Skip to Search



A Guide to the Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers and Book Collection

Finding aid created by Joyce Dewsbury and Virginia Williams

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Barber, Red 1908-1992
Title: Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers and Book Collection
Dates: 1925-1992
Abstract: Scrapbooks, correspondence, photographs documenting the life of Red Barber and the history of sports and broadcasting.
Extent: 19.5 Linear feet. 47 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 71b
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Walter Lanier "Red" Barber is a legend in the field of sports broadcasting. He began his career sixty-one years ago while studying English education at the University of Florida. In his junior year, while filling in for a reporter on the University's radio station WRUF, Barber realized that broadcasting was the profession he would pursue. He left school in 1930 to accept a full-time job announcing for WRUF where he worked for four years. In 1934, when the Cincinnati Reds decided to air their games on radio, Red Barber accepted his first major league broadcasting job doing play-by-play announcing. It was in Cincinnati that Red Barber announced the first night baseball game. Five years later, in 1939, he accepted an announcing job with the Brooklyn Dodgers where he worked for fifteen years. In 1954 Barber left the Dodgers to work for the New York Yankees. He broadcasted the Yankees' baseball games until 1966.

During his sportscasting career, Barber covered thirteen World Series, four all-star games, five Army-Navy games, one Sugar Bowl, two Rose Bowls, eight Orange Bowls, and four National Football League championship games. When he was appointed Director of Sports at CBS Radio in 1946, he created their unique "Football Roundup" coverage. From 1951 to 1955, Barber also served as Counselor on Sports for CBS.

In 1978 Barber won the first Ford C. Frick Award for Broadcasting Excellence and was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York. In 1979 he was given a Distinguished Alumni Award by the University of Florida and a Gold Award by the Florida Association of Broadcasters. In the same year he was also inducted into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. Barber retired from sportscasting in 1972, but returned to radio as a sports commentator in 1980. He also was a frequent contributor to National Public Radio's "Morning Edition." Red Barber lived in Tallahassee, Florida, from 1974 until his death in 1992.


Scope and Content

The Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers include scrapbooks, correspondence, manuscripts, memorabilia, photographs, and visual materials (both audio and video tapes) from the 1920s through 1990. The thirty-one scrapbooks include magazine and newspaper clippings concerning articles about Red Barber, articles in which his name is mentioned, his column entitled "Redhead's Mailbag," programs, announcements, notices, and certificates such as one entitled "Citation for Bravery" for a "Rattlesnake Roundup". They document the period from 1925-1961. There are also many loose clippings now contained in archival folders which cover the period from 1961-1990.

One of these scrapbooks, Volume 31, should be mentioned because of its content. This scrapbook contains the record of the Red Cross Campaign in March, 1944 and was presented to "Red" Barber, the campaign chairman, as a memento of a job well done. The publisher of the Brooklyn Eagle, Frank D. Schroth, has his name inscribed under the acknowledgement.

On December 19, 1943 Red Barber was asked and accepted the chairmanship of the Red Cross War Fund drive in Brooklyn. The quota set for the borough was $3,331,000 nearly twice that of 1943.

Prior to and throughout the fund drive various articles and photographs appeared in the Brooklyn Eagle detailing the progress of the fund drive, the aides involved, calls for volunteers, and various human interest stories. On March 1, 1944, for instance, a long article and several photos appeared in the paper to herald the start of the campaign. Occasionally photos were included in the newspaper showing scenes of men wounded in action with articles concerning the need for Red Cross care back of the lines. One of the articles is captioned "Children's Pennies Spur Oldsters in Red Cross Fund Campaign". The photo accompanying the article pictures Red Barber with three children who are members of the Junior Commandos of the Sea Gate. One of them presents Red Barber with a check for $10 for the War Fund appeal - the entire treasury of the group apparently.

The correspondence covers the years 1966-1990 and contains letters to Red Barber from friends, colleagues, and ardent fans who listened to his broadcasts. The manuscript files include early drafts, revisions, and manuscripts of his books The Broadcasters, Show Me The Way To Go Home, and Walk in the Spirit as well as copies of the University of Southern Mississippi Oral History Program's interview with Mr. Barber dated 1974.

