Skip to Search



A Guide to the Raymond Gay-Crosier Collection on Albert Camus

Finding aid created by Raymond Gay-Crosier, Steve Duckworth, and Rhianna Martin

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2016


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Camus, Albert, 1913-1960
Creator: Gay-Crosier, Raymond (Collector)
Title: Raymond Gay-Crosier Collection on Albert Camus
Dates: 1926-2015
Abstract: Albert Camus (1913-1960) was a French philosopher, author, playwright, and journalist. He obtained a degree in philosophy from the University of Algiers in 1935. Collector Raymond Gay-Crosier is a professor at the University of Florida, primarily focused on 20th-century French literature. This collection includes correspondence, typescripts, audio recordings, and legal documents regarding the case of Catherine Camus versus Drouot.
Extent: 2.46 Linear feet.
Identification: MS Group 107
Language(s): Includes materials written in French and English.
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.

Biographical/Historical Note

Albert Camus, philosopher, author, playwright, and journalist, was born on November 7, 1913 in Algiers, Algeria. He obtained a degree in philosophy from the University of Algiers in 1935. In the fall of 1935, he created and directed a student theater group with the intent of bringing world literature plays to Algiers' underprivileged people. Early on, he worked as a journalist in the local newspaper and later become editor-in-chief. His progressive political views, deemed anti-colonialist, contributed to the reasons why the paper, at the outbreak of WWII, became the victim of censure by the local government and why, in March of 1940, Camus immigrated to Paris. During World War II, he created a newspaper (Combat) as his way of participating in the French Resistance. Author of such works as The Stranger, The Plague, The Fall, The Rebel, The Myth of Sisyphus, and Caligula, Camus won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1957. He died on January 4, 1960 when his car hit a tree, killing both he and the car's driver Michel Gallimard instantly. For more on Camus's life, please see Raymond Gay-Crosier's biography.

Collector Raymond Gay-Crosier was born in Basel Switzerland on August 30, 1937. He studied at the Universities of Basel, Paris (Sorbonne) and Bern, Switzerland, where he received his doctorat-ès-lettres in 1965 with a dissertation on Albert Camus's theater. Gay-Crosier began teaching at the University of Florida as an Associate Professor in 1967. He primarily covered the field of 20th-century French literature and was promoted to full Professor in 1973. In 2003, he retired as Professor Emeritus in order to devote his time to the contributions and direction of the projected four-volume Pléiade edition of Camus's Œuvres complètes. See Gay-Crosier's full biography for more.


Scope and Content

Raymond Gay-Crosier joined the University of Florida (UF) faculty in 1967 as a specialist in 20th-century French literature. His task beyond teaching and research was to help upgrade the general library collection in this field. Since the works of Albert Camus had caught his early scholarly interest, he also began to collect items related to this author that could not be displayed in the library's research collection. Some of them were gifts by colleagues such as Germaine Brée's two volumes of Camus's 1938 and 1941 typescripts with handwritten corrections of his play Caligula published in 1944. Others included items found over the more than four decades of activities on campus. Prime examples would be Camus's unpublished 87 letters to Lucette Maeurer and Yvonne Ducailar, two of Camus's friends and theatrical collaborators of the 1930s. In the early 1980s, with the arrival of Sidney Ives as the first Chair of the Department of Special Collections, Gay-Crosier began depositing the most important Camusiana as they could be gathered. As the number and quality of materials grew, the Camus Collection was formed, arranged, and described.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into six series: "Series I: Manuscripts, typescripts, first editions, and early documents," "Series II: Correspondence and related items," "Series III: Miscellaneous documents and texts," "Series IV: Audio," "Series V: Addenda," and "Series VI: Documents added after February 15, 2015." Each series retains the original arrangement scheme devised by Gay-Crosier.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access and Usage

Certain restrictions regarding use and reproduction of this collection are in place. This includes quoting and taking pictures of unpublished texts and typescripts with unpublished autograph corrections. Please consult the curator for more information prior to requesting access.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

An alternative description of this collection is available at http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/camus/.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Raymond Gay-Crosier Collection on Albert Camus, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

This collection is comprised of materials donated by Raymond Gay-Crosier.


Contents List

I. Manuscripts, typescripts, first editions, and early documents. 1926-2005, bulk: 1926-1951


Box Folder
11 I.1. Caligula (1938): Original typescript with major handwritten inked corrections by the author (PQ2605.A3734 C3 1938). 1938
12 I.2. Caligula (1941): Original typescript with minor handwritten inked corrections by the author (PQ2605.A3734 C3 1941). 1941
-- I.5. L'Homme révolté: Harvard manuscript and Char manuscript.
53 I.5.1. Photocopies of original handwritten Harvard manuscript: Box contains four sets, three copies size 8X11, one copy legal format closer to original oversized manuscript; All copies based on microfilm bought from Harvard University's Houghton Library (1 of 3). 2005 May 15
13 I.5.1. Photocopies of original handwritten Harvard manuscript: Box contains four sets, three copies size 8X11, one copy legal format closer to original oversized manuscript; All copies based on microfilm bought from Harvard University's Houghton Library (2 of 3). 2005 May 15
14 I.5.1. Photocopies of original handwritten Harvard manuscript: Box contains four sets, three copies size 8X11, one copy legal format closer to original oversized manuscript; All copies based on microfilm bought from Harvard University's Houghton Library (3 of 3). 2005 May 15
15 I.5.2. L'Homme révolté (Harvard manuscript): CD-ROM version of original manuscript.
15 I.5.3. L'Homme révolté (Harvard manuscript): Material description by Raymond Gay-Crosier (RGC).
16 I.5.4. L'Homme révolté: Copy of typescript called "Manuscrit Char" with handwritten dedication and corrections by the author.
16 I.5.5. Handwritten letter of transmittal by Albert Camus to René Char. 1951 July 12

Rare books [housed in UF Rare Books collection].

