 1987] with envelope. ANS "Bob" written in greeting card; [San Francisco, July 15, 1987] with envelope. 1987
411 Conklin, Hartwell B. TLS; Orlando, August 26, 1986. 2 p. re: WTC autographing party. TLS; Orlando, August 26, 1986. 2 p. re: WTC autographing party. 1986
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; Winston-Salem, May 14, 1986. 1 p. with envelope.-Concerning travel expenses for trip to New Orleans. 1986
412 Craven, Thorns. LS; [Winston-Salem] July 18, 1986. 1 p.-Enclosing share of payment from Family Circle?. Ten Speed contract in route. 1986
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; Winston-Salem, March 12, 1987. 1 p. with envelope-Re: sale of WTC to Book of the Month Club. 1987
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; Winston-Salem, Sept. 21, 1987. 1 p. with envelope-Re: royalties from Book of the Month Club. Statement included. 1987
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; [Winston-Salem] Oct. 30, 1987. 1 p. with royalty statements (2p.)-Re: settlement over unauthorized use of photo on WTC cover. 1987
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; Winston-Salem, Dec. 20, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. Royalty statements included. 1987
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; [n.p.] January 14, 1988. 1 p. Concerns payments to E.M. Mickler. 1988
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; [n.p.] March 16, 1988. 1 p. 1988
412 Craven, Thorns. TLS; Winston-Salem, April 24, 1988. 1 p. 1988
413 Davids, Norma. ALS; Miami, Oct. 26, 1986. 3 p. with envelope.-Wants to collaborate on TV pilot. 1986
414 DeBruhl, Marshall. ALS; Mew York, August 27, 1986. 2 p. with envelope. 1986
415 DeGrove, Pierre: ALS (photostatic copy) to Edna Mickler; [n.p., April 29, 1944]. 2 p. with envelope. 1944
415 DeGrove, Pierre: ALS to Edna Mickler; England, May 24, 1944. 2 p. with envelope. Letters written by serviceman overseas. 1944
416 Duncan, Mabel J. TLS to E.M. Mickler; Vero Beach, Feb. 18 [198?] 1 p.-Re: AAUW Book Author Luncheon. 198?.
417 Dupree, Nathalie. TLS to Rowland Fullilove; Atlanta, August 24, 1987. 1 p.-Cannot recommend WTC. 1987
418 Erma Bombeck and Friends Book and Author Dinner: TLS "Erma Bombeck"; [n.p.] Sept. 10, 1986. 1 p.-With printed information about the Erma Bombeck and Friends Book and Author Dinner. 1986
418 Erma Bombeck and Friends Book and Author Dinner: ALS "Polly Turpin" to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; Phoenix, Sept. 10, 1986. 1 p.-With printed page sheet about the dinner. 1986
418 Erma Bombeck and Friends Book and Author Dinner: TLS "Erma Bombeck"; [n.p.] Nov. 4, 1986. 1 p. 1986
419 Eubanks, W. Ralph. TLS to Jonathan Williams with typed note S.-"Tom" [Patterson?] to E.M. Mickler; Arlington, VA., June 16, 1986. 1 p. with envelope.-"Tom" [Patterson?] to E.M. Mickler; Arlington, VA., June 16, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
420 Evans, Gail H. (Cable News Network). TLS Gail H. Evans and Diane R. Durham; Atlanta, Oct. 8, 1986. 1 p.-Thanking him for CNN interview. 1986
421 Ford, Robert A. (attorney): TLS; Jacksonville, Oct. 3, 1985. 2 p. 1985
421 Ford, Robert A. (attorney): TLS to William A. Mickler [et al?]; Jacksonville, Oct. 7, 1985, accompanied by statement for services rendered to E.M. Mickler. 1985
421 Ford, Robert A. (attorney): TLS; October 9, 1985. 1p. with envelope. Letters concern conveyance of Mickler property to E.M. Mickler. 1985
422 Fullilove, Rowland: TLS to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; Chapel Hill, Oct. 13, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
422 Fullilove, Rowland: TLS to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; Chapel Hill, Feb. 14, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. 1987
422 Fullilove, Rowland: A. postcard S. to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; St. Paul [France] May 6, 1987. 1987
423 Fulton, Maureen (People Weekly) TLS; New York, June 18, 1986. 1p. with envelope.-Thanking him for comments concerning review of WTC. Accompanied by ALS (draft?) to "Editor" with A. notes on verso. 1986
424 Fundingsland, Marilyn (North Dakota Museum of Art). TLS; [Grand Forks] Feb. 19, 1986. 1 p.-With signed loan agreement and list of photos on verso. Concerns loan of photographs for exhibition and their shipping. 1986
425 Geringer, Dan. ALS; Philadelphia, NOv. 10, 1986. 1p.-Concerning the writer's interview of E.M. Mickler, probably for the Philadelphia Daily News?. 1986
426 Ghertner, Andrew L. 7 ALS; Atlanta, Feb. 7, 1986-July 9, 1987. 7 p. with five envelopes.-Concerns purchase of some photographs by E.M. Mickler and of copies of WTC. 1986-1987
427 Greene, Jonathan. TLS; Frankfort, Ky. Dec. 19, 1984. 1 p. with envelope.-Has received ms. of book. [Greene was designer of WTC.]. 1984
428 Greene, Susie: ALS; Winston-Salem, Feb. 7, 1986. 1 p. Says that Philip Hanes' wife is named Charlotte. 1986
428 Greene, Susie: ALS; Winston-Salem; Feb. 14, 1986. 1986
428 Greene, Susie: A Postcard S; [Winston-Salem] June 5, 1986. 1986
429 Hanes, R. Philip, Jr. TLS; Winston-Salem, August 5, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
429 Hanes, R. Philip, Jr. TLS "E. Skofyer"; Winston-Salem, August 7, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Re: visit E.M. Mickler is making to Winston-Salem. 1986
429 Hanes, R. Philip, Jr. TLS(copy) "Harry Bozart" to Brendan Gill, New Yorker?,; Winston-Salem, Aug. 7, 1986. 1 p. Concerning refusal of the New Yorker to accept advertisement for WTC. 1986
429 [Hanes, R. Philip, Jr.].-Collection of approximately thirty letters by prominent individuals sent to Philip Hanes thanking him for copies of WTC and generally - These are mostly copies, which Hanes sent E.M. Mickler. Contains some letters by Hanes and a note of transmittal from Hanes' secretary to E.M. Mickler.praising the book.
430 Harnage, Sharon. ALS to Fay Farace; Jacksonville, FL. June 19, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. 1987
431 Hawes, Charlotte. TLS; [San Miguel de Allende] Jan 21 [198?] 1p. with envelope. 198?.
432 Helm, Lynne. TLS; Fort Lauderdale, Sept. 12, 1986. 1 p. re: article in News/Sun-Sentinel. 1986
433 Hudgins, Sharon. TLS; New York, Feb. 17, 1987. 1 p. with envelope-Re: review she wrote of WTC for Stripes Magazine?. 1987
434 Johnson, Ronald. TLS to Dear Friends; San Francisco, May 3 [1988] 1 p.-Includes envelope accompanied by recipes (5p.). A. note to E.M. Mickler on letter. 1988
435 Jones, Pam. ALS; Ocala, Fl., [June 10, 1988?]. 1 p.-Inlcudes envelope accompanied by five photographs of book signing at Walden Books. circa 1988
436 Jones, Robert N. TLS to Ten Speed Press Editors; May 12, 1987. 1 p.-Considers WTC an ethnic slur. Reply may be found under "Breitman" above. 1987
437 Jordan, Gerry D. (Dwight/Whitney Enterprises, inc.). TLS (copy) to Irene Skolnick; New York, Dec. 9, 1987. 1p.-Regarding prospects for TV show based on WTC. 1987
438 KCST-TV (San Diego). ALS "Randy"; San Diego, Nov. 26, 1986. 1 p. with enveolpe.-Concerns E.M. Mickler interview. 1986