The memorabilia files contain playbills, press pass cards, programs, public relations' commentaries about Red Barber, the August 29, 1970 University of Florida Commencement Convocation program at which an honorary degree "Doctor of Letters" was conferred on Walter L. Barber, and the actual degree. The photographs cover a range of subjects such as family, broadcasting, and awards. There are photographs of WRUF chronicling the start of Barber's career in radio broadcasting at the University of Florida. Photographs also document special events such as Barber's induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame and a meeting of well-known sports broadcasters with President Reagan at the White House.

The audio tapes consist of fifty-five reel-to-reel tapes and ninety-three cassette tapes. The subjects are many and varied and include baseball games, commentaries, European travel, interviews, history of baseball and baseball personalities, speeches, tributes, and World Series games. On most of these tapes, the distinctive and memorable voice of Red Barber can be heard. The notation "cannot be verified" indicates that the tape could not be played at the designated speed on the equipment available and therefore the written notes on the tape covers could not be verified.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Along with the papers, Barber has given the University of Florida Libraries some 600 books dealing with the world of sports. Understandably, the majority of titles, including several by Mr. Barber himself, feature baseball. From the A's to the Yanks, the collection holds histories of teams and biographies of players, managers, and even umpires. There are also books about numbers, year-by-year statistics and their explanations in baseball dictionaries and directories.

Other books explore the wider symbolic relations of man and his sports: The Nazi Olympics, Sport and the Spirit of Play in American Fiction, The Boys of Summer, Good Clean Violence. Besides baseball, football, basketball, hockey, and other team sports, this collection includes works on individual sports such as boxing, tennis, skiing, fishing, and golf. There are biographies and memoirs of sports broadcasters and descriptions of the interactions between the business and the sports worlds.

Many of the books are inscribed to Red Barber by their authors; others were sent to him by publishers for his comments and review. All are a tribute to the wide interests and many friendships of this broadcasting legend. They now form a unique core collection for the University of Florida Libraries and the Department of Special Collections.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Two audio cassette tapes of Russell Bennett's Symphony in D Minor (to the Dodgers) were digitally reproduced in October 2013 and are available on CD.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

In January 1990, Mr. Barber donated his papers and collection of sports-related books to the Department of Special Collections of the University of Florida Libraries.


Contents List

Clippings


Box
1-3 Volumes 1-10. 1925-1939
1-3 Volumes 11-16. 1940-1947
1-3 Volumes 17-31 - Unboxed. 1942-1961
1-3 Loose. 1961-1990


Correspondence


Box
4 Correspondence 1965-1971
5 Correspondence 1972-1973
6 Correspondence 1974-1979
7 Correspondence 1979-1983
8 Correspondence 1983-1984
9 Correspondence 1984-1988
10 Correspondence 1989
11 Correspondence 1989-1990


