Skip to Search





A Guide to the Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus Collection on Alain Robbe-Grillet

Finding aid created by Steve Duckworth

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2016



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Gay-Crosier, Raymond (Collector)
Creator: Stolzfus, Ben, 1927-
Title: Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus Collection on Alain Robbe-Grillet
Dates: 1953-2015
Bulk dates: 1979-1997
Abstract: Alain Robbe-Grillet (1922-2008) was a French writer and filmmaker most associated with the Nouveau Roman literary trend. This collection, compiled by Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus, contains letters from Robbe-Grillet, biographies and presentations, photographs, documents and correspondence concerning the English translation of La Belle Captive, and an article by Gay-Crosier.
Extent: 0.42 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0357
Language(s): Includes materials written in French and English.

Biographical/Historical Note

Alain Robbe-Grillet was a French writer and filmmaker most associated with the Nouveau Roman literary trend. Robbe-Grillet was born on August 18, 1922 in Brest (Finistère, France) to a family of engineers and scientists. He was trained as an agricultural engineer. During the years 1943 and 1944, Robbe-Grillet participated in compulsory labor in Nuremberg, where he worked as a machinist. In 1945, Robbe-Grillet completed his diploma at the National Institute of Agronomy. Later, his work as an agronomist took him to Martinique, French Guinea, Guadeloupe, and Morocco. Robbe-Grillet was elected a member of the Académie française in 2004, but was never formally received because of disputes regarding the reception procedures. He died in Caen after succumbing to heart problems on February 18, 2008. A fuller biography is available at Wikipedia.

Collector Raymond Gay-Crosier was born in Basel Switzerland on August 30, 1937. He studied at the Universities of Basel, Paris (Sorbonne) and Bern, Switzerland, where he received his doctorat-ès-lettres in 1965 with a dissertation on Albert Camus's theater. Gay-Crosier began teaching at the University of Florida as an Associate Professor in 1967. He primarily covered the field of 20th-century French literature and was promoted to full Professor in 1973. In 2003, he retired as Professor Emeritus in order to devote his time to the contributions and direction of the projected four-volume Pléiade edition of Albert Camus's Ĺ’uvres complètes. See Gay-Crosier's full biography for more.

Ben Stoltzfus is Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, and French at the University of California, Riverside. He is an internationally recognized Robbe-Grillet, Hemingway, and Magritte scholar; also a novelist, poet, and translator. His fiction, poetry, essays, scholarly articles, and reviews have appeared in some 150 journals and literary reviews, such as Chelsea, North Dakota Quarterly, PMLA, Comparative Literature, Mosaic, Modern Fiction Studies, New Novel Review, Fiction International, Symploke, Les Lettres Modernes, and many others. He has been honored with a variety of grants and fellowships (Fulbright, Camargo, Creative Arts, Humanities), is listed in Who's Who, received an Honorary Doctor of Letters in 1974, from Amherst College, and, in 2006, was honored with the Distinguished Emeritus Award from the University of California, Riverside. He 2013 he became an Edward A. Dickson Distinguished Professor Emeritus.

Stoltzfus has a BA from Amherst College (1949), an MA in French from Middlebury College (1954), and a PhD in French from The University of Wisconsin (1959). He spent one year on a Fulbright Grant studying at The University of Paris (1955-56). He has taught at The University of Wisconsin (1956-58), Smith College (1958-60), and The University of California, Riverside (1960-97).

Stoltzfus' published books and monographs of literary criticism:

  • 1. Alain Robbe-Grillet and the New French Novel. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 1964.
  • 2. Georges Chennevière et l'unanimisme. Paris: Minard, 1965.
  • 3. Gide's Eagles. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 1969. MLA "Scholars' Library."
  • 4. Gide and Hemingway: Rebels Against God. New York: Kennikat, 1978.
  • 5. Alain Robbe-Grillet: The Body of the Text. Cranbury, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson UP, 1985.
  • 6. Alain Robbe-Grillet: Life, Work, and Criticism. Fredericton, NB: York, 1987.


Scope and Content

The Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus Collection on Alain Robbe-Grillet dates from 1953 to 2015. The collection is divided into two series.