439 Lorenz, Joanna (Macdonald Orbis, publisher). TLS (copy); London, Feb. 17, 1988. 1 p. Asking permission to use excerpts from WTC in proposed collection of recipes. Permission from at bottom signed by E.M. Mickler. 1988
439 Lorenz, Joanna (Macdonald Orbis, publisher). TLS; London, May 19, 1988. 1 p. Has not received response to letter of Feb. 17th. 1988
440 Lotz, Steve: A. Ms. Instructions to reach his home; Orlando [Feb. 24,1987]. 1 p. with envelope addressed to E.M. Mickler. 1987
440 Lotz, Steve: ALS; [Orlando] March 31, 1987. 1p. with envelope. Accompanied by clipping from Orlando Sentinel, March 30, 1987 re: WTC. 1987
440 Lotz, Steve: A. note to E.M. Mickler; [Orlando, April 10, 1987]. Written on printed invitation to showing of Lotz' paintings. 1987
440 Lotz, Steve: A. note to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; [Orlando] Oct. 29, 1988. Written on back of exhibition poster [University of Central Florida, Oct 29th]. Accompanied by photocopies concerning Lotz. Envelope. 1988
441 Lundquist, Louisa. A. note and statement for secretarial service; [n.p.] April 10, 1988. 2 p. 1988
442 Lutzow, Nancy: TLS to E.M. Mickler; concerning Joan Baez; Menlo Park, CA., Oct. 19, 1979. 1 p. 1979
442 Lutzow, Nancy: TLS to E.M. Mickler; concerning Joan Baez; Menlo Park, CA., Nov. 9, 1987. 1 p. 1987
443 Mattes, Jed (International Creative Management). TLS; New York, July 11, 1984. 1 p.-Suggests that WTC should be more homespun. Suggests they talk further. 1984
444 McIllhenny, Edmund, Jr. TLS to Ten Speed Press; Avery Island, LA., Oct. 31, 1986. 1p.-Notes unauthorized use of picture of TABASCO bottle on cover of WTC and asks that it be discontinued. 2 copies, one attached to note from George Wood to Irene Skolnick with A.note saying there is "no problem.". 1986
445 Mickler, Ernest Matthew: ALS (draft?) to Bob; [n.p.,n.d.] 2p.
445 Mickler, Ernest Matthew: ALS (draft?) to Bob; [n.p.,n.d.] 1 p.
445 Mickler, Ernest Matthew: Envelope inscribed to Jeffrey Bream and Stan Finch; [St. Augustine, 198?]. Unsealed and unmailed. Appears to hold publisher`s brochure for WTC. 198?.
445 Mickler, Ernest Matthew: Printed birthday card s.with A. note. Envelope addressed to Gary [Jolley].
445 Mickler, Ernest Matthew: Printed Father's Day card addressed to "Daddy Gary," S. "Ernie" and "Rose Mary"; [n.p.,198?] Probably sent in conjunction with Gary Jolley's adoption of a pet bird. 198?.
446 Mickler, Evon. ALS "Evon and Hugh"; [Ponte Vedra Beach] May 22, 1986. 2 p. with envelope.-Accompanied with note card bearing address and unidentified numbers and with clipping from the St. Johns News?, May 2, 1986. 1986
447 Mickler, Hampton-Printed birthday card S. Hampton, Dot, and Family; [n.p., 198?]. Envelope addressed to Ernie. 198?.
448 Mickler, Jan. TLS with A.PS. to "Cousin Ernie"; Lookout Mountain, TN., March 4, 1986. 2 p.-Discusses Mickler family cooking and asks for autographed copy of WTC. 1986
449 Mickler, Kay. ALS; Greenville, Texas, Nov. 3, 1986. 2 p. with envelope. 1986
450 "Mickler, Molly" [Cal Yeomans] and "Polly": Printed greeting card with ANS "Molly" [Cal Yeomans] addressed to Mrs. Polly Mickler [E.M. Mickler] and Gary [Jolley]; [Micanopy, Jan. 4, 1987]. 1987
450 "Mickler, Molly" [Cal Yeomans] and "Polly": Recipe clipped from Ocala Star-Banner?, April 14, 1988, inscribed to "Dear Polly" [Jolley] frim Molly [Cal Yeomans]. 1988
450 "Mickler, Molly" [Cal Yeomans] and "Polly": TLS "Polly" to "Molly" [E.M. Mickler?]; Stock Island, FL., August 3, 1986. 3 p. Ironic letter in style of WTC. 3 p. with photograph with note on back. 1986
451 Mudgett, R. Stephen. ALS; New York, Dec. 16 [198?]. 2 p. with envelope and business card. 198?.
452 Mayfield, Walter P.: TLS with autograph notation; Springfield, MA., Feb. 16, 1987. 2 p. Accompanied by computer printed mss. for proposed Alabama Scrapbook (8 p.). 1987
452 Mayfield, Walter P.: ALS; Springfield, MA., March 15, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. 1987
453 Olson, Ron. A. postcard S; Burbank CA., May 19, 1987. 1987
454 Owen, Walter: A postcard S: "Boy Walter"; Washington, May 8, 1984. 1984
454 Owen, Walter: TLS; Washington, May 14, 1985. 2 p. with envelope. 1985
454 Owen, Walter: ALS; Washington, August 5, 1985. 2 p. 1985
454 Owen, Walter: ANS; Washington, June 29, 1985. Printed card with envelope. 1985
455 Parnell, Rick and Lew Begley. TLS "Rick and Lew"; Mesquite, TX., Feb. 9,1986. 1 p.-Congratulations and comments on WTC. 1986
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS; Winston-Salem, Jan. 27, 1985. 1 p. with envelope. Sending 100 copies to E.M. Mickler. With invoice, shipping record, and copy of post card from Roy Blount, Jr. 1985
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS; [Winston-Salem], Feb. 11, 1986. 1 p. 1986
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS; [Winston-Salem] Feb. 20, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS;[Winston-Salem] March 2, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS;[Winston-Salem] June 13, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
456 Patterson, Tom (re: publishing WTC): TLS;[Winston-Salem] July 16, 1986 1 p. 1986
457 Paxton, Colin Wilcox: 4 ALS; Highlands, N.C., May 10, 1986 - Oct. 22, 1986. 4 p. with envelopes. 1986
457 Paxton, Colin Wilcox: Ms. "Map for Mickler" showing route from Atlanta to Highlands. 2 p.
458 Pennington, Gail. ALS; [St. Louis, Nov.? 1986]. 3 p.-Accompanied by writers article on WTC from St. Louis Post-Dispatch?, Oct. 30, 1981. 1981, 1986
459 Proctor, Lister H.: TLS (copy) to Phil Wood, E.M. Mickler, et al?; Sylacauga, Ala., Jan. 9, 1987. 2 p. with envelope to E.M. Mickler. 1987
459 Proctor, Lister H.: TLS (copy) to Lawrence J. Siskand; Sylacauga, Ala., Feb. 9, 1987. 2p. with envelope addressed to E.M. Mickler. Accompanied by photocopies showing use of term White trash? in current newspapers. Writer is seeking damages on behalf of his client for unauthorized use of her photograph on the cover of WTC. 1987
460 Ragsdale, Raiford: TLS; Atlanta, March 24, 1986. 2 p. with envelope. Cal Yeomans visited recently and helped her get copies of WTC. Comments on book and recipes. 1986
460 Ragsdale, Raiford: ALS; Atlanta, April 3, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Slide enclosed of with copy of WTC included in window display of "chic" Atlanta shop. 1986
461 Reader's Digest (New York).-4 letters concerning permission to quote from WTC in forthcoming anthology; New York; May 21, 1987 - Sept. 16, 1987.\. 1987
462 Reuter, Laurel J.: TLS (copy to E.M. Mickler) to Nancy Dummer, Kohler Arts Center; Grand Forks, ND., May 8, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Encloses copy of WTC and advises of tour of WTC photographs. 1986
462 Reuter, Laurel J.: TLS to E.M. Mickler; [Grand Forks, ND] July 15, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Autograph note. 1986
462 Reuter, Laurel J.: TLS; Grand Forks, ND, Jan 12, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. 1987
462 Reuter, Laurel J.: TLS; Grand Forks, ND., May 20, 1988. 1p. with envelope. Accompanied by Jargon Society memorandum re: Election of Board Members and clipping from Grand Fork Herald?, Feb. 24, 1988, referring to WTC. 1988