Manuscripts


Box
12 Manuscripts
13 Manuscripts
14 Manuscripts
15 Manuscripts


Memorabilia


Box
16 Memorabilia
17 Memorabilia
18 Memorabilia
19 Memorabilia
20 Memorabilia


Photographs


Box
21a-c Awards
21a-c Awards - Baseball Hall of Fame - Cooperstown, NY (1978)
21a-c Awards - Florida Sports Hall of Fame - Cypress Gardens (1979)
21a-c Awards - George Polk Award (1984)
21a-c Awards - Unidentified
21a-c Baseball Related
21a-c Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - Airplane Broadcast
21a-c Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - WSAI
21a-c Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - WLW
21a-c Broadcasting - Baseball - World Series
21a-c Broadcasting - CBS
21a-c Broadcasting - CBS (contact sheets)
21a-c Broadcasting - CBS - "Red Barber's Club House"
21a-c Broadcasting - CBS - "Red Barber's Club House" (contact sheets)
21a-c Broadcasting - Harness Racing
21a-c Candid photographs of Red
21a-c Celebrities - Baseball and Others
21a-c Dedications
21a-c Dodger Stadium Tribute
21a-c Eightieth Birthday Party
21a-c Eighty-Third (?) Birthday
21a-c Electronics Park (Visit - 1951)
21a-c Family - Immediate (Red, Lylah, Sarah)
21a-c Family - Lylah M. Barber
21a-c Family - Red Barber
21a-c Family and Others - Later
21a-c Florida Association of Broadcasters - Meeting (1979)
21a-c Lay Ministry
21a-c Little League
21a-c Lylah Murray Scarborough Barber
21a-c Lylah and Red #1
21a-c Lylah and Red #2
21a-c Miami Stadium
21a-c Miscellaneous - Dinners, Meetings
21a-c National Public Radio (NPR) - Morning Edition
21a-c Negatives
21a-c Newspaper Article, Letter (photos which were attached)
21a-c Photo Portraits
21a-c Residences
21a-c Sarah Lanier Barber (Red's and Lylah's daughter)
21a-c Television - NBC Today Program
21a-c Television Filming
21a-c Unidentified
21a-c Vietnam
21a-c White House Meeting - President Reagan
21a-c WRUF
21a-c WRUF - matted photos


Audio Tapes - Reel to Reel


Box
22 Commentary - Roy Campanella
22 Commentary - For One About to Undergo an Operation - January 27, 1970
22 Commentary - Ford, Senator and Horace Wagner at the Lambsclub in N. Y. (two subjects: "Talkin' About How He Got His Name" and Geo. McGraw) (Information cannot be verified)
22 Commentary - The Problem of Pain in Athletics
22 Commentary - The Truth About Radio with R. B. - October 2, 1966 (User cassette available - Box 28)
22 Commentary - Voice of Sports - May 1, 1968
22 Interviews - Alston at Atlanta (Information cannot be verified)
22 Interviews - Barber, Red - Interview by Father Kennedy. Interview from the Viewpoint Program
22 Interviews - Barber, Red - Interview by Stuart Klein (WNEW reporter)
22 Interviews - Barber, Red - Interview by Vin Scully - October 12, 1978
22 Interviews - Barber, Red - Interview by Hank ? Line One Radio Program. A commentary and phone in program.
22 Interviews - Bauasi and Thompson - Interview by R. B.
22 Interviews - Crosetti, Frank - Interview by R.B.
22 Interviews - Dodd, Bobby - Interview by R.B. (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Durocher, Leo and Mr. Stankey - Interview by R.B. - NPR tape