Volume
1 I.3. L'Envers et l'endroit: Published by Alger, Charlot (rare first edition numbered 22) (PQ2605.A3734E5 1937) [housed in UF Rare Books collection]. 1937
2 I.4. La Femme silencieuse: Photocopy of French adaptation by Marcel Achard of Ben Jonson's Epicoene, or the Silent Woman, 1616 (Paris, Gallimard, 1926) with handwritten castings and musical directions by Camus. (See II.1. Correspondence, Camus- Lucette Maeurer, II.3. Additional items by L. O'Neill) (PQ 2601.C35 J461 1926) [housed in UF Rare Books collection]. 1926
3 I.6. Noces: Rare first edition; Contains handwritten dedication by A. Camus: "à Françoise, et seulement celles de ces pages qui parlent du Bonheur." Published by Alger, Charlot (PQ2605.A3734N6 1939) [housed in UF Rare Books collection]. 1939
4 I.7. 333 Coplas andalouses: Translated by Camus, Published by Alger, Éditions Cafre (PQ6267.F4B344 1939) [housed in UF Rare Books collection]. 1939


II. Correspondence and related items. 1930s-2005, bulk: 1936-1959, 1989-1993


Box Folder
17-8 II.1. Albert Camus - Lucette Françoise Maeurer (Lucette Françoise O'Neill): 45 original handwritten letters, 1 convocation, 3 envelopes (2 folders). 1936-1952
19 II.1.1. Photocopies of 45 letters by Albert Camus to Lucette Maeurer.
110 II.1.2. Set of typed transcripts of 45 letters by Albert Camus to Lucette Maeurer.
111 II.1.3. Chronological general description of each letter by R. Gay-Crosier.
21 II.2. Albert Camus - Lucette Françoise Maeurer: Germaine Brée - Lucette O'Neill - R. Gay-Crosier correspondences before and during UF's involvement and assorted letters exchanged with UF Library administration.
21 II.2.1. Summary of initiator (Germaine Brée) of Camus - Lucette Maeurer correspondence. Originally, only 4 letters of this correspondence were available. After G. Brée's death, four additional letters were provided in October 2007 by Rebecca Rogers (see her September 30, 2007 postcard of transmittal attached to summary).
21 II.2.2. Letter by Germaine Brée to Lucette O'Neill encouraging transfer to a university library. 1989 October 29
21 II.2.3. Letter by L. O'Neill to Germaine Brée. 1989 November 22
21 II.2.4. Transmittal letter by Germaine Brée to R. Gay-Crosier suggesting contact with L. O'Neill. 1989 November 27
21 II.2.5. First written contact with L. O'Neill. 1989 December 14
21 II.2.6. Undated but clearly pre-Christmas letter by G. Brée to L. O'Neill recommending R. Gay-Crosier. circa 1989 December 20
21 II.2.7. Gay-Crosier's summary of first conversation with L. O'Neill with additional handwritten notations. 1989 December 22
21 II.2.8. Handwritten letter conveying xerox copies of correspondence for perusal by R. Gay-Crosier. 1989 December 23
21 II.2.9. Letter by G. Brée to L. O'Neill. 1990 January 6
21 II.2.10. Letter by L. O'Neill responding to Gay-Crosier's December 14 Letter. 1990 January 8
21 II.2.11.Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Dale Canelas, Director, UF Libraries announcing acceptance by L. O'Neill to donate original Letters. 1990 January 22
21 II.2.12. Letter by L. O'Neill to R. Gay-Crosier formally agreeing to donate the Letters by Albert Camus to UF's library. 1990 January 23
21 II.2.13. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to L. O'Neill outlining procedure for the transmittal of the Camus-L. Maeurer correspondence. 1990 January 25
21 II.2.14. Letter of reassurance by G. Brée to L. O'Neill. 1990 February 22
21 II.2.15. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to L. O'Neill thanking her for contact with Yvonne Fischer, née Ducailar (see correspondence Camus-Ducailar). 1991 February 5
21 II.2.16. Typed self-portrait by L. O'Neill for future publication in the Albert Camus series of the Revue des Lettres Modernes with attached explanation of names mentioned. circa 1991
21 II.2.17. Article by R. Gay-Crosier in the Camus series no. 14, 1991 on the Camus-Maeurer correspondence including her self-portrait: "Une correspondence inédite de l'époque du Théâtre de l'Équipe".
22 II.3. Additional items by and on L. O'Neill.
22 II.3.1. Photocopy of French adaptation by Marcel Achard of Ben Jonson's Epicoene, or the Silent Woman, 1616 (Paris, Gallimard, 1926), with handwritten castings and musical directions by Albert Camus. L. Maeurer acted in this play as a member of Camus's Théâtre de l'Équipe. (PQ 2601.C35 J461 1926).
-- II.3.2. Albert Camus, L'Envers et l'endroit (Alger: Charlot). (PQ2605.A3734E5 1937) (rare first edition numbered 22) [housed in Rare Books]. 1937
-- II.3.3. Albert Camus, Noces (Alger: Charlot). (PQ2605.A3734N6 1939) (rare first edition). Contains handwritten dedication by A. Camus: "à Françoise, et seulement celles de ces pages qui parlent du Bonheur." [housed in Rare Books]. 1939
-- II.3.4. 333 Coplas populaires andalouses (Alger: Éditions Cafre)(PQ6267.F4B344 1939) [housed in Rare Books]. 1939
22 II.3.5. Picture of Lucette Maeurer of the 1930s and letters by Jacqueline Rogers about her. 1930s
23 II.4. Correspondence concerning sales and donations of original editions by Lucette O'Neill.
23 II.4.1. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to L. O'Neill confirming purchase of numbered first editions of A. Camus's L'Envers et l'endroit (Algiers, Charlot, 1937) and Noces (Algiers, Charlot, 1939). 1990 August 28
23 II.4.2. Letter of R. Gay-Crosier to Sam Gowan confirming UF's agreement to purchase these first editions. 1990 August 30
23 II.4.3. Handwritten invoice by L. O'Neill for above purchase. 1990 October 1
23 II.4.4. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to L. O'Neill confirming receipt of both first editions. 1990 October 8
23 II.4.5. Copy of title page of 1937 first edition, numbered 22, of L'Envers et l'endroit.
23 II.4.6. Copy of title page of 1939 original edition of Noces with handwritten dédicace by Camus.
24 II.5. Albert Camus - Yvonne Ducailar (Yvonne Fischer): Set of 42 photocopied handwritten letters by Albert Camus to Yvonne Ducailar divided by her in groups by geographical origin.
24 II.5.1. Letters 1-9 (Alger, Oran, winter). 1939-1940
24 II.5.2. Letters 10-20 (Paris, spring). 1940
24 II.5.3. Letters 21-28 (Bordeaux et Clermont Ferrand). 1940 June 25-September 16
24 II.5.4. Letters 29-39 (Oran, Chambon). 1942 January 27-October
24 II.5.5. Letters 40-42 (Paris). 1945
24 II.5.6. Transcripts of the 42 letters, each of the five groups preceded by a descriptive list.
25 II.6. Albert Camus - Yvonne Ducailar.
25 II.6.1. Descriptive list of 16 letters exchanged by Y. Fischer and R. Gay-Crosier.
25 II.6.2. Initial handwritten letter in English by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier announcing that she is preparing the transfer of a set of photocopies of the letters. 1991 January 27
