Skip to Search



A Guide to the Katharine Birdseye Lang Papers

Finding aid created by Frank Orser

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Lang, Katharine Birdseye
Title: Katharine Birdseye Lang Papers
Dates: 1937-1949
Abstract: Manuscripts, tracings, drawings, photographs, and publications relating to Katharine Birdseye Lang's career reproducing Aztec and Mayan manuscripts.
Extent: 1.5 Linear feet. 3 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 54
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Katharine Birdseye Lang was an illustrator of pre-Colombian and other Aztec and Mayan manuscripts. Worked for the Carnegie Institute of Washington. Lang was a graduate of the Pratt Institute School of Library Science and a noted philatelist. She lived in St. Petersburg, Florida, after about 1950. Newspaper clippings about her work and a photograph of her are found in Box 2.


Scope and Content

Manuscripts, tracings, drawings, photographs, and publications relating to Lang's career reproducing Aztec and Mayan manuscripts, including the Codex Borbonicus, the Codex Florentinus, the Madrid Codex (Codex Tro-Cortesianus) and illustrations for the The De la Cruz-Badiano Aztec Herbal of 1552 (William Gates, editor, 1939). Includes her own manuscript and illustrations for her text, "The Drama of the Aztec Manuscripts," and a related exhibition for the Pan American Union in 1946. Includes some publications used by her for reference purposes. The bulk of this material appears to be unpublished.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Katharine Birdseye Lang Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Manuscripts, Drawings and Related Papers


