Skip to Search





A Guide to the Price Library of Judaica Calendar Collection

Finding aid created by Katalin Franciska Rac

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

December 2017, complemented April 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Singerman, Robert.
Creator: Jefferson, Rebecca J. W.
Title: Price Library of Judaica Calendar Collection
Dates: 1946-2017
Bulk dates: 1950-1973
Abstract: The items included sample the rich variety in genre and form of the Hebrew calendar and demonstrate the role of time keeping in Jewish cultures throughout the ages.
Extent: .41 Linear feet. 1 Box and an Oversize Folder.
Identification: JUD Coll. 0002
Language(s): Includes materials written in English, German, Yiddish, Hebrew, Dutch, Romanian/Moldavian/Moldovan, Lithuanian, Russian, and Spanish.

Biographical/Historical Note

Calendars play a central role in Jewish communal life: they indicate the yearly cycle of religious holidays and everyday practices, closely tied to the agricultural work-cycle as well. Accordingly, they also reflect the rhythm of private and family life.

The examples in this collection are from Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, Palestine, Israel, Poland, Romania, Uruguay, and the USA. They demonstrate that nineteenth and twentieth century-calendars offered additional information as well. Publishers added educational and entertaining bits of writing thought to be either related or to raise interest in their publications. Calendars also accommodate the calculation and recording of private anniversaries, such as Sara Wertheim's yahrzeit (anniversary, Yiddish) calendar, which lists the yearly anniversaries of her death according to the Gregorian calendar. Similarly, a yahrzeit calculator published by the Goldman bookstore in New York in 1950 invites users to keep the anniversaries of not only the passing loved ones, but also other important events, such as marriages.


Scope and Content

The majority of calendars in the collection are small-size pocket calendars (even if their title does not suggest so).They could be easily carried around and the user could even add notes (and at the designated space, telephone numbers). The yahrzeit calendars enable the user to calculate and record future anniversaries by indicating the corresponding Gregorian dates that each year would be different, given the asynchrony between the Hebrew and Gregorian calendar. The nineteenth-century German yearbooks, the Uruguayan Yiddish-Spanish almanacs, and the Dutch almanacs included in the collection shed light on the broader cultural and intellectual atmosphere in which the potential users of these calendars lived. They include studies, essays, and shorter informational writings about Jewish history, Judaism, and Jewish organizations. The advertisements placed in the Uruguayan almanacs depict the material and organizational structure of Jewish life in Montevideo. As these Almanacs record Uruguayan national holidays, printed almost a century earlier, the Yearbook for Israelites for 5607 indicates Protestant and Catholic holidays and important dates and phrases pertaining to time keeping in other countries, such as the names of the months in France. It also features shorter writings by the German rabbi and scholar Ludwig Phillipson, the renowned bibliographer and historian Moritz Steinschneider, the German Jewish historian Isaak Marcus Jost, and the Hungarian rabbi and Leopold Löw. They and the other authors featured in the yearbook were leading Jewish intellectuals of the era, many of them associated with the international scholarly movement, Wissenschaft des Judentums (Jewish scholarship). Poems in German are also included. The 1852 calendar includes some handwritten notes.

The Calendar collection demonstrates changing views of time in different Jewish communities and the practices and ideas associated with time keeping in different Jewish cultures.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in chronological order. Both Hebrew and Gregorian dates are listed. Note: Dates are based on calendar year they represent. In some cases, the actual publication date may be different.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Price Library of Judaica Calendar Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Most of the items in the collection were acquired by the former head of the Price Library, the bibliographer Robert Singerman. The Wertheim yahrzeit calendar and the 1846-1847 yearbook are from the Offenbach Depot. The rest of the items were collected from various sources, some of the pocket calendars were purchased in 2015.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Yearbook for Israelites for 5607, Vienna, Austria 1846
12 German folk calendar and yearbook especially for Israelites for 5612, Breslau, Poland 1852
13 Montevideer Taschen Luah 1933-1937
13 Montevideer Taschen Luah, Almanaque Israelita (Montevideo Pocket Calendar - Israelite Almanac) for 5694 1933-1934
13 Montevideer Taschen Luah, Almanaque y Guia Israelita (Montevideo Pocket Calendar - Israelite Almanac and Guide) for 5697 (gift of Rebecca Jefferson) 1936-1937
14 Calendars from Palestine 1938-1947
14 Pocket calendar 5699 1938-1939
14 Calendar Mifaal Hatorah 5706 1946-1947
15 Calendars from Palestine and Israel 1943-1952
15 Luah Torat Haaretz 1943-1944
15 Luah Torat Haaretz (2 copies) 1947-1948
15 Luah Torat Haaretz 1951-1952
16 Calendars from the Netherlands 1947-1959
16 Israëlitische almanak 5707-5708 1947
16 Israëlitische almanak 5708-5709 1948
16 Israëlitische almanak 5710-5711 1950
16 Israëlitische almanak 5713-5714 1953
16 Israëlitische almanak 5716-5717 1956
16 Israëlitische almanak 5717-5718 1957
16 Israëlitische almanak 5718-5719 1958
16 Israëlitische almanak 5719-5720 1959
17 Small booklet calendars from Israel 1950-1974, undated
17 Luah 5711 1950-1951
17 Luah 5714 1953-1954
17 Hebrew Calendar 5717-5718 1956-1958
17 Pocket Calendar 5725 1964-1965
17 Luah 5728 1967-1968
17 Calendar of the Religious Workers' Division 5731 1970-1971
17 General Calendar 5734 1973-1974
17 Calendar with times of sunrise and sun set, and prayers (cover is missing) undated
18 Fifty Year Yahrzeit Calendar 1950
19 Luah L'Aretz Israel 5719-5731 1959-1972
110 Calendar Liah 5729-5731 1968-1971
111 Bakel pocket calendars 5718-5723 1957-1958
112 Bakel pocket calendars 5724-5727 1963-1967
113 Bakel pocket calendars 5728-5730 1967-1970
114 Bakel pocket calendars 5731-5734 1970-1974
115 Bakel pocket calendars 5735-5737 1974-1977
116 Ariel Calendar 5778-5779 2017-2018
OS27 Yahrzeit Calendar 1931-1974, Sara Wertheim (June 17, 1862-December 12, 1930 - 22 Kislew) undated
117 Luah Olam Katan 1902

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Anniversaries.
Austria.
Germany.
Israel.
Jewish calendar.
Middle East -- Palestine.
Netherlands.
Romania.
United States.
Uruguay.
Wissenschaft des Judentums (Movement).




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page