463 Robinson, McFadden, Moore [et al?] (attorneys): TL to E.M. Mickler et al?.;Columbia, S.C., Nov. 25, 1986. 1 p. 1986
463 Robinson, McFadden, Moore [et al?] (attorneys): TLS (copy) Thomas W. Bunch, II, to Phil Wood, Ten Speed Press; Columbia, Dec. 1, 1986. 1p. Alleges copyright infringement by WTC against the Junior League of Charleston. 1986
464 Scott, Kendel: TLS; Orlando, Feb. 12, 1987. 2 p. Re: Orlando Public Library Dinner with the Authors. 1987
464 Scott, Kendel: TLS; Orlando, March 31, 1987. 1 p. accompanied by photocopy from the Orlando Sentinel?, March 30, 1987, re: WTC. 1987
465 Shelton, Phyllis. TLS; [Atlanta] Sept. 4, 1987. 1 p. with envelope.-Writing for Andy Ghertner, who has received no reply to his letter of July 9, 1987. 1987
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TLS; New York, Feb. 2, 1977. 1 p. E.M. Mickler's agent proposes changes for More White Trash Cooking. 1977
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TLS; New York, May 29, 1987. 1 p. 1987
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TLS; New York, June 29, 1987. Enclosing contract for Foot Washings to Dinner on the Ground. 1987
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TLS (copy) to George Young, 10-Speed Press; New York, July 2, 1987. 1 p. Proposed changes in contract. 1987
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): A. postcard S. ; [n.p., 1987] Concerning royalty payment from Book of the Month Club. 1987
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TLS; New York, January 7, 1988. 1 p. with envelope. Accompanied by enclosure: TLS (copy) for Phil Wood to Irene Skolnick; Berkeley, Dec. 21, 1987, (1 p.) concerning settlement of suits against WTC and plans for next book. 1987, 1988
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TL; New York, March 7, 1988. 1 p. with envelope re: pass through on share of royalties. 1988
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TL (copy to E.M. Mickler) to Thorns Craven; [New York] March 8, 1988. 1 p. Enclosing royalty check. Is leaving Wallace and Shiel at end of the month. 1988
466 Skolnick, Irene ( Wallace and Sheil Agency): TNS; New York, March 30, 1988. 1 p. Her last day with Wallace and Sheil Agency. 1988
467 Smith, Diann Sutherlin (Emerald City Press). TLS; Little Rock, Ark., Sept. 23, 1986. 1 p.-Enclosing copy of the Arkansas Handbook?. 1986
468 Somerlott, Robert C.: ALS "Bob" to E.M. Mickler; [n.p.] July 31, 1982. 2 pp. with ms. poem (1 p.) and ms. poem written in greeting card; San Miguel, Aug 23, 1982. 1982
468 Somerlott, Robert C.: TLS; San Miguel de Allende; Oct. 12 [198?] 1 p. with envelope. 198?.
468 Somerlott, Robert C.: ALS; San Miguel de Allende [1986?] 1 p. Congralutations of WTC and wants three more copies. circa 1986
468 Somerlott, Robert C.: Envelope addressed to E.M. Mickler; San Miguel Allende, Feb. 24, 1988. With clipping from [San Miguel?] News, Feb. 23, 1986, re: WTC. 1986, 1988
469 Swift, Ed. ALS; San Francisco [July 13, 1987?] 2 p. with envelope. Writer is proud of his part in WTC.-Accompanied by envelope addressed by E.M. Mickler to Swift with Swift's note about incomplete return address. circa 1987
470 Talbott, Jackie. ALS; Windner, GA., Sept. 24, 1986. 1 p. 1986
471 Thornton, Don. ALS; Sunnyvale, CA., Oct. 27, 1986. 1 p. Mentions interview and and is enclosing copy of review. 1986
472 Towery, Sarah Carlisle: A. postcard S. "S.C.T."; [Savannah, Aug. 25, 1977]. 1977
472 Towery, Sarah Carlisle: "United States of Dixie" placemat with Christmas greeting [from SCT?] and a note S. "Stella" about selling copies of WTC; Mobile, AL., Sea Ranch Restaurant. With envelope addressed to E.M. Mickler from Sarah C. Towery, Alexander City, AL., Dec. 14, 1985. 1985
473 Tyler, Phyllis. ALS; Raleigh, NC, Sept. 26, 1986. 2 p. with envelope. 1986
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TLS; New York, April 21, 1988. 1 p. regarding royalty payments and plans for Foot-Washings. Announces that Wallace and Shiel Agency is dissolving and that Irene Skolnik will join with Shiel. Asks E.M. Mickler to remain with Wallace. TLS (copy) from Jonathan Williams to George Young; Highlands, March 16, 1988, attached 2 p. 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TLS with A. annotation; New York, May 1, 1988. 1p. Asking E.M. Mickler to appoint her as literary agent, following dissolution of Wallace and Sheil Agency, inc. 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TL (E.M. Mickler's copy) to Thorns Craven; New York, April 21, 1988. with TLS (copy) from Gerry D. Jordan to Irene Skolnick attached; April 12, 1988. 1 p. Concerns a television offer from Earl Hamner for series based on WTC. Refers to attached letter, which is notification that Dwight/Whitney Enterprises "will not be continuing with the White Trash Cooking project.". 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TLS; New York, May 2, 1988. 1 p. 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TLS; New York, June 14 [1988]. 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TLS; New York; June 23, 1988. 1 p. Concern letter from Triad Artists. Has not received response to letter of May 1st. 1988
474 Wallace, Lois (Wallace Literary Agency, inc.): TL (copy to E.M. Mickler) to Thorns Craven; New York; June 23, 1988. 1p. Concerns television deal, apparently based on WTC concept. 1988
475 Watson, Jeanette. TLS to Jonathan Williams; New York, June 12, 1986.-Typed note from Williams to E.M. Mickler appended, asking him to call writer. With envelope. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TNS; [n.p. 1985?] 1 p. Typed on travel itinerary for Thomas Meyer and Jonathan Williams. circa 1985
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lord Nose" to Cousin Crisco; [Winston-Salem] April 24, 1985. 1 p. Outline pending trip to Blacksburg, Va., Washington, etc. 1 p. with envelope and printed description "About the Old Tobe Miller Place.". 1985
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS; Highlands, NC., Dec. 12, 1985. 1p Jargon Society has received unbound copy of WTC and jacket-proof [of WTC.] 1 p. 1985
