Skip to Search



A Guide to the Winnie Wright Childre Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Childre, Winnie Wright
Title: Winnie Wright Childre Papers
Dates: 1970-1971
Abstract: Typescript of "a story of life in Alabama at the turn of the century" by Winnie Wright Childre, and correspondence with Hugo Black, George C. Wallace and others.
Extent: 0.25 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MS Group 58
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Winnie Wright Childre was probably born in Alabama. She worked as a school teacher and a secretary. She is the author of Highlights and Shadows, (1970) "a story of life in Alabama at the turn of the century." She lived in Gainesville, Florida.


Scope and Content

The papers consist of a copy of the typescript of Highlights and Shadows, copies of several letters of acknowledgment she received regarding it, and a photograph, supposedly of her home in Gainesville.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Winnie Wright Childre Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 Highlights and Shadows, final Ts., 129 pp.
1 Black, Hugo. Washington, D. C. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1970, Nov. 4
1 Black, Hugo L.; Washington, D. C. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1970, Nov. 4
1 Wallace, George C.; Montgomery, AL. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1971, Jan. 4
1 Woods, Rose Mary; Washington, D. C. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1971, Jan. 4
1 Monti, L.; Gainesville, FL. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1971, Jan. 12
1 Douglas, Barton T.; Gainesville, FL. TLS (copy) to W. Childre. 1971, Jan. 19
1 Photograph of author's house in Gainesville, FL. Not dated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Alabama -- Social life and customs -- 19th century.
Alabama -- Social life and customs -- 20th century.
Alachua -- 12001



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page