Skip to Search

Archives of The Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society
1988 - 
3 feet; 6 boxes

Contents: The Archives of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society contain the official records of the Society, other Society documentation, and material in divers formats relating directly, or indirectly to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. The Official Records primarily document the business of the Board of Trustees.

Much of the Rawlings related material is clippings which commemorate her life, her home at Cross Creek, or specific topics which have been newsworthy. The series also contains magazine articles, copies of some derivative work based on her writings, copies of letters and other Rawlings documents, which have been donated to the Society, and some commercial and home made audio and video tapes and film relating to Rawlings or associated topics.

Organization: The Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society was incorporated as a not for profit, Florida  organization in 1987. Its purposes include promoting interest in the work, career and legacy of Marjorie Kinnan  Rawlings, participation in the preservation of her home at Cross Creek, and the development of educational programs related to her. It is governed by an elected Board of Trustees and an Executive Director, elected by the Trustees. Business is also conducted at membership meetings, held annually since 1988. The membership meetings also present numerous sessions and events. According to the bylaws of the Society the Archives consist of "ephemera, books, manuscripts, or other items pertaining to the purpose of the Society."

The Archives of the Society are deposited in the Department of Special and Area Studies of the George A. Smathers Libraries of the University of Florida and are open to all qualified researchers, but remain the property of the Society.  

Related Records: For additional MKR Society Records, dated 1986-1994, see the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Papers of the University of Florida. 4 folders.


 

Series I.                  Records of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society

Box 1. 

Articles of Incorporation and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society, Inc., Xerox copy. Filed July 13, 1987, Secretary of State, Tallahassee, Florida.
Bylaws of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society (Xerox) "Adopted March 20, 1993."

 Official Society Records, 1990-1993, 1995-2003. Arranged chronologically in one folder per year, 14 folders. Contains primarily documents distributed at Trustees and Annual Meetings of the Society, i.e. Agenda, Minutes, Reports of the Treasurer and other officers, annual meeting programs, directories of Trustees and members, etc. Contains some presidential and other Society correspondence, especially during the term of John Ingram (1997-2001).

Box 2

Treasurer (Jake Jacoway). Collection of reports, gathered April 19, 1999, of reports for the Annual Conference, 1997-1998, and Periodic reports, January 23, 1996-March 31, 1999.

Newsletter of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society, v. 3, 1990-v. 16, 2003. 4 issues per year. Lacking: v. 6, #4 (1993); v. 7 (1994); v. 8 #1,4 (1995); v.9 #1-2,4 (1996); v. 12 #2 (1999); v. 14 #3-4 (2000); v. 15 #1 (2001); v. 16 #1,3 (2003).

Portfolio of material re the 2nd Annual Meeting of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society, Marineland, Florida, Nov. 2, 1990. Includes 19 colored photographs.

Meeting, 1997. 10 color photographs (9-4x6" and 1 panoramic 4x10") from the meeting.

Meeting, 1999, Sanford. Color panoramic (4x12") of meeting attendees.

Film presented to the Society by Bee McNeil. Xerox of letters from McNeil  [1992 or 1993?] and copy of letter (fragment) June 27, 1985, and from Kate Crumley to Phil May, July 29, 1993.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Box 3.      Videos of the 1st Annual MKR Society Meeting (Tarr, Prenshaw, Silverthorne, Acton). 4 copies of set of 2 videos.

Posters from the MKRS annual meetings: 1st Annual Meeting of the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society, 1988, Gainesville, FL (Signed: J. T. Glisson); 2nd, 1989, St. Augustine, FL; 5th, 1992, Gainesville and Cross Creek, FL; 6th, 1993, Palatka, FL; 7th, 1994, Tampa, FL; 9th, 1996, Gainesville and Cross Creek, FL; 10th, Winter Park, FL; 11th, 1998, St. Augustine, FL (2); 12th, 1999, Sanford, FL; 13th, 2000, St. Petersburg, FL.; 14th, 2001: Fernandina Beach, FL (2); 15th, 2002, Mt. Dora, FL; 16th, 2003, Cocoa Beach, FL (2); 17th, 2004, Apalachicola, FL; 18th, 2005, Crystal River, FL; 19th, 2006, Winter Park, FL; 20th, 2007, Cedar Key, FL (2) . In Oversize Box 6.