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose"; Highlands, Jan. 8, 1986. 1p. with envelope. Discusses various matters re:WTC. Publication date set for April 27th. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS (copy) to Jenny S. Koortbajian; Highlands, March 20, 1986. 1 p. attached to recipents ALS to Jonathan Williams; [Hillsborough, NC.] March 14 [1986] 1 p. Exchange of views concerning WTC, especially Williams' preface. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose"; Highlands, April 9, 1986. 1p. with envelope. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TNS; Highlands, April 12, 1986. 1p. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose" to Chef White-Trash; Highlands, NC., June 12, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose" to "Lord Palm-Valley"; Highlands June 16, 1986. 1 p. Recipe for cocktail sauce enclosed. Has sent celebrities copies of WTC. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS (copy) to The Manager, Belk's Department Store, Asheville, NC; Highlands, June 30, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Protests that store will not permit E.M. Mickler to have autographing party. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: Typed postcard S.; Corn Close [U.K.] Sept. 15, 1986. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS (copy) to Judith Moore; Corn Close, Oct. 23, 1986. 1 p. Typed note to E.M. Mickler on verso. Responds to her review of WTC, apparently in the Express?. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Big Enis"; Highlands, December 18, 1986. 1 p. with envelope. Has written Guggenheim Foundation about E.M. Mickler. Discusses problem with Junior League of Charleston over copyright infringement. 1986
476 Williams, Jonathan: Typed postcard S. "Lord Nose"; Highlands, Jan. 12, 1987. Reminds him about finding place for English friend of Williams. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose" to "Carmen Miranda of Moccasin Branch;" Highlands, March 4, 1987. 1 p. Envelope and enclosure of testimonials about WTC and program on William Carlos Williams. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose"; Highlands, March 8, 1987. 1 p. Refers to enclosed letter to Williams from Jeanette Watson, manager of Books and Co.; New York, March 4, 1987, concerning visit by E.M. Mickler to store. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose" to "Uncle Cooter"; Highlands, March 3, 1987. 1 p. Mentions litigation over cover of WTC and some lost photos, apparently belonging to E.M. Mickler. Photocopy of article on Williams from Small Press?, Sept./Oct., 1985, attached. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: Typed postcard; Highlands, April 1, 1987. Photograph on post card is of Jonathan Williams. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Lawd Nose"; Highlands, May 14, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. Copies of reviews of WTC enclosed. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS "Cousin Jeeter"; Corn Close, Sept. 6, 1987. 1 p.with envelopes. Several book and gallery announcements enclosed. 1987
476 Williams, Jonathan: TLS to Cal Yeomans; Highlands [Jan., 1990?] 1p. with copy of TLS from B. Craig Killough (attorney) to Thorns Craven; Charleston, March 3, 1989, and from Jonathan Williams to Killough; Highlands, March 7, 1989, regarding Junior League suit against WTC. Letter concerns problems with settlement of E.M. Mickler's estate and problems with Ten Speed and Jargon. 1989-1990
477 Willingham, Helen. TLS; Vero Beach, FL. Oct. 20, 1987. 1 p. with envelope. Concerns AAUW Author Luncheon. 1987
478 Wolcott, Anthony G.: TLS "Kit"; Arlington, Va. June 19, 1984, with copies of letters to to Jonathan Williams, Alex Gotfried, and Evelyn P. Metzger; Arlington, Va., June 19, 1984, all recommending they consider WTC for publication. 1984
478 Wolcott, Anthony G.: TLS; Arlington, Oct. 2, 1984. 2 p. re: arrangements for E.M. Mickler to look after property in Key West. 1984
478 Wolcott, Anthony G.: TLS "Kit"(copy to E.M. Mickler) to Richard [Green Keys Nursery, Key West]; [n.p., April 2, 1986. 1 p. re: irrigation system for Robert Alfandre with copy of proposal attached. 1986
478 Wolcott, Anthony G.: ALS "Kit,"; [n.p.] May 31, 1986. 6 p. Has retained attorny to represent E.M. Mickler, asks his help in moving some belonging, and confirms details of E.M. Mickler trip to England. 1986
478 Wolcott, Anthony G.: ANS to Ernie and Gary; [n.[.,n.d.] 2 p. on printed note paper showing the Gadsby Press. With envelope.
479 Wood, Memphis: ALS; [Atlanta, June 12, 1985] 2 p. with envelope. 1985
479 Wood, Memphis: ALS; [Atlanta, Feb. 4, 1986] 2 p. with envelope. 1986
479 Wood, Memphis: TLS; [Atlanta, March 3, 1986] 3 p. with envelope. On printed stationery with picture of writer's residence. 1986
479 Wood, Memphis: TLS; [n.p., 1986?] 1 p. with envelope and clipping about WTC. circa 1986
479 Wood, Memphis: Postcard S.; Atlanta, Oct. 31, 1988. 1988
479 Wood, Memphis: TLS; [Atlanta] May 15 [1988] 2 p. with envelope. 1988
51 Wood, Memphis: handwritten letter, unsigned (probably written by Ernest Mickler).
52 [WTC Letters]: Twenty "fan letters" to E.M. Mickler; [v.p.,v.d.].-Letters from WTC readers, mostly favorable, apparently unknown to E.M. Mickler. Most are addressed to Ten Speed Press.
53 Yeomans, Cal: Note accompanying unopened document from First Federal Savings and Loan, Key West; [n.p.; n.d.].
53 Yeomans, Cal: TLS; Center, Dec. 7, 1983. 1 p. 1983
53 Yeomans, Cal: ANS; [Micanopy, FL, July 2, 1986]; 2p. and ms. recipe. Envelope. 1986
53 Yeomans, Cal: A. postcard S. to Ernie and Gary Jolley; Micanopy, Jan, 12, 1987. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: ANS to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley, [Micanopy?] June 30, 1987. Printed card with envelope. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: ALS to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley; San Francisco [Sept., 1987] 1 p. written on verso of printed advertisement. Has just given reading in Los Angeles and visiting in northern California before rturning home. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: ALS; [Crystal River, Fl.] 1987. 2 p. Is sending some recipes from Vada' box. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: ALS to [E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley]; [Micanopy?] July 11, 1987. 2 p. with envelope. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: A. postcard S; [Micanopy?] Oct. 16, 1987. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: ANS on flyer promoting Southeastern Arts, Media and Education Project (SAME); [n.p.,n.d.] With program for James Carroll Pickett's Bathhouse Benediction? and Robert Chesley's Jerker?.
53 Yeomans, Cal: ALS; Micanopy, Nov. 10, 1987. 6p. Has read stories and gives some advice about writing. 1987
53 Yeomans, Cal: Purple Stage.. Presents Cal Yeoman's Poems, Fragments, Pieces, Pictures..; flyer with inscription to [E.M. Mickler].
53 Yeomans, Cal: Foster, Barbara, "Recipes in the Past Weren't Just for Food"; [column from Gainesville Sun, n.d.]. With AN by [Cal Yeomans?].
54 Yeomans, Vada. ALS; Crystal River, Oct. 13, 1984. 2 p. with envelope. 1984
55 Unidentified Correspondent: TLS "Kent"; Naples, FL., March 23, 1984. 2 p., including cheese cake recipe. 1984
55 Unidentified Correspondent: AN on printed "Thank-You" card; Kinston, NC, June 12, 1986. 1986
55 Unidentified Correspondent: ANS "Jim" to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley;[n.p.]April 1, 1988. 1988
55 Unidentified Correspondent: TLS "Tom [probably either Thomas Patterson, or Thomas Meyer, Jargon Society]; Highlands, NC., April 13, 1988. 1 p. Enclosing the recipe files sorted in sections. Has made a few changes of text [in SS]. 1988
55 Unidentified Correspondent: Clipping of article on kudzu by David Treadwell; Los Angeles Times, April 22, 1988 with ANS (John?). 1988



