Skip to Search



A Guide to the Duane Locke Papers

Finding aid created by Frank Orser

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Locke, Duane
Title: Duane Locke Papers
Dates: 1956-1976
Abstract: Correspondence, manuscripts, and a few miscellaneous records of poet Duane Locke.
Extent: 4 Linear feet. 8 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 80
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Duane Locke is a poet, editor, and University of Tampa professor of English and poet-in-residence. Locke is the author of more than 2000 poems, published in numerous magazines and some 14 books. He edited the Poetry Review (University of Tampa, 1964-1971), the UT Review (1972-1982), and Abatis (University of Tampa, 1983-1986). He was the leader of a group of poets, mostly his former students, who practiced what Locke called "linguistic realism," and known as immanentists. The Immanentist Anthology: Art of the Superconscious (The Smith, 1973), and Mantras: an Anthology of Immantentist Poetry (ed. Alan Britt, Floating Hair Press, 1973) illustrate this poetry. Locke received a Ph.D. from the University of Florida in 1958 and was on the University of Tampa faculty throughout his academic career.

Source: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2002. Reproduced in Biography Resource Center. Farmington Hills, Mich.: The Gale Group. 2002.


Scope and Content

Correspondence makes up the bulk of the Locke Papers by far. Much of the correspondence is either from poets sending submissions to the journals that Locke edited, his own poetry submissions to other journals and editors of anthologies, or general correspondence with other poets, several of whom were his former students. The majority of the correspondence is to Locke. His own letters are represented only by carbon copies. The largest numbers of letters are with other poetry editors and publishers: Fred Wolven, editor of the Ann Arbor Review (about 140 items), Harvey Tucker of Black Sun Press (about 65 items), Hugh Fox (Ghost Dance Press, about 45 items), Paul Roth (Bitter Oleander Press, 29 items). Among other poets and former students who corresponded with Locke are Sylvia Krohn Scheibli (36 items), Charles Hayes (35 items), Helene Jarmol (33 items), Leo Connellan (32 items), William Taylor (32), Nico Suarez (31), Gerritt O' Sullivan (24 items), Sam Cornish (24 items), Jane Leonard (24 items), James MacQueen (19 items), Randall Ackley (18 items), and Roger Sauls (18 items). Several of these were former students. Some had worked with him on the Poetry Review.

Among the better known poets included among the correspondents are Robert Bly (13 items), David Ignatow (2 letters), Louis Hammer (3 items), Robert Morgan (6 items), and Diane Wakoski (11 items), all of whom were published in Locke's journals. Several letters and manuscripts of Hans Juergensen are included. Much of the correspondence is signed with only a first name, or in case of Locke's carbons, addressed to only a first name. Much of this correspondence has been tentatively identified from the context, physical placement within the letters, handwriting, or simply the occurrence of the name. Researchers will need to satisfy themselves as to the identification of the writer, or the addressee. A number of letters are arranged simply by first name. Manuscripts are often included with the correspondence.

Other correspondence includes some of Locke's academic correspondence with the University of Tampa and other schools, and his work on a Poetry in the Schools project in Tampa (1972-74).

The Papers also include several short manuscript drafts by Locke and others. The manuscripts by others, usually typed poems, were probably submissions for Locke's journals, sent without accompanying correspondence, or have been separated from the correspondence. Writers include Damon Fazio, Barry MacDonald, and Nico Suarez.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Florida. Permission to publish from this material must be obtained from the individual writers or copyright holders.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Florida also holds the papers of Hans Juergensen.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Duane Locke Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Duane Locke in 1976.


Contents List

Biographical and General


Box Folder
1 1 University of Tampa and other academic correspondence and records; vitas. 1966-1975
1 2 Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines - Grant application. 1972
1 3 Department of Special Collections, University of Florida. 1970
1 4 Publicity about Locke.
1 5 Poetry in the Schools (Tampa Fine Arts Council). 1972-1974


Manuscripts by Locke


Box Folder
1 6 Book Reviews, typed mss.
1 7 Poetry manuscripts (Individual typed and mimeographed poems).
1 8 Prose manuscripts (Miscellaneous short and fragmentary writings).