25 II.6.3. Letter in French by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer explaining the rationale of the Camus collection and asking for originals. 1991 February 4
25 II.6.4. handwritten letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier indicating that she will think about sending the original letters. 1991 March 7
25 II.6.5. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer confirming receipt of photocopied Letters and encouraging her to send the originals. 1991 March 12
25 II.6.6. Typed letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier describing her view of future use of the correspondence and indicating that her children want her to keep the originals. 1991 March 24
25 II.6.7. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer indicating that the transcriptions of the photocopies have begun and will be mailed to her. 1991 April 15
25 II.6.8. Letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier announcing the discovery of two more Letters copies of which have been sent. circa 1991 May
25 II.6.9. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer accompanying the mailing of the transcriptions and detailing the critical importance of Camus's Letters. 1991 June 26
25 II.6.10. Letter by Y. Fischer discussing the transcriptions. 1991 July 8
25 II.6.11. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer pursuing discussion of transcriptions and two missing Letters. 1991 September 16
25 II.6.12. Letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier confirming that there are 42 Letters only and discussing dating questions. 1991 October 3
25 II.6.13. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer concerning the desired self-portrait and the photocopied dedication of L'Étranger [lost by the library with initial set of Letters]. 1991 October 16
25 II.6.14. Letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier indicating that she is working on proper dating of the Camus correspondence. 1991 November 14
25 II.6.15. Letter by R. Gay-Crosier to Y. Fischer concerning dating issues. 1991 March 4
25 II.6.16. Letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier responding to dating issues. 1992 March 15
25 II.6.17. Letter by Y. Fischer to R. Gay-Crosier authorizing him to give her address to Olivier Todd for the preparation of his biography. 1993 August 2
26 II.7. Albert Camus - Yvonne Ducailar: Peripheral items.
26 II.7.1. Presentation of the Ducailar file and its reestablishment after the initial loss by Special Collections.
26 II.7.2. Original self-portrait by Y. Fischer (née Ducailar) with amended version by R. Gay-Crosier for future publication.
26 II.7.3. Photocopies of Y. Fischer-R. Gay-Crosier correspondence.
26 II.7.4. Article by R. Gay-Crosier in the Camus series no. 15, 1993 on the Ducailar correspondence including her self-portrait. 1993
26 II.7.5. Letter of transmittal by R. Gay-Crosier to Dale Canelas, Director of Libraries, concerning the Camus-Ducailar correspondence. 1992 January 21
26 II.7.6. Response by D. Canelas to R. Gay-Crosier. 1992 February 18
27 II.8. Albert Camus - Nicola Chiaromonte (1945-1959): Important guideline by Yale's Beinecke Library, the holder of this correspondence (see February 15, 2005 transmittal letter among peripheral items) - With the permission of Catherine Camus only, the letter should be cited as follows: "Nicola Chiaromonte Papers. General Collection, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University.".
27 II.8.1. Letter on NRF [Nouvelle Revue Française](Gallimard) letterhead, 2 pages. 1945 October 5
27 II.8.2. Letter on NRF letterhead with front and back of envelope. 1945 October 9
27 II.8.3. Letter on NRF letterhead with front and back of envelope. 1945 November 7
27 II.8.4. Letter on NRF letterhead with front and back of envelope. 1946 January 20
27 II.8.5. Letter on Grand Hôtel Briançon letterhead. 1946 February 2
27 II.8.6. Letter on Grand Hôtel Briançon letterhead. 1946 February 5
27 II.8.7. Letter on NRF letterhead. 1946 March
27 II.8.8. Letter on NRF letterhead. 1946 April 14
27 II.8.9. Letter on NRF letterhead. 1946 July 19
27 II.8.10. Letter on NRF Letterhead. 1946 August 27
27 II.8.11. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1946 December 20
27 II.8.12. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1948 February 1
27 II.8.13. Letter, no letterhead. 1948 September 9
27 II.8.14. Letter, no letterhead. 1953 July 10
27 II.8.15. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1954 February 21
27 II.8.16. Letter, no letterhead, with front of envelope. 1954 May 5
27 II.8.17. Letter, no letterhead, with front of envelope. 1954 June 25
27 II.8.18. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1954 August 20
27 II.8.19. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1954 November 17
27 II.8.20. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front of envelope. 1954 December 22
27 II.8.21. Letter, no letterhead. 1955 January 5
27 II.8.22. Letter with front and back of envelope. 1955 June 8
27 II.8.23. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1955 July 19
27 II.8.24. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1955 July 27
27 II.8.25. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1956 February 20
27 II.8.26. Letter on NRF letterhead. 1956 May 12
27 II.8.27. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1956 September 1
27 II.8.28. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1957 October 20
27 II.8.29. Letter, no letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1958 November 13
27 II.8.30. Letter on NRF letterhead, with front and back of envelope. 1959 October 18
28 II.9. Albert Camus - Nicola Chiaromonte: Peripheral items.
28 II.9.1. Letter of transmittal by the Beinecke Library with attachments. 2005 February 15
28 II.9.2. Comprehensive presentation of all "Nicola Chiaromonte Papers" by the Beinecke Staff, New Haven, CT, 22 pages.
28 II.9.3. Presentation of Albert Camus's letters to Nicola Chiaromonte by R. Gay-Crosier.
28 II.9.4. Article by Sanford Pinsker, "A Farewell to Partisan Review, Bracing 'Family of Freethinkers'", characterizing one of the United State's periodicals to which Chiaromonte contributed articles.
29 II.10. Albert Camus - Anne Cornaly (1957-1958).
29 II.10.1. Presentation by R. Gay-Crosier.
29 II.10.2. Photocopies of 5 longhand letters, 5 white cards, 2 postcards, 1 telegram (The original version of this correspondence belongs to Prfoessor Vincent Grégoire who has kindly transferred the above set of photocopies to R. Gay-Crosier).


