Skip to Search



A Guide to the Richard M. Bartleman Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Bartleman, Richard M.
Title: Richard M. Bartleman Papers
Dates: 1890-1893
Abstract: Memoirs, correspondence, and clippings of Richard M. Bartleman, a diplomat stationed in Venezuela in the 1890s.
Extent: 0.5 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MS Group 37
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Richard M. Bartleman's Book of "Recuerdos" and other miscellaneous documents dating from 1890 to 1893. Includes clippings, correspondence, notes, photographs, and invitations, all dealing with the U.S. diplomat's life in Caracas, Venezuela.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Richard M. Bartleman Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 P/1 Richard M. Bartleman. 1890-1893, 320p. V.I. Impressions of Venezuela. Contains clippings, manuscript notes, photographs, invitations all dealing with life in Caracas between 1890-1893.
1 P/2 Gresham, W.A. 1893. ALS to Mr. Richard M. Bartleman. Washington D.C. April 25 lp. 33 X 21 cm. Arrangements made for his draft to be paid by Shipley and Co.
1 P/3 Brown, Shipley and Co. 1893. ALS to Mr. R.M. Bartleman. London. May 5 lp. 25 X 20 cm. Honoring draft according to the instructions of the Secretary of State.
1 P/4 Kieckhoefer, F.J. 1893. ALS to Mr. Bartleman Department of State, Washington D.C. May 8 2p. 17 X 11 cm. About draft note that was returned to him.
1 P/5 Bartleman, R.M. n.d. Memorandum of expense of living at Caracas, Venezuela.
1 PH/1 Photograph of different diplomats stationed at Caracas. Breakfast, 1893, with the Countess Maglione? Aug. 9.
1 PH/2 Photograph: Caracas. The Guayra Railroad, 1891.
1 Cl/1-12 Newspaper Clippings concerning Venezuela. 1892 Jan. 25 - June 13.

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page