23 Interviews - Elmore, Harry - Interview by R.B.
23 Interviews - Gaither, Jake - Interview by R.B. - 1968
23 Interviews - Gomez, Lefty at Rollins College - March 20, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Griese, Bob - Interview by R.B. - March 29, 1968
23 Interviews - Harder, Mel and two others - Interview by R.B. - March 17, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Hodges, Mr. and Mr. Stankey at Miami - March 1968
23 Interviews - Lombardi, Vince - Interview by R.B.
23 Interviews - Malmberg, Harry - Interview by R.B. - August 26, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Mays, Willie - Interview by R.B. - June 14, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - O'Malley, Walter at Vero - Interview by R.B. - March 7, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Richards, Paul - Interview by R.B.
23 Interviews - Russell, Fred and Mr. Woodruff - Interview by R.B. (Information cannot be verified)
23 Interviews - Schacht, Al - Interview by R.B. in which Schacht talks about Ty Cobb and Walter Johnson
24 Interviews - Schoendienst - Interview by Vin Scully - LA Dodger Broadcast - March 20, 1968
24 Interviews - Shula, Don - Interview by R.B. - January 18. 1971
24 Interviews - Shula, Don, Coach of the Miami Dolphins - January 18, 1971 (#2)
24 Interviews - Smith, Mayo - Interview by R.B. (Information cannot be verified)
24 Interviews - Smith, Red - Interview by R.B.
24 Interviews - Stengel, Casey - Interview by R.B. at Casey's home
24 Interviews - Stengel, Casey - Telephone interview by R.B. - June 20, 1968
24 Interviews - Tate, Charlie - Interview by R.B. (Information cannot be verified)
24 Interviews - Turner, J. - Interview by R.B. - October 1968
24 Interviews - Turner, Jim - Interview by R.B. - 1966
24 Interviews - Unitas, Johnny, Baltimore Colts quarterback - Interview by R.B. before Super Bowl
24 Interviews - Unitas, Johnny, quarterback of the Baltimore Colts - Interview by R.B. - August 31, 1968 (Information cannot be verified)
24 Interviews - Williams, Dick - Interview by R.B. (Dick Williams was introduced as Senator Ed Ford (the Senator from Michigan) as a joke during a banquet for Harding. The name adhered.
24 Interviews - Wilson, George - Interview by R.B. (Information cannot be verified)
25 Lylah - Lylah and R.B. in France - June 1970
25 Personalities - Dizzy Dean - Country style
25 Radio - Armed Forces Radio
26 Radio - Mutual Broadcasting
26 Religious - At Cathedral of St. John the Divine - July 25, 1971
26 Religious - The Psalms
26 Religious - Sermon at Cooperstown by R.B.
26 Shows - Phillips Show - R.B. as the guest - December 15, 1965
26 Speeches - Red Barber's University of Florida Commencement Speech - August 29, 1970 - also R.B.'s Honorary Doctorate Presentation
26 Tributes - Barber, Red - Tribute by Annie Warren of WGBS to honor R.B.'s 40th consecutive year in broadcasting - March 7, 1970
26 Tributes - Dressen, Charley - Tribute by R.B. - August 15, 1966 (User cassette available - Box 28)