III. Miscellaneous documents and texts. 1947-2008, undated


III.1. Viggiani, Carl. A., Original version of his Questionnaire submitted to Albert Camus in 1958.

Box Folder
210 III.1.1. Reproduction of Questionnaire with handwritten answers by Albert Camus.
210 III.1.2. Letter of transmittal by R. Gay-Crosier explaining donation. 2008 April 15
210 III.1.3. Viggiani Questionnaire on DVD (JPG format).

III.2. Manuscripts and typescripts of miscellaneous texts by Albert Camus (published with the kind approval by Catherine Camus).

Early Theatrical Texts.

Box Folder
211 III.2.1. "Le Temps du mépris", adaptation du texte d'A. Malraux par Camus [Ab 1 - 01.17] ; (OC I, 1085-1094); Photocopy of original typescript of Act I, Scene II.
211 III.2.2. Révolte dans les Asturies [Ab 5 - 04.01]; (OC I, 3-28); Photocopy of original typescript.
211 III.2.3. Chronologie des pièces jouées à Alger pour le Théâtre du Travail et le Théâtre de l'Équipe [Ab 1 - 01.18] ; (see "Notice", OC I, 1430-1441); Manuscript program lists by Albert Camus.
211 III.2.4. Eschyle, Prométhée enchaîné [Ab 1 - 05.01] ; (OC I, 1096-1098); Scenes I and II, manuscript adaptation of Prometheus bound by Aeschylus.
211 III.2.5. Présentation du Théâtre d'Alger [Ab 1 - 01.14] (not published); Photocopy of typed press release.
211 III.2.6. Manifeste du Théâtre de l'Équipe [Ab 1 - 01.04]; (see "Notice", OC I, 1430-1441); Photocopy of version in La Revue Rivages, no. 1; Photocopy of typed letter of presentation to unknown addressee.
211 III.2.7.1. "Retour de l'enfant prodigue" [Ab 1 - 01.16]; (OC I, 1101-1102, scene I only): Photocopy of program note.
211 III.2.7.2. "Retour de l'enfant prodigue": Photocopy of entire typescript of Camus's adaptation of André Gide's "traité".
211 III.2.8. Letter by P. J[eanne] Sicard to Francine Camus concerning Révolte dans les Asturies [Ab 1 - 01.20]; (excerpt in OC I, 1209); Photocopy of entire letter. 1960 July 20
211 III.2.9. "Antoine Bailly. L'Impromptu des philosophes" [Ab 11 - 01.03] ; (1947, OC II, 769-791); Photocopy of original typescript with autograph corrections and additional notes. undated

Carnets (Notebooks) series.

