University of Florida Archives Moving Image Collection

Production number 7

Production title:  Inauguration of President J. Wayne Reitz, 1956

Production date: 1956

Black & white / sound

Total running time: 00:13:30

Available on VHS, S-VHS, DVD and Sony DV-cam.

Derived from 16mm film.

Part of Earl Jernigan's Film Archive.

Film taken of the inauguration of the University of Florida's fifth president, J. Wayne Reitz.  The film includes part of Reitz's inauguration speech, a small portion of an address by Arthur S. Adams, President of the University of New Hampshire. Chairman of the Board of Control, Fred H. Clark, swears Reitz in and introduces the speakers.   Receiving honorary degrees at the convocation are Judge Harold Medina, Arthur S. Adams, and Thomas Wesley Bryant of Polk County.  Bryant is introduced by Reitz's predecessor, John James Tigert III. 

The film was heavily spliced and portions of the film appear out of sequence.


0:00    Starts with graduation lines and band playing Pomp and Circumstances.

0:50    Fred Kent introduces Arthur S. Adams followed by Adams speaking.

2:30   Reitz speaking.

6:10    Swearing in of Reitz.  (This should precede Reitz' speech.)

8:30    Honorary degrees to Harold Medina, Arthur Adams, and Thomas Wesley Bryant. 

13:30  Films ends

Return to moving image directory