Audio Tapes - Cassette


Box
27-28 Awards - Florida Association of Broadcasters. 1979. Red Barber receives their Gold Medal Award. Acceptance speech.
27-28 Baseball Games - Barber, Red. Announcing a game.
27-28 Baseball Games - Baseball in Music. WIGN Radio with Rob Lewis. April 17, 1986. Game excerpts with R.B. and other announcers.
27-28 Baseball Games - Brooklyn Dodgers vs. Pittsburgh Pirates. 1950. Connie Desmond and R.B. as announcers. #1
27-28 Baseball Games - Brooklyn Dodgers vs. Pittsburgh Pirates. 1950. #2
27-28 Baseball Games - Brooklyn Dodgers (no date)
27-28 Baseball Games - Brooklyn Dodgers vs. Pittsburgh Pirates. 1950. #3
27-28 Baseball Games - Excerpts from Baseball Games. R.B. and others
27-28 Baseball Games - Old Timers Game. July 18, 1983. #1
27-28 Baseball Games - Old Timers Game. July 18, 1983. #2
27-28 Baseball Games - Pirates vs. Reds
27-28 Commentary - Greatest Recorded Moments in the History of Baseball.
27-28 Commentary - Important firsts in baseball by R.B.
27-28 Commentary - Liberty in New York City. R.B. gives information to sailors who are touring NYC.
27-28 Commentary - Origin of terms "Rhubarb" and "Catbird Seat". R.B. explains terms.
27-28 Commentary - Reminiscence of 1939 Broadcast days at WOR and changes. Comments by R.B.
27-28 Commentary - Trevino, Lee. R.B.'s comments about this golfer and winning and losing.
27-28 Commentary - Williams, Ted. Comments by R.B. about this baseball player.
27-28 Europe: France - Commentary by R.B.
27-28 Europe: France - Lalleman, Andre (owner of a small inn in France). Interview by R.B.
27-28 Europe: France - Lylah discusses Matisse exhibit at Palais Royale.
27-28 Europe: France - Points of Reference. R.B. comments on items for a future article.
27-28 Europe: France - Riviera and the Plaza Hotel. R.B. also discussed the perfume industry.
27-28 Europe: France - Southern France (Cannes, Antibes). R.B. also reminisces about Sanford in 1924.
27-28 Europe: France - Train ride from Avignon to the City of Vence. Comments by Lylah and Red Barber.
27-28 Europe: France - Train ride to Nice. Discussion of sights.
27-28 Europe: France - Trip over to France.
27-28 Florida Association of Broadcasters - Convention. 1979.
27-28 Florida Association of Broadcasters - Speech. Discussion by R.B. of his book The Broadcasters. June 28, 1986.
27-28 History - Baseball on the Radio. The Voice of Summer. R.B. and others. May 23, 1986.
27-28 History - The Glory Days of New York Baseball. R.B. and others. #1
27-28 History - The Glory Days of New York Baseball. R.B. and others. #2
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The Beginning
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The Thirties
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The Early Forties
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The War Years
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The Late Forties
27-28 History - The History of Baseball series - The Early Fifties
27-28 History - Lecture. "Between the Wars". Florida State University Seminar. R.B.and others
27-28 Interviews - Aracaro, Eddy. Interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Barber, Red. Being interviewed.
27-28 Interviews - Bouton, Jim. Phone interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Chandler, A.B. Phone interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Durocher, Leo. Interview by R.B. 1968.
27-28 Interviews - Durocher, Leo and Stankey. Interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Gaither, Jake. Athletic director at Florida A and M. Interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Manaserro, Luigi, manager of Raimondo's. Interview by R.B. at Lylah's birthday dinner.
27-28 Interviews - Pittinger, Darron. Phone interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Pope, Ed and Mayo Smith. Interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Smith, Mayo. Interview by R.B. "What is Managing?" 1971.