Box Folder
212 III.2.10. Carnets. Cahier I [Af 1 - 01.03]; (OC II, 793-834). Photocopy of typescript without corrections.
212 III.2.11. Carnets. Cahier I [Af 1 - 01.04]; (OC II, 793-834). Photocopy of typescript with autograph corrections.
212 III.2.12. Carnets. Cahier II [Af 1 - 02.03]; (OC II, 834-878). Photocopy of typescript with typist's corrections.
213 III.2.13. Carnets. Cahier III [Af 1 - 04.01]; (OC II, 878-936). Photocopy of typescript with few autograph corrections.
213 III.2.14. Carnets. Cahier IV [Af 2 - 02.02]; (OC II, 936-1025). Photocopy of typescript with few typist's corrections.
214 III.2.15. Portion of Carnets. Cahier V [Af 4 - 05.01]; (OC II, 1046-1064); (originally published separately as Journaux de voyage, "États-Unis. Mars à mai 1946"). Photocopy of typescript with very few typist's corrections.
214 III.2.16. Carnets. Cahier VI [Af 2 - 05.02]; (OC II, 1111-1125, continued in OC IV, 999-1105). Photocopy of typescript with some autograph corrections.
214 III.2.17. Portion of Cahier VI, Voyage en Amérique du Sud [Af 4 - 05.03]; (OC IV, 1007-1056); (originally published separately as Journaux de voyage, "Amérique du Sud. Juin à août 1949"). Photocopy of typescript with few typist's corrections.
31 III.2.18. Carnets. Cahier VII [Af 3 - 01.01]; (OC IV, 1105-1191). Photocopy of manuscript with some typed lines.
31 III.2.19. Carnets. Cahier VII [Af 3 - 01.02]; (OC IV, 1105-1191). Photocopy of typescript with typist's corrections.
32 III.2.20. Carnets. Cahier VIII [Af 3 - 02.01]; (OC IV, 1191-1282). Photocopy of manuscript with some typed lines with an appendix of texts published in the first edition of the Carnets.
32 III.2.21. Carnets. Cahier IX [Af 3 - 03.01]; (OC IV, 1282-1307). Photocopy of manuscript.
32 III.2.22. Photocopies of various manuscript pages from the Carnets.
32 III.2.23. Photocopies of 30 page typescript (not by Camus) on the Makronissos issue to which he refers in his Cahier IX of the Carnets.
32 III.2.24. Photocopy of of article on Makronissos by Wolfgang Cordan in Les Temps Modernes.
32 III.2.25. "L'Histoire est-elle logique?" [CMS2 Ar1 - 01.06]. Photocopy of Camus's handwritten answers to a questionnaire and of a typescript reproducing both the questions and the answers.

Manuscripts and typescripts, arranged by Pléiade volume.

