Skip to Search



A Guide to the Elizabeth S. and Oliver L. Austin Papers

Finding aid created by Frank Orser; updated by Kapri P. Crowley

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2012


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Austin, Elizabeth S.
Creator: Austin, Oliver Luther, 1903-1988
Title: Elizabeth S. and Oliver L. Austin Papers
Dates: 1933-1967
Abstract: Correspondence and newsletter columns about ornithology, and manuscripts of books about birds by Elizabeth S. Austin and Oliver L. Austin, Jr.
Extent: 6 Linear feet. 13 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 51
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Elizabeth S. Austin, author and ornithologist, was a Research Associate of the Florida State Museum. She authored several birding books, all represented here, including The Birds That Stopped Flying, Penguins, and The Random House Book of Birds, co-authored by Oliver Austin. She was the editor of Frank Chapman in Florida, and wrote a weekly newspaper column on birds, "Wild Adventure."

Her husband Oliver L. Austin, Jr., was born in 1903 and educated at Wesleyan University and Harvard (Ph.D.). He was the author of numerous books including Birds of the World (1961). His positions included Curator of Ornithology at the Florida State Museum of the University of Florida. Previously he was director of the Austin Ornithological Research Station on Cape Cod. He was the editor of Auk, the Journal of the American Ornithologists Union and of the Bulletin of the Florida State Museum.


Scope and Content

The collection includes manuscripts of several of Elizabeth Austin's published works, correspondence, largely relating to the publication of Frank Chapman in Florida, and a scrapbook of her nature columns in the Florida Times-Union. The collection also includes several drafts of the manuscript of Birds of the World by Oliver Austin, including an unbound printed copy, and a microfilmed scrapbook, primarily of his column, "Birds and Such," from the Cape Cod Colonial, 1936-1937.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Elizabeth S. and Oliver L. Austin Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The Elizabeth Austin manuscripts and correspondence were donated by Oliver Austin, ca. 1961. The manuscripts of Birds of the World were received from his office in the Florida State Museum. Boxes 4-5 were added February 2012.


Contents List

MS 51A: Elizabeth S. Austin - Writings


Box Folder
1 1 Article for the Junior Encyclopedia of Natural History.
1 2 The Birds That Stopped Flying, Ts.with corrections.
1 3 The Birds That Stopped Flying, final mss. with corrections.
1 4 The Birds That Stopped Flying, galleys.
1 5 The Birds That Stopped Flying, quires.
1 6 The Birds That Stopped Flying, dust jacket.
1 7 The Birds That Stopped Flying, miscellaneous material.
1 8 The Penguins, Ts. with corrections.
1 9 "Penguins: the Birds with Flippers", dust jackets.
1 10 The Penguins, Chapter III, Ts. with corrections.
1 11 Random House Book of Birds, Ts. with corrections, pt.1.
1 12 Random House Book of Birds, Ts. With corrections, pt. 2.
1 13 Random House Book of Birds, Ts. with corrections, pt.3.
1 14 Random House Book of Birds, final Ts., pt.1.
1 15 Random House Book of Birds, final Ts., pt.2.
1 16 Random House Book of Birds, Outline of the birds to appear in the book.
2 17 Random House Book of Birds, galley proofs with author's corrections.
2 18 Random House Book of Birds, photographs.
2 19 Random House Book of Birds, galley with editor's marks.
2 20 Random House Book of Birds, page proofs.
2 21 Random House Book of Birds, original ms., returned from publisher with letter, August 6, 1971.
3 22-27 "Wild Adventure", carbon copy of the columns published by Elizabeth Austin in the Florida Times-Union of Jacksonville, No.1, Sept 3, 1961 - No.238 Oct 23, 1966; with Index: (22) nos. 1-39; 1961 Sept. 3-1962 May 27 (23) 40-79; 1962 June 3-1973 March 3 (24) 71-120; 1963 Jan. 6-1964 March 15 (25) 121-160; 1964 March 22- 1965 Jan. 20 (26) 161-200; 1965 Jan. 27-1966 Jan. 9 (27) 201-237; 1966 Jan. 16-Oct. 23.
3 28 "Frank Chapman Writes of Florida," by Elizabeth Austin published in The Florida Naturalist, V.29, pp. 43-44.
3 29 "Florida and the AOU Founders," by Elizabeth Austin, mimeograph copy, 5 pp.
3 30 Frank Chapman in Florida, by Elizabeth Austin, reviews.
3 36 Newsletter: "The Auklet" - August 1963