Other annual meeting posters: 4th, 1991, Jacksonville, FL; and 21st, 2008, Asheville, NC (6). Stored in Manuscripts map drawer.

Series II.                 Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Material

Box 4:

Marriage license and certificate of Norton Sanford Baskin and Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, St. Augustine, Fl. 27 October 1941.

Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS (Xerox) to [Robert] Sisk, 12/21/48. Accompanied by an unrelated T.Ms.S. (Xerox) of poem, Apology to an Old House.

Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS (Xerox) to Mrs. Cleveland Johnson, April 7, 1951 re treatment of dog in The Sojourner(?)

Nolan, David. Eulogy for Norton Baskin, August 19, 1997, typed ms., and copies of Baskin obituaries.

Sykes, Lloyd Millard. A Real Life Story, A.Ms.S, memoir (9p.), including reminiscences of Charles and Marjorie Rawlings. Accompanied by a typed ms. (2p.) re Sykes and the memoir.

Fuller, Richard A. "Cross Creek," storyboard for audio tape for people visiting Cross Creek [ca. 1991] 26 p.

Vintage Players (Jacksonville?) Program for short dramas, including adaptation of "Cocks Must Crow," by Ray Bandy. Includes for photos and letter from adapter, 2001.

Newspaper clippings (Xerox copies) contemporaneous with Rawlings, 1941-1953
Newspaper clippings (Xerox copies) 1984-1989
Newspaper clippings (newsprint copies) 1990-2002 
Newspaper clippings (Xerox copies) 1990-2004.
Newspaper clippings (Xerox copies) re to Blood of My Blood ownership, 1990-1992.
Newspaper clippings (Xerox copies) re preservation of The Yearling manuscript, 1991.

Periodical and book articles, 1991-1999. 10 items.

Ephemera - Collection of announcements for events and performances re to MKR, 1991-2004. ca, 20 items.

Photo of Rawlings, Norton Baskin, two unidentified women, perhaps Norton's mother and a sister, and a pointer dog [Moe?] Comparison of detail with photo #110 in the Smathers Libraries Rawlings collection, indicates that this photo was taken in Union Springs, AL, probably at the Baskin home.

Critique of The Yearling by Charles Raines (Monarch Notes.) Computer print out.

Box 5: Audio-Visuals (Audio, Film, Videos)


                  a) Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. Short Stories, read by Melissa Hughes (4 audio tapes) 4 hours.

                  b) Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings on film (16 mm film, 400 feet (Bee McNeills home movies (1939?).  

                  c) Saperstein, Marjorie, 1953-54 (VHS) Cross Creek Tourist Movie, 12 minutes.

d)      Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings (Video Lecture Series) 32:50 minutes.

e)      Cross Creek Martha & Will Mickens (VHS)

f)      Baskin v. Seajay Society. Video Deposition of Norton Baskin, taken, 11/19/00 (VHS).

g)      MKRs home, Van Hornesville, NY (VHS), 17 minutes

h)        The Yearling (VHS; Worldview entertainment video) 98:00 minutes.

i)      Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings on film (VHS) 17 minutes (copy of Bee McNeills home movies (1939?) including shots of MKR.

Box 6. Oversize. Contains both Society Records and Rawlings material. 

Art Work: 2 limited edition bird prints, illustrated and signed by Jake Glisson.

MKR Artwork: Photo album of approximately 25 works of art relating to MKR, exhibited as Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings: A View of Cross Creek, March 31 - April, 1995 at the LeMoyne Art Foundation, Tallahassee, Fl. Assembled by Margaret Levings.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page