27-28 Interviews - Tate, Charlie. Interview by R.B. August 1979.
27-28 Interviews - Florida State University (FSU). Interview by R.B.
27-28 Interviews - Terry, Bill. Interview by R.B. July 2, 1971
27-28 Interviews - Weaver, Earl. Interview by R.B. "What is Managing?" 1971
27-28 Lylah - Barber, Lylah. Interviewed by Lee Lowenfish of MBAI, New York City. April 1985.
27-28 Lylah - Barber, Lylah. Morning Edition. April 2, 1985.
27-28 Montreal - Red Barber in Montreal
27-28 Morning Edition - Barber, Red with Bob Edwards. August 28, 1981
27-28 Morning Edition - Barber, Red and Lylah. Interviewed by Bob Edwards. Also the 2nd Annual Crackerjack Old Timers Game at Robert Kennedy Stadium, Washington, D.C. July 18, 1983.
27-28 Morning Edition - Bob and Red Barber on Red's 82nd birthday.
27-28 Morning Edition - Second Anniversary of Morning Edition. November 5, 1981.
27-28 Morning Edition - Tribute to Red Barber who celebrates his 75th birthday. February 17 - February 18, 1983.
28 Music. Russell Bennett's Notebook Program. His Symphony in D Minor (to the Dodgers). CD copy added 10/2013.
28 Music. Symphony in D Minor (to the Dodgers). CD copy added 10/2013.
27-28 Music - Woody Herman and his First Herd. Introduction by R.B.
27-28 National Public Radio (NPR) - NPR's "Opening Day"
27-28 National Public Radio (NPR) - Bob Edwards and R.B. in Washington. "A Lock Out" but they celebrate the start of baseball season themselves. Excerpts and phone-in program.
27-28 Religious - Barber, Red. Speaks. "The Baseball Game of Life". Selections from his book, Show Me the Way To Go Home. A baseball sermon.
27-28 Religious - Barber, Red. Speech.
27-28 Religious - Religious Speeches. 1976.
27-28 Shows - Old Gold Show - Woody Herman, Red Barber, Allan Jones
27-28 Speeches - Barber, Red. Speech.
27-28 Speeches - Campanella, Roy. Speech by R.B. at a dinner.
27-28 Speeches - Lincoln High Graduation. June 1986.
27-28 Speeches - "Red Barber Speaks". A forum.
27-28 Tributes - Barber, Red. Bob Edwards of NPR celebrates Red's 80th birthday.
27-28 Tributes - Barber, Red. Happy Birthday to R.B. from WFSU-FM. 1983.
27-28 Tributes - Barber, Red. Receives Easter Seal Award from Easter Seal Society. Pat Summeralle as the Master of Ceremonies.
27-28 Tributes - Barber, Red. Tribute to him by Dick Enberg of KMPC, LA. March 19 - March 31, 1974.
27-28 Tributes - Crosby, Bing. KCRW's salute to him. November 6, 1973.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Game 3.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Game 3.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Game 3.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Part 1.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Part 2.
27-28 World Series. 1936. Giants vs. Yankees. Part 3.
27-28 World series. 1949. Opening game with Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Yankees at Yankee Stadium. Mel Allen and Red Barber.
27-28 World Series. 1949. Yankees vs. Dodgers. Game 3.
27-28 World Series. 1949. Yankees vs. Dodgers. Game 3.
27-28 World Series. 1949. Yankees vs. Dodgers. Red Barber announcing.
27-28 World Series. 1953, 1956, and 1957. "We Want a Touchdown".
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Music. A Century of Baseball in Song.
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Newsbreak. CBS Radio Network. "Catbirds" (a poem). May 11, 1984.
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Owen, Pat. "It Ain't Over Till It's Over" (a song)
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Robinson, Jackie. The Legend and the Legacy (a tribute)
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Ruth, Babe. Speeches. His first and last recorded ones.
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Sheppard, Bob. Interviews.
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - Sports. Dog Team Racing. Iditarod Finish. 1988. KNOM. Home via KSKA in Anchorage, Alaska.
27-28 Unrelated to Red Barber - White, Theodore. How Politics Change. 1981.