Other Manuscripts


Box Folder
1 9 "The Linguistic Realist, Poems" [by Locke and others] Smith Press. Processed document.
1 10 Ballantyne, Deirdre. Typed poems. North Bay, Ontario, 3 leaves. 1974
1 11 Barfield, Steve. "The Banjo's Carnival," typed poem. 1 leaf.
1 12 Collier, Richard I. Typed poems. Philadelphia. 7 leaves. 1974
1 13 Fazio, Damon. Poetry manuscripts, sent with 2ALLS to Locke, for inclusion in "the Review or whatever." [Bangor, Maine, Dec. 2, 1974, 1975] 20 leaves. 1974-1975
1 14 Hayes, Charles. Typed poems. 37 leaves. 1973-1974
1 15 Hayes, Charles. Manuscripts of poems written by 5th grade students from Peekskill, NY, in follow-up to the Poetry Review's Student Issue. 8 leaves Accompanied by TLS to D. Locke, May 17, 1974. 1974
1 16 Joy, Michael. Typed poems. Southington, CT. 16 leaves.
1 17 Lustig, Bill. Typed poems. Tenafly, N.J., 3 leaves.
1 18 MacQueen, James. Typed poems. 6 signed leaves. Accompanied by TLS to D. Locke [University of Virginia] Feb. 2, 1974. 1974
1 19 McDonald, Barry. Typed poems (some Xerox copies). Omaha, NE. 41 leaves. One batch is accompanied by TLS to D. Locke.
1 20 Perpelitt, Manna. "Up in Smoke," typed poem. 1 leaf.
1 21 Price, Darryl. Typed poems. 2 leaves.
1 22 Ritter, Lee. Typed poems (copies) sent to Duane Locke, UT Review, 15 leaves, and one autograph poem. Authorship of the handwritten poem is not stated, but it was found with the typed ones. There is, in addition, one typed (copy) of a poem. 1974
1 23 Rodeiro, Joseph. The Cube-Root of Pablo. Typed poem (copy), with autograph note to Locke to consider poem for publication. 2 leaves. .
1 24 Roth, Paul B. Typed poems. Syracuse, NY. 12 leaves.
1 25 Schermond, Roger. Typed poems. New York, NY. 7 leaves.
1 26 Stayner, Scott. Typed poems. [Logan, Utah, 1973] 5 leaves. 1973
1 27 Suarez, Nico. Typed poems. [Logan, Utah, 1972] 22 leaves. 1972
1 28 Suslick, Edith. "The Rack - for E.H," typed poem. 1 leaf.
1 29 Unidentified typed and autograph poems. 17 leaves.
1 30 Student's poems, probably for the Children's Issue of Poetry Review.


Miscellaneous


Box Folder
1 31 Essay on Locke's poetry (untitled and author unknown).
1 32 Five photographs by Helene Jarmol. Comments on the photos are found in her letters in the Correspondence files.
1 33 Bonnefoy, Yves - Xerox copy of poems and essay, with note from Paul Roth asking Locke to write note comparing Bonnefoy and immanentism.


Correspondence - Unidentified Correspondents


Box Folder
1 34 Letters by Locke, arranged by first name.
1 35 Letters to Locke, arranged by first name.


Correspondence - General


Box Folder
2 1 A [To Locke: 24; From: 4]. 1963-1975
2 2 B [To Locke 35; From: 13]. 1962-1974
2 3 C [To Locke: 32; From: 5]. 1962-1972
2 4 D [To: 23; From: 6]. 1964-1973
2 5 E [To: 16; From: 4]. 1963-1971
2 6 F [To: 20; From: 3]. 1963-1975
2 7 G [To Locke:26 ; From: 7]. 1962-1973
2 8 H [To: 56; From: 11]. 1962-1973
2 9 I - J [To Locke: 16; From: 2]. 1965-1972
2 10 K [To: 40; From: 5]. 1962-1975
2 11 L [To Locke: 22; From: 1]. 1962-1971
2 13 Mc [To Locke: 14; From: 1]. 1965-1974
2 14 N-O [To: 21; From: 5]. 1961-1974
2 15 P-Q [To: 19; From: 3]. 1966-1974
2 16 R [To: 28; From: 6]. 1963-1974
2 17 S [To: 65; From:10]. 1963-1974
2 18 T - V [To: 25; From: 6]. 1963-1974
2 19 W [To: 32; From: 3]. 1962-1974
2 20 Y - Z [To: 3; From: 1]. 1964-1973