Personal Papers of and Papers Relating to Ernest M. Mickler.



Box Folder
56 Ernie Mickler. Interview by Cal Yeomans, Crescent Beach, Oct. 7-8, 1988. 118 pp. Transcription of taped interview. 1988
57 Addresses and envelopes. Addresses written on various papers, some in E.M. Mickler's hand. Empty envelopes, probably saved for the address. Executive Data Book for 1987; many addresses -Includes some miscellaneous lists and notes.written in Address section. 1987
58 Automobile Papers: Certificate of Title for 1984 Chevrolet, transferred from E.M. Mickler to Gary Dale Jolley; Dec. 28, 1987. Rental agreement between Yarborough Companies, St. Augustine, and E.M. Mickler; June 2, 1987. Service receipts. Insurance policies with Liberty Mutual. Registration form. 1984, 1987
59 Birth Certificate (2 certified copies); Ernest Matthew Mickler, born St. Vincent's Hospital, Duval County, August 23, 1940. 1940
510 Miscellaneous Business Papers: Bank, library, and voter registration cards. Bills and receipts. Record of Expenses S. E.M. Mickler; [n.p., n.d]. Form letter from Fidelity National Card Services; Baton Rouge, July 1, 1986, denying VISA card application. "911 Task Force" forms; United States Postal Service and St. John County, FL. Receipts for certified and insured mail. Copy of invitation to party honoring "the publication of White Trash Cooking.. February 19, 1986.. Key West.. " Video Magic Membership card. Copies of bills. Airline ticket copies. A.Ms. with flight information and drawing. 1986
511 Deposit Receipt and Purchase Sales Agreement form S. by E.M. Mickler offering William Rawle $68,000 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 2, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A. With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p. A copies). Deposit Receipt and Purchase Sales Agreement form S. by E.M. Mickler offering William Rawle $71,500 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 4, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A and B. With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p. Deposit Receipt and Purchase Sales Agreement form(copy) S. by E.M. Mickler and William Rawle offering $71,500 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 4, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A, B and C. With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p. 1986
512 Funeral Register and Service. "In memory of E.M. Mickler.. entered into rest, November 15, 1988, Moccasin Branch, Elkton, F1." Funeral Service Program; "In memory of Ernest Matthew Mickler.. St. Ambrose Catholic Church, Elkton, Fl. 1988
513 Inscription. A inscription S. 1 p. taped to ANS "Lynwood" [Dyal] to Cal [Yeomans]; [n.p.] Nov. 12, 1988 with a second note from Lynwood to Cal and a message concerning E.M. Mickler's hospitalization; Nov. 4 [1988]. Photocopy of title page from SS, including the same inscription as above. (The original is found in Box 3, #1.). 1988
514 Release for use of photographs to E.M. Mickler from various people; [v.p., v.d.].
515 Typed resume; Ernest Mathew Mickler; [n.p., 1977?]. circa 1977
516 White Trash Cooking copyright registration form (copy) with copy of money order and blank form.
517 WTC Publicity. Press release about E.M. Mickler; itinerary for several tours (1987); collection of testimonials. 1987
518 Last Will and Testament of E.M. Mickler (unsigned draft, 1987. 3 p. accompanied by TLS from Lucinda H. Young (attorney); Jacksonville, Nov. 5, 1987. 1 p. 1987
519 Credit Bureau of St. Augustine. Printed letter; St. Augustine, November 9, 1987. 1 with copy of credit report. 1987
520 Great Western Savings. Form letter S.; Jacksonville, November 18, 1986. Denies request for property loan. Accompanied by ANS from Frank Jernigan, loan agent. 1986
521 Jargon Society. Letter of Agreement between Jargon Society and E.M. Mickler for publication of WTC; Winston-Salem [n.d.] 3 p. Invoices for copies of WTC sold to E.M. Mickler;. February 11 and March 26, 1986. Ernest Matthew Mickler. The Jargon Society invites you.. in honor of Jonathan Williams' 57th birthday at Ranleigh, McLean, Virginia, Saturday, March 8th, 1986, 7 pm.. [printed invitation]. Ernest Matthew Mickler.. and White Trash Cooking on Southern Safari, August 1986.. [Itinerary of book signing trip in Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.]. Printed memo to Jargon Board Members and Others.. from Tom Patterson.. re:.. Jargon Weekend; January 21, 1987. [Includes WTC photography tour] With A. notes by E.M. Mickler. "White Trash Cooking.. Publication date: April 27th, 1986." Printed testimonials for WTC. Cancelled check and copy of chek to E.M. Mickler. Royalty statement. Flyer advertising St. EOM in the Land of Pasaguan, published by the Jargon Society. 1986-1987
522 Johnson, Meredith. South in My Mouth. [Atlanta, 1984] Inscribed to E.M. Mickler. 1984
523 Jolley, Gary Dale. Miscellaneous business papers of Gary Jolley: t documents, receipts, check book, etc.
524 Miami Book Fair (1987). Contract for performance, Nov. 15, 1987; November 2, 1987 accompanied by TLS from Yilliam C. Coppolechia; [Miami] Nov. 3, 1987. LS Barbars Skigen; [Miami] Oct. 23, 1987. 2 p. Welcoming E.M. Mickler as guest on Epicure Row at the fair. Blank form "Epicure Row 1987," 2 copies. Map of exhibition area with ms. directions. 1987
525 O'Dell, David (Visting Nurses Association, Duval County). ANS to E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley, Jacksonville, July 11, 1988. 1 p. re: pharmaceutical discount with printed material on Aids-Arc Discount Modification Program. 1988
526 Pruzan, Robert, photographer. 1987 South of Market Bare Chest Calendar. [San Francisco, S. F. Eagle, 1986] Inscribed to Ernie and Gary. 1986, 1987
527 "A Real Georgian.." printed sheet; inscribed to Ernie by KGB, 1985. 1985
528 Sarton, May. Letters from Maine. New York [1984]. WTC brochure with a note from E.M. Mickler to Gary Jolley inserted. All in an envelope with a notation by Cal Yeomans. 1984
529 Slaughter, William, Typed Ms. Poem. "Losing My Innocence"; Washington [n.d.]. 2 pp. inscribed to Bob and Ernie.
530 Ten Speed Press (Berkeley, CA). Typed proposal (copy) signed by Phil Wood and George Young for purchasing rights to WTC from the Jargon Society. Statements of account. Address of Ten Speed Press in E.M. Mickler's hand. Envelopes from Ten Speed Press addressed to E.M. Mickler.
531 Wallace and Sheil Agency, Inc. (New York) Statement of accounts of E.M. Mickler; Sept., 1987 - June, 1988. Envelopes. 1987-1988
532 Family history.
533 Education documents including grades, applications, and Masters thesis.