Box Folder
33 III.2.26. "Introduction aux Maximes et anecdotes de Chamfort [An 1 - 01.07] ; (1944, OC I, 923-933). Photocopy of typescript with autograph corrections.
33 III.2.27. "Douze auteurs en quête de personnages" [An1 - 01.08] (partially reproduced in OC I, 44-45). Photocopy of typed questions and handwritten answers to the entire interview.
34 III.2.28. Photocopies of handwritten letter February 2, 1952 by Martin Buber to Albert Camus and of February 22, 1952 response by Camus (OC II).
35 III.2.29. "Il faut avoir un nom" [At 1 - 03.08]; (no date. OC III, 1149-1152). Photocopy of typescript.
35 III.2.30. "Présentation de la retrospective de l'œuvre de Richard Maguet" (1949) (OC III, 1087-1089). Off-print of preface to catalog.
35 III.2.31. "Une des plus belles professions que je connaisse…" [Ar1 - 01.03] (OC III, 879-881). Photocopy of unrevised typescript.
35 III.2.32. "Orgueil" [An 2 - 02.13]; (OC III, 1169-1173). Photocopy of typescript with typist's corrections.
35 III.2.33. Dossier S. Weil: "Projet de préface" L'Enracinement; NRF, Bulletin de Juin 1949, off-print (OC III, 864-865); attached unsigned presentation of same, presentation of Weil's La Condition ouvrière, and "Préface aux Écrits historiques et politiques de S. Weil", typescript of doubtful authenticity [An1 - 01.19].
36 III.2.34. "Les Silences de Paris" [As 1 - 01.01]; (1949, OC III, 1153-1168); includes photocopies of typescripts with some annotations.
37 III.2.35. "Jacques Hébertot et son théâtre" [An2 - 03.06] (OC III, 868). Unrevised typescript.
-- III.2.36. "Une des plus belles professions que je connaisse" [Ar1 - 01.02]; (OC III, 879-881). Photocopy of typescript (duplicate, see III.2.31) [folder missing].
37 III.2.37. "Le théâtre a-t-il rencontré Dieu ?" [An1 - 01.05]; (OC III, 877-878). Photocopy of typescript of 1951 interview.
37 III.2.38. "Conférence faite en Angleterre" [Am 1 - 01.03] ; (1951, OC III, 1099-1104). Photocopy of typescript with autograph corrections.
37 III.2.39. Off-print of "La presse néo-nazie en France", Évidences, no. 23, janvier 1952, pages 1-2 (OC III, pages 886-888).
37 III.2.40. Off-print of "L'artiste en prison" (on Oscar Wilde), Arts, 19 et 25 décembre 1952 (OC III, pages 900-905).
37 III.2.41. "Hommage à Mme Dussane" [An2 - 03.04] (1953 ). Unrevised typescript (OC III, page 1109).
37 III.2.42. ""Hommage au mime Marceau" [An2 - 03.05]. Photocopies of manuscript and clean typescript. (OC III, page 1138).
37 III.2.43. "Préface à l'édition américaine du Mythe de Sisyphe" manuscript of draft and clean typescript [Ad5 - 02.04] (OC III, 955-956). 1955 March
37 III.2.44. "Réponse à Domenach" off-print of article in Témoins, III, no 9, Été 1955, pages 23-29 (OC III, 948-955).
38 III.2.45. "Hommage à un journaliste exilé" [Ar2 - 04.03] (OC III, 982-988): Photocopy and off-prints of 1956 article; letter of transmittal. 1974 December 11, undated
37 III.2.46. "Henri Calet" [An 2-O3.01]; (1956, OC III, 1141-1142) Photocopies of manuscript and clean typescript.
39 III.2.47. "Interview à Paris-Théâtre" [An1 - 01.03] (OC IV, 577-582). Photocopies of 1957 handwritten answers and of clear typescript.
39 III.2.48. "Hommage à Guy Suarès" [An2 - 03.09] (OC IV, 649). Photocopies of 1958 manuscript and typescript.
39 III.2.49. "À propos d'André Malraux". [An2 - 02.10] (OC IV, 1333-1335). Photocopies of partial and complete typescripts.
310 III.2.50. "Réponses à Jean-Claude Brisville" [Ar1 - 01.07] (OC IV, 610-615). Photocopy of typescript.
310 III.2.50a. Typescript of early version of Nobel Prize discourse [Am1 - 04.01] with handwritten corrections by typist. Not used for Pléiade edition.
310 III.2.50b. Copies of correspondence about misunderstood political statements before Swedish students about Algeria and of typescript of Jean Sénac's article "Camus au secours de Lacoste?".
310 III.2.50c. Copy of "'L'artiste et son temps'. Albert Camus, laureate du Prix Nobel, répond aux questions de Jean Bloch-Michel", Occidente, volume III, 1958, pages 6-12. Thematic variations on themes used elsewhere, not retained for Pléiade edition.
310 III.2.50d. Clippings of original press reviews after the award of the Nobel Prize. Some retained for the Pléiade's "Dossier de Presse", OC IV, pages 267-276. 1957 October
310 III.2.50e. "Albert Camus. Conférence de presse donnée à Stockholm le 9.12.1957", copy of typescript. (OC IV, pages 276-287).
310 III.2.50f. "La gauche française contre Israël?" Copy of Camus's statement in France observateur, 354, 21 Février 1957 (OC IV, page 555).
310 III.2.50g. "... À un audacieux ami", copies of manuscript [An2-01.05] and of original typescript [An2-01.05] with handwritten corrections and an addition by the author; off-print of article in Artaban, 1, December 4, 1957 (OC IV, pages 566-567).
310 III.2.50h. "Réflexions sur la guillotine", copy of article in Jean Bloch-Michel [editor], Réflexions sur la peine capital, Paris, Calman-Lévy, 1957, pages 126-180 (OC IV, pages 121-167).
310 III.2.50.i. Copy of December 4, 1957 letter to "Monsieur le Président de la Cour d'Assises de la Seine" (OC IV, pages 633-634).
310 III.2.50k. Off-print of "Ce que je dois à l'Espagne", Preuves, 85, Mars 1958, pages 41-43 (OC IV, pages 591-594).
310 III.2.50l. "Il aidait à vivre", off-print of necrology for R. M. du Gard, Le Figaro littéraire, 30 août 1958 (OC IV, page 595).
310 III.2.50m. Off-prints of "De l'insignifiance", Les Cahiers des Saisons, and of "Préface à une anthologie de l'insignifiance", Sciences. Almanach des Lettres et des Arts, 1, Été 1945, pages 75-80 (OC IV, pages 1323-1327).
310 III.2.50n. "I want to live", copies of manuscript and typescript [An2-02.08] (OC IV, page 659).
310 III.2.50o. Copy of "Albert Camus: 1913-1960. A Final Interview", Venture, volume 3, 4, Spring-Summer 1960, pages 25-39; reproduces Camus's handwritten answers (OC IV, 661-664).
311 III.2.51. L'Homme révolté.
311 III.2.51.1. "Remarque sur la révolte", off-print of first article on the theme of revolt in L'Existence, no. 1, 1945, pages 9-23. Reprised in OC III, pages 325-337.
311 III.2.51.2. "Les Meurtriers délicats", off-print of early version (La Table ronde, janvier 1948, pages 42-50) of chapter with same title in OC III, 202-209 and reprised ibid., pages 338-344.
311 III.2.51.3. "Le Meurtre et l'Absurde", off print of entire issue of Empédocle (no. 1, avril 1949) in which Camus's article became the "Introduction" OC III, 63-70. Reprised ibid., pages 344-350.
311 III.2.51.4. "Le Temps des meurtriers", photocopies of lecture made in South America in 1949: a) original typescript without a title and many autograph corrections; b) an abbreviated version [An1 - 04.05] with title, no corrections; a) is reprised in OC III, 351-365.
311 III.2.51.5. "Les remparts du monde", off-print of early version of chapter "Les fils de Caïn" in OC III, 82-90 published in Soleil, no 5, 15 février 1951, pages 13-21.
-- III.2.51.6. "Défense de L'Homme révolté", title given in 1965 by the editor of the first Pléiade edition for a text that is no longer available but for which the two typescripts, dated November 1952, are variations [folder missing].
311 III.2.51.7. Photocopy of typescript without title beginning with "On trouvera en appendice …" and copious autograph corrections and additions;.
311 III.2.51.8. Photocopy of typescript without title, with fewer autograph corrections and coming closest to the text published in 1965 ("Défense de L'Homme révolté"); see OC III, 366-378.
312 III.2.52. Polemic around L'Homme révolté.
312 III.2.52.1. "Lettre à Marcel Moré", 28 mai 1952, in Dieu vivant. Photocopy of manuscript [Ae 1 - 02.07].
312 III.2.52.2. "Lettre à Pierre Lebar", 19 mai 1952. Photocopy of manuscript [Ae 1 - 02.08].
312 III.2.52.3. "Lettre au Libertaire", mai 1952. Photocopy of manuscript [Ae 1 - 02.09].
312 III.2.52.4. "Monsieur le directeur", letter to Sartre, June 30, 1952. Photocopy of manuscript [Ae 1 - 02.10].
312 III.2.52.5. Photocopy of partial second; manuscript of same.
312 III.2.52.6. Photocopy of fragment of typed version of same letter.
313 III.2.53. Additional manuscripts and typescripts.
313 III.2.53.1. Questionnaire et réponses [An1-01.09]. One page typed general questions and handwritten answers. circa 1952
313 III.2.53.2. "Théâtre et théâtre" [Aq1 - 01.03]. Photocopy of manuscript.
313 III.2.53.3. "Notes sur la poésie au théâtre" [Aq1 - 01.02]. Photocopy of manuscript.
313 III.2.53.4. "Idées et opinions" [Aq1 - 01.01]. Photocopy of 9-page manuscript.
313 III.2.53.5. "Texte sur Marcel Herrand" [An2 - 03.10]. Photocopy of manuscript.
313 III.2.53.6. Patrice de la Tour du Pin [An2 - 03.01]. Photocopies of manuscript and unrevised typescript.
313 III.2.53.7. "Edy Le Grand" [2 - 03.02], photocopy of manuscript and typescript of text on this illustrator of La Peste.
313 III.2.53.8. "Hommage à Claude Santelli" [An2 - 03.03] (1959?) Photocopies of manuscript and clean typescript.
313 III.2.53.9. "Présentation de Saint-Just de [An2 - 03.08]. Photocopies of manuscript and typescript.
314 III.2.54. Polemic with André Breton in Arts.
314 III.2.54.1. Off-print of "Lettre au journal Arts" (from November 18, 1951).
314 III.2.54.2. Off-print of "Une lettre d'Albert Camus en réponse à André Breton", Arts, 19 octobre 1951, page 1. [see OC III, pages 457-461 and page 1304].
315 III.2.55. L'Erreur de Jean Daniel. 1953
315 III.2.55.1. Photocopy of first draft of Camus's comments that were not included in the 1953 edition.
315 III.2.55.2. Photocopy of text as it appeared in the 1984 edition (OC III, page 915).
316 III.2.56. "La littérature et le travail" (Lettre à Maurice Lime).
316 III.2.56.1. Off-print of "La littérature et le travail", L'École et la Démocratie, 2, no. 7, 15 May-15 June 1954 (this version was not retained).
316 III.2.56.2. Off-print of same reprised in La Révolution prolétarienne, no. 447, février 1960; (OC III, 929-932).
317 III.2.57. "L'Avenir de la civilisation européenne".
317 III.2.57.1. Photocopy of discussion published by the Bibliothèque de l'Institut Français d'Athènes, 1956, 54 pages (OC III, pages 995-1014).