Correspondence - Individual Correspondents


Box Folder
3 1 Ackley, Randall and Martha [To Locke: 13; from: 5]. 1969-1971
3 2 Amorosi, Ray [To Locke: 10]. Circa 1970
3 3 Babcock, Barbara [To Locke: 4; from: 1]. Circa 1970
3 4 Bakken, Dick [To Locke: 6]. 1964-1965
3 5 Barks, Coleman [To Locke: 5; from: 4]. 1967-1968
3 6 Berner, Jeff [To Locke: 7]. 1963-1964
3 7 Bethel, Gar [To Locke: 3; from: 2]. 1964-1971
3 8 Blazek, Doug [To Locke: 9; from: 5]. 1964-1969
3 9 Bly, Robert. Includes signed poems [To Locke: 10; From: 3]. 1971-1972
3 10 Boothe, Anna. Includes mss. [To: Locke 9; From: 3]. 1967-1968, and Not dated
3 11 Briggs, Harold [To Locke: 4; from: 2]. 1965-968
3 12 Brigham, Besmilar [To Locke: 5; from: 2]. 1968-1970
3 13 Brillant, Alan (Unicorn Press) [To Locke: 3; from: 3]. 1968
3 14 Britt, Alan. Includes mss. and other letters [To Locke: 16]. 1970-1975
3 15 Cardona-Hine, Alvaro [To Locke: 6]. 1956-1972
3 16 Casciani, Eda (Cardinal) [To Locke: 6]. 1965-1966
3 17 Choyke, Phyllis Ford (Harper Square Press) [To Locke: 5]. 1971-1972
3 18 Coleman, Elliott. Includes mss. [To Locke: 6]. 1965-1966
3 19 Collier, Richard I. [To Locke: 7; from Locke: 1]. Circa 1974
3 20 Congdon, Kirby [To Locke: 7: from: 1]. 1964-1969
3 21 Connellan, Leo [To Locke: 35; from Locke: 7 ]. 1965-1972
3 22 Contoski, Victor [To Locke: 4; from 1]. 1966
3 23 Cornish, Sam [To Locke: 19; from Locke: 5]. 1966-1971
3 24 Cross, Hollace and Jerry Dethrow [To Locke: 3; from: 4]. 1964-1969
3 25 Dacey, Philip [To Locke: 6]. 1967-1968
3 26 Davis, Rik [To Locke 9; from 6]. 1965-1970
3 27 DelaBarre, Adele [To Locke: 4; from: 2]. 1967-1968
3 28 Dorman, Sonya [To Locke 5; from 1]. 1967-1973
3 29 Eaton, Charles Edward [To Locke: 6; from: 1]. 1966-1967
3 30 Farris, William "Bill" (Sunburst) [To Locke: 9; from: 4]. 1967-1968
3 31 Fessenden, Anne [To Locke: 5]. 1970-1972
3 32 Finch, Peter [To Locke: 4; from 1]. [1975?]
3 33 Flaherty, Doug [To Locke 4; from 1]. 1967-1968
3 34 Fowler, Gene [To Locke 5; from 1]. 1966-1967
3 35 Fox, Hugh [To: Locke: 30; from: 14]. 1967-1975
3 36 Gray, Darrell [To Locke: 10; from 5]. 1966-1968
3 37 Greinke, Eric (Pilot Press Books) [To Locke: 6]. 1975?
3 38 Hayes, Charles Philip. Includes numerous mss. [To Locke: 33; from 2]. 1973-1975
3 39 Hershon, Bob [To Locke: 10; from 4]. 1967-1972
3 40 Hoegberg, Norman [To Locke: 4; from Locke: 2]. 1966-1968
4 1 Inez, Colette [To Locke: 4; from Locke: 3]. 1968-1973
4 2 Jarrett, Emmett [To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2]. 1967-1970
4 3 Jarmol, Helene. Cf. Jarmol photographs in Box 1. [To Locke: 27; from: 6]. 1965-1972
4 4 Jaworski, Richard and Suzanne [To Locke 8; from 1]. 1967-1972
4 5 Juergensen, Hans. Includes typescripts of "Sermon from the Ammunition Hatch on the Ship of Fools," and "From the Divide," by Juergensen. Cf. Hans Juergensen Papers. [To Locke 10; from 3]. 1966-1972
4 6 Kelves, Barbara [To Locke: 5]. 1972-1973
4 7 Leonard, Jane [To Locke 20; from 4]. 1965-1972
4 8 Lewis, Henry [To: 11; from: 2]. 1966-1967
4 9 Lustig, William "Bill" [To Locke: 7; from Locke 2]. 1972-1973
4 10 MacQueen, James [To Locke: 17; from: 2]. 1970-1976
4 11 Mahoney, Lizabeth Fairclough [To Locke: 17; from 3]. 1970-1974
4 12 Mangelsdorff, Rich [To Locke: 5 from Locke: 1]. 1970
4 13 Matsuda, Sumio [To Locke:4; from Locke: 2]. 1970-1971
4 14 Matthews, William P. [To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2]. 1967-1968
4 15 Mayer, Parm. Postcards, notes [To Locke: 9]. 1966-1969
4 16 McCarthy, Gerald (La Huerta) [To Locke: 5]. 1972
4 17 Miller, Brown [To Locke: 4; from 1]. 1966
4 18 Morgan, Robert G. "Bob" [To Locke: 3; from 3]. 1968
4 19 Morris, Richard (COSMEP) [To Locke 10; from 3]. 1970-1972
4 20 Niles, Faye P. (Green World) [To Locke: 5]. 1962-1963
4 21 Oatman, Eric F. (Manhattan Review) [To Locke: 8]. 1965-1966
4 22 O'Sullivan, Garrett [To Locke: 20; from 4]. 1970-1972
4 23 Parrott, Jerry [To Locke: 5]. 1967-1970
4 24 Riccio, Ottone (Premiere) [To Locke: 4; from 3]. 1967-1968
4 25 Rippey, Frances Mayhew (Forum) [To Locke: 5]. 1963-1964
4 26 Rodeiro, Jose (Joe) [To Locke: 11; Locke: 2]. 1972-1974
4 27 Rose, Harriet E. [To Locke: 5]. 1972
4 28 Roth, Paul (Bitter Oleander Press) [To Locke: 21; from 8]. 1969-1976
4 29 Russell, Norman [To Locke: 9; from Locke 2]. 1968-1972
4 30 Sauls, Roger [To Locke: 14; from Locke: 4]. 1967-1969
4 31 Scheibli, Silvia Krohn. Includes mss. [To Locke: 25; from: 11]. 1968
5 1 Shapiro, Sid [To Locke: 8; from: 3]. 1964-1969
5 2 Smith, Harry (The Smith) [To Locke 11; from 5]. 1971-1974
5 3 Sobin, A. G. "Tony" [To Locke: 8; from Locke: 4]. 1968-1972
5 4 Sorcic, Jim (Gunrunner Press) [To Locke: 5; from Locke: 5]. 1968-1969
5 5 Spiro, Leon [To Locke 8; from 2]. 1969-1970
5 6 Stern, Steve [To Locke: 6]. 1965
5 7 Stone, Ed [To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2]. 1967-1968
5 8 Suarez, Nico. Includes mss. [To Locke 26; from 5]. 1972-1975
5 9 Taylor, William E. (Bill) (Poetry Florida) [To: 25; From: 7]. 1964-1970
5 10 Thorne, Evelyn [To Locke: 5; from Locke: 1]. 1968
5 11 Tucker, Harvey (Black Sun Press) [To Locke:36; from Locke: 32]. 1965-1968
5 12 Umphrey, Robert E. [To Locke: 4; from Locke: 1]. 1972
5 13 Wade, David [To Locke: 7; from Locke: 1]. 1965-1976
5 14 Wagner, D. R. Includes Locke mss. [To Locke: 2; from Locke: 3]. Circa 1966
5 15 Wakoski, Diane [To Locke 9; from 2]. 1964-1970
5 16 Whittaker, George S. (Driftwood) [To Locke: 4; from: Locke 1]. 1962-1964
5 17 Williams, Miller (LSU Press) [To Locke: 10; from: 1]. 1966-1968
5 18 Woessner, Warren [To Locke 15; from: 5]. 1968-1969
5 19 Wolven, Fred (Ann Arbor Review). Includes mss. [Letters to Locke: circa 87]. 1966-1965
5 20 Wolven, Fred (Ann Arbor Review). Includes mss. [Letters from Locke: circa 54]. 1967-1970