Miscellaneous Publications and Papers.



Box Folder
534 "America, My Country," ms. poem. 3 pp. In unidentified hand.
535 Anderson, Donald - The Paintings of Donald Anderson.. North Dakota Museum of Art, Grand Forks, ND, Oct. 8 - Nov. 15, 1987. With envelope addressed to E.M. Mickler. 1987
536 Arrants, Clifford Beatrice Bishop. Yesterday Tomorrow. Aunt Cliff. [Palatka, FL.] Placebo Press, 1985. Poems with ms. corrections. 1985
537 Babson, Elizabeth Dillard. Creative Cooking with the North Carolina Ramp. [Asheville, n.d.].
61 Betty Crocker's Party Book. New York, Golden Press.
62 Costume mask from Madame Tussaud's collection.
63 Dinner with the Authors Clippings from Today, Feb. 15, 16, and 21, 1983. 1983
64 Dionne quintet calendar. 1950
65 Duval Aids Care and Education (DACE) portfolio of information for HIV-positive individuals.
66 Johnson, Ronald, "And Sauce the Burning Lava Flow," a Bouquet of the Uncookable." Typescript (copy). Signed by the author.
67 Jonathan Williams' Day Book, ;week no.4; printed leaflet.
68 Kahn, Gus, "The Kinky Kid Parade" [music score] New York, Leo. Feist, 1925. 1925
69 Liberty magazine calendar for 1932 [1988]. 1932, 1988
610 Clippings and pages from the Macon (Ga) County Times [v.d., 1987] Includes columns by Melissa [Falls]. 1987
611 Mills, Evelyn. Typed ms., "If I'd Only Listened to Daddy.".
612 Owens, Walter. Original work of art. Signed; Owens '84. 1984
613 Publishers Catalogs Doubleday, Spring and Winter, 1988 Bantam, 1987-88; Summer, 1988. 1988
614 Real estate and soil maps; St. Johns County, Fl.
615 United Daughters of Confederacy Magazine, v. 40, no.5 (May, 1987). 1987
616 Young, Joyce LaFray. Tropic Cooking; the New Cuisine from Florida and the Islands of the Caribbean. [Berkeley, Ca., Ten Speed Press] 1987. 1987
617 WTC pin-on button, etc.
618 Printed business cards, cash register receipts.
619 Miscellaneous clippings, copies from magazines, newsletters, etc.