Video Tapes


Box
29-30 Advertisements - Old Gold Cigarettes. Some of the ads show Red Barber. VHS tape.
29-30 Anniversaries - Baseball's 100th Anniversary Luncheon. VHS tape.
29-30 Anniversaries - 100 Years: A Visual History of the Dodgers. VHS tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - CBS This Morning. November 16, 1988. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - Long Way to October: Show 1 Reel 1. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - Long Way to October: Show 1 Reel 2. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - Long Way to October: Show 2 Reel 1. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - Long Way to October: Show 2 Reel 2. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Baseball Games - NASL. Tampa Bay vs. Portland. May 15, 1982. Broadcasting tape.
29-30 Broadcasting - Barber, Red. Early footage of him broadcasting at baseball games. How the term "catbird seat" originated. VHS tape.
29-30 Broadcasting - Barber, Red. Information about him. His past career and present retirement. Comments by baseball figures about him. Broadcast tape.
29-30 Champion Teams - World Champion L.A. Dodgers: 1988 Season. VHS tape.
29-30 Commentary - Ball Talk: Baseball's Voices of Summer. VHS tape.
29-30 Commentary - Barber, Red. Broadcast tape.
29-30 Commentary - Barber, Red and other sportscasters. VHS tape.
29-30 Commentary - ESPN Baseball Magazine. April 18, 1988. Beta tape.
29-30 Commentary - Gaither, Jake. Teacher, Coach, Citizen. Beta tape.
29-30 Commentary - Gandolf, Ray. ABC "Nightline". Red Barber. Summer 1990. VHS tape.
29-30 Commentary - Nightline: Jackie Robinson. Commentary by Ted Koppel - interviews with Red Barber and others. April 6, 1987. Beta tape and VHS tapes (2)
29-30 Commentary - Nightline: Jackie Robinson. April 7, 1987. Beta tape.
29-30 Commentary - Osgood, Charles. CBS News. Red Barber and Mel Allan. July 14, 1990. VSH tape.
29-30 Commentary - Play Ball. Narration by Red Barber. Facts about baseball. Beta tape.
29-30 Commentary - Sports Journal: Red Barber. WFSU-TV. Broadcast tape.
29-30 History - Baseball's Greatest Hits. Warner Fusselle. Beta tape.
29-30 History - The Baseball Time Capsule. VHS tape.
29-30 History - Crosby, Jr., Powel and the 20th Century. VHS tape.
29-30 History - The Golden Decade of Baseball. VHS tape.
29-30 History - Great Communicators of Sports. An overview of sports writing and broadcasting with Bob Costas, Red Barber, and others. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 History - Greatest Moments in American Sports History. VHS tape.
29-30 History - The History of Baseball. Beta tape.
29-30 History - The History of Baseball. VHS tape.
29-30 Interviews - Barber, Red. Being interviewed. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Interviews - Barber, Red. Interviewed by Fred Weimore. Sports People program. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Interviews - Barber, Red. Interviewed by Warner Fusel on ESPN. Major League Baseball Magazine - "Cover Story" on Red Barber. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Interviews - Barber, Red. "Red Barber Remembers". Interview by Gary Gealson. KTCA-TV in Minneapolis. R.B. talks about his start in baseball and where it led. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Interviews - Sager, Craig. Interview by R.B. CNN Sports. December 5, 1982. Broadcast tape.
29-30 Lylah Barber - Interview by Rickley Stone concerning Lylah's book. WFSU-TV. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Movies - Flatbush, FL. Republic Pictures. A young boy visits the Dodgers at spring training. VHS tape.
29-30 Sports - Christian Science Monitor Reports. Shoe #15. Red Barber interviewed by Rob Nelson. Money/Sports. July 18, 1986. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 Sports - Not So Great Moments In Sports. Part III. VHS tape.
29-30 Tributes - Campanella, Roy. Salute to the Boy Scouts. August 18, 1979. Broadcast tape.
29-30 Tributes - "Red Barber Day". Proclamation by Governor Martinez that February 17, 1988 is "Red Barber Day". During this special event there is also a celebration of Red Barber's birthday. Tallahassee. Beta tape and VHS tape.
29-30 World Series. Game 6. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. Game 6. Reels 1 and 2. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. Game 6. Reels 3 and 4. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. Game 7. Reel 5. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. 1952. Game 7. Reels 1 and 2. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. 1952. Game 7. Reels 3 and 4. Beta tape.
29-30 World Series. 1952. Game 7. Reels 6 and 7. Beta tape.
29-30 World series. 1952. Reels 6 and 6A/Reel 7. Beta tape.


Audio Duplicates


Box
31 Duplicates of audio tapes (cassette and reel-to-reel)