IV. Audio. 1952-2011, undated


Box Folder
51 IV.1. Unearthed RTF radio interview. 1952
51 IV.1.1. Two original 78 RPM discs labeled "Disque pyral fabriqué pour la Radiodiffusion et Télévision Françaises" [RTF] recording an interview of Albert Camus by Jacqueline Franck, probably made in 1952. They were found and transmitted to R. Gay-Crosier by her son Didier Franck in January 2009. (Not for public consultation).
318 IV.1.2. CD/DVD versions on two diskettes labeled "Albert Camus, Unearthed interview, 1952" (on DVD/RW) and "Albert Camus, Unearthed interview, 1952, Part II".
318 IV.1.3. Printed set of e-mail correspondence with Didier Franck, donor of the 78 RPMs.
318 IV.1.4. Published transcript of the interview in Présence d'Albert Camus, 2, 2011, pages 4-8 with approval by Catherine Camus. 2011
318 IV.1.5. Letter to Catherine Camus explaining technical difficulties when transferring the content of the 78 RPM record on a CD.
52 IV.2. Recordings by Albert Camus.
52 IV.2.1. Large black box with three HiFi grammaphone records.
52 IV.2.2. Three records featuring Albert Camus reading excerpts from his own works, produced by the Archives de la Radio-Diffusion Télévision Française, ref. TS 30 LA 606, title "Textes et commentaires dits par l'auteur", distribution Disques Adès. (Not for public consultation, use CD version).
52 IV.2.3. Table of contents with sources for each item.
52 IV.3. Record I: "L'Homme".
52 IV.3.1. Record II: "L'Écrivain".
52 IV.3.2. Record III: "L'Écrivain et le Théâtre".
319 IV.4. Three CDs (available for public consultation).
319 IV.4.1. CD I: Albert Camus, L'Homme.
319 IV.4.2. CD II: Albert Camus, L'Étranger.
319 IV.4.3. CD III: Albert Camus, L'Écrivain et le théâtre.
320 IV.5. Recording of German version of "Les Silences de Paris", "Paris schweigt": CD of German version of Camus's 1949 radio play "Les Silences de Paris" (see Œuvres complètes, volume II, Paris, Gallimard, 2008. Pléiade series, pages 1153-1168), Süddeutscher Rundfunk, 1979.