Box
4 Frank Chapman, Intro-Chapter 1
4 Frank Chapman, Chapter 2-3
4 Frank Chapman, Chapter 4-5
4 Frank Chapman, Chapter 6-7
4 Frank Chapman, Chapter 8-10
4 Frank Chapman, Bibliography
4 Frank Chapman, Bibliography continued
4 Frank Chapman, Photographs
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #1-39; 1961 September 3 - 1962 May 27
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #40-70; 1962 June 3 - 1973 March 3
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #71-120; 1963 January 6 - 1964 March 15
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #121-160; 1964 March 22 - 1965 January 20
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #161-200; 1965 January 27 - 1966 January 9
4 Wild Adventure, Newspaper Clippings #201-238; 1966 January 16 - 1966 October 23
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #1-39; 1961 September 3 - 1962 May 27
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #40-70; 1962 June 3 - 1973 March 3
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #71-120; 1963 January 6 - 1964 March 15
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #121-160; 1964 March 22 - 1965 January 20
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #161-200; 1965 January 27 - 1966 January 9
5 Wild Adventure, Manuscripts #201-238; 1966 January 16 - 1966 October 23


Elizabeth S. Austin - Correspondence


Box Folder
3 31 Bryan, H. C. to Ernest Coe, 1936 (copy).
3 31 Bryan, H. C. to T. S. Palmer, 1936.
3 31 Both letters re to illegal of killing of birds for plumage in the Everglades.
3 32 Correspondence, 1967.
3 32 Austin, Elizabeth. TL (copy) to G. J. Broekhuysen; 7 Dec. 1967.
3 32 Austin, Jr., Oliver L. TL (carbon) to Les Line, Audubon Magazine, 10 May 1967.
3 32 Letters to Elizabeth, or Oliver Austin. Most are in regard to Frank Chapman in Florida: Amadon, Dean (2).
3 32 Belle, Jessie.
3 32 Barker, Elizabeth.
3 32 Broekhuysen, G. J.
3 32 Chavchavadze, Paul.
3 32 Derringer, Betty.
3 32 Dickinson's, The.
3 32 Enwall, Jean.
3 32 Germaine, Loraine.
3 32 Hack, Joyce.
3 32 Holland, Mary (2).
3 32 Lowery, Jr., George.
3 32 Mautz, Robert, B.
3 32 Mayr, Ernst.
3 32 Murphy, Grace.
3 32 Pettingill, Eleanor.
3 32 Ranson, Marion B.
3 32 Reitz, J. Wayne.
3 32 Robertson, Bill.
3 32 Schling, Max.
3 32 Walters, John S.
3 33 Letters to Elizabeth Austin, 1968.
3 33 Cotrell, Annette.
3 33 Graham, Henry H.
3 33 Warner, Dorothy M. (with carbon of reply by Elizabeth Austin. 19 March 1968).
3 34 Correspondence, 1970-1975.
3 34 Austin, Elizabeth to V. P. Wystrack (carbon) re use of the word mistress.
3 34 University of Florida Press (Kishel, Mary J.; Summer, Bob; Nell, Paul C.).
3 34 Wystrack, V.P.
3 35 Miscellaneous: advertising, drawings, etc.


Elizabeth S. Austin - Scrapbook

Scrapbook of the published columns: "Wild Adventures," Florida Times-Union (Jacksonville); #1, Sept. 1961 - #238, Oct. 23, 1966.


MS 51B: Oliver L. Austin, Jr. - Birds of the World


Box
1 Birds of the World - First draft (3 folders).
2 Birds of the World - 2nd draft (carbon) with revisions (5 folders).
3 Birds of the World - Author's working carbon of the final draft, as edited and retyped, 1960-1961 (4 folders).
4 Birds of the World - "Final copy, as edited, copy styled and set into galley, March 1961" (5 folders).
5 Birds of the World - Galley Proofs.
6 Birds of the World - Biographical sketch of Oliver Austin.
6 Birds of the World - Inquiries.
7 Birds of the World, illustrations in pencil, and page proofs, 22x15 inches.


Oliver L. Austin, Jr. - Scrapbook

Oliver Austin scrapbook (on microfilm), 1933-1937. Primarily includes copies of his column "Birds and Such," Cape Cod Colonial, 1937-1937. [Shelved in manuscripts microfilm cabinet.].


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Austin, Oliver Luther 1903-
Bird watching -- Guidebooks
Birds -- Geographical distribution
Ornithological literature
Ornithologists



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page