Andrew Holleran Writings.



Box Folder
620 Hollern, A., "Advise and Castrate," New York Native Sept. 23, 1989, p. 15-18. 1989
621 Hollern, A., "Black is Black," Village Voice, April 3, 1990, p.39. 1990
622 Hollern, A., "Letter from Home: Keystone Heights," copies from unidentified magazine. With note from Cal Yeomans attached.
623 Wigway, Dec., 1990 [Article by Andrew Holleran about Gainesville Murders]. 1990
624 Christopher Street Issues, no. 89, 90, 96, 99, 112-114 [v8, no. 5, 1984 - v. 12, no.3, 1989] Each issue contains Holleran's "New York Notebook." Some issues contain additional articles. 1984-1989
71 Christopher Street Issues, no. 115-121 [v8, no. 5, 1984 - v. 12, no.3, 1989] Each issue contains Holleran's "New York Notebook." Some issues contain additional articles. 1987-1988
72 Christopher Street Issues, no. 122-124, 126-129, 132, 135 [v8, no. 5, 1984 - v. 12, no.3, 1989] Each issue contains Holleran's "New York Notebook." Some issues contain additional articles. 1988-1989



Cal Yeomans Papers.



Box Folder
73 Chesley, R.-Letter, Writing. T.L.S. from Robert Chesley; San Francisco, Jan. 10, 1990. 3 p. Photo and typed ms. (copy) of Chesley's Gay Theatre for the 90's attached. 6 p. Chesley. Private Theatricals; Morning, Noon and Night Obituary Notice; Robert Chesly, 1943-1990, from San Francisco Bay Guardian; Dec. 17, 1990. 1990
74 White, Edmund. "Out of the Closet; onto the Bookshelf," New York Times Magazine, June 16, 1991, p. 22-24,35. 1991
75 Bukovnik, Gary. Flowers. New York, Abrams, 1990. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, Easter, 1991. 1990, 1991
76 Patrick, Robert. Untold Decades. New York., St. Martins Press, 1988. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989. 1988, 1989
77 Patrick, Robert. Mercy Drops and Other Plays. N.Y. Calamus Books, 1979. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989. Kennedy's Children. N. Y., Samuel French. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989. Theatre Programs for his Judas. Trial of Socrates. 1979, 1989
78 Williams, Jonathan. Quote. Unquote. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans.
79 Yeomans, Cal. Program from The Monk and the Hangman's Daughter; a Folk Opera. [Atlantic Center for the Arts, May 7-8, 1985). The Line Forms at the Rear; typed ms. (copy). Crystal River, 1980. 1985
79 Yeomans, Cal. Review (photocopy) of performance of Sunsets: a Trilogy by Cal Yeomans. Bay Area Reporter, Sept. 16, 1982. 1982
79 Yeomans, Cal. "Cal Yeomans Reading from Pieces of Way.. New York.. October 10, 1986." In envelope inscribed to E.M. Mickler. 1986
79 Yeomans, Cal. "Calvin Yeomans, CS Portfolio," Christopher Street, no. 114, p. 40-47.



Photographs and Videos.



Box
9 A-J.
9 K-T.
10 One plastic box marked U-BB. Rolls CC-GG have been inserted.
10 One envelope containing roll HH and processing envelopes for CC-HH. The envelope for EE is labelled "Jolley Family," apparently photographs taken on a trip to North Carolina by E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley.
10 Video Cassette: Key West Video, Jan. 12, 1986-Jan. 22, 1986. EPCOT, Curry House, Ernest Mickler, Mallory Square, Fairchild Gardens, Everglades. 1986
10 Video Cassette: Dinner with the Authors, 1986. 1986
10 Video Cassette: Dinner with the Authors, 1987. Length: 58:00, Date: April 22, 1987. Copyright 1987, the Orlando Sentinel. 1987
10 Video Cassette: White Trash Cooking, Newscenter 39, Aircheck, Nov. 17, 1986. San Diego, KCST. 1986
10 Video Cassette: Ernie on David Letterman.


Box Folder
710 Photographic negatives of pictures in boxes 11 and 12. Mounted in plastic sheets, labelled A-Z and AA-HH. Filed in loose-leaf notebook.
711 Color photograph ( trimmed to 8' x 8 ") of Cal Yeomans (nude) and woman identified as Debby; mounted with ANS to E.M. Mickler on verso; Key West, December, 1985. Signed by Photographer Michael Haykin(?). 1985
712 Two mounted photographs of E.M. Mickler by Cal Yeomans; black and white photo, "Ernie, Key West, Summer, 1985," and color photo with ANS "Cal Yeomans, Key West, 1985" on front and verso of mount. 1985
81 B&W negatives and prints of E.M. Mickler with envelope marked "Cover jacket photos.".
82 Photographs of E.M. Mickler and Gary Jolley (B&W). Three 1x1 1 1/2 photos mounted on [Valentine's?] card, annotated "Ernie and Gary," Key West, 1986. Signed - One (5x7) photo of Gary Jolley. Inscribed on verso "To Mother with Love, Gary," Key West, 1986.inside, "Cal" [Yeomans].-Two (5x7) photos of Gary Jolley and E.M. Mickler. 1986
83 Eleven colored slides of E.M. Mickler and unidentified woman; Feb., 1986. 1986
84 Sheet (8 1/2 x 11) of twenty-four b&w individual portraits of E.M. Mickler (1x1 1/2").
85 B&W photograph (8 1/2 x 11) of E.M. Mickler receiving diploma at Mills College. Photo by Larry Tiscornia, San Francisco Chronicle.
86 B&W photograph of E.M. Mickler signing copies of WTC at the Book Collection, Greensboro, NC. Event and participants described on verso. Accompanied by ANS "Carol Lock," of the Book Collection, Sept. 10, 1986.
87 Ten B&W photographs of E.M. Mickler preparing food. Identified on back as "print property of Time Inc." Mailed to E.M. Mickler, September 8, 1986. 1986
88 B&W photograph (8 1/2x11) of E.M. Mickler with fry pan and copy of WTC.
89 Two B&W photographs of E.M. Mickler with dog and peacock. Accompanied by explanatory letter from St. Augustine Record writer, Feb. 29, 1989. 1989
810 Thirteen b&w photographs (8 1/2x11) numbered consecutively on verso of an unidentified artistic or dramatic performance.


Box
8 Celebrity photographs: Photographs removed to Belknap Collection. BW photo of Stephan Boyd signed "Best Wishes" as Messala in Ben Hu (Printed note on back). B&W photograph of Skeeter Davis (Inscribed to E.M. Mickler. Also inscribed to Ernie by Ralph Emery). B&W photograph of Connie Francis inscribed to E.M. Mickler.


Box Folder
811 Color photograph (8 1/2 x 11) of cake. Proposed cover photograph for SS. In paper cover.
812 Color photograph of unidentified woman. Inscribed, "To Molly from Polly.." Mounted signed: Don Van Der Linden, photographer(?).
813 Black and white photographs (prior to 1950), possibly Mickler family. prior to 1950.
814 Nude male photographs; 3 1/2" x 5" photograph of E.M. Mickler at beach. 4 4"x6" photos of E.M. Mickler and others. Processed July, 1983. 1 negative roll with 22 4"x6" prints, including several nude shots of Gary Jolley. Roll also includes seascapes and domestic photos. One print from this roll is mounted on the scrapbook pages noted below. 2 4"x6" nude photos of Gary Jolley and homoerotic photo of unidentified male. 17 4"x6" photos mounted on scrapbook sheets. Include E.M. Mickler, Gary Jolley, and unidentified others. 1983
815 Renfern, Robert C. "Bobby", Nov. 6, 1944-April 19, 1987. Color photograph (5x4 1/2). 1987
816 Postcards-Blank picture postcards of various sizes and scenes. 1 note card with cover photo of watermelons.