Addendum #1


Box
32 Clippings - 1990-1991
32 Memorabilia - 1990-1992
33 Phonograph Records. 35 records - 10" in diameter. 6 records - 12" in diameter. The 10" records are 16 2/3 RPM. Four of the 12" records are 33 1/3 RPM and the fifth 12" record is 78 RPM. There may be difficulties locating a phonograph with a 16 2/3 speed. Nine of the thirty-five 10" in diameter records listed above were items from the Library of Congress. They were boxed in a film case with the statement "Free Matter for the Blind or Handicapped". They are a series of readings by Red Barber and Ralph Bell from the book Rhubarb in the Catbird Seat.
34 Book - Fridays with Red by Bob Edwards, 1993
34 Correspondence - 4/90-7/91; 10/91-3/92
34 Films - 3 reels
35-37 Scrapbooks
38-39 Slides
40 Cassette Tapes - Baseball Games - All Star Game 1977. and Opening Day. 1979
40 Cassette Tapes - Baseball Games - Barber, Red. Play by Play. Highlights.
40 Cassette Tapes - Baseball Games - Giants. 9th inning. 10/3/51.
40 Cassette Tapes - Baseball Games - Yankee Old Timer's Day. 8/13/60.
40 Cassette Tapes - Commentaries - NPR's World Series Special. Red Barber and Bob Edwards.
40 Cassette Tapes - Dedications - Jazz tune dedicated to Red Barber.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Barber, Red. An Evening in His Home. 2/28/91.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Barber, Red. Interview in His Home. 11/2/90.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Barr, Lisa interviews Chester Yates. 10/5/90.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Barr, Lisa interviews Chester Yates. 10/5/90. (Duplicate tape)
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Caudill, Orley B. Interviews Red Barber. Tape 1. 2/27/73.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Caudill, Orley B. Interviews Red Barber. Tape 2. 2/27/73.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Edwards, Bob interviews Red Barber on NPR. Also an interview of Bob Creamer, author. 6/91.
40 Cassette Tapes - Interviews - Stanberg, Susan interviews Red Barber on NPR "Morning Edition" 3/29/91.
40 Cassette Tapes - Morning Edition - Breakfast with Red and Box 10/19/90
40 Cassette Tapes - Morning Edition - Program on 1/18/91
40 Cassette Tapes - Morning Edition - 10th Anniversary 1/1/91
40 Cassette Tapes - Satire - Riders Radio Theatre (WVXU). Parody on Red Barber and Bob Edwards.
40 Cassette Tapes - World Series. Cincinnati Reds vs. Oakland A's. 1990
40 Cassette Tapes - World Series. Cincinnati Reds vs. Oakland A's. 1990.
40 Cassette Tapes - World Series. Yankees vs Detroit, Game One, 5/27/62 - Tape 1
40 Cassette Tapes - World Series. Yankees vs Detroit, Game One, 5/27/62 - Tape 2
41 Reel to Reel Audio Tapes - Red Barber. Harry Cosell. "Speaking of Everything". 8/29/65.
41 Reel to Reel Audio Tapes - Red Barber. Larry King show. (4 tapes). 10/7/65.
41 Reel to Reel Audio Tapes - Red Barber. Reminiscences. (14 tapes). 12/65-3/67.
42 Video Tapes - Awards - Dedication and Breakfast with Red Barber 10/19/90. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Awards - DiGamma Kappa Distinguished Achievement Award. 1/22/91. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Baseball - Play by Play. Dodger film. vhs Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Baseball - "When It Was a Game". 6/26/91. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Commentaries - Red Barber's Corner. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Commentaries - Voices of the Game. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - History - Ball Talk. Baseball's Voices of Summer. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - History - Greatest Moments in American Sports History. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - History - Major League Baseball Magazine - Radio Recreations. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - History - 100 Years. A Visual History of the Dodgers 1890-1990. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - History - "Play by Play": A History of Sports Television. 11/25/91. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Interviews - Barber, Red. Being interviewed. 10/19/90. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Interviews - Barber, Red interviews Otis Boggs. 10/12/91. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Interviews - Costas, Bob interviews Vin Scully. 5/6/91. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - Interviews - Harwell, Ernie. 10/8/90. VHS Tape.
42 Video Tapes - World Series. Game 6. 1952. VHS Tape.
43 Films - Florence - Rome - Spain
43 Films - Virgin Islands - Puerto Rico
43 Films - Cuba
43 Films - Dominican Republic - Haiti
43 Films - Brazil
43 Films - Debut and Beau. Sara Spears. Christmas tree and daughter's home
43 Films - Various family - both black and white and color film
43 Films - Scarsdale
43 Films - Daughter at camp
43 Films - House
43 Films - Marathon
43 Films - Comesky Park
43 Films - Comesky Park
43 Films - Unidentified (four)
44 Photo Albums - Christmas 1947
44 Photo Albums - 50th Wedding Anniversary
45 Scrapbooks
46 Slides. Tray 1 - Rehearsal dinner; Debut Party; Rollins - 1956; Lamberts Graduation Party
46 Slides. Tray 2 - 25th Party; Aunt Laura; Mary Ann; St. Pete 56; Crystel River; Summerville, NC; Home - Winder 56
46 Slides. Tray 3 - Bermuda
47 Slides. Tray 1 - Canadian Rockies 1961
47 Slides. Tray 2 - Far East 1961
47 Slides. Tray 3 - Far East 1961
Miscellaneous Items: One 3-D camera. Two 3-D viewers. Seven small plastic viewers. Approximately 1800 slides which are 3-D



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page