V. Addenda. 1962-2013, undated


Box Folder
321 V.1. Six letters by Francine Camus (1914-1979), wife of Albert Camus, to Raymond Gay-Crosier mainly regarding permission to quote from La Mort heureuse and a German translation by RGC of Révolte dans les Asturies, a world première performed as a radio play in 1964 by Radio Bern, Switzerland. 1964 February 6-1965 April 10
322 V.2. 7 letters by Roger Quilliot (1925-1998) to Raymond Gay-Crosier. Quilliot was a personal friend of Camus, professor at the University of Clermont Ferrand, editor of the first Pléiade edition of Camus's work in two volumes (1962, 1965) recognized as his thèse d'État. The first group of 4 letters were mailed between April 13, 1962 and February 14, 1968. They deal with questions related to RGC's dissertation in progress published in 1967 as Les Envers d'un échec. Étude sur le théâtre d'Albert Camus (Minard, Lettres Modernes). The 3 letters on Senate letterhead were mailed between May 5, 1998 and June 26, 1998, shortly before Quilliot committed suicide. They concern the preparation of several texts by Quilliot that RGC published under the general title "Roger Quilliot fait le point" in Albert Camus 18. L'œuvre de Camus en U.R.S.S. et en R.D.A., 1999, pages 111-141. Quilliots handwritten corrections of his texts are also included. 1962-1968, 1998
423 V.3. Letter of appreciation by Robert Gallimard (1925-2013) to Raymond Gay-Crosier dated December 9, 2008 concerning the publication of the four volumes of Camus's Œuvres complètes initiated by R. Gallimard; letter by Renée Gallimard, wife of Robert, dated June 13, 2012 about her husband's inability to write an article for the Cahier de l'Herne Camus co-edited by RGC. 2008, 2012
41 V.4. 13 letters, some signed faxes, by Catherine Camus (1945), daughter of Albert Camus and executrix of his literary legacy, to Raymond Gay-Crosier. 12 letters concern the preparation of the Pléiade edition of the Œuvres complètes. For volumes III and IV, Robert Gallimard and Catherine Camus appointed RGC in December 2004 editor-in-chief. With letter 13 she approves the inclusion of RGC's documents and copies of partial manuscripts in UF's special Camus collection.
42 V.5. Copy of an unsigned letter by Albert Camus to Mrs. Herbert Dieckmann dated December 3, 1951 responding to questions on his reading of Kafka and the fait divers at the source of Le Malentendu.
43 V.6. Copy of signed letter in English by Albert Camus, dated May 7, 1958, to a Mrs. Angas asking for help to ease the living conditions of Spanish Civil War veterans in France.
44 V.7. Photocopy of a dedication "À Nicole" of La Peste in Camus's handwriting.
45 V.8. FBI Report: Archival copies of transmittal memo and report filed by J. Edgar Hoover on August 13, 1946 on Camus's visit to the United States.
46 V.9. Original early issues (3-68) of the Bulletin d'information published by the Société des Études Camusiennes, now called Chronique after the creation of the Société's official serial Présence d'Albert Camus (PQ2605.A3734 Z45845). For the full set of the Bulletin, see http://www.etudes-camusiennes.fr/wordpress/?s=Bulletin (1 of 4).
47 V.9. Original early issues ... (2 of 4).
48 V.9. Original early issues ... (3 of 4).
49 V.9. Original early issues ... (4 of 4).
410 V.10. "Aufstand in Asturien" [Révolte dans les Asturies], world première, Radio Bern (Switzerland), April 8, 1965; Typescript of authorized German version by R. Gay-Crosier used as script by actors; Notice by the Journal de Genève (April 6, 1965) of "Création mondiale d'une pièce de Camus"; presentation by R. Gay-Crosier "Aufstand in Asturien. Zur Welturaufführung eines Jugendwerkes von Albert Camus", Der Landbote (March 26, 1965); "Aufstand in Asturien", Programm announcement in radio + fernsehen (April 4-10, 1965); review of radio play, Tagesanzeiger (April 15, 1965). 1965
411 V.11. Anniversary issues of French newspapers and magazines, most with rich illustrations. 2010 January, 2013 October-November
412 V.12. Conference announcements, posters.
413 V.13. Various photographs.
414 V.14. Select newspaper and magazine articles. 1992 June, 2006 May, 2013 September
415 V.15. Gallimard's official posters for volumes I, II (2006) and III, IV (2008) of the Pléiade edition of Camus's Œuvres complètes. 2006-2008


VI. Catherine Camus versus Drouot. 2014-2015, undated


Box Folder
416 VI.1. Brief summary of both trials.
416 VI.2. Adjudication by the Tribunal de Grande Instance de Paris rejecting C. Camus's arguments and imposing a fine of €3000 each to be paid to the agent and the auction house respectively. 2014 March 27
416 VI.3. The Brissonneau/Drouot Catalog with the incriminating pieces.
416 VI.4. 89 letters printed from the Brissonneau/Drouot catalog.
416 VI.5. Request of assistance by Catherine Camus. 2014 May 24
416 VI.6. R. Gay-Crosier's expert testimony refuting the court's arguments and establishing the copyright infringement.
416 VI.7. Table of key passages taken from the letters supporting RGC's arguments.
416 VI.8. Adjudication by the Court d'Appel de Paris in favor of the appeal and granting C. Camus €10,000 compensation. 2015 September 8
416 VI.9. C. Camus's thank-you letter to RGC.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Ducailar, Yvonne
Maeurer, Lucette



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page