Box
12 Colored slides in plastic box of Mexican weaving and embroidery. 32 slides. 1977-1981


Box Folder
817 Color photographs (14) of Mickler with Gary Jolley and friends.
818 Three black and white photographs of Ernest Mickler as a young man.



Miscellaneous Photographs.



Box Folder
111 Two rolls (55 prints), apparently taken in Hawaii, Oct. 1987(?). circa 1987
112 20 photos of details of a weaving (by E.M. Mickler?). "And also Ernie Mickler" overlaid on weaving.
113 26 photos, apparently from a book signing trip.
114 2 photos of bullet-riddled kitchen range.
115 38 photos of group, possibly a Mickler family/friends gathering.
116 Two rolls of photos of North Florida(?) woods/cypress swamp, incl. E.M. Mickler and friends.
117 27 photos from the Washington, D.C. area, incl. E.M. Mickler.
118 22 photos ( 3 1/2" x 5"), some apparently taken in NF at E.M. Mickler home(?) and others around Mount Mitchell, NC. Envelope marked "Rosemary [Rinni?], Ernie, etc.".
119 31 photos (3 1/2" x 5") of a social event, probably a Jargon Society gathering. Includes E.M. Mickler and Jonathan Williams.
1110 21 photos (3 1/2 x 5) of New York City scenes, especially around Central Park.
1111 Negative roll and partial prints of small group in a home, featuring a zebra rug. Includes six additional prints which appear to be of same gathering, but which are from a different roll.
1112 21 photos, incl. exterior and interior photos of [E.M. Mickler's home in Elkton?]; domestic animals, church cemetery, etc.
1113 21 Domestic photos, including E.M. Mickler and group. Includes photo of roadside stand, advertising WTC, which was used on cover of SS.
1114 Informal gathering of friends, including sea and boat scenes. Probably taken in Key West. Includes 6 photos of E.M. Mickler, Gary Jolley, and others.
1115 Negatives only of various scenes, including deer and scenes from London. Probably taken on E.M. Mickler's trip to England to visit Kit Wolcott. Eight prints similar in content, but from a different roll, are included.
1116 Six negatives and 49 prints. Photos appear to be of birthday party for Jonathan Williams, held at Ranleigh, McLean, Va., March 8, 1986. The envelope also contains six smaller photos from the same party labelled on verso "Photo: J M Edelstein, March 8, 1986,". 1986
1117 Photographs of crossed-dressed males, including one roll of negatives in envelope marked: "First Ladies - Trick or Treat.", 1 strip of four negatives, and a disc negative. Includes 24 different prints, with multiple copies of two.
1118 Strip of four negatives, including E.M. Mickler in a domestic setting.
1119 Negative roll taken at cemetery with tombstone of Lt. W. A. Mickler, C.S.A.
1120 Two rolls of photos of peacocks and other fowl. Probably taken at Elkton.
1121 18 Miscellaneous photos, primarily of caged fowl and other domestic animals.
1122 3 Culinary photographs, incl. E.M. Mickler cooking.
1123 11 Domestic photos; location unknown.
1124 8 photos of picnic scene, apparently at St. Ambrose Church at Moccasin Branch.
1125 2 domestic scenes. Inscribed "Your 'White Trash Family' " on verso; Jan.
1126 19 photos of dilapidated chairs.
1127 Photograph of moth on wall; with processing envelope made out to John W. Keasler, Los Angeles, March 25, 1988. 1988
1128 Swimming pool scenes and costume festival; Key West?.
1129 Mardi Gras scenes; also. still photos of vegetables; New Orleans?.
1130 Photographs probably from Mexico; 1980. 1980
1131 E.M. Mickler and friends; Monterey, 6 oct. 1982. Inscribed on verso to Bob and Ernest from Carlos. 1982
1132 Photographs of E.M. Mickler and various unidentified friends.
1133 Photographs of various scenes and people.
1134 Publicity photo of E.M. Mickler taken by Cal Yeomans, 1988 with ANS by "Cal.".
1135 Two photos of E.M. Mickler and friends from the Oasis (Key West), Jan. 1984. Iron on stove, Sept. 1981, published in WTC, and 3 photos stamped Sept. 1984 on verso, probably from guest house in Key West. 1984
1136 Two photos of individual men; Sept. 1984. 1984
1137 5" x 7" exterior photograph of home. This house appears in numerous photographs throughout the collection and may be E.M. Mickler's home at Elkton, Fl.
1138 Photo of Cal Yeoman inscribed to E.M. Mickler, date 1985; photo of unidentified man with note on verso from Cal Yeoman for "real good big '86!". 1985
1139 Photographs of men and women swimming.
1140 Photos at Yardley(?) Cottage, including E.M. Mickler.
1141 Photos of E.M. Mickler at book signing.
1142 Miscellaneous photos.-Two unidentified women; March, 1971.-3 small studio portraits, school pictures and wedding couple.-Polaroid photo of E.M. Mickler and unidentified man. Polaroid of man, identified as Frederick Hartley on verso, cooking stew. 1971
1143 Two photos (3 1/2x5 and 5x7) of E.M. Mickler lying on ground with pigs in the background. The same, or similar, photograph was published in the dust jacket of WTC.
1144 14 photographs of a group dinner, sea scenes, and food. Key West?.
1145 Miscellaneous photographs of mixed sizes, most including E.M. Mickler.
1146 Outdoors photographs, including wildflowers, inland waterways, beach, and sea. Numerous photos of E.M. Mickler, Gary Jolley, and unidentified friends.
1147 9 photographs of E.M. Mickler, Gary Jolley, and unidentified men.
1148 Black and White Photos.-1 photo of woman, inscribed with note [to E.M. Mickler) on verso. The Studio 1986.. Love, Stephen and Tommy"; with envelope; Savannah, 12 Dec. 1986.-Couple, in envelope marked "Ernie (White Trash Cookbook).". 1986
1149 Post card of hotel pool in Merida, Mexico, with cut-outs of nude male and of a female figure.



GA: A Monthly Gay Magazine.



Box Folder
819 GA: A Monthly Gay Magazine no. 30, 32, 34-37. 1988-1989
820 GA: A Monthly Gay Magazine no. 38-41, 43. 1989



Book Copies.



Box
8 White Trash Cooking (Hardcover and spiral).
8 Sinkin Spells, Hot Flashes, Fits and Cravins (2 spiral copies).



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

cookbooks
Cooking, American -- Southern style.
Cooking.
Holleran, Andrew.
Homosexuality and literature.
Jargon Society.
Jolley, Gary Dale.
Mickler family.
photographs
United States.
Williams, Jonathan, 1929-2008.
Yeomans, Cal, 1938-2001.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page