Box Folder
1 1 Codex Borbonicus. The Magicians: Oxomoco and Cipactonal. Tracings by K. B Lang. Facsimilies in color. 18 cm x 20 cm.
1 2 Codex Borbonicus. The Water Goddess. Color illustrations by K. B. Lang
1 3 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - A: Religious procession, p. 31
1 3 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - B: Fiesta of the Corn Goddess, 12 cm. x 19 cm., Fiesta of the new fire, 13 cm. x 20 cm
1 3 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - C: Nine Lords of the Night, 4 cm. x 20 cm.
1 3 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - D: p. 23-29, 31
1 3 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - E: p. 22
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - A. Ceremonial blanket, 6 cm. x 9cm. The blanket of the sun. The blanket of the devil
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - B. Female duty (2 tracings) 15 cm. x 24 cm.
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - C. Female duty (4 tracings) 6 cm. x 8.5 cm.
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - D. Female duty (2 pen drawings) 6 cm. x 9 cm.
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - E. Female duty (2 photostats) 17 cm. x 26 cm.
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - F. Female duty (photographic negative) 2 exposures
1 4 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B Lang - G. Group of tracings: p. 6-9, 15-16, 19
1 5 Codex Borbonicus Tracings by K. B. Lang p. 6, 8, 29-30
1 6 Codex Borgianus Tracings by K. B. Lang; Aztec calendrical days signs (Tezcatlipoca) 1-20
1 7 Codex Borgianus Tracings by K. B. Lang; p. 9-15, 24-26, 28-48, 67
1 8 Codex Borgianus Tracings by K. B. Lang (1-29) 4 cm. x 5 cm.
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 8 FIG 17
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 14 TZ31 Kukulcan
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 25 CH TZ Kukulcan
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 26 CH TZ Kukulcan
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 26 CH TZ Kukulcan
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 27 CH TZ Kukulcan
1 9 Dresden Codex - Facsimilies - p. 28 CH TZ Kukulcan
1 10 Dresden Codex (Proof plates of the Gates edition, published by the Mayan Society)
1 11 Codex Duran: Montezuma sees comet of ill omen, tracing by K. B. Lang
1 12 Codex Florentinus (Shagun, Fray Bernardino de. Historia de las cosas de Nueva Espana): - A. LAM CLIV Libro XII, nos. 119-127. Photostat 19 cm. x 32 cm.
1 12 Codex Florentinus (Shagun, Fray Bernardino de. Historia de las cosas de Nueva Espana): - B. Tracing of no. 199. 20 cm. x 33.5 cm.
1 12 Codex Florentinus (Shagun, Fray Bernardino de. Historia de las cosas de Nueva Espana): - C. 2 photostats of 119. 21 cm. x 35 cm.
1 13 Codex Florentinus: Landing of Cortez - tracings
1 14 Codex Florentinus: Tracings and notes; list of contents of envelope
1 15A Madrid Codex (Codex Tro-Cortesianus): Ink drawings for the edition of W. E. Gates: p. 2-32
1 15B Madrid Codex: p. 33-76
1 15C Madrid Codex: p. 88-112
1 16 Madrid Codex: Facsimilie edition, incomplete.
1 17 Madrid Codex: "Finds" in Madrid Codex by K. B. Lang.
1 18 Madrid Codex: My record of the Madrid Codex, by K. B. Lang.
1 19A Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Aubin Collection
1 19B Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Cospi of Bologna
1 19C Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Fejervary-Mayer
1 19D Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Land
1 19E Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Magliabecci
2 19F Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Mendoza
2 19G Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Tellerinos-Rumensis
2 19H Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Vaticanus 3738
2 19I Codius Tracings by K. B. Lang: Codex Vaticanus 3773
2 20 Lang, Katherine B. The Drama of the Aztec manuscripts. Ts., illus. 86 p.
2 21 Lang, Katherine B. The Drama of the Aztec manuscripts. Ts., with illustrations for the editor. 86 p.
2 22 Lang, Katherine B. The Drama of the Aztec manuscripts. Text. Ts. 2 copies.
2 23 Lang, Katherine B. The Drama of the Aztec manuscripts. Negative and positive prints. Water color exhibit at the Pan American Union, 1946. Set incomplete.
2 24 Lang, Katherine B. The Drama of the Aztec manuscripts. Design for end papers. Manuscripts.
2 25 Lang, Katherine B. Color slide. 1st panel of Lang's exhibit.
2 26A Tracings and other material for "Drama of the Aztec" manuscripts: Aztex warrior - 2 photostats, 10 cm. x 24 cm.
2 26B "Drama of the Aztec": A duty - water color, 20 cm. x 25 cm. A duty - 2 photostats, 20 cm x. 25 cm.
2 26C "Drama of the Aztec": Kukulcan - water color, 20 cm. x 25 cm. Kukulcan - photostat, 20 cm. x 25 cm.
2 26D "Drama of the Aztec": Map of Pre-Spanish Mexico, Tenochitlan. Explanation in English and Spanish.
2 26E "Drama of the Aztec": Group of tracings
2 26F "Drama of the Aztec": Mexico - Mouval seal
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 1. Tracings: 2 figures, 13 cm. x 15 cm.
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 2. Tracings: Figure, 13 cm x 11 cm.
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 3. Tracings: Toltec warrior from temple of Chac-Mool
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 4. Tracings: Kukulcan from doorway of temple of the warriors, Chitchen Itza, 15 cm. x 18 cm.
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 5. Tracings: Figure, 6 cm. x 20 cm.
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 6. Tracings: Oedman with a bone temple of Chac-Mool, 7 cm. x 23 cm.
2 26G "Drama of the Aztec" - 7. Tracings: Figure of a priest, 16 cm. x 21 cm.
2 27 Lang, Katherine B. List of watercolors, reproductions from ancient Aztec manuscripts. Ts. 5 p.
2 28 Lang, Katherine B. Copyrights for undivided prints from her exhibit, except for panel 3, which is not subject to copyright. Copyright of her book The Drama of the Aztec.
2 29 Lang, Katherine B. Maya grammar. Ts., unnumbered pages.
2 30 Lang, Katherine B. "Yours truly section," - clippings and photographs concerning life and exhibits of Lang.
3 31 The De la Cruz-Badiano Aztec Herbal of 1552. Translation and Commentary by William Gates. Baltimore, The Maya Society, 1939. 144 p. illus. (Maya Society Publ. 23) Presentation inscriptions to Miriam Birdseye from Gates, June 25, 1939, and Katherine Birdseye Lang [illustrator]
3 32 The De la Cruz-Badiano Aztec Herbal of 1552. Scrapbook of original publications by K. B. Lang.
3 33 The De la Cruz-Badiano Aztec Herbal of 1552. Six tracings by K. B. Lang.
3 34 Gates, William E. The Maya and Tzental Calendars. Cleveland, 1900.
3 35 Gates, William. Outline Dictionary of Maya Glyphs. Baltimore: John Hopkins Press, 1931. Extract from Maya Society Publication 1)
3 36 Exhibition Presenting Results of Recent Research Activities of Carnegie Institution of Washington. Washington, 1940. 23 p.
3 37 Morley, Sylvanus G. An Introduction to the Study of the Maya Hieroglyphs. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1915. (Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin 57) 284 p. Copy annotated and with material added by K. B. Lang
3 38 Robello, Cecilio. Toponimia Maya - Hispano-nahoa. Cuernavaca: Jose de Rojas, 1902. Typescript.
3 39 Polychrome vase - ink drawings of glyphs on cards, copies of K. B. Lang. 43 cards in two envelopes.


Oversize Materials


Folder
40 Plates, probably from "The Temple of Warriors," by Morris. [Stored in map case]
41 Chase, Ernest Dudley. A pictorial stamp map of navigation and exploration, Winchester, MA, ca. 1949. Katherine B. Lang, collaborator? 56 cm. x 86 cm. [Stored in map case]
42 Chase, Ernest D. Catholic America. Boston: Chase-O'Connell, 1946. map 55 cm. x 84 cm. [Stored in map case]
43 Scrapbooks of clippings, facsimiles, photostats, negatives, dealing with Aztec and Mayan manuscripts. [Stored in map case]


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Manuscripts, Nahuatl -- Facsimiles



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page