University of Tampa Poetry Review and UT Review

Locke founded and edited two quarterly poetry journals, the University of Tampa Poetry Review (nos.1-23, 1964-1971) and the UT Review (v.1-7:2, 1972-1982). The Papers contain manuscripts and hand revised and corrected galley proofs of some issues. Occasional correspondence is included with the manuscripts. A complete published set of the Poetry Review is included for reference.


Box Folder
6 1 Poetry Review (University of Tampa) nos. 1 - 23. 1964-1971
7 2 Poetry Review (University of Tampa) Manuscripts, nos. 8-16. 9 folders. 1966-1969
8 1 UT Review v.1, no.1Poems accepted. 1972
8 2 UT Review v.1, no. 2 Manuscripts.
8 3 UT Review v.1, no. 2 Galley proofs.
8 4 UT Review v.1, no. 3 Manuscripts.
8 5 UT Review v.1, no. 3 Galley proofs.
8 6 UT Review v.1, no. 4 Manuscripts and galley proofs.
8 7 UT Review v2, no. 1 Manuscripts.
8 8 UT Review v. 2, no.2 (Children's Issue) Manuscripts.
8 9 UT Review v. 2, no.2 (Children's Issue) Galley proofs.
8 10 UT Review v2, no. 3 Manuscripts and galley proofs.
8 11 UT Review v.2, no. 4 Manuscripts and galley proofs.
8 12 UT Review v.3, no. 1 Manuscripts.
8 13 UT Review v3, no. 2 Manuscripts.
8 14 UT Review v.3, no. 2b Manuscripts.
8 15 UT Review v. 1-v.2; v.3, no. 2b; v. 4, no. 1-3 Published copies.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

American poetry -- 20th century -- Periodicals
Poets, American -- 20th century -- Correspondence



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page