Series 1 contains material collected and compiled by Raymond Gay-Crosier including letters from Robbe-Grillet to Gay-Crosier, print and digital copies of biographies, presentations, a program of lectures given by Robbe-Grillet, photographs, and an article by Gay-Crosier.

Series 2 contains an archive of material compiled by Ben Stoltzfus concerning his work on the English translation of Alain Robbe-Grillet's novel, La Belle Captive, including correspondence, photographs of Robbe-Grillet, press clippings, publicity, a copy of the Blue Line Edition of La Belle Captive, and other documents.

Additionally, a collection of 13 books authored by Robbe-Grillet are included, though they are housed in Smathers Library's Rare Book Collection; they include dedications to R. Gay-Crosier; a bibliography is listed below.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

More detailed descriptions of the collection can be found below:

Description of Series 1, written by Raymond Gay-Crosier, at: http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/robbe-grillet-presentation.pdf

Description of Series 2, written by Ben Stoltzfus, at: http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/robbe-grillet-stoltzfus-presentation.pdf

Thirteen books were included with this donation. They have been transferred to the University of Florida's Rare Books collection. A bibliography of those books is included below.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus Collection on Alain Robbe-Grillet, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

This collection was donated by Raymond Gay-Crosier and Ben Stoltzfus.


Contents List

Series 1.



Box Folder
11 Letters from Robbe-Grillet to Gay-Crosier. 1979-1983
12 Robbe-Grillet biography; presentation by Gay-Crosier; photographs; program of Robbe-Grillet's lectures (all in print with digital versions available on disc and USB drive). 2015, undated
13 Une étrangeté peu commune Camus et Robbe-Grillet by Raymond Gay-Crosier (1995, reprint). 1995



Series 2.



Box Folder
14 Correspondence between Alain Robbe-Grillet and Ben Stoltzfus concerning the publication of the English translation of La Belle Captive by the University of California Press(1987-1995);(nine letters by Robbe-Grillet); five photographs of Robbe-Grillet by Ben Stoltzfus taken at his house in Riverside, California. 1978, 1987-1995
15 Correspondence between Ben Stoltzfus and the University of California Press concerning the publication of La Belle Captive. 1988-1995
16 Documents regarding the English translation by Ben Stoltzfus of La Belle Captive by Alain Robbe-Grillet, University of California Press. Hardcover 1995; Paperback 1996; press clippings; publicity. 1995-1997
17 Xerox copy of a letter by Robbe-Grillet to Lynn Diamond-Nigh, editor of the New Novel Review; Copy of Fiction International, see p.7 for translation of the above letter. 1994-1995
18 Blue Line Edition of La Belle Captive by Alain Robbe-Grillet with illustrations by René Magritte. English translation and critical study by Ben Stoltzfus (University of California, Riverside). 1995



Bibliography

The books listed below are part of the Raymond Gay-Crosier Collection on Alain Robbe-Grillet, but are cataloged separately and housed with our Rare Books.

Robbe-Grillet, Alain. Djinn: un trou rouge entre les pavés disjoints. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1981.

-----. Les derniers jours de Corinthe. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1994.

-----. Les Gommes. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1953.

-----. Les Gommes. Englewood Cliffs [N.J.]: Prentice-Hallt, 1970.

-----. La jalousie. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1957.

-----. La maison de rendez-vous. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1967. (2 copies)

-----. Le miroir qui revient. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1984.

-----. Project pour une révolution à New York. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1970.

-----. Un régicide. Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1978.

Robbe-Grillet, Alain and François Jost. Robbe-Grillet. Obliques, 16-17. Nyons, France: Borderie, 1978.

Robbe-Grillet, Alain and Yvone Lenard. Le Rendez-vous. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1981.

Robbe-Grillet, Alain, René Magritte, and Ben Stoltzfus. La Belle Captive: A Novel. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1995.

Stoltzfus, Ben, Jasper Johns, and Alain Robbe-Grillet. The Target: Alain Robbe-Grillet, Jasper Johns. Madison [N.J.]: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2006.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

French literature
New novel (Literary movement)
Robbe-Grillet, Alain